App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

ownCloud Logo

ownCloud

Open source enterprise file sharing & collaboration platform

see alternatives

(12)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

ownCloud Reviews - Page 3

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


59 reviews

Recommended

LA
AvatarImg

Luis Alfredo V.

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent personal storage tool for documents, files or multimedia elements.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Easy to use. High availability of material for learning about the use of the platform. Easy to use. It is a very friendly tool.

Pros

I really like the ability of this platform to be able to make it keep all the things that I want and be able to share them with a link of vesialization, providing permission, blocking files, indicating the expiration date of the link etc. I find it impressive and very easy to use.

Cons

The not being able to do the implementation of the platform in a private environment since it has many limitations for that operating system. Taking into account that most people use that operating system.

JT
AvatarImg

Jonathan T.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Pretty good, but Nextcloud is better

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have used it and decided to switch to Nextcloud. OwnCloud is a good software, but not the best option.

Pros

It is self hosted and open source. It has support for Plugins/Apps so you can extend the functionality easily.

Cons

The Website makes the design of the software look very modern, but in reality it is a bit boring. The fork of ownCloud called Nextcloud has a much nicer design, faster development cycles and better comunity engagement. Also on Nextcloud pretty much no features are paid. Everything except adcanced documentation and Premium Support is free.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Outsourcing/Offshoring, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A pretty great self hosted cloud solution

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

ownCloud is very easy to set up and get going using docker. installed it on my own home lab, tested it for a while - I specifically wanted the Gallery feature.

Cons

Please dont consider these cons - it’s my own personal opinion. I wanted a very simple interface for managing photos. While ownCloud does this, it brings a large bundle of features in the mix as well. IF you want a complex solution for managing files, ownCloud is a good bet!

Vendor response

Hello! Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate it. We understand your desire for a simpler photo management interface. It is true that ownCloud is packed with features; however, they are designed to provide intuitive and highly-secure storage and sharing of files, including photos, to meet the expectations and requirements of our large user base. Thank you again for choosing ownCloud, and we look forward to evolving our platform to better serve your needs. If you have any more thoughts or questions, please don't hesitate to reach out. Best regards, Team ownCloud

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Antonio Luiz S.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Free, easy-to-deploy open-source solution - for storing documents in the cloud.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Owncloud community is very active. You can find solutions to almost every problem during deployment. The main differential is that the code is open. And the documents stored there, in fact being yours alone. It is the industry's leading free option for public and nonprofit institutions. Completely replaces a simple file server.

Cons

The software has the premise of being collaborative. However, the tool is very premature in this regard. Edits are made on the local computer by the text editor, table, or presentation that the user uses on their computer. This makes standardization difficult.

BB
AvatarImg

Brian B.

Internet, self-employed

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Former User

Reviewed 4 years ago

My overall experience was good, but I chose to migrate to Nextcloud due to features available at the time.

Pros

At the time I used this software, this was the only option. I have since moved to Nextcloud due to perception of ownCloud losing ground to Nextcloud.

Cons

The upgrade process was less automated vs Nextcloud.

MP
AvatarImg

Marcel P.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Same as nextcloud?

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

- Easy UI - structurized Admin Panel - Perfect for private users and companies with enough money

Cons

Pricing (compared with NextCloud Not same features like in nextcloud App sometimes crashes (nextcloud app too :/ )

AA
AvatarImg

Ahmed A.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Good

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Good service but no other service like nextcloud

Cons

Only saving data on your own cloud but no more features

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Struggle to gain acceptance

Reviewed 6 years ago

I actually do not have a choice since some office environment block external cloud storage providers and migrate away from Microsoft enterprise services to ownCloud. However, only access if I really have to since there are already so many tools that I use to perform these functions.

Pros

I was relatively easy to set up on the server and provides a basic file structure so that institutional users can share files and keep them organized. It also has a chat feature.

Cons

While it has most of the functionality that I could want in such an app. I have struggled to actually use it since I already have my other cloud storage providers. For the chat feature, I would rather reach for my phone to call, text or use the messaging function with the personal than use the company-mandated chat feature in ownCloud.

AvatarImg

Adrian Ł.

Wholesale, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review