Slack Reviews

Slack Reviews

Slack

A single place for team communication and workflows

4.6/5 (2,180 reviews)
51,305     306,525

Sean O Neill

Good app for chatting with team members but don't see what it offers that others dont

13/06/2017

Some good benefits clean interface and nice group of channels really

Pros

I like the interface it was clean and looked good and the way you can have different channels for different topics was nice also.

Cons

I wouldn't call it bad but it doesn't offer anything new or different compared to discord or skype even.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
James Gadsby

Slack is a nice team communication tool but not for everyone

07/06/2017

Pros

Enjoy the simplicity of Slack's interface and simple ability to search and find what you are looking for. Easy for newcomers to understand.

Cons

It lacks some capabilities that other collaboration tools have but Slack continues to evolve the product regularly. A really big disappointment is Slack's discrimination against faith-based organizations. Our team partners with other inner-city ministries to work toward the mutual transformation of these impoverished neighborhoods, and Slack will not allow us to use the non-profit version with our partners since we are a ministry. Disappointing but we have also found many other technology companies like Microsoft that provide tools and resources for non-profits regardless of faith.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Gorges

Slack needs an

14/03/2017

Slack is great / fun when everyone is online constantly / engaging constantly, but it's *horrible* if someone steps out of the office and misses an entire important thread.

Pros

UX / UI design

Cons

I miss messages ALL THE TIME on Slack.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ron Pugh

Slack: The expensive HipChat

01/02/2017

So many people export the value of Slack. The biggest complaint I have here is "value for the money". I'll put it to you in simple terms: Download the HipChat server and HipChat client (Mac, Windows and Mobile clients) and save yourself a ton of money. HipChat will also give you encryption, AD integration/SSO, and an API. The user interface leaves less than to be desired also. I have no idea why Slack is valued at $ when better products exist for free with the same or better feature sets.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Adam Brandizzi

Surprising limited and slow for such a popular software

25/01/2017

We use Slack for internal communication between many teams. It is straightforward to use, indeed, its usability is the winning point. One does not take too much time to understand how it works and can get proficient in it very fast. Yet, it is very hard to make sense of knowledge that is archived there. It is also too easy for more talkative employees to monopolize a channel - not that they did anything wrong, it is just that the tool leads to it. It is limited permission system makes it awkward to allow many users to create channels: either user can do almost anything, or cannot create their topics' channels. Those are mostly details, however, because the worst problem is the performance. Slack is surprisingly heavy for the kind of features it brings. Their native clients are also bloated, but it is even worse to people like me, who work on platforms that do not have native clients: we're forced to have many tabs open, which consumes a lot of memory and slow down the browser. Since there is no way to compartmentalize channels into organizations, we ended up with many slack domains here, which made everything even worse: I have many different memory eaters. In general, I do like the appearance and simplicity, but I'd expect simplicity to make me do less with more. This is not what Slack provides.

Pros

Easy to use, beautiful.

Cons

Limited, poorly organized, slow, bloated.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Victoria Verhowsky

Not slacking!

19/01/2017

Good program. Initially difficult to use certain features or find same chats when switching from desktop app to web browser site. Otherwise, it was very helpful to keep up with chats in my group.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jessica Gassler

Could be useful, but not for me.

05/01/2017

Using Slack was nothing more than just a BBS system for me; completely unnecessary for my needs. I never fully understood its purpose or benefit. I'm sure that it could've been more useful, but my patience ran thin with it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Aaron Kolesar

For a manufacturing company like I work for it has no use

08/12/2016

We had this program thrown on us by higher ups I can see a use for it in certain types of organizations as a great collaborative tool. In a manufacturing company like ourselves, it has no use and is just another thing to have to spend time on.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
AJ Driscoll

I don't get the hype

28/11/2016

I think there are many alternatives to slack that in my opinion are a little more streamlined and easier to use. (g chat, lync) It's a good product that has a lot of users and easy to create teams but again the hype doesn't make sense to me.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Laura  Ahmetaj

Effective and Efficient

11/11/2016

Slack has been a very useful tool for ny team and myself. I find that it is great for delegating tasks to groups within the team. Allowing for people to see only messages that are applicable to themselves. I would definitely reccomend this software to a colleague in developing their connuication within their company.

Pros

I like how easy it is to navigate and how natural it feels. In respect to the fact that it feels as to how you would physically communicate.

