Slack Reviews

Slack Reviews

Slack

Team communication for the 21st century

4.6/5 (1,781 reviews)
46,659     290,054

Suong NGUYEN

Verified Reviewer

Good communication for any type of projects

16/01/2017

I use Slack for any of my personal and professional projects so I could hang out with different teams at the same time on a variety of subjects. Divided by channels, we don't get lost in our daily conversation. Notifications on the go is a plus and a switch between different groups saves a lot of time. I'd recommend this tools for all types of project certainly.

Pros

- Topics by channels - Easily engage new members - Able to upload from the cloud - Handle different groups at once

Cons

I don't have much to say about the cons.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Krithika Siddharth

Verified Reviewer

Best workplace app

28/11/2016

It's a great app that lets our team to stay connected at all times. All our information are stored internally and could be retrieved easily when ever needed. Also with the bots and gifs, even our most serious conversation seems hilarious. An app that's a stress buster as well as serves the purposw very well.

Pros

The simple UI, and the abiLity to create separate channel for each goal helps us to divide and simplify our task list.

Cons

There is no way to plan weekly tasks efficiently. But since this is more of a communication app it's not really a con.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Recommendations to others considering Slack

A great app if you are a small team or remotely working. Great app if you use multiple devices as you can access the data and information through the app itself

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anne-Sophie Bachelard

Verified Reviewer

Nice communication tool to get in contact with people!

05/11/2016

Super app to interact with people! I'm only using it at work but as everyone is based everywhere it is very useful to remain in touch with all of them. You can share ideas or just exchange point of views like we're all together in the same place! Super easy tool to discuss with everyone, at the same time or just with one person.

Pros

You can create a channel per topic and discuss this topic only there. You get notifications when people need an answer from you.

Cons

Messages disappear after a certain time so there is no history available, information you need may diappear if you don't save it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

Save important information/message in a dedicated file to avoid to loose it when it will disappear.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Director of Inside Sales (Computer Software company, 51-200 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Great communication tool

21/08/2016

I've been using the app for more than 5months in my organization and it has been a huge improvement in our daily basis. The ability of creating private and public groups is great, and also to save files is incredible. A huge change form Skype for Business.

Pros

Private and public groups Save files on each group to see them later Easy to manage user interface

Cons

Pricy, you need to add email costs and that does not change the usage of Skype

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

plan ahead when you implement it, sometimes it gets confusing at first when you try to decide between owner and manager.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jessica Koon

Verified Reviewer

Responsible for a team of 40+ users

09/08/2016

So happy to have a more organized and communicative work place. We can depend on the app to work. The app's updates are always awesome. We use it everyday.

Pros

Works wonders when ppl use it correctly.

Cons

Unfortunately too advanced for only a couple of our users. Nothing that's stopped us from moving forward everyday with slack

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

Download it. Use it. It helps.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Product Designer (Information Technology and Services company, 1-10 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Business chat

12/07/2016

Very easy to use, especialy if you are familiar with IRC. Mac version is basically just wrapped internet app, but it works really well. If you have a team thats is remote this is a must have app.

Pros

Simple setup and operations

Cons

Loading times are sometimes longer.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Aaron Pastor

Verified Reviewer

Pretty Great...but too pervasive?

30/05/2016

Overall communication between the team that I've used it with has improved. A small team but remote from one another. Everything in one place is nice, and a feature I gravitate toward, however I don't know that we've figured out a way to make all of this communication actionable without increasing our management of our slack. So while the inclination is to use it for all internal communication, I'm not certain it is the right tool for all groups.

Pros

Ability to define channels, share files and chat via desktop or mobile.

Cons

This is probably counter-slacktuitive, but I would prefer more robust email notification options for user-defined events.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jason Weeks

Verified Reviewer

Slack is business comms

26/05/2016

Our use of Slack is like many others. It has grown, changed integrated, it's part of what we do and how we communicate. The integration with our other components of our business is essential to having one channel for reduction of effort and increased efficiency.

Pros

- Pricing - UI/UX - Integrations - Ability to collaborate and have outsiders in temporarily - Replaces unnecessary email & comms

Cons

- Dominates communication - Creates an environment where people might not interact directly

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tommy Boucher

Verified Reviewer

Nice but incomplete

12/05/2016

When we started using it, I was very reluctant. We use Lync for several years, and from my point of view, Slack is not a replacement but an addition. Employees soon began to disconnect from Lync to be exclusively on Slack. Slack gives good advantages, as the persistence of the messages and the synchronization between the devices. The fact that the Windows / Mac client is so unstable takes away a lot of value, and using in a browser, it is not really effective. Overall, we all love it.

