App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

ScreenFlow Logo

ScreenFlow

Screen recording and video editing platform

see alternatives

(1)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

ScreenFlow Reviews

Overall rating

4.8

/5

24

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.04/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Are you looking for an app that can help you record your screen for school projects, tutorials, or just for fun. Then ScreenFlow is the perfect app for you.
What I like most about ScreenFlow is that it captures my entire desktop, and then, in the editing timeline, I can zoom in and out on parts of the recording to provide better quality productions.
I love it and recommend it to everyone who is looking for an easy-to-use editing tool. It could be improved in some aspects, but all software can.
The only downside to ScreenFlow is that you have to pay to upgrade to the new version. You'll have to keep using the old version if you don't upgrade.
It will crash randomly after long recording. Nesting videos can be a nightmare, the clips do not behave intuitively.
I would perhaps prefer to pay a little more on a one-time basis so that I can avoid the paid upgrades.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


24 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Philip Quintas V.

Owner

Media Production, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating

If you want to capture video and software or websites in action with audio, this is a great product

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Philip: Hi, I'm Philip and I'm a videographer, and I would rate ScreenFlow as a five out of five. Before...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Luciano Z.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The best software to produce video courses on MacOS

Reviewed 3 years ago

My overall experience is more than positive, thanks to the fact that I can make course videos very easily and quickly, without sacrificing impactful editing and effects. I would perhaps prefer to pay a little more on a one-time basis so that I can avoid the paid upgrades.

Pros

Screenflow in my opinion is the best software to produce video courses for those who use macOS. The simplicity with which you can add special effects, callouts, sounds is disarming. Adding your own voice track is super easy, as is editing and managing secondary screens, webcams, iOS devices connected to show apps and systems running.

Cons

One of the things I dislike very little is the fact that upgrades are paid for. Also, in some situations it is unclear how to manage projects, especially when saving as a single file or "package".

RC
AvatarImg

Richard C.

Graphic Design, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy as pie

Reviewed 2 years ago

Screenflow has been great. Because I travel I often have to move the license from my iMac desktop to my laptop. And sometimes I have to do this remotely. I'm often away for months at a time and don't know whether I'll need to use it for a project. But with remote desktop access I can unassign the license and reassign it to my laptop and vice versa without a hitch. Really easy to do. I'm am so glad I opted for this when I did. Oh and the tutorials and help resources are all you'll need if you want to do something a bit more flash. I've managed to create some lovely gif animations which I didn't imagine I would.

Pros

Screen capture is so straightforward and easy to set up, and then you can be straight into the editing suite. Recording high-quality audio at the same time. I haven't really scratched the surface of what Screenflow can do but even with the most basic of features, I'm not overwhelmed with all the features. The output has been very professional and clear and clean. I've been really happy with the results.

Cons

There's very little to say here. I haven't hit a major problem. Although there is one thing, which is mainly my issue. I've gotten in the habit of recording my 5K iMac screen at full resolution so I can do some nice zoom ins and zoom outs, but of course this leads to quite large files. Which in itself isn't a problem, as hard drives are generally very large now. It just means it fills up my cloud storage so I have to keep backups of the source screencaptures local, and backed up to an external hard drive. Again not Screenflow's fault!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Yann I.

Online Media, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A solid video editing option for Mac users

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Of the different things ScreenFlow brings to the table, my favorite one is its user interface. Some video editing software I used in the past did have a relatively "busy" workspace, full with different features, effects, etc. All of this, made the experience with such tools not as smooth and straightforward as it could have been. Things are different with ScreenFlow, though. The workspace isn't clutter,...

Cons

Compared to other video editing solutions, ScreenFlow can come across as relatively pricey. And whenever new features are made available, are included in newer versions of the app – which require you pay to actually get the update, since it isn't free.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

More robust editing than free screenshare tools...

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have a small YouTube channel where I share technical how-tos. I also share walkthroughs and instructions with employees and contractors. This works much better for the more elaborate, and sensitive videos as I can edit out passwords, names etc which free tools like Loom don't allow you to do yet.

