Slack Reviews

Slack Reviews

Slack

Team communication for the 21st century

4.6/5 (1,763 reviews)
46,408     288,886

Daniel Trotter

Verified Reviewer

Good solution

09/02/2017

I find Slack to be a great internal communication tool, its fast and you can C&P images easily. Very much a big part of my working week keeping everyone aware of the best meme's I have seen on the web ;-)

Pros

It works and is fast

Cons

people will try to talk to you on it

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Martin Matuška

Verified Reviewer

Best app for team communication

01/02/2017

We have been using other software for internal team communication before. But since we are using Slack, our communication is much more effective. All the internal communication in one place, where you can easily find attachments, pictures.

Pros

The biggest pros are, that you don't have your internal communication in many places, but just in one. They also have integration with Trello and other powerful features. Slack is also free for your team up to 10000 messages, then you should pay if you would like to see message history. Last, but not least pros are, that setup is really easy and you can add your new colleague just in a few clicks.

Cons

The only negative thing is, that free Slack is available only up to 10 000 messages. So, if you are a start-up and don't want to spend money on your communication tool, it can be the limitation of Slack for you. On the other hand, Pro account is affordable and not very expensive.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

If you are looking for effective communication team tool, Slack is a really good option.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

Great project management tool

27/01/2017

I use Slack on a daily basis to work with team members all over the world. It's made productivity much better and keeps communication open for all team members.

Pros

Accessible, cross-platform, various 'rooms' for different teams

Cons

None so far. Tested out the call option and it worked pretty well but not yet using that as standard

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

I moved from using competitor to Slack based on a recommendation and it's been a useful tool to have for an international team

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Marketing Automation Manager (Computer Software company, 201-500 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Excellent for Collaboration

12/01/2017

I have used Slack to communicate within my team, across multiple teams, and with external vendors. This tool makes communication much simpler than emailing.

Pros

Ability to ping specific people Upload documents, videos, and images Private and public groups

Cons

I can't think of any cons

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

I'd recommend trying it out.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mr. Mark Russell Filaroski

Verified Reviewer

Slack wins

06/01/2017

Fairly simple review here. Slack is a must. I was an early adopter and have never been disappointed. Slack gives me visibility into every area of my business and takes the guess work out. Love it!

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rashaan Thompson

Verified Reviewer

Slack is Awesome

30/12/2016

I use slack to communicate with my teammates and other clients on a regular. We share files, links, gifs! and are able to setup different channels for communication. It's a wonderful tool for daily team communication.

Pros

File sharing Private and public chats channels App integrations to extend it's features.

Cons

They could provide more ways to explore there other app features and provide intuitive breakdown of how each can improve your business process.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Recommendations to others considering Slack

Just try it! you won't lose from adding this experience to daily business life.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Lead Marketing Operations Specialist (Hospitality company, 51-200 employees)
Verified Reviewer

The tool for team collaboration

15/12/2016

Slack is the go-to communication tool for our company, whether its's one-to-one communication, or group channels to discuss project launches. We've been able to integrate Slack with some of our other tools, but there are definitely more we'd like to have.

Pros

New releases and improvements are made almost weekly

Cons

I'd like to see additional integrations with our tools

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

Slack is far superior to any other collaboration/communication tool.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kevin Logan

Verified Reviewer

The Best Team Communication Tool I've used

15/12/2016

The channels allow quick and easy ways to communicate, share links and get notifications on RSS feeds, build statuses and more. We use it for our development teams and have increased communication tremendously over Skype.

Pros

quick, easy to use, multiple channels to organize, extensions

Cons

new account signons required to get people on. talking to management about paying for premium

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

try it out on the free version. We're still on it, even though we passed the 10,000 messages mark months ago

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ryan Farley

Verified Reviewer

Who doesn't use it

13/12/2016

Literally everyone uses it, for good reason. Everything you would think you can do, you can do. And they're always coming out with updates. And since it's become so prominent, it's easy to create groups where people from different companies can communicate.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
( company, 1-10 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Great Product for Team and Network Collaboration

13/12/2016

We use slack across many of the communities that I am involved in. It is really easy to reach out to the people you need to contact and collaborate with your team!

Pros

Super easy to set up and use.

Cons

I don't really have any cons.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

Go for it! It is a great tool.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Account Manager (Consumer Services company, 1-10 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Awesome product!