Pros

Persistent messages Live sync across devices Very easy to use Addictive (We have hundreds of non-work related channel)

Cons

Can be a waste of time (People spend to much time "not-working" on it) Mac and Windows clients aren't effective Won't help with the "Presence" since not everyone keep the browser open. Expansive for the feature list

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Director of Copy (Marketing and Advertising company, 51-200 employees)
Verified Reviewer

A thousand uses for this app, one might even be to get work done

27/04/2016

Interoffice conversation is now possible in real-time. But, then again, it kind of has always been possible. We use it at my workplace for most every kind of conversation and it makes working with my colleagues in Europe a lot easier. (If only there was a way Slack could be rid of time zones.)

Pros

Fast, reliable, pretty much glitch free. Uploading docs, images, files is a breeze. Super intuitive. Channel creation is simple, collaboration is a lot easier.

Cons

It has turned a once buzzing office into a silent room. I still feel weird having a slack chat with my neighbor instead of actually speaking to them. (Not Slack's falut, of course.) The /giphy function is not great, delivers up only mildly amusing gifs. (hair-splitting, of course) Real con: doesn't seem to support the major imagery platfoms. I am unable to view images from links forwarded by collegues.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lakshmi Harikumar

Verified Reviewer

Can't think of a better way to communicate with co-workers

01/04/2016

Slack makes sure that everyone in the team (an outside of your immediate team) is always kept in the loop and everybody is on top of everything. Its sheer joy to connect Slack with all your everyday tools such as HubSpot, Shopify etc and see all that you need to know in a single place.

Pros

The simple, yet intuitive User Interface and how the makers of Slack have built every minutest feature from a user's point of view.

Cons

The 'Being always connected' factor is extremely distracting. While Slack, stands for 'Being less busy' (their tagline), it in fact made me more busy. With a mobile app and web UI that's lovable and people filling it with content all the time, I was always tied to Slack!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Samuel Laflamme

Verified Reviewer

Slack Review

17/03/2016

We are using Slack for over hte past years. It has been a great tools for collaboration and probably help us in our productivity. It was a charm migrating from Lync :)

Pros

-Web base, so it's multiplatform. -Beautiful graphic -lightweight -Fast

Cons

-Downtime can happens sporadically.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mandi Wong

Verified Reviewer

Great free chat app for communicating with coworkers, schoolmates, etc.

25/02/2016

I used this while at a tech bootcamp to communicate with other students. You can't really beat the price at Free! It's pretty easy to make your own chatroom, invite who you would like, make the chat private, do a private message, etc.

Pros

-Free! -Easy to start your own chat room -Private rooms means private. Your boss can't get into it or even know it exists I think? -Can send files and gifs directly through chat.

Cons

-Interface could be improved. Its a bit messy looking. -I wish I could send more files via chat but I understand that they need to make money somehow. -kind of difficult for me to realize when someone has messaged me, since there is SOOO much going on in the "see who is online or you can chat with" bar on the left

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rocky Reyes

Verified Reviewer

Slack it to me

27/01/2016

My dependence on Slack is growing day by day. It is easy to use as a quick way to communicate with my colleagues. It is also very helpful when sending announcements to a channel. Direct messaging to single or multiple users is great, similar to group email but faster. However, unlike email, messages in a thread may be deleted at a later time. In other words, it's easy to delete a paper trail if need be. Not that anyone would do that, right? Integrations can be useful, fun, and annoying all at the same time.

Pros

Quick communication, works great on desktop and mobile

Cons

Conversations can be modified after they have taken place.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Marc Herschberger

Verified Reviewer

Booming, new way of team communication with a few annoyances

26/01/2016

If you're like me, you've probably heard all about Slack from different friends and businesses when it comes to how awesome it is with internal team communication. I'll admit that this is the reason why I first gave it a shot and while there are still a few bugs that I'll dive deeper into later, the platform is pretty cool and does a good job at helping you segment the different forms of communication you and your team has. Defining team communication channels is just one thing though. Slack integrates with a host of other business applications, making it more customizeable, helping your team be more efficient with their time and communication. Overall, it's not perfect but with help from their customer support and development team, it's getting there.