Pros

I work in IT and am constantly sending instructions to contractors, or clients. Some of the free options are great, but lack in the editing functions that Screenflow just knocks out of the park. You can overlay music so walkthroughs are less dry and awkward, and add click effects or Zooms to specific parts of the video. You can also use blur tools to block out API keys, passwords, or any other sensitive information that may have otherwise made its way into your tutorial/walkthrough.

Cons

Not a huge userbase, but support is still relatively easy to find online when there's something new I'm trying to accomplish. The app's interface is almost too simple, but after a short time, you get used to where things are. Overall, still very happy with this software.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Lori R.

Photography, self-employed

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Essential to my online courses

Reviewed 3 years ago

ScreenFlow is an essential part of my online education program from recording presentations and course modules to short quick tips. Sometimes I use only the slides, others I film myself with slides, and other times, just myself. I have also used it to capture instructional videos while using my iPhone. Selecting between each of these options is very easy and so is editing. I use the program daily when I'm creating educational content for my subscribers.

Pros

ScreenFlow is easy to use whether I'm recording my computer screen, myself, or my iPhone screen. With a little instruction and practice, it's easy to combine videos and audio within the software that you'd like to add to your screen capture recording. When filming yourself with slides, it's easy to move yourself to different areas of the slides in the recording.

Cons

There have been glitches from time to time where my recording disappeared or didn't save. I feel like these bugs have been corrected for the most part. I also save all raw files to my computer as well as exporting the edited version so that nothing is lost.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Brock P.

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ScreenFlow is the Best Screen Recording tool on the Market

Reviewed a year ago

This is a great product. I have recommended it dozens of times to online entrepreneurs, bloggers, podcasters, ecommerce entrepreneurs, YouTubers and and a number of other people who need a great screen recording tool.

Pros

ScreenFlow is EXTREMELY easy to use, but in this case easy doesn't mean low-powered. ScreenFlow is PACKED full of just about every feature and option you could ask for. 90% of what we use it for is grabbing fast screen recordings that get integrated into larger videos. Screenflow is PERFECT for this task.

Cons

We really don't have any "negatives" for ScreenFlow. It does everything we need it to (and much more).

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jordan M.

Media Production, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My Go-to Software For More Than Just Screen Recording

Reviewed 3 years ago

It's probably my most-used piece of software. Definitely my most used for video and audio editing and creation. It's my daily go-to for SO many projects, big and small. I love it. Don't know what I'd do without it.

Pros

For me, this makes media work a breeze. Screenflow is so flexible and easy to use, it really takes something pretty complex to make me use anything else. From quick video creation, editing and even audio recording, it's my go-to. It makes so many projects quick and easy.

Cons

This is where I'll have to be honest... because I've used it for YEARS and used it A LOT, I've experienced many crashes, freezes and bugs. BUT nothing so debilitating that stops a project in its tracks. Usually any mishaps or "bugs" can be solved with a simple restart of the software or restart of the computer. In 10+ years using Screenflow, I think I've only completely lost projects due to software error 2 or 3 times.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sharry Karisa M.

Education Management, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Reliable

Reviewed 3 years ago

I for one use it to aid my work at Lee University. As I work with understudies and need to give the "how to" kinds of guidelines that they can adhere to (for example SPSS, Stats with Excel and so forth) the comfort of giving a video to them to watch saves time for meeting up close and personal. It takes care of the issue of understudies being in another state or potentially the issue of up close and...

Pros

Usability - the interface is extremely instinctive Flexibility - the capacity to all the while record from numerous sources Simple to send out - the completed item can be saved as a record, messaged, or presented on web-based stages like YouTube

Cons

Continuous and pestering updates. When refreshing, I don't really see the strategic benefit of why I paid for the overhaul.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Philip Quintas V.

Media Production, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

If you want to capture video and software or websites in action with audio, this is a great product

Reviewed 2 years ago

Excellent experience I use it every time I need to record my screen and, did I mention (LOL), I can get the audio along with the moving images! Plus you can size the video when you export it and even record the screen on a smart phone, it is such a great tool.

Pros

The ease of use and ability to capture audio with moving screen images (video, software and websites in action).