12/12/2016

I'm an account manager and I work with a team. We are constantly working on the go and need to be in constant communication within groups. This App allows us to stay in contact, works seamlessly on my computer and phone and is easy to use. Love it!

Pros

It has an easy to use and attractive interface. Simple, fair price.

Cons

I would like it to integrate with more systems like insightly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Recommendations to others considering Slack

I'd say go for it! Easy to use and well worth the money!

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more

The best and easy to use collaboration tool

11/12/2016

I use Slack on a daily basis, we have a entrepreneurs community and we use Slack for connecting and improve collaboration for more than 3000 members y more than 25 countries, besides using this for a community, I work for a startup and we have a distributed team in 4 countries and Slack is our main collaboration and communication tool, we talk directly using DM, share files and links in public channels. We use some integrations too so we can get more of the platform.

Pros

You can start for free and there are a cool set of features that the Slack team works to improve and grow continuously.

Cons

I have not found anything bad about Slack

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

Create a team in the free plan and start paying when you know how to really use the platform so you can get more out of it.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Janelle Montgomery

Verified Reviewer

Slack is a very helpful tool

05/12/2016

Slack is a great addition to the tools that I have available at work. It allows me to communicate with my coworkers without having to interrupt them whenever I have a question.

Pros

I can talk to my coworkers at any time and they will be able to read and respond to the message at their earliest convenience. It really helps with productivity, and I can go back at any time to see what they said. I also like that it keeps Texting separate from work.

Cons

I wish that it would be easier to join other channels. It took forever for me to figure out how to do it and I can't even remember how at the moment.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Recommendations to others considering Slack

Slack is an app that you should have at work if you would like to increase productivity and reduce interruptions.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Fernando Garcia Esparza

Verified Reviewer

Perfect team chat with productivity bots integration

23/11/2016

I haven't found a better team collaboration tool cloud-based. Slack is awesome because it supports API integration with 3rd part applications. Different topics can be organized in channels, public or private, and event possible to send direct messages to any coworker. My team is using Slack APIs to create bots that help us in routine activities.

Pros

The ability to create separate channels for each team member or group of people is great. The user experience is amazing and extremely simple to get used to. The design is fantastic. Calling out team members is terrific and effortless.

Cons

I think they could add voice chat, video calls or screen sharing to increment the productivity even more.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

Slack greatly improved communication among teams in our company. It's much easier to send a message over Slack than to write an email or get up and walk across the room. Sharing files is just as easy and it's nice to have everything centralized in one place.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dale Watson

Verified Reviewer

Best Pick

09/11/2016

Slack is my best pick for online communication because of its breadth and depth. It's a highly customizable app that plays well with others. It's an excellent place for conversations and discussion. Slack makes communication among team members not only easier, but better. All the communication in Slack is grouped into different Channels, and everything is searchable. Slack works very well as a collaboration tool in business because of its notifications, which are plentiful and customizable.

Pros

Slack is available for a variety of devices and platforms. Slack pops up tutorial boxes to orient you with helpful hints. In Slack, you can notifications for every new activity. Integrations with other apps and services is easy. Contents can be searched easily in slack. Slack is available for all communications at one place. Easy file sharing.

Cons

Slack takes some learning, with an adjustment period of hours if you're lucky, or in my case, a few weeks. The pricing of slack is high.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dale Buck

Verified Reviewer

Best In the World

05/11/2016

Slack gives a centralized place to communicate with my colleagues through instant messages and in chat rooms, which reduces the time spent on e-mails. Whether on a mobile device or a desktop computer, I can upload files, get and manipulate information stored in spreadsheets or other business applications, and easily search through past conversations. Any other similar kind of product can never match up to the same level of enthusiasm. So, I believe that slack is one of the best product in today's market to use in offices for easy communication.

Pros

Slack messages tend to be short and casual, much more like the mobile text messages. All Content is Searchable from One Search Box. Smooth Integration with Services We Already Use. All Team Communication can be easily done at one single place.

Cons

One thing I would really appreciate is that if it worked a little smoother with the desktop app for my MacBook Air.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Loris Dane

Verified Reviewer

Slack has made my life easy

02/11/2016

This software has helped me and my team arrange all our team communications centrally at one place. It is the best cloud based collaboration tool in present day. I have been using it since last few months and it has really benefited us in reducing emails and spending less time in meetings.