Cons

I do not like how hard it is to navigate their settings.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

No.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tatia Sikharulidze

Occasional Slackster

09/11/2016

My usage of slack has been minimal, but it has been a great communication tool to resort to in addition to our company's current email system. The social nature of social nature of Slack allows me to interact with coworkers in a more relaxed setting.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Amiria Brosnan

Good Communication Platform

14/10/2016

I used Slack before discovering a different platform of communication which I now find suits my work needs alot better, this is why I only rated Slack the way I did.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael  Moon

Slack - Great Tool For Small Business

06/10/2016

Running a small media company requires me to send various documents and notes to my staff. Slack is a great way to keep it all various channels as well as a common depository.

Pros

Great free offerings.

Cons

Getting staff to use it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

Include things similarly found in WeChat for Slack Mobile.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
larry peterson

larry's review

05/10/2016

I am a new slack user, we have only recently been introduced to the tool and are looking for ways to leverage with SFDC.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Hasan Abdul Rahman

Verified Reviewer

Good chatting app for me but can not be viewed as a collaboration platform

02/09/2016

I have tried to make it work for my company as a collaboration platform but it lacks some important features. I can not create tasks and I can not give deadlines .. It is a great chatting app for internal communication but i wished it has more features.

Pros

1-can create departments 2-can chat privately with some members 3-can share documents

Cons

1-can not assign tasks 2-no deadlines features 3-notifications issues

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

It is good for internal communication in the company but not for collaboration

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Johan Dowdy

Verified Reviewer

Slack: A great tool at an inflated price

22/05/2016

Slack is a flexible and complex tool for sharing information both in real time and for quick reference. Part real-time chat, part WIKI, part IRC, part BBS, and holistic communications hub, Slack is a powerful way to share information and collaborate between teams.

Pros

Users love it, especially engineers. There are really a lot of great ways to share information that make it more versatile that its competitors.

Cons

The pricing is really high and generally speaking, Slack doesn't go out of there way to make it a better value proposition(they don't negotiate). Slack has a very poor security posture, somewhat normal for a company of this age, but it does not yet seem like a priority for them.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Eric Dumont

New tool for com

21/03/2016

Pros

The use (possibly and not confirm) of one app to centralized all communication

Cons

Difficulty to start and understand what is the best way to use it efficiently

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

6/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

i don't have any recommendations at this time

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
John Freinen

Verified Reviewer

Over-hyped chat tool

29/11/2015

The UI is horrible for a chat app. I can only have one conversation open at a time and need to switch between them to see updates. Even the "desktop" app is nothing more than the same web app wrapped in a desktop interface. IM clients have been around forever and they almost universally provide a far better interface. Slack does have an XMPP gateway that theoretically allows you to use an IM client, but the nature of Slack is slightly different and a dedicated desktop app would be better (or a plugin for some popular IM clients like Trillian). By far the worst part of Slack is lack of real notifications. If you have the desktop client it will pop-up a window in the tray, but it goes away automatically after a few seconds. Other than that you have to notice that the tab title has a star on it to know there are new notifications, and then navigate to them within the UI. Multiple chat windows is far easier to work with.

Pros

Has a lot of integrations and mention notifications are in theory nice.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Infrastructure Engineer (Information Technology and Services company, 1001-5000 employees)
Verified Reviewer

It does the job

20/10/2015

Like pretty much everybody I have been using Instant Messaging apps for a long time, starting with MSN, and then some other like Hangouts, Skype and now Slack. Now, whats the difference between Slack and the rest? well, is extremely easy to uses, and something that for me is very important for me is that Slack is client-less, we you can have a client installed on your PC, phone, tablet, etc but if you dont want to our you dont have any of those things with you you can always go to the website and talk with everybody. It is cool, how you can have multiple channels with the right people on them all the time, and they will the message, one way or another.

Pros

Fast integration, always in sync, less annoying that other tools (notification and setup)

Cons

I find really annoying that most of the settings to customize my account or profile or whatever, opens a new tab instead of keep everything inside the same window.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ramin Sultanov

Verified Reviewer

08/06/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Konrad du Plessis

Verified Reviewer

25/05/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Michael Beitz

Verified Reviewer

19/05/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Janice W Chan

Verified Reviewer

18/05/2017

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Read more
Rodrigo Ibarra

Verified Reviewer

16/05/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Laurie Bullard

Verified Reviewer

16/05/2017

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: GetApp
Read more