App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

ProjectWise Logo

ProjectWise

Cloud-based project collaboration solution

see alternatives

(4)

ProjectWise Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.4

/5

16
88%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

I think it is a great platform which can be used simply with secured access via the internet.
I really like projectwise for the large projects I work on. It’s really nice to have all files and information stored in one location for everybody to use.
I like the security of this software for storing and sharing important project documents.
There should be explanations & definitions built in to the UI because improper use of some of the tools can be catastrophic.
You need someone to guide for how to use. Actually projectwise provided too much functions and which are necessary also, but if any new user will have to struggle to use.
We use it primarily because some of our engineers use it, and some clients require it. If you're not working inside the Bentley ecosystem a ton (I don't), it's kind of a pain to mess with.
How would you rate ProjectWise?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


16 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great data-sharing product regardless of your platform!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Project data sharing next to none!

Pros

Ability to share data anywhere in the world. The workflows and the ability to automate so many aspects of the sheet creation process is a huge time saver. We use it for Bentley, Microsoft, and Autodesk software without major issues.

Cons

Upgrading the software can be a quite daunting task. The ability to integrate some of the more complex pieces of software Autodesk develops could use some attention.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A well rounded collaborative tool

Reviewed 5 months ago

I have used ProjectWise at many companies for many projects, and it has always been a powerful and useful collaboration tool. It does require training for the initial learning curve so we do always account for that in our project schedules.

Pros

I have used Projectwise for many projects with different teams - sometimes international teams around the world. My experience has always been decently pleasant. Projectwise has an advantage over its new competitor BIM360, because you can collaborate on MANY DIFFERENT FILES TYPES. Word docs, CAD drawings, Microstation drawings, spreadsheets, etc. This is where ProjectWise wins. It has an audit trail and you can customize the environment and document control for each project. You can also adjust permission settings as needed. The speed of working on drawings is efficient, since it makes a local copy and you're only affected by slow network issues when pushing your work to the server.

Cons

It does have a steep initial learning curve e.g. understanding check in vs server update vs open/checkout etc. There should be explanations & definitions built in to the UI because improper use of some of the tools can be catastrophic.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Produit pas du tout adapté

Reviewed 2 years ago

Perte d'une demi journée de travaille à cause de la perte de connexion

Pros

Je ne connais aucun point fort de ce produit

Cons

En cas de rupture de connexion avec le réseau perte d'information Pas de possibilité de lancer les fichiers batch windows

Showing original review in French. See translation

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Collaboration and File depository

Reviewed 4 months ago

Overall ProjectWise is a great tool and a must have for Construction documentation.

Pros

The ease of not just document upload but also file updates and changes makes ProjectWise a great collaboration tool.

Cons

The user interface can be quiet challenging at the beginning and may take some time to get used to.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Best project management system for large firms and agencies

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Huge storage capabilities for all types of files, various levels of sharing and security that enable quick and efficient transfer and sharing of files at all stages of project development and design, easy compatibility with all Bentley civil engineering design programs. As a design engineer in a large bridge design division, I found our switch to ProjectWise to be smooth and easily managed. Projects were easy to find, even years later, and ProjectWise facilitated good sharing and cooperation between in-house personnel and the customers.

Cons

It can be slow. Sometimes it goes down. There's a box that started auto-checking itself a few months ago that makes you open a read-only copy of things, and this resulted in my doing a bunch of analysis that didn't get saved, and a really awkward conversation with my group leader because said analysis was not there when we needed it to be. (Moral of story, read each dialog box carefully before clicking accept, even if you've been a ProjectWise user for a long time.)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great platform for Document Control

Reviewed 3 years ago

I think it is a great platform which can be used simply with secured access via the internet

Pros

PWOline is the provider for one of my best document control tools called eB it is a great all rounder enabling me to create individual document references which are then attached to the communications allowing for fantastic control of documentation due to the creation of separate references for documents and communications. These can easily be searched for with the straight for menu options and email notifications when new documentation is sent or received.

Cons

It can be a little confusing with some of the terminology in the menu but once you get to know it, you can easily negotiate your way through them.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

You need to update your review

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I'm not sure where you got your information on this but the review is incomplete and inaccurate. There are several features that I use consistently within ProjectWise that you show as unavailable. It has been the leading Engineering Document Management system for decades but you show that Document Management and Document Storage are 'unavailable'. It's build on collaboration and remote access which you also show as unavailable. No information is better than WRONG information.

Cons

There is little to say against it - it continues to grow and improve. Providing options most applicable to the industry. I expect it will continue to improve.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Useful for large projects

Reviewed 2 years ago

This helps to deliver large engineering projects across many disciplines.

Pros

I really like projectwise for the large projects I work on. It’s really nice to have all files and information stored in one location for everybody to use. Great for CAD development as well.

Cons

I wish that there were a dark mode and that the user interface would be modernized like other programs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Organized

Reviewed 5 years ago

Organization.

Pros

It is a great way to organize files in one place. Large ability to save a lot of files in one place.

Cons

It does what it is designed to do but it takes awhile to load files sometimes. But this might be a network thing at my work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

It will help to share document with security

Reviewed a year ago

It is necessary to use, if your company have lots of documents and have to share with many persons with security.

Pros

Easy to share any document through link and link is clickable to those who have permission. It will also help to share document within organization with ease.

Cons

It is little tough to work with it. You need someone to guide for how to use. Actually projectwise provided too much functions and which are necessary also, but if any new user will have to struggle to use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A great system for storing and sharing data in the cloud, once you get the hang of it

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Projectwise provides a flexible file structure and allows easy storage, sharing and collaboration on data in the cloud. This is of great assistance when working in nationally and internationally based teams. The variable levels of access controls can seem frustrating at first to the ordinary user, but are highly useful in controlling access to data

Cons

For first time users, Projectwise can be clunky to use, with little logic to the interface. The password reset functions are not seemingly well designed for organisations who require passwords changed regularly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great System for Project Collaboration

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Its functionalities go far beyond just a document sharing platform. The ability to review and update documents on the go make it an incredibly helpful system.

Cons

It can be a little confusing to use at first, but after watching tutorials and spending some time with it you get the hang of it quickly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Secure and easy to use

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I like the security of this software for storing and sharing important project documents.

Cons

I do not have any issues with this software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Used to maintain documentation or design related to any project

Reviewed a year ago

Overall an ok tool to start with to store documents related to your project., So that it can be maintained at one place

Pros

It is an ok tool to use to maintain the documentations of a project or the design documentation of the project. It is an easy to use tool. Any change made to the project document can be viewed in history also it can be raised for review in the same tool

Cons

There are better tools in the market today which can be used to store not just documentation realted to the project but also entire code base of the project

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Doesn't work with all products

Reviewed 2 years ago

It's OK. We use it primarily because some of our engineers use it, and some clients require it. If you're not working inside the Bentley ecosystem a ton (I don't), it's kind of a pain to mess with.

Pros

It's nice to have everything in one location, checking-in and checking-out gives the speed of a local copy.

Cons

Doesn't work super well with my GIS software - haven't figured out how to link directly to a path in projectwise. So I wind up having to take an extra step of exporting, editing, and re-importing multiple large files, rather than just using synced sharepoint directories.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review