App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

ownCloud Logo

ownCloud

Open source enterprise file sharing & collaboration platform

see alternatives

(12)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

ownCloud Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


59 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kevin F.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Decent but lacking

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, we decided to leave OwnCloud in favour of NextCloud. NC has a faster development cycle and seems to listen to the community more when it comes to what they focus their efforts on. While I'm sure OC is good for Enterprise clients, our experience was that it was ONLY for enterprise.

Pros

Overall the product is good, and a number of addons provide good expanded integration and functionality.

Cons

The development focus is generally aimed at Enterprise only, the community needs don't seem to be nearly as important and so addressing feature requests is low on the totem.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Open source custom storage solution.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Owncloud is absolutely wonderful. With pricing of storage going up everywhere else, OwnCloud's system is the one to beat. Open source, it works just like Dropbox/Onedrive and other systems we've already used. It's quick to set up, most web hosts can handle it with no issues. You can customize your login page, your admins, and using it is pretty intuitive. If you're looking for customized storage that you control, OwnCloud will do the job well.

Cons

When first added, there were a few errors that I had to have my host sort, because I couldn't find any documentation on them for the OwnCloud. Since it's open source, it doesn't have a very robust support system.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Artemio E.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Document administration

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

OwnCloud has a good community support, is easy to implement and deploy.

Cons

Performance issues with many small files.

Vendor response

Dear Artemio, thank you for your review! We are glad to read that the community support is good. When it comes to the issues you mention about the performance with many small files, you are welcome to let us know more about this. We have a forum for issues https://central.owncloud.org/ and you can submit bugs in GitHub. We always appreciate receiving feedback if you have any questions, please contact us at: community@owncloud.com.

NL
AvatarImg

Nuno L.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excelente cloud interna fácil de configurar

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Das melhores opções internas para quem quer criar a sua propria cloud, com facilidade de integração, facilidade de criar acessos e partilhas! Dos melhores softwares do mercado!!!

Cons

Não há nada que não se possa gostar, existe aplicações para todos os sistemas operativos e aplicações moveis. Excelente!

Showing original review in Portuguese. See translation

Vendor response

Hello there! Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you find ownCloud useful. Best regards, Team ownCloud

fm
AvatarImg

fred m.

Internet, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A Cloud of my own...

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have used this as my own cloud solution to keep records and utilities online

Pros

I get to control who accesses and what is utilized on my owncloud

Cons

Having to set things up takes a lot of time

Vendor response

Dear fred - thank you for your review! Please let us know in case you have any suggestions for improvement and feel free to join our community as well. There are many ways to contribute. If you have any questions get in touch: community@owncloud.com!

MM
AvatarImg

Mark M.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The "original" NextCloud - superb software

Reviewed 4 years ago

Owncloud served us well, was very stable and reliable and packed with functionality - highly recommended especially for commercial applications.

Pros

This is a really great piece of software that has been well designed and implemented and does a great job in solving many problems and improving productivity.

Cons

The fork to Nextcloud with purer development goals made a point in time where the leap to a new platform become compelling.

SB
AvatarImg

Sérgio B.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for managing files online

Reviewed a year ago

In general it is a very good tool to manage files between the company and the clients. And thus always have the files in real time both on our side and on the client's side.

Pros

Possibility of easily exchanging files in a cloud and configuring which users have access to each specific folder.

Cons

Sometimes some files don't sync in real time. Sometimes we have to force synchronization.

Vendor response

Hello there! Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you are finding ownCloud to be useful and fitted to your need. Best regards, Team ownCloud

BB
AvatarImg

Binod B.

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A perfect Cloud Storage for an organization

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall Owncloud is a perfect place to organize and backup your files and documents.

Pros

We used Owncloud as our backup storage of our organization documents. I liked the ease of upload, share and version control.

Cons

Sometimes uploading a folder and subfolders wasn't easy. One had to zip it before uploading which was a little time consuming. But for single files there was no such problem.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Free midsize solution for filestorage

Reviewed 3 years ago

for a free solution it is one of the best choices in the opensource world.

Pros

It is your own server so it is the best to secure by your own way. Cook it as you prefer.

