App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Nextcloud Logo

Nextcloud

Collaboration, audio/video calling and file sharing software

see alternatives

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Nextcloud Reviews - Page 6

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


436 reviews

Recommended

BD
AvatarImg

Benjamin D.

Government Administration, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

You can ditch Google

Reviewed 5 years ago

Nextcloud made me learn so much about technology. I am so grateful to the developers of this incredible product. I am excited to be supporting opensource awesomeness like Nextcloud.

Pros

- Amazing ability to own your data - You are supporting a fabulous network and community of open source developers -Your data can be safe and it stays on hard-drives only you own - you will learn about how networks work

Cons

- setting it by yourself is really hard so set aside time

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Renewables & Environment, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best sync solution for multi-platform and multi-services uses

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Free software for personal use Many services proposed by optional apps in software internal app store Possibility to sync any folder you want on your computer not just the software's folder and it's subfolders (this permits to sync other software's settings for example)

Cons

Mobile app is in my opinion not the best of it's category

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Miłosz R.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best open source software I ever worked with

Reviewed 5 years ago

Nextcloud allowed us to replace many other services from different providers, now we have almost everything in one place.

Pros

- simple to setup, configure, update and use - customizable - many apps and themes available - well documented - possible to connect with other services

Cons

- many features you expect to work by default are only available after installing 3rd party extensions - encryption can be difficult to setup - some features can be configured only from command line

JF
AvatarImg

Joaquim F.

Government Administration, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

In addition to file sharing

Reviewed 3 years ago

This tool was the best file sharing solution. I participated in the installation and configuration of the tool. One use that we give the tool is to upload files and share to users through a link that is sent to all users of the company, thereby saving a lot of space in our estorages and backup.

Pros

This tool is the best for sharing files between users. It integrates on any LDAP base, whether AD or Openldap, which facilitates its implementation and integration with your current environment. It supports several applications such as pdf reader, images, email, text editor. agenda among other productivity tools.

Cons

So far I have no problem, the tool always evolves and is very complete.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

NextCloud - non-enterprise

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have a positive reaction from our users. They like that files are synced to their pc for offline access, versioning in case something happened to a file.

Pros

A free tier is offered with a large host of features that you won't get on the hosted competiton (Dropbox) except in the higher tiers. Love the versioning features as well as sharing files.

Cons

Upgrading can be difficult although it has come a long way since the split from OwnCloud. Also for those not tech savy the initial setup can be a bit complex, for those I would recommend a docker image.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Secured cloud sharing for institutes

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall simple tool for sharing files with security

Pros

Share your files with so much ease and securely within the organisation or with other organisations as well.

Cons

The GUI is very outdated. Needs an overhaul. The app is not so easy to use. It's complicated to save shared files on your cloud and computer. I can't understand the syncing of the cloud on my computer.

FM
AvatarImg

Frank M.

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Enterprise ready

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very good software. Quite fast, when working with low number of users. Enterprise readiness proven. LDAP/AD integration works.

Pros

Easy to use, good add ons, huge community, good service via community.

Cons

Performance via docker Container is not as expected. In the past, we found some bugs within new versions. Testing phase seems not intense enough.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Andrew J.

Insurance, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Not just storage, but a complete suite of business/groupware tools, too

Reviewed 3 years ago

A real alternative to Office 365, Zoho, and Google cloud.

Pros

Excellent cloud storage and sharing tools, but the add-ons are really where Nextcloud shines e.g. the ability to spin up a Kanban board, or a groupware calendar or many others.

Cons

Some add-ons are hit and miss with quality, and some do not work at all (e.g. the forms add-on did not work)

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kevin F.

Online Media, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great stack!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great product that's useful to more than just business clients.

Pros

Clean and consistent interface with good integration due to lots of third party addons.

Cons

The installation process is disconnected between the CLI, and the "autoconfig.php", the supported features in the latter are far more capable despite the development focus on the former.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review! :)

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Public Relations and Communications, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best self-hosted cloud storage provider!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Nextcloud is a great cloud storage software that prioritizes security of your proprietary data. It is highly recommended for companies with very sensitive data to protect because everything is houses on your own data center. It also offers much flexibility that you won't find in other cloud storage software that are available in the market today.