Cons

The stop record keyboard sort cut is something weird like alt + Option + 2, it's awkward and takes some getting used to, but I eventually learned to memorize it and I don[t have much of a problem with it. I know that may sound petty, but, it eats up a lot of storage when and I'd rather have that be a little easier to do, or a more intuitive command.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

René A.

Graphic Design, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A reliable and capable screen recorder for macOS

Reviewed a year ago

When providing software training, ScreenFlow has become my “go-to” tool to record and share videos with my clients and colleagues. The ease of use and the wide range of export capabilities make it a great choice out of the tools I use on a regular basis.

Pros

ScreenFlow’s feature set offers many tools to record and edit videos from your computer screen. You can show keyboard interactions and highlight areas in different ways. The timeline can hold several streams, you can add still images, separate audio files and work with different effects.

Cons

Some features are not obvious to discover. The price point is higher than for other screen recorders but the features and stability are worth it.

JV
AvatarImg

Joshua V.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great video recording and editing software for marketers just getting started.

Reviewed 3 years ago

The main business problem I solved with Screenflow was how to break into using videos for my business on my mac. After watching many hours of free tutorials, I had enough information to start editing interviews, video sales letters, and youtube videos. Blurring sensitive information is easy. And once you learn the software it is fairly easy to use for those really important business videos.

Pros

Screenflow is perfect for business owners that are getting into using video for their businesses for the first time, and need a professional, constantly updating, screen recording, plus video editing solution. There are plenty of free guides on how to make amazing business videos with Screen Flow. You will absolutely have the power to do what you need.

Cons

Learning Screenflow takes a good week of effort watching tutorial videos. You may want to simply buy one of the many Screenflow tutorial courses designed to get you up to speed as quickly as possible. Also you must always record in full screen. You can't simply select the portion of the screen you want to capture and only capture that.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Tc C.

E-Learning, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

ScreenFlow: The Amazing App for Recording Your Screen!

Reviewed a year ago

Despite this one downside, I still think ScreenFlow is one of the best screen recording apps out there, right up there with Camtasia. I enjoy using it, and I think you will too! It's worth buying if you want to create high-quality videos that impress your friends and family.

Pros

Are you looking for an app that can help you record your screen for school projects, tutorials, or just for fun? Then ScreenFlow is the perfect app for you! It's super easy to use, and it helps you create incredible videos that look professional.I love using ScreenFlow for all my screen recording needs because it works well and is very user-friendly.

Cons

The only downside to ScreenFlow is that you have to pay to upgrade to the new version. You'll have to keep using the old version if you don't upgrade. And if you wait too long to upgrade, you might pay more for the new version.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great video editing tool for beginners

Reviewed 3 years ago

Awesome! I can't complain, it's a great software and I've been using it for editing videos for more than 4 years. I love it and recommend it to everyone who is looking for an easy-to-use editing tool. It could be improved in some aspects, but all software can. It's a trade-off that I'm willing to make.

Pros

My favorite thing about Screenflow is that it is super user-friendly, having an awesome UX and UI, making it so easy for beginners to quickly edit videos. I love that it's clean, quick to learn and that it allows for a lot of different features. Exporting options are good and easy.

Cons

I wish it offers more pre-set animation and effects, making it easier to, for example, animate a logo. I think it's great for a lot of things but it has its limitations in comparison to other software, such as Premiere, for example. I wish it was cheaper.

TG
AvatarImg

Tomas G.

E-Learning, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing for screen recording and editing

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

You can record your mic, webcam and screen all at the same time and edit them all in this software.

Cons

It's not free and you can only use you licence on one device at a time

TH
AvatarImg

Tim H.

Broadcast Media, self-employed

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ScreenFlow is a great mid-range screen capture and video editing program!

Reviewed 3 years ago

This software was recommended to me by a professional video editor who regularly uses Final Cut Pro at work and ScreenFlow at home. I figured if it's good enough for him, it's good enough for me!