Cons

The Admin Panel lacks lots to enterprise features. The base idea of sharing files is not intuitive. It tooks a bit to get used of its limit.

AS
AvatarImg

Albert S.

Railroad Manufacture, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Review by Albert_OwnCloud

Reviewed a year ago

Since I am using the OwnCloud software, it is easier for me to share documents and files with external assessors, partners, or clients; this means that the time efficiency now is higher than using document interchange by e-mail or similar.

Pros

The software is very user-friendly, it allows you to work with third-party people outside your company while you keep the control over your documentation.

Cons

It is needed a network connection to operate with all the OwnCloud features.

Vendor response

Hi Albert, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you are finding ownCloud useful. Best regards, Team ownCloud

SJ
AvatarImg

Scott J.

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Host your own cloud

Reviewed 5 years ago

While I ultimately decided to go with Nextcloud over this one they both work really well and if the idea of an enterprise version appeals to you for business reasons then this is the way to go. Own cloud functions well and does a fantastic job of syncing files between my computers and MY cloud.

Pros

Keep your files onsite. you don't have to relinquish control of your files to some cloud provider to enjoy the sync and sharing privileges that they offer you can run your own cloud. This is a storage platform that stores your files like Dropbox and sync's them with your computer or computers . They have clients for Linux, Mac , Windows, Android and iOS. There is a free version but also there is a paid enterprise version with expanded features. There is also a growing market place of apps that you can install on your instance to expand functionality even further.

Cons

Can be a little complicated to setup initially. Not all features are available in the free/open source version.

ML
AvatarImg

Michelle L.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Was not impressed

Reviewed 6 years ago

I think this is a really great concept for businesses to use for keeping their documents safe, off site, secure and easy to access

Pros

this is a great concept, but expensive to keep your documents elsewhere

Cons

the price was not affordable, hopefully that will change as other companies offer the same service

RD
AvatarImg

Remi D.

Information Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great aelf hosted platform

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Pretty easy to install for an open-source solution Easy to configure & upgrade

Cons

The cache configuration can be complicated to configure. I have an issue on sharing a file on an external storage. Développers know about it, but it seems complicated to solve

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Daniel A.

11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent tool for sharing files in the cloud

Reviewed 6 years ago

Excellent tool to share and save files in the cloud

Pros

Easy handling, installation and configuration. After its implementation there is a cloud storage service, low cost that does not envy anything to similar programs with licensing costs

Cons

Being an Open Source, you can find information on the network, and in this way it can be violated by knowing how it is installed and configured.

AB
AvatarImg

Andreas B.

Medical Devices, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

ownCloud

Reviewed 5 months ago

Eigentlich OK, aber leider zu wenig bekannt bzw. verbreitet.

Pros

Einfache Bedienung, wenn Installation mal geklappt hat.

Cons

Leider ist ownCloud nicht so verbreitet wie z. B. OneDrive oder Dropbox. Da wir eine Vollintegration mit MS Office 365 benötigen, haben wir mit OneDrive mehr Vorteile, auch ist das Filesharing, das für uns wichtig ist, mit ownCloud nicht so gut gelöst wie bei OneDrive.

Showing original review in German. See translation

Vendor response

Hello! Thank you for your review. We really appreciate it. You can integrate ownCloud with Microsoft 365: https://owncloud.com/features/microsoft-365-integration Please get in touch with our support team if you have any questions. Best regards, Team ownCloud

GZ
AvatarImg

Giorgia Z.

Machinery, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

a tool that facilitates collaboration

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

one of the main features is the great ease of use and the possibility of access and sharing by all members involved, even external to the organization if necessary. For example, in my case it is a great tool to work on a project in which we collaborate with many different companies, all over Europe.

Cons

it is necessary to be careful in the definition of the modification visualization permissions because it happened to us by mistake that a user deleted part of the material, but it is positive the fact that you can recover everything

Vendor response

Dear Giorgia, Thank you so much for your review! It's great to hear that you found ownCloud to be easy to use. The satisfaction of our users is our biggest achievement. If you have any questions or further feedback, feel free to contact us at: community@owncloud.com

AP
AvatarImg

Andreas P.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

In the past this was areally good software, now there is air upward

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The fact, that you are able to install the Host on nearly every source you like (NAS, computer, raspberry,...). So you can scale the cloud as you like!

