App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Nextcloud Logo

Nextcloud

Collaboration, audio/video calling and file sharing software

see alternatives

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Nextcloud Reviews - Page 7

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


436 reviews

Recommended

KT
AvatarImg

Konstantinos T.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best Open Source Alternative

Reviewed a year ago

Sharing and collaboration while respecting privacy. is It's the best open source online collaboration platform.

Pros

It's easy to use can replace almost all the proprietary apps for daily operations. That I like the most is the news app as it's the best xml feed reader I have come across.

Cons

The mobile app is good, however sometimes in the past the upload process of images has been stuck in an uploading loop.

MW
AvatarImg

Mike W.

Research, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Puts You In Control of Everything

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

*open source *cross-platform *Confident in future development *Price *Simple and easy to use *Hosted services

Cons

Encryption at this point isn't default. This isn't to far off in development so don't let that deter you. For my use case, once this is enabled I doubt there'd be much to gripe about

Vendor response

Thank you a lot for the review! :)

DM
AvatarImg

Duncan M.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent File Sharing Software

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This software is very easy to configure and implement. Due to GDPR most file sharing sites now can not be used by my company internally due to the risk of data leakage this software reduces this by being self-hosted.

Cons

There is a little learning curve if you have never installed this type of software before.

RM
AvatarImg

Rahul M.

Industrial Automation, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nextcloud - Solution for data sharing.

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is very useful in monitor data exchange.

Pros

Flexibility, Platform independence. User-friendly interface and of course data security

Cons

Nextcloud is good in cloud security. Good Collaboration.

CB
AvatarImg

Claudio B.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sincronizza su diversi device, diverse cartelle non necessariamente nella stessa sottocartella

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

è stato scelto per sincronizzare diverse cartelle presenti su server che non risiedevano nella stessa sottocartella, altri software non permettono questa configurazione

Cons

lo abbiamo attivo da diverso tempo e funziona bene, non c'è nulla che non va

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

EB
AvatarImg

Eric B.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Share, centralize and backup

Reviewed 4 years ago

Work every day as a expected and data storage location is known and secured.

Pros

Easy to install and use, work with Mac and Windows transparently on privately owned space with the internet service provider.

Cons

Applications missing from the native mac and windows client (chat, evernote alternative)

NG
AvatarImg

Nir G.

Information Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Platform for techies mostly

Reviewed 2 years ago

So far it has been 99% stable and reliable. Some synching issues due to the hosting and other due to the Mac client. But over all it feels like home.

Pros

I love the idea of self hosted cloud service. The fact that now every file has to be uploaded to 3rd parties is by itself a selling feature. There are quite a few apps and addons.

Cons

Most apps and features are halfway there. I know they will improve over time and I’m happy to support the development of some, but still not ready for the masses. Seems like the team prefers to spread features thinly rather then go all in on features.

AM
AvatarImg

Aleksandr M.

Education Management, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product once it's set up

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Nextcloud is great to set up on a machine at home, and the docs are great for optimization. There are a load of features and ways to have a secure and private cloud service

Cons

I would love more information on how to harden security even further than what the docs give. I would love a dedicated music app for android or for the music app to support more advanced features (equalizer, gapless playback, caching). I know that alternative ampache/webdav solutions exist, but it would be a great experience to have that within that nextcloud app, itself.

PH
AvatarImg

Paul H.

Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

NC for Business Continuity Management

Reviewed 3 years ago

Highly positive. I have already encouraged local individuals and small businesses to try it out. It's hard to find any organisation which would not immediately benefit from NCs facilities out of the box, especially those companies faced with how best to manage its people working from home.

Pros

File synchronisation between server and client. Integrated Calendars, Contacts, and Wordprocessing: these are the fundamentals which provide all the basics for any-sized organisation. A perfect base on which to build.

Cons

Current lack of comprehensive backup and restore capability at user-level. All implementations essentially require a high level of technical support in the background to keep the show on the road.

DE
AvatarImg

Dragan E.

Arts and Crafts, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Angels and Devils in the details

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great work environment for digital preservation work and continuous backups of projects large and small.

Pros

A trustworthy, robust framework to host your own data. Pretty nice sync client that allows to selectively sync instead of an all-or-nothing approach.

Cons

Inconsistencies with handling of last-modified dates. Weird behavior when uploading folders via browser (directory hierarchy not preserved). Desktop client UX not great...

PT
AvatarImg

Paul T.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Nextcloud is the selfhosted alternative to GSuite

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overwhelmingly positive.

Pros

It can be hosted where you want and customized to a high degree.

Cons

It's a bit sparsely supported. It took a bit of effort to set up. But you can of course buy it as a managed service

Vendor response

Overwhelmingly positive! Thank you for the great feedback! :)

HB
AvatarImg

Håkan B.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Really good software

Reviewed 4 years ago

It's the best free and commercial cloud system I've encountered.

Pros

Easy to use and easy do deploy. So powerful

Cons

I can't think of anything right now. I can't think of anything right now. I can't think of anything right now. I can't think of anything right now.

Rv
AvatarImg

RWJ v.

Computer Hardware, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome apllication

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Nextcloud works perfectly. Installing it under docker is a breeze Using it every day for 4 years now It's only getting better and better

Cons

It took some time for mail to get stable.

JA
AvatarImg

Jorge Andrés M.

Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Un buen servidor de documentos

Reviewed a year ago

Excelente en unión con servidores para proteger mis documentos

Pros

Su protección y copia de seguridad de la información

Cons

Su sincronización con otros equipos al momento de compartir

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Usman K.

Research, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

very happy with nextcloud

Reviewed 4 years ago

We get to keep a huge amount of our data in our cloud and manage security of our data very easily. We get transparent access to our data and the operations we perform on it. This is very important from a privacy and security perspective and nextcloud wins hands down compared with Dropbox or Box.

Pros

Very secure. Own your data. Plugins are easy to add. Very easy to administer. Setup is easy. Ample and ever growing feature set. Privacy, security are prime features.

Cons

There have a few issues that come up sometimes but are similar to issues we had faced with Dropbox. Unlike Dropbox though, addition of plugins and the transparency with which nextcloud works made making changes to nextcloud to suit our needs very easy.

RF
AvatarImg

Rob F.

E-Learning, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy home server done right

Reviewed 3 years ago

Nextcloud has set the stage for personal clouds

Pros

Easy to setup snap package, low maintenance, set it and forget it for the most part

Cons

Some plugins didn't work with the snap package, like user websites

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Nextcloud is the best choice for making you own personal cloud.

Reviewed 3 years ago

The overall experience with Nextcloud is great we use it all the time and it runs great on our Truenas box. We use it all the time for when we might be doing a service call and need to upload something for our techs to take a look at but don't have to worry about it being accessed from someone at a big company like Microsoft.

Pros

The customization for the service is very nice and allows us to make it fit our needs. We use it on a Truenas box and it works great. Another this i like a lot is the huge amount of plugins for the service.

Cons

The thing I don't care for the most is the lack of documentation for the Freenas / Truenas integrations for when something goes wrong. Also the lack of 2fa out of the box is down side as well.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

usefull personal cloud

Reviewed 6 years ago

i can easy store and manage all my private documents from multiple devices

Pros

it's a great solution for a personal document cloud with possibility to add multiple features like note, collaborations, photo store.... It is easy to install and the combination with nginx offer a really trustable, scalable and high performance platform. For whatever issue or customization need you can find the suitable solution on line. Definetly a suggested choice.

Cons

No real constrain. I hope thhats it will be improved features like chat or video conference, and increase the offer for app device

Vendor response

Dear user, Thank you for the review on Capterra! We're very glad you are happy with Nextcloud! If you want to get the most out of Nextcloud, don't forget we have Nextcloud Subscriptions available. Take care!

AM
AvatarImg

Angelo M.

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best and cheapest you can find for file storage and management

Reviewed 2 years ago

I consider it to be an essential tool to consider when choosing a file/document and collaborative control and management platform.

Pros

The user interface is very intuitive. As well as the installation. We have made sure that our VPS have SSD storage, this greatly speeds up searches. We have about 30 clients and 10 employees working on a docker instance at the same time, and the resource consumption is hardly noticeable. You need to make sure you have well-optimized hardware. If you do this, you will love Nextcloud, because it will be as light as a feather. I love its ability to integrate with other collaboration apps. You can grow as far as the hardware allows.

Cons

I think for whom there is a solution. I wouldn't take or add anything to NextCloud for now. It has met all my requirements. Oh my God! Can be installed on a Raspberry Pi!

GO
AvatarImg

Georg O.

Internet, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nextcloud for the win!

Reviewed 4 years ago

We use it mainly for syncing files. But have also implementet other features like calander and contacts.

Pros

Easy to install and administer. Comes with many plugins and addons. Rockstable and reliable.

Cons

Sometimes some file-functions could be easier to handle. E.g. renaming of folders.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rodney W.

Entertainment, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Re: Nextcloud storage

Reviewed 5 years ago

Makes it easy to share files between people in and outside of our organization.

Pros

If you want to control your own storage and cut down on storage costs nextcloud is the way to go

Cons

I would be nice if it was easier to expand the amount of available space. But it works well

ss
AvatarImg

stephane s.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

awesome value for money.

Reviewed 5 years ago

dead easy software to use and setup. never had any bugs in more than 2 year of use. ;

Pros

easy to create an on-premise cloud tailored to our specific needs

Cons

many options requires to understand them prior to the setup process.

AH
AvatarImg

Albert H.

Medical Practice, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Cloud-Software

Reviewed 4 years ago

I want to use multiple Computer for my College

Pros

I realy Like, that nextcloud is so easy to use. The documantation is realy easy to understand. Thanks a Lot for this Software

Cons

I dont realy See anything negativ about nextcloud

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Patrice B.

Computer Hardware, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

SwissKnife to help customer in day to day business

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It is very easy to add a new customer for sharing files in total security. We build the company cloud around Nextcloud solution and we are very happy sofar. Updates are nearly without bugs and increase the tools come togeteher with the basic features.

Cons

Some functionnality are difficult to understand and French tuto are not all available. Not too much support out of Nextcloud web site.

Jv
AvatarImg

Jan v.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Nextcloud growing to a collaboration suit

Reviewed 4 years ago

I run this for backups, sharing data, the calendar for planning. Just the part where OnlyOffice/Collabora is wanted, the installation is not that easy.

Pros

It is stable ven when you do not update to every single new version. The syncing with the local client keeps data safe.

Cons

Sometimes updates do not work as planned, one can correct the problem but it takes much time to manually restore the functionality. This is not a Nextcloud problem but changing from owncloud to nextcloud is a bit tricky.