Pros

Nextcloud is quite a unique software. If you are looking for a really secured cloud storage that allows online collaboration among your team members, Nextcloud is your best bet. Compared to other cloud storage, it is highly scalable and self-hosted. Meaning all our files are stored in our own data center. Not on any external servers. It makes you worry less because you know that you have control and access with your own data. It works exactly like any cloud storage. You can migrate all your documents, music and photos to the cloud. And then Nextcloud makes them accessible through any device.

Cons

Nextcloud, while a very secured cloud storage, is not very easy to use. You still need to familiarize yourself with the system so there's quite a learning curve involved. It tends to be slow in accessing the files especially if they are huge files. Setting up the server is very complicated and an average joe cannot do it. An IT person must be the one to set up with the help of Nextcloud representatives. Pricing is also very expensive and not pocket friendly. But then again, you are paying for the unmatched security features Nextcloud offers, which you cannot get from other providers.

LO
AvatarImg

Lukas O.

Design, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

+ Open Source + Easy to use + Share files to external users + Office integration + Chat integration + Easy updates and maintenance + A lot of apps

Cons

- there could be more apps for different fuctions: accounting, money book, sms gateway with own phone, website function

ED
AvatarImg

Eamon D.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good all-around office product

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, it helps me manage my work and my family uses it as well. I like that it is an all-in-one solution for many things so I don't need to manage tons of different services.

Pros

File syncing, calendar/office management, plugins

Cons

Sync client can be a bit slow/unstable, add-ons aren't always updated quickly after major version changes

KR
AvatarImg

Kurt-Rainer D.

Publishing, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Speeding up my workflow to sell eBooks, etc.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Simplified my workflow of selling eBooks "on the go": While walking with my dog (who is the protagonist of some of my crime stories) I often get in contact with people interested in my books. Showing them a QR-code with a download link or a preview link on my smartphone display is only a few taps away: Quick & easy

Pros

Super easy sharing of eBooks, book previews and other stuff via public link.

Cons

Some potentially useful plugins lack of sufficient documentation.

CS
AvatarImg

Charlie S.

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

NextCloud as Private Cloud Storage

Reviewed 4 years ago

NextCloud has done exactly what we've needed it to: provided an easy, open source way to run our own private cloud for storage of data we don't want to put in Google Drive. Easy to use, great desktop apps, lots of functionality (near parity with other cloud apps). It does what we need it to do, and I haven't had any issues with it.

Pros

The ease of deployment of NextCloud (I'm using a Snap container) is ridiculously easy. The interface for a free and open source app is amazing! I love the ability to customize the login screen and it integrates well with Active Directory. It's easy to setup once installed as well. The Windows and Mac apps work like a champ.

Cons

Some of the functionality I'm used to in OneDrive or Google Drive (right-clicks and other minor UI issues) doesn't exist in NC. It's a mostly Web 2.0 app, but a few changes would make it almost perfect.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Juan Martin C.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great option for any organization

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have our own private documentation cloud with it, also with the addition of Collabora Online we can edit Office documents online and share them. Saves a lot of time and keeps the information safe and accesible at every time.

Pros

Its free, stable, easy to use and costumize. Has many plugins and low requerimients. We use it with Collabora Online and set up our own sharing, documenting and backup platform in only a few days, been using it without issues since.

Cons

None really, its a really solid and complete option, cant think of any thing i dont like about it,

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Nonprofit Organization Management, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Private Use

Reviewed 3 years ago

I've been using Nextcloud for my personal home network for more than two years. A Synology NAS system has recently been added to the Nextcloud and syncronizes with each other to keep my data redundant. In my home network I have local access via the NAS and changes are immediately synchronized with Nextcloud via WebDAV. In combination with my web space provider, I also have a secure backup solution with me.

Pros

Nextcloud is easy to install, whether on a web space or your own server. Only a minimal basic knowledge is required to install a web application in PHP. An automatic script does the rest.

Cons

There could be more functions on the mobile app that are also available in the web version.

AP
AvatarImg

Andreas P.