Pros

Although ScreenFlow is known for its screen capture capabilities, I use it primarily for video editing. It's more advanced than iMovie but not as complicated as Final Cut Pro. It's a great mid-range video editing program. And it keeps getting better! Version 10 now includes animated titles and lower-third screen annotations!

Cons

Like any advanced software program, there is a learning curve. But because it's widely used, there are a lot of online videos you can watch to help you discover the tips and tricks.

BC
AvatarImg

Bakari C.

Media Production, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Essential for tool for Mac screen recording

Reviewed 2 years ago

I enjoy editing productions with ScreenFlow. It makes me feel like a professional editor.

Pros

I've been using ScreenFlow for almost a decade. Nearly every year, it gets updated with new features that make it easier to do video capture and editing. What I like most about ScreenFlow is that it captures my entire desktop, and then, in the editing timeline, I can zoom in and out on parts of the recording to provide better quality productions. With this type of editing, viewers can easily see what I'm talking about in the video. While it may take some time to learn how to use ScreenFlow, it's worth it, especially if you want quality video productions for your courses or YouTube channel. The later versions of ScreenFlow also allow for creating templates of the type of edits you make in the video. This makes it easy to apply those templates during the editing process.

Cons

I want to use ScreenFlow for quick 10-second videos, but it's most useful for longer productions.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A great tool for instructional video production!

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, my experience with ScreenFlow has been great! It has been easy to start recording and editing with professional results.

Pros

ScreenFlow is easy to use for a newbie like me. It also has additional features and capabilities as I improve my skills.

Cons

I cannot think of anything I need that ScreenFlow does not do. It is a great program for recording instructional videos.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Stephen J.

E-Learning, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

So much right, some stuff wrong.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I've used ScreenFlow for about 10 years now, and I think it's the best option on the Mac. It's powerful enough to handle most tasks and I even find myself stretching it to do some simple video editing from time to time. All in all, it's a great product and if you do any amount of screen casting on the Mac, it's a must buy.

Cons

Well... It's buggy. It will crash randomly after long recording. Nesting videos can be a nightmare, the clips do not behave intuitively. After you figure out the quirks, it is manageable.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jorge Edel A.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Screen recording with great editor

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

One the most advance screen recorder that also comes with a great editor

Cons

Only available for mac and some plugins don't work like in fcpx

IS
AvatarImg

Ibrahim S.

Graphic Design, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

ScreenFlow offers more than just recording

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Screenflow helps you on most of your recording tasks. Recordings don't take up much space. Editing side of the software has plenty of tools to go with.

Cons

Software has some issues like crashing but its manageable

ME
AvatarImg

Matt E.

Medical Practice, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best screen capture/video capture tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

Been using it for close to 8yrs now. Super handy with creating tutorials or just general video editing.

Pros

Super lightweight. Super fast. Exports video files smaller than expensive production level software I have with the same editing. Very quick to do any editing with.

Cons

Sometimes it is hard to remember how to assign the effects, but once you realize it is very easy. Wish they had better voice-over tools.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Miguel E.

E-Learning, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

An effective app to record e-learning content, tutorial, screen step by step guides in pro quality.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Slow but aceptable learning curve. Find myself switching between ScreenFlow and iMovie frequently but for e-learning content ScreenFlow is king. For creating movies there are some other better alternatives.

Pros

Designed to ease the process of creating tutorials, courses and videos.

Cons

The newer versions of the App includes some options to create nice Titles but is somehow limited compared to other video editing apps.

AS
AvatarImg

Antonio S.

Research, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Genial herramienta de captura de vídeo

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Una herramienta espectacular, puedes hacer vídeos para tu equipo de trabajo por ejempo, puedes capturar toda la pantalla o bien una porción de la misma.La calidad de la grabación final es excelente y puedes hacer exportaciones a mp3

Cons

El software es un tanto básico (pero funciona) y tiene unas letras específicas para las grabaciones que no puedes personalizar como mejor te venga

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

PT
AvatarImg

Prapaporn T.

Design, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Really useful software for recording microphone and screen at the same time

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

Simple to use and allows me to edit in the software too. Great tool for video production

Cons

It's Mac only and it's paid, but that's okay as it's really powerful