Pros

-Simple user interface similar to other, more established team communication applications like Skype. Also allows for more customization in channels and notifications. -Powerful and intuitive tools like search channels tool and file uploading and preview tool make it easy for you to find what you're looking for and see it easily without a full download. -Has a growing list of integrations with other business applications so that you can type a specific command into Slack and perform a task or action in the other, integrated area of your business. Makes it easy when you have items that you normally talk about in your team communications that then need to have some sort of follow-up or other process in another application. -Customer service is attentive. If you're having an issue or wish there was a specific feature, you can easily open a ticket with them and they will do their best to help you out or pass on your thoughts.

Cons

-Between the Mac app and the PC app, Slack differs greatly, with Macs seeing the cooler functionality and overall better stuff earlier than PC's. This is something that Slack seems to be working on but it's still an annoyance. An example of this would be the ways in which you can be notified of a conversation by the Windows app. You can only see if you have a pending conversation by looking at a tiny ball in the bottom of your windows icon set instead of seeing a giant ball on your larger windows icon pinned to your taskbar like you can with a Mac.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Henry Yeh

Verified Reviewer

Our replacement for Basecamp

22/01/2016

Since Campfire/Basecamp is EOLed, we've switched to this. It offers quite a few more features than Basecamp, but at a loss of usability. Chief amongst them is the notifications don't work as I'd like (Campfire style).

Pros

Customizable, lots of features.

Cons

Notification options (despite there being a lot), not up to par. Confusing UI.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Director Sales Development (Computer Software company, 51-200 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Awesome App!

22/12/2015

Slack has pretty much replaced all of our tools for internal communication, very important to a global company with offices around the world. We're able to share not only important company updates and news, but we can keep up with each other on a social level too, sharing comments, world events, new hire profiles, etc.

Pros

Integrations are unlimited! Easy to use, one-on-one channels, group and team channels, mobile app, notifications, easy to upload documents and pictures.

Cons

There is nothing about Slack I would consider a "con." Notifications can be a pain at times and it does take up a lot of space on your mobile device, but both of these can be avoided or fixed.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
CMO (Computer Software company, 51-200 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Helpful, but time consuming

30/10/2015

Slack created another communication channel in our company and definitely took some workload off the email and extra meetings, making communication easier and quicker.

Pros

Creating separated channels for smaller projects allows working in dedicated groups.

Cons

People are less productive while chatting in comparison to productivity over email. It's hard to focus on work when you keep getting notifications of incoming messages.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Aurélia Azoulay

Verified Reviewer

My experience

11/10/2015

Really complete app for a work team in a start up environment

Pros

gathers and integrates a lot of platforms

Cons

unfortunately, no skype calls

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Support Manager (Computer Software company, 11-50 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Improvement over Skype Without A/V Component

18/09/2015

Our company uses Slack to keep our departments in constant contact with one another. The ease of sharing images, searching for written content, creation of additional, useful channels is efficient and intuitive. Having used Skype for business purposes for many years we have been delighted with the customization options offered by Slack.

Pros

Share images with titles and captions - no need to download files. Fast, easy-to-use, intuitive interface. Adequate customization. Good PC-based app and Android app as well.

Cons

Occasionally I have to refresh the app to get it full screen on my computer. Not HIPAA compliant.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sam Gooch

Verified Reviewer

Great communications tool

13/07/2015

Slack is the the perfect social media style tool for the office, that allows teams to communicate at group level or directly using a PM. The tool is great for creating groups to allow all contributors of a project to be present and keep everyone that's relevant to the project in the loop. With other similar tools I've often found that I', getting multiple notifications that keep pulling my attention away from whatever I'm working on at the time. However, Slack allow you to adjust the settings to make sure you only get notified for the things that matter to you, while allowing you to search previous conversations of required. There are also email notifications that help to give you a quick summary of the conversations, but these help to give some context, giving you a few messages from a conversation. You can share files, images, imoji's, and more.

Pros

Pricing - free for small teams and under $7 per user for larger groups Search - nice search feature that helps you to easily find a previous conversation Ease of use - very intuitive design and nice features to help keep track on mentions edit message feature allows you to quickly change any message to avoid potential embarrassment! also available from the website so can use from any computer

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Greg Singleton

Verified Reviewer

21/02/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Fabian Muñoz

Verified Reviewer

15/02/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Jean-Michel Isoir

Verified Reviewer

14/02/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Katrin Yuan

Verified Reviewer

13/02/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Read more