App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Stack Overflow for Teams Logo

Stack Overflow for Teams

Cloud-based collaborative knowledge management software

see alternatives

(3)

Stack Overflow for Teams Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


62 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alanna M.

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Stack Overflow Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love that you can ask any question on here and post your code and people can answer you in real-time. It creates a really collaborative environment.

Cons

There wasn't really anything I liked least, maybe the layout could look a bit cleaner but nothing of great importance.

Vendor response

Hi Alanna, Thanks for your review of Stack Overflow for Teams. It's great to hear you find value in our internal knowledge sharing solution!

JH
AvatarImg

Jack H.

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A fantastic merging of popular tools

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Stack Overflow is a great resource for very specific help and to incorporate that into Teams, which many people are now familiar with as a remote working tool, is fantastic for efficiency and ease of access. It basically holds your hand.

Cons

None. Great idea that's very simple to grasp.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A great way to make StackOverflow an internal tool to cross department knowledge

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very good experience and a great way to share knowledge between teams.

Pros

Stack Overflow for Teams is what I always hoped Stack Overflow could be. It lets us maintain our own space internally for any departmental specific development knowledge. When the company is growing it is easy to lose a lot of this knowledge and Stack keeps it organized for us.

Cons

You have to have people maintaining the software or else you aren't going to get much benefit out of it. This is just something you have to institute to really get the benefits out of the software.

ME
AvatarImg

Matthew E.

E-Learning, 51-200 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Stack Overflow Teams

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have a ton of knowledge that isn't captured anywhere, and the same questions keep coming up over and over. Stack Overflow for Teams helped, but ultimately wasn't used enough to justify ongoing payment for the service.

Pros

Stack Overflow is a great platform, it's really nice to have a place to share private Q&A.

Cons

It's hard to drive the company to use it, when real-time alternatives like Slack exist.

Vendor response

Thanks for giving us your feedback, Matthew! We recently added a Slack integration to the product, which makes it easier to integrate Teams into your existing workflow. Check it out here: https://stackoverflow.com/teams/integrations/slack

WS
AvatarImg

WELZ S.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Overall pretty good, still has room for improvement.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Similar to Stack Overflow only privately. Really great for documenting and keeping track of problems and solutions.

Cons

User interface isn't that great (it's done so because it's easier to make universal changes) They've also not properly set it up, it's still a bit buggy.

Vendor response

Thanks for sharing your feedback, Welz! We're actively working on making the user interface easier to use. If you'd like to share more in-depth feedback about what you'd like to see, you can email our user research team: beth@stackoverflow.com.

mf
AvatarImg

mathieu f.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The same Stack Overflow we love

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Its really a private instance of stack overflow, with points and badges

Cons

Not that easy to determine what shoould go in there and what should not. You dont want to end up with people asking question and answering their own question. You want things which provoke discussions.

Vendor response

Hi, Mathieu! Thanks for taking time to review Stack Overflow for Teams. Feel free to email our user research team at bdevine@stackoverflow.com and share your thoughts on ways to set expectation with your team on how to use the private instance.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

i love stack overflow

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

possibility to meet new contacts learning new experience

Cons

better defined navigation for iOS apps version

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Avi D.

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Teams - natural evolution for StackOverflow

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Works exactly the same as StackOverflow, and is very well integrated within the rest of the SO experience. Same great quality we're familiar with in SO.

Cons

There is a tiny bit of friction getting used to the different areas, sometimes with different expectations.

Vendor response

Thanks for sharing your feedback about Teams, Avi!

AS
AvatarImg

Akash S.

Real Estate, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Give it a go!

Reviewed 4 years ago

It has been really positive!

Pros

The ease of use, and the UI is very user friendly. It helps reduce the development time by bypassing the common pits nearly every developer will encounter.

Cons

Nothing as such, they can add more functionality and integrate it with more third party softwares.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Michael L.

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Adequate for internal documentation of sorts...

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It has the familiar SO interface that I am used to.

Cons

Difficult to author longer documentation when required.

Vendor response

Thanks for your feedback Michael! Authoring longer documentation is definitely still possible with Stack Overflow for Teams - it just has to be translated into the Q&A format.

GK
AvatarImg

Gourav K.

E-Learning, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Q/A site.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It is the best site to clarify your programming questions. StackOverflow for teams is even great.

Cons

No problems. I have got my answers each and every time I get to search there.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review!

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great way to build up a knowledge base

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It's great to have a private knowledge base that pertains to only what I care about. It's also easy to navigate

Cons

Nothing for this specific part of stack overflow. It's very simple to use.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jonathan S.

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Teams is a private

Reviewed 4 years ago

Our experience has been extremely positive. We have seen quick adoption and everyone appreciates the answers and questions that we are currently using it for. It has turned into our primary internal knowledge base. I am also very satisfied with their outreach to active users during the development of new features.

Pros

I really like how Stack Exchange took the highly successful Q&A format of Stack Overflow and brought it to teams via Stack Overflow Teams. It works well for our company because everyone is already familiar with finding the answers to their questions on Stack Overflow and many of our employees are contributors (as answerers) as well. It has encouraged our employees to contribute high-quality questions and answers to help others with similar questions in the future. The long format also encourage answers with rich content such as images and external links.

