This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

ownCloud

Open source enterprise file sharing platform

see alternatives

ownCloud Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


37 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent personal storage tool for documents, files or multimedia elements.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Easy to use. High availability of material for learning about the use of the platform. Easy to use. It is a very friendly tool.

Pros

I really like the ability of this platform to be able to make it keep all the things that I want and be able to share them with a link of vesialization, providing permission, blocking files, indicating the expiration date of the link etc. I find it impressive and very easy to use.

Cons

The not being able to do the implementation of the platform in a private environment since it has many limitations for that operating system. Taking into account that most people use that operating system.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Pretty good, but Nextcloud is better

Reviewed 7 months ago

I have used it and decided to switch to Nextcloud. OwnCloud is a good software, but not the best option.

Pros

It is self hosted and open source. It has support for Plugins/Apps so you can extend the functionality easily.

Cons

The Website makes the design of the software look very modern, but in reality it is a bit boring. The fork of ownCloud called Nextcloud has a much nicer design, faster development cycles and better comunity engagement. Also on Nextcloud pretty much no features are paid. Everything except adcanced documentation and Premium Support is free.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Was not impressed

Reviewed 3 years ago

I think this is a really great concept for businesses to use for keeping their documents safe, off site, secure and easy to access

Pros

this is a great concept, but expensive to keep your documents elsewhere

Cons

the price was not affordable, hopefully that will change as other companies offer the same service

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Former User

Reviewed 2 years ago

My overall experience was good, but I chose to migrate to Nextcloud due to features available at the time.

Pros

At the time I used this software, this was the only option. I have since moved to Nextcloud due to perception of ownCloud losing ground to Nextcloud.

Cons

The upgrade process was less automated vs Nextcloud.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Not as innovative as Nxtcloud...

Reviewed 2 years ago

Well, frankly speaking I was moving to Nextcloud as soon as that fork was stable.

Pros

Relatively easy setup, easy sharing of files, many addons available to make it more efficient

Cons

Their top developer as well as others moved to the Nextcloud fork some time ago. Most of the development of Owncloud is now focussed on the paid version. Further, I used it quite often in connection with external data storage. Owncloud is was much slower in handling that then Nextcloud.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

The pioneer of workgroup and sharing

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

very innovative and give us the opportunity to develop new kind of business

Cons

difficult maintenance and implementation

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

owncloud is mismanaged nextcloud

Reviewed 2 years ago

it was decent, but nextcloud is better

Pros

It was open source, so nextcloud became possible.

Cons

It seems management had some terrible ideas which is why all the mind-share seems to be behind nextcloud these days.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Same as nextcloud?

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

- Easy UI - structurized Admin Panel - Perfect for private users and companies with enough money

Cons

Pricing (compared with NextCloud Not same features like in nextcloud App sometimes crashes (nextcloud app too :/ )

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Good

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Good service but no other service like nextcloud

Cons

Only saving data on your own cloud but no more features

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Free, easy-to-deploy open-source solution - for storing documents in the cloud.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Owncloud community is very active. You can find solutions to almost every problem during deployment. The main differential is that the code is open. And the documents stored there, in fact being yours alone. It is the industry's leading free option for public and nonprofit institutions. Completely replaces a simple file server.

Cons

The software has the premise of being collaborative. However, the tool is very premature in this regard. Edits are made on the local computer by the text editor, table, or presentation that the user uses on their computer. This makes standardization difficult.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Struggle to gain acceptance

Reviewed 3 years ago

I actually do not have a choice since some office environment block external cloud storage providers and migrate away from Microsoft enterprise services to ownCloud. However, only access if I really have to since there are already so many tools that I use to perform these functions.

Pros

I was relatively easy to set up on the server and provides a basic file structure so that institutional users can share files and keep them organized. It also has a chat feature.

Cons

While it has most of the functionality that I could want in such an app. I have struggled to actually use it since I already have my other cloud storage providers. For the chat feature, I would rather reach for my phone to call, text or use the messaging function with the personal than use the company-mandated chat feature in ownCloud.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review