Slack Reviews

Slack Reviews

Slack

A single place for your team communication and workflows

4.6/5 (2,085 reviews)
49,935     303,014

Michael Wehar

Used Slack to communicate with students for group projects.

19/05/2017

Pros

I was involved with a software engineering course at my university. In the course, students broke up into various groups to work on software projects. We used Slack to facilitate communication. - Slack is reliable. - The students seemed to enjoy using it to communicate. - And, it was free to get started with.

Cons

- If you don't pay, then your older messages and conversations get deleted.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sarah Frazin

Simple Messaging System

19/05/2017

Pros

This software is great for communication among my classmates when doing group projects. I'm able to keep my social life separate from school life, so I don't get distracted on Facebook or Twitter.

Cons

It's hard to get people to start using it, because most students haven't heard of it, but once they try it, they seem to like it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jairo Franco

Simple to use, user friendly and multi plataform (web and mobile)

18/05/2017

Pros

I can easily access peer messages from my cellphone when I'm away of the office. I can have more informal conversations

Cons

It costs a lot store files and messages. Each team is limited to 100000 messages and few hungraded files.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
STEPHANE AKOKI

Slack is used in our university and in my workplace. I have enjoyed using it, it's easy, and cool

18/05/2017

Pros

User friendly, easy to use, the user interface is really simplistic making it easy to learn. I do like how we could join several teams. I also like that we could share programming code.

Cons

Conversations are removed under the free plans, not sure if it can be recovered. I would like an improvement with the live chat

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Eric Teng

Great tool for collaboration

18/05/2017

A nice, clean, collaboration platform that has a lot of possibilities especially with the myriad of app integrations that could be done to it.

Pros

Windows app is clean, intuitive, and easy to use. Synchronization between windows app and android app is great. I like the fact when I am logged into slack on Windows and have it on, it does not do an alert on my android but when I log off from the Windows app, it does. It works really well and a great feature because I am only notified when necessary. I really enjoy using the giphy integration for the app as well, it makes my collaboration with my co-workers much more interesting than words and standard smileys.

Cons

I am not sure if this might be a feature that exists and I just do not know about it but there is no ability to add additional users to a direct message conversation. I have to make sure I include everyone that's relevant the first time when starting the direct message for one-off discussion topics where it does not make sense for me to create a channel.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Claudia David-Nugent

Useful user-friendly application with a few technical difficulties.

18/05/2017

Easiness of use, organized communications, reaching team members easily.

Pros

Very user-friendly and easy to use. Great to connect a team of membres working from home. The channels make it easier to remain organized.

Cons

Had some issues with the application freezing and having to reboot, or having difficulty connecting to the internet. Could offer additional functionalities, especially in regards to file sharing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brian Cauley

Great tool for collaborating

16/05/2017

Pros

Really easy to create a slack site and very intuitive on how to use it. The 3rd party integration are one of its key features.

Cons

More video chat support. The pricing model is ridiculous and I'll never actually play for this software. If they would price it so it was affordable I'd have everyone in my company using it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sarah Bradshaw

Easy to use.

16/05/2017

Pros

I like that it's easy to use and that you can talk to a group or individuals. I've never really had any issues with it.

Cons

It just seems a little unnecessary. I think gchat serves basically the same purpose, and makes it so I have to have one less program on my computer.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

4/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sheri Frazin

A Nice Communication Tool

16/05/2017

Pros

I like that I can use this tool that is similar to other social media messaging that I already know, I didn't need to relearn anything to use it. And same goes for the rest of my team, just easy to navigate all around.

Cons

Just having something that I need to log in to in order to use, it's an extra step that I need to remember every day, I would connect it to my email but the constant chatting can get annoying.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael Birchfield

Slack is fun! Very happy with it.

12/05/2017

Pros

The thread component is very useful and saves people a lot of unnecessary notifications. Direct messages are also useful and the channel wide update ability is great.

Cons

Slack is great, but it is not a complete messaging software. There could be more features involved with it. The search component is a little bit confusing too.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dhiren Patel

Not worth ditching internet messaging software

09/05/2017

1. Initially, it looks cool to have the entire team on a single platform. 2. Was able to search history of communications very easily. 3. Lots of third party app integration

Pros

1. Easy group communication 2. Central place of information on various communication 3. Various integrated slack Apps (third party)

Cons

1. Just a communication software. Most of the integration are not worth it. 2. Better communication software available for free in a market like Skype, Google hangout. 3. Most of the slack adds too much of noise in the slack channel.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Patrick Chong Jin Hua

Verified Reviewer

Effective but does not have good mobile interfaces

01/05/2017

Slack is a good communication platform that has a huge number of handy integrations that can be used to improve communications and productivity. However, Slack's iPhone and Android apps are both horribly flawed. In certain Android phones, users can't use the thread function. In other Android phones, messages (especially direct messages) don't load when they should. In the iOS app, the direct messages that are closed on the desktop are not reflected in the direct messages list in the Slack iOS app (works on Android though)

Pros

Slack integrations are really useful.