Automotive, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great cloud for your own business or for private use

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It's a great software with nealy no costs, except the computer/NAS/server you are running it (that can be a raspberry pi f.e.). You then have all your data at home or at your company and not in the big cloud somewhere on the earth.

Cons

You need to know how to set up the cloud and also need to administrate it. If you can do that, especially incl. the backups, then it could be yours. We always had downtimes because of errors, so for the company use it was not good enough.

AH
AvatarImg

Atlee H.

Machinery, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

NextCloud is still a FOSS project

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

NextCloud is a very powerful collaboration platform for us. We use Deck, the calendar, file sharing, and collaborative editing (with Collabora Online) most. I LOVE the fact that it gives us the capabilities of products like Google Docs and Dropbox without the cost, and more importantly, the privacy issues of the commercial products.

Cons

It's an open source project, so it does have the feel that a lot of features are barely tested and sometimes just plain not finished.

DP
AvatarImg

Daniel P.

Internet, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

One of my favourite software in the last decade

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy to use, stable, usefull... the best option to manage your own card/cal server, sync files between many devices and a lot of other features

Cons

I think the app (at least the iOS one) is very far in features than the web...

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Mediocre File sharing software

Reviewed 5 years ago

Nextcloud was chosen to be the companies file sharing tool in- and externally before my old company got bought up so i used it very regularly for almost a year and after that semi regularly. Ultimately we switched to a competitor looking to gain better collaboration features and integration with existing tools while still having next cloud for users who didnt want to switch instantly. I would say it's ok price vise and you can customize a lot more features when compared to competitors, but it could come with quite some work. When everything was set up we had no hiccups over our whole usage, so thats a big plus

Pros

There are a lot of plugins/addons available to install. Kanbanboards, ToDo Lists, etc. The Webinterface looked stylish and was good to navigate once you had a little time to get to know it.

Cons

The included file synching for windows was lacking options and the ui was almost none existant. All though there were a lot of addons, the base functionallity wasnt that big, so for us it took a lot of convincing to install new features. Evene when we had them they sometimes lacked features you would find in almost all standalone versions (For example the settings on the Kanban boards where extremely limited when compared to Standalone solutions) As far as I know our Sysadmins had a fair share of problems with AD synching.

JT
AvatarImg

Jonathan T.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nextcloud is a great self hosted Software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very good

Pros

It can be customized completely. The built in App Store makes that very easy.

Cons

There's not really anything to complain about. Upgrades to new versions can sometimes be a bit tricky, but nothing a developer could not handle.

JE
AvatarImg

Jhon Eddie R.

Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nextcloud ideal para aseguramiento de la calidad

Reviewed 10 months ago

Es un software muy estable para lo que fue diseñado pero se podría mejorar cuando se trabaja en modo grupo o documentos compartidos.

Pros

Cuando se trabaja en equipo se puede tener la posibilidad de compartir documentos sin perder el control sobre estos ya hay la opción de bloquear su escritura o que solo sea de consulta.

Cons

So un documento no esta protegido contra escritura y se trabaja de manera simultanea este guardara el que se guarde de ultimo ignorando los cambios del otro usuario o generando conflictos.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

FM
AvatarImg

Fred M.

Computer & Network Security, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Works for me

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, there is minimal downtime between updates and it has held up well for me, my family and clients

Pros

I use it for scheduling, backup and hosting files

Cons

File management is a bit clunky, but it suffices

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback! :)

VA
AvatarImg

Victor A.

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Buena alternativa gratuita a cualquier sistema de almacenamiento de pago

Reviewed a year ago

Lo llevo utilizando durante años como alternativa a Drive o Onedrive

Pros

La relación calidad/precio, en los últimos años ha dado un salto de calidad en su UI y estabilidad

Cons

La falta de integración nativa con diferentes plataformas, que puedes suplir con complementos realizados por terceros

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

MK
AvatarImg

Martin K.

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Control your data!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We rely on Nextcloud for synchronization and sharing of our data, while still retaining complete control of where it lives and who has access. We've never had an issue.

Cons

It's hard to find anything to complain about. It works as advertised and we've never needed to look for any support.