Cons

The con is about the android application. It it very buggy so that the auto backup doesn't work.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Keep control of your files

Reviewed 6 years ago

Saving fines onto our own hardware allows for flexibility while maintaining control over the full software stack.

Pros

Having my files on a server I control is a significant benefit. The user interface makes sharing files easy, with shares including an optional expiry date.

Cons

Installation and updates take some knowledge of Linux systems, and troubleshooting gets very technical quickly. This should be expected, since you are running a powerful server.

MB
AvatarImg

Michael B.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Not as innovative as Nxtcloud...

Reviewed 5 years ago

Well, frankly speaking I was moving to Nextcloud as soon as that fork was stable.

Pros

Relatively easy setup, easy sharing of files, many addons available to make it more efficient

Cons

Their top developer as well as others moved to the Nextcloud fork some time ago. Most of the development of Owncloud is now focussed on the paid version. Further, I used it quite often in connection with external data storage. Owncloud is was much slower in handling that then Nextcloud.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Markus K.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Powerfull filsharing and more

Reviewed 5 years ago

Simple tool i´m using since a long time. Stable but less inovations.

Pros

owncloud is a well known and stable tool for sharing files. But beside sharing files it´s also an calender-server a, contact-server and if needed a gallery. Owncloud offers a lot of plugins to fit a lot of needs.

Cons

Develoment slows down after the fork of nextcloud. The main focus is towards paying bussiness users.

SF
AvatarImg

Sherwin F.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A good choice for the right project

Reviewed a year ago

I've used owncloud to set up private storage space and document management for a couple of projects and it's a great piece of software.

Pros

Owncloud is free and easily expandable with addons.

Cons

While it's more complicated to set up that some of the commercial cloud providers, for people that want more control of their data it's a great choice.

Vendor response

Hello there! Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you are finding ownCloud to be useful and fitted to your need. Best regards, Team ownCloud

PT
AvatarImg

Paul T.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

owncloud is mismanaged nextcloud

Reviewed 4 years ago

it was decent, but nextcloud is better

Pros

It was open source, so nextcloud became possible.

Cons

It seems management had some terrible ideas which is why all the mind-share seems to be behind nextcloud these days.

GM
AvatarImg

Giusi M.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Buon cloud self hosted

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Si presta bene alla sua installazione su server proprietari. Il sistema consente di condividere fra gli utenti della piattaforma documenti e file di diversa natura ed è accessibile da diversi dispositivi come computer o tablet.

Cons

L'interfaccia grafica andrebbe rivista e semplificata, sopratutto nell'area di impostazione dei permessi e le policy degli utenti.

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

Vendor response

Hey there! Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate it. We are delighted to hear that you find ownCloud useful, and we will certainly take your suggestions into consideration. May I add, if you haven't done so already, do check out Infinite Scale 3.0, the latest and most advanced version of our real-time collaboration platform yet. It is packed with new features and enhancements. Best regards, Team ownCloud

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jean Carlos M.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and implement

Reviewed 5 years ago

My general experience is positive, it is a great alternative to store and share files, in my personal case I use it in the company where I work to share files by departments, I manage the cloud, create and eliminate users, create groups and apply different policies.

Pros

What I liked most about the software is the ease of sharing and managing the files in the cloud, apart from the groups that can be created to share files in common.

Cons

Within the same group you can not create policies where not all of the same group can view the files, to achieve this you have to create a different group with only the people you want to share or share individually with each one.

FT
AvatarImg

Francesco T.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

The pioneer of workgroup and sharing

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

very innovative and give us the opportunity to develop new kind of business

Cons

difficult maintenance and implementation

Vendor response

Dear Francesco, Thank you so much for your review. We always value feedback from our users as it helps us to innovate and improve. If you ever face any issues with using ownCloud, you are welcome to discuss it in our forum (central.owncloud.org) and submit notifications regarding bugs in GitHub. If you have any questions or further feedback, feel free to contact us at: community@owncloud.com