Cons

The Slack Android and iOS apps are not up to par with the reputation Slack has garnered

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

Slack is best used in the web browser or the desktop app because the phone apps are bad.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Fabian Muñoz

Verified Reviewer

Team collaboration inside a big organization

01/05/2017

Pros

Being able to quickly communicate with team members across borders. I absolutely love the ability to edit messages I've already sent to (for example) correct the spelling or change the way a phrase was typed in order to make it more understandable for future reading. Rich content such as emoji, images, file sharing helps to rapidly collaborate with others in real time. Very flexible and easy to integrate with other applications if a connector is provided.

Cons

Handling big groups can be daunting. If governance of information is required then this tool can make it difficult. I wish there were a metadata component to help classify and categorize conversations, tagging of documents would also help if available.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Vivekanandhan Sivasubramanian

A pretty good product

28/04/2017

We got slack our office. For a while, I didn't bother using it. Once I started, I found it very useful for collaborating with the members of the office with whom I wouldn't have interacted otherwise. I do not have any experience of dealing with their customer service team.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Robert Dusevoir

First Impression

20/04/2017

When I first heard about Slack, I figured I'd try it out. I invited a couple of colleagues and it functioned just like a normal group text. Then our sister company, who shares the same office, tried to add me in their team, but were unable to through the desktop. I felt that this was an odd obstruction to a normal function.

Pros

It's a simple way to have organized group chats.

Cons

It should be easier to invite people to your team through the desktop.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

6/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

Doesn't take too much space on your phone.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Priyanka  Narang

Slack - Chat, Exchange Information, Share documents, create channels

20/04/2017

Pros

Using slack we were able to create our own team, invite members to our team and exchange our product related information between us. The mobile app's adds a benefit of being connected when you are on the move. Slack call feature adds an advantage to have effective voice communication as well.

Cons

If slack can include the capability of video call it will add an advantage of having face to face communication.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anoop Nath

Easy to use Project Communication & management tool

17/04/2017

Have been using this tool for last 5 years for my client, that is proof of user & client friendliness.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nirmal Kumar

Slack - Connecting the Team

16/04/2017

I have been using the Slack for one of our client project and i feel it embraces the communication better for enterprise customers. Moreover, it creates a transparency between the teams and anyone can able to revise the history of all the communication happened on a specific topic which the team is looking for.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brett Hall

Easy and Expansive

14/04/2017

Disclaimer: I am not the purchaser and have not interacted directly with customer support. I am simply an end user at my company. Slack it a relatively solid communication program that allows for everything I have thought of (so far). Personal communication; mobile connectivity; the ability to join in a group conversation and have access to entire conversation up to that point; archiving conversations for future reference; tagging, exporting, and linking abilities... the list goes on. I look forward to doing and learning more with Slack.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Martin Simard

Nice team productivity tool

14/04/2017

I love use slack at work. It help team to get closer, keep tracks and specialy for homeworkers. This tool is awsome! You can use it with different project and team at the time.

Pros

Productivity tools, keep track of your team chat by channels. A lot of addons and you can create your own bot

Cons

Some time it consume too much memory

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nick Matteucci

Slack or Skype for Virtual Teams?

14/04/2017

I really do like Slack but it is hard to switch from Skype. What would make Slack a lot better would be * Translations built in * Desktop sharing * Status that block better (like Skype where you can go DND, Away, etc) Overall a really good app/start. Just not enough for me to switch just yet.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tiiu Rebane

Fun group chat software

12/04/2017

We moved from hipchat to slackchat a while back and love it! It's lots of fun to have separate channels for work/play, programmable responses via slackbot, and extra fun with giphy inserts. Sending docs and searching history are great, too. It's useful but crashes often.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bill Chandler

Perfect social-interaction system for team management

12/04/2017

Introduced this product into my usual team-project workflow for easy communication between members. It was quickly picked up by all teams and within a matter of weeks it had become a staple of communication. The ability to split into private and public channels to easily manage different project areas with invaluable and the added bot/script compatibility helped immensely and will be used more in the coming future. A recommended tool for any team willing to enter the social-media era.

Pros

Ease of use, Addons and script compatibility.

Cons

N/A

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

N/A`

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gerson Coy

Slack Review

12/04/2017

I've tried it a couple times with my team. I believe they didn't find it easy to use, as we only had it used a couple times. It's nice and I still have it in my iPhone but maybe it should be a little bit easier to use.

Pros

Ease of communication

Cons

Not as intuitive as other communication apps

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Me rove  Heifetz

Helpful for team communication

05/04/2017

Slack has really helped our company better communicate across different projects and teams. It can get overwhelming to have too many channels, so it's really important to have a plan for when you create new channels so that they don't get out of control. One area that could be improved is around file management. While you can technically search for any file, sometimes it's still helpful to be able to access files in a hierarchal manner.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more