Cons

Stack Overflow Teams is still undergoing active development. For example, Slack integration (a way to encourage internal adoption) was a little slow to arrive (but it's here now!). During this development period, you just have to be patient. Thankfully, Stack Exchange has a great team that values their users' feedback so the awaited features they ship will definitely meet your needs and if they don't, they want to hear about it.

Vendor response

Thanks for sharing your experience using Teams! Glad to hear that you've had a positive experience so far. If you have any feedback you'd like to share about the features or integrations of Teams, you can email: bdevine@stackoverflow.com.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

AJ C.

Verified reviewer

Graphic Design, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

It has Helped Speed Up Web Development

Reviewed 3 years ago

It has been very beneficial for newer employees with limited HTML and Javascript experience

Pros

What our office has benefited most from with Stack is for our more graphic employees that don't know so much about javascript. As a graphic design firm, all of our employees are well versed in Adobe suite and digital design. However, sometimes projects call for implementing these designs with animation through Javascript - when employees don't know where to turn to we always used GITs from Stack.

Cons

The interface is definitely difficult to understand for people who have never used it before - once GIT is understood and how to push and pull repositories, it certainly becomes much easier.

Vendor response

Hi Aj, Thanks for your review. It's great to hear that Stack Overflow for Teams is helping new employees get up to speed. Let us know if we can be of help to you all.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Dimitri S.

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A informatational, but cluttered place for code.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Stackoverflow is our go-to issue resolving tool in regards to bugs and not knowing how to do things in code. And more often the only source of good information in regards to specific bugs. Even though quite a bit of the entries are dated.

Pros

The amount of information available in regards to programming issues is very nice. This helps a ton in development, and helps preventing having to reinvent the wheel all the time. The indepth-ness of said information is usually quite high, allowing for people to easier understand future/similar problems from that point on wards.

Cons

The elitist feel it often gives, which makes it fairly hard to get into the product. However, once you reach a point of understand why, the point of the product has also reached you.

Vendor response

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, Dimitri! Our team is actively working to make the product feel more inclusive and easier to use for new Stack Overflow users.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Isalanya M.

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A good platform for resolving errors and getting more information on errors faced

Reviewed 24 days ago

Very informative and helpful software tool open to the community.

Pros

As a developer, i use this software daily! This is the first place i run to when i stumble into errors that i have failed to resolve! Very open for everyone to contribute and learn from each other.

Cons

The software may prove tricky for someone new who doesn't know how to put code in their questions and also how to format the questions on the platform.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great knowledge base for organization.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Best documentation software that helps organization to document Question and Answers.

Pros

I am very big fan of Stack overflow it started helping from my education and continuing now in my organization. Stack overflow for team is a great knowledge base , when you have some question but that was answered by other colleague long back, all is document and easily we can search about information. I can say it is wiki for organization.

Cons

Really no negatives, But there are sometimes i can see duplicate questions, i think they can improve to detecting duplicate question while posting question or creating thread.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review. We're glad Stack Overflow for Teams is helpful for your organization! We'll be sure to relay your feedback regarding improved duplicate question detection.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good for developers when you are stuck

Reviewed 4 years ago

The same day i started programming the very same day i was aware with Stack Overflow. It is best for me. It helped me many times. And i am thankful for the team.

Pros

Stack overflow is good when you somewhere, Some of experts write the solution and best solution will be marked as green. You can also write your solutions and earned points. The best way for programmers to get out of the solution if somewhere stuck. It is good way to explore yourself plus to resolve someone else problem.

Cons

It is a gift for all the developers looking for the solution. So everything is good except the solutions which are less reliable and people give them negative marking.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sarath R.

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good helping and clarifying doubts(nice articals)

Reviewed 3 years ago

i recommended this tool overall any doubt s

Pros

when ever i have doubt about coding using this articals Fully supporting and clarified

Cons

i think there is no dislikes about this tool very good aritcals and more than two answers is available

Vendor response

Thanks for your review, Sarath.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

George S.

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good Resource; Product finding its way

Reviewed 4 years ago

I love Stack Overflow and I love their ethic. I continue to hold out hope that if anyone can solve the thorny problem of cataloguing and documenting software development and making it actionable to stakeholders; they can.

Pros

Stack Overflow has solved many previous hard problems - Finding relevant content - Making authorship of Q & A easy and targetted

Cons

- It still feels like a bolt-on to the Q & A. - It presupposes that useful documentation takes the form of Q & A - In an enterprise; I can't add 'yet another' way to document things. We have five currently; and I can't get Q & A to be 6 (Google Site Wiki; Google Docs; Gitlab Wikis; Gitlab git repos; JIRA)

Vendor response

Thanks for sharing your feedback, George! We're actively working on ways to integration Stack Overflow for Teams into your existing workflows with other tools - our hope it that eventually it will replace things like wikis and outdated documentation.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Guy G. G.