Pros

It can easily syncs to all devices. Instant notifications or alerts.

Cons

The only con i have to state is that it is abit costly

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
James N. P. O'Brien

Verified Reviewer

A True Game Changer

26/10/2016

Slack centralizes all of our internal communications and transfers (via integrations) and allows us to simplify inboxes by pushing notifications and alerts to separate channels. Slack removes the clutter and makes communication and upkeep enjoyable.

Pros

Seamless integrations. Logical flows and onboarding for new users. Attractive UX. Great support materials.

Cons

We wish you could search through the entire history of slacks without upgrading, but 10,000 messages is very generous and the payment is well-deserved.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

Switch as soon as you can and utilize integrations to clean up your inbox.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Daniel Berry

Verified Reviewer

One of the best instant messaging options for workplace environments

17/10/2016

At our agency, we love Slack and use it on a daily basis. It's casual and fun, yet has the features needed to collaborate effectively. We even use Slack for communication with some of our clients.

Pros

Love all the integrations and customization features. Memes for all!

Cons

In a perfect world, there would be some project-tracking capabilities.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

Definitely consider Slack if you're a professional organization and aren't satisfied with your current instant messaging software. It's the best I've used.

Source: GetApp
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Chief Executive Officer & Founder (Internet company, 11-50 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Great tool for team communication

11/10/2016

Slack is a really great tool for team communication. The use of channels really makes everything a lot more seamless and organized. Definitely will recommend to others!

Pros

Great app, channels.

Cons

Price could be cheaper

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Vijay Khandekar

Verified Reviewer

Best thing you can have for your team :)

28/09/2016

I am using Slack for almost 2 years now. If there is one word that I have to define Slack is - Pure Awesomeness! We use it as our team IM. Everyone in our team love this tool. 1) Individual / group chats, 2) Personal and private chats 3) Integration with our email provider (Gmail) We love Slack for everything it has to offer :)

Pros

1) Ease of Use 2) Integration option available 3) Available Public Slack Communities

Cons

1) It makes you an addict :D

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

I do it every single time I have a discussion with anyone about a team communication tool :)

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Harry Peirce

Verified Reviewer

Use It. Fullstop.

28/09/2016

We use Slack as our team IM. I think it's great, the team function the ability to copy and paste screenshots is another great one for our development team. My only gripe is if you've read a message on your computer it comes through on your phone a couple of minutes later, and if I've read the message already it alerts me.

Pros

Really Easy to Use Great UX &UI Design Practical The Copy image function is great super fast.

Cons

There aren't really many con's just a note for the developers.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

Use Slack, it's probably what you've been looking for.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Steven Duff

Verified Reviewer

Slack is the business

19/09/2016

Slack makes communication between teammates not only easier but better. Our team use Slack to have group or private discussions, share materials and links with one another, or simply general chat. All chats in Slack can get grouped into different channels, and everything is searchable. I think Slack works so well because of its notifications, which are plentiful and customizable and it's ease of use. The mobile app is also fantastic. Would definitely recommend Slack for online communication and team collaboration.

Pros

Integration, ease of use and collaboration.

Cons

Can't think of any at the moment!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brady Patterson

Verified Reviewer

Total Game Changer

17/09/2016

I have used slack in multiple ways and with multiple teams. It works great for inter-office communication. It works well for home/family planning. It works well with clients and allows them to see other questions. I've even used it to deliver a course I taught. This is hands down the best tool I've ever found for communication.

Pros

- can join multiple teams - not on FB so no time suck - integrates some fantastic other apps - saves me hours and hours of tracking down questions from clients - holds my to-do list and that of my family

Cons

- learning curve to start using it - not all apps integrate perfectly

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

Get it. I can't think of another app I recommend higher

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Frédéric CANEVET

Verified Reviewer

Very nice project management, but it is "just a chat"

26/08/2016

I use it for managing trainings, web site dev... with people away or in different cities. It helps us to share infos like documents, PPT, actions plan, reminders... I like the chat, the docs, the alerts... And it is free :D

Pros

free, simple, nice, clear, add documents, create channel, share docs, invite people... It is a good chat software :D

Cons

No video chat (screensharing or video conferencing) Not a good document management software Quickly lots of news, but difficult to see where are the news Lack of priority No real project management

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Slack

Try it, it is very simple, and helps to share infos quicker !

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more