Verified reviewer

Commercial Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Tool for our Software Development Team

Reviewed 4 years ago

Our team has benefitted greatly from this tool. Our code is open source which helps us when we are seeking a better way to create enhancements in our application. The User community is very helpful and always provides great ideas for us to consider.

Pros

Our Developers love the Stack Overflow tool(s). Frequently, we will go to Stack Overflow to pose a development question or seek guidance on how to proceed on our code base. The user community is wonderful and very helpful.

Cons

We have nothing negative to state about this software.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Philipp B.

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A great tool that could use a bit more moderation

Reviewed 4 years ago

SO for teams is a good product and could be ever better with some tweaks.

Pros

- Q/A and vote system that I know and love from the main site - Accessibility (no extra login) and easy to use - Integration into the SE network with notifications and rep

Cons

Missing flexibility: - You only have 3k-ish privileges (vote to close), but only as dupes, no other or custom close reasons are possible. - No powers to delete and see deleted posts. - Switching from the main site to the team or vice-versa is sometimea a bit finicky.

Vendor response

Thanks for sharing your feedback, Philipp! Our team would love to know more about the features you think the product is missing. Feel free to reach out to beth@stackoverflow.com and share your thoughts with our user research team!

CS
AvatarImg

Charles S.

Verified reviewer

Industrial Automation, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Almost Perfect

Reviewed 4 years ago

I can kind of get with the idea that we're not supposed to post resources to Stack Overflow, but then I kind of also wish that there were some kind of a "curated" Stack Overflow, where it would be possible for "knowledgeable persons" (by reputation I'm sure) to accumulate "classic" questions and answers in a set of community references, especially such that you could see and easily browse related questions....

Pros

First, let me be clear that it's not clear to me if this is about Stack Overflow or about Stack Overflow for Teams, the latter of which is what brought me to this survey. The survey here in particular says to write a review for "Stack Overflow" (not for Teams), so I'll say this: Somewhere on Stack Overflow is nearly every part of every program I've ever written. It's an absolutely indispensable resource for every programmer.

Cons

I'm a Stack Overflow user and a Stack Exchange moderator. The most frustrating aspect of the site(s) is that the original asker is the only one that gets to pick the correct answer. OP's choice of answers gets pushed to the top regardless of community votes, and the question will be continuously bumped to the front page if the OP never picks an answer. I wish there were something like a "community accepted" answer, or a "de facto best answer" in the events where a question has been open for X days and has an answer with a score of Y but no accepted answers, or in the event where the top scored answer exceeds the score of the accepted answer by some magic ratio.

Vendor response

Thanks for sharing your feedback about Teams, Charles! Our user research team would love to know more about how you think we can improve the product. Feel free to reach out to beth@stackoverflow.com and share your thoughts!

OJ
AvatarImg

Owen J.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

4* - useful as a knowledge base

Reviewed 4 years ago

My team maintains an open-source project that revolves around Stack Overflow and the Stack Exchange network. We use Teams primarily as a knowledge base and support hub, which has allowed us to move away from using GitHub issues and wikis for these purposes to a much more appropriate format. Teams also has the benefit for us of being directly integrated into Stack Overflow, where we're all already working, so all our content is right there when it's needed.

Pros

Teams follows the same Q&A pattern used on Stack Overflow itself, which many developers will already be familiar with. The Q&A pattern also makes it an excellent tool for knowledge bases, which is how my team uses it - instead of writing The One True Help Article for each KB topic, asking a question for it allows the whole team to collaborate in sharing the nuances they've picked up but wouldn't otherwise have an easy way to share.

Cons

Teams doesn't come with the same moderation tools that Stack Overflow itself does. While that's probably not a problem for companies (rule infractions or misconduct can be handled through HR's disciplinary procedures), it may make it not as suited to less formal teams such as those maintaining open-source projects. These projects often require more moderation than a company's use-case would do, which Teams lacks proper support for.

Vendor response

Thanks for sharing your feedback, Owen! We definitely hear your concern about moderation tools, and will keep that in mind as we continue to develop the product.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Your own personal Stack Overflow

Reviewed 4 years ago

Especially in development teams, there's a lot of information silos - this software helps to break down these barriers and have a single place for all of the documentation relating to your product.

Pros

If you're part of the tech world, you've almost certainly come across Stack Overflow. I use the site on a regular basis and was thrilled to find that they were creating a version that I could use for my own purposes. The UI is intuitive and easy to use and when coupled with the quality/voting system, this becomes a powerful tool for storing all of your key business information in a single place. Questions which are asked over and over again will be a thing of the past. It also features some useful moderation tools to ensure that your Team stays on track. Various different notification options also let you tailor what you hear about and how whilst integrating seamlessly into Stack Overflow.

Cons

It is missing a few of the useful features for managing content quality that Stack Overflow has. The flagging controls and reviewing are missed.

Vendor response

Thanks for sharing your experience using Stack Overflow for Teams! We'd love to know more about the useful features you think it's missing. Feel free to email our user research team at beth@stackoverflow.com and share your thoughts!