This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Vitrium Security Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


60 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Vitrium

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great platform with responsive customer service!

Pros

Allows for secure sharing of files with a user friendly interface for both users and admins.

Cons

Ability to email users their credentials or notify them when they have access to a new publication directly from Vitrium instead of having to email them separately.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Fits all needs with a good support team

Reviewed 4 years ago

Intelligence security and protection

Pros

UI is easy to use and allows for all our business needs

Cons

Occasional issues with errors for customers but mainly this is end user driven

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great solution and customer support

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Mature software with robust functionality, their customer support team is very responsive

Cons

I would liked to have pricing that ramps up more economically as you implement/rollout the product. Having to start the license before fully using it made the decision to go forward more difficult.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Ramsey Vitrium

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Love that we can control who can and cannot view our PDF content

Cons

A little difficult to get set up and implement initially

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good for internal distribution and control

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The software is easy to deploy and manage.

Cons

It takes a little time to get one's head around the software and it's settings. It sometimes requires changes to the end-user viewer tools, so there is quite a bit of support needed at times.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Ehab Hosny - Link Development Egypt

Reviewed a year ago

Great Experience

Pros

Ease of use and integration Great customer support Moderate price

Cons

For videos, all users need to view them on Vitrium User Page

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

We are testing Vitrium to provide additional security for our pdf newsletters.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The reporting and features provide insight into our reader's usage which we have not had previously.

Cons

The admin creation experience is somewhat cumbersome, with some features containing limited editing capabilities.

Vendor response

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Could you please reach out to support@vitrium.com if you're struggling with the system and one of our knowledgeable representatives will be happy to assist.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Helpful staff; product does what it says; good customer experiences

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The security features seem to work really well and I've had only positive reactions from my customers when sending them a Vitrium-protected PDF. It is enabling me to change my business model and to move away from print.

Cons

The user interface is a little clunky and initially counterintuitive. I think the user training is essential, and excellent as my trainer was I'd prefer a system where this was not necessary.

Vendor response

Thanks, Thomas for your valuable feedback. Vitrium has produced several more videos including detailed ones on our DRM implementation which can be confusing by times. You may want to review some of these or simply email support@vitrium.com if you have specific hurdles that you're trying to cross. Our videos can be found here: https://support.vitrium.com/hc/en-us/categories/360000918811-Videos

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Pricey but works well

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are happy.

Pros

It allows us to secure our intellectual property and keep track of how often our users were accessing the documents we shared with them.

Cons

The monthly cost seems a bit high for the amount of use we are giving it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Security at it's best

Reviewed 2 years ago

I spent 30+ years in the security field,and if I would of known about this then I would of used them to protect my files.A good program for a small security service.

Pros

I liked the details,and video about it..

Cons

they do not have a free version,demo etc

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

seems like a great company to grow with

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The responsiveness of the Vitrium team has been great, and we have really appreciated their flexibility with our requests as we are all trying to figure out how to best implement their powerful DRM capabilities. Having everything trackable and protected has completely removed awkward NDA conversations about IP that we are still developing.

Cons

I guess because it is so applicable to so many ways of doing things, just trying to make sure we are integrating it properly and in conjunction with other aspects of our website development. That's not so much a reflection of Vitrium, though. They've been quite helpful in talking through applications with us.

Vendor response

Thanks for the kind words, Marina. We do strive to make our system work seamlessly in everyone's environment and especially keep your IP safe!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Vitrium is totally working for us and has taken our operations up a level

Reviewed 2 years ago

The global pandemic plummeted us into the online space and we urgently needed to address distributing content. Our priority is peace of mind knowing people have got what we need them to have rather than being ferociously restrictive about every single item of content. The makeshift method we previously used gave us no way of proving what people had received, and we had very little control. Now we...

Pros

The control dashboard is simple neat and clean and very logical. We love the portal system which you can edit to showcase company branding. We have made it accessible from our website so from a customer point of view everything is integrated and seamless. Watermarking content in user-specific or general ways to suit is brilliant, and checking out that people have got what they need ok for the courses we put on is of massive importance. Probably the best over-arching things are that everything works and the customer support is brilliant.

Cons

Don't kid yourself that you'll get the hang of everything within 10 mins of messing around with the settings. You do have to put the time in to get your head round it - but that's less of a 'con' and more a reflection of the eye-watering range of configuration options there are. So you do have to invest some quality time to learn it - but everything you need is there, and it totally works.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Satisfied

Reviewed 4 years ago

Satisfied. Customer service is helpful and have been able to resolve most issues quickly.

Pros

It is easy to use and does the job it needs to do.

Cons

I would like to see more features such as a secure way to put digital files on a thumb-drive or flash card. Also, I would suggest the following for files viewed online to make it function more inline with how adobe acrobat functions. - Add a toolbar button to show one page at a time and allow users to use PgUp/PgDown to flip (no scrolling) to the previous/next page. And make this compatible with a remote. - Add a toolbar button for true full screen mode where even the annotation tools are hidden from view.

Vendor response

Thanks, Ryan for your detailed review. The option to download a protected PDF file and store or distribute them on thumb-drives or flash cards exists for years now. The issue is that your system is configured to use True SSO which requires your users first authenticate against your back-end. If you need to distribute files and have those users manually login to receive the secured content, then you...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easily Protected Resources

Reviewed 2 years ago

The customer service team at Vitrium always responds very quickly to our questions, and thus we can still solve our end-users concerns promptly.

Pros

After evaluating different market options, we chose Vitrium to protect our Educational Resources and share with our customers because the implementation process and its use for our end users are amicable while keeping all the security features we need.

Cons

There is nothing that I don't like. I love the features they offer such as annotation tools, customized view, and l look forward to the new additions Vitrium will offer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A systemic approach to system processes

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is the key factor which enables us to securely leverage our content for customer. It can sometimes prove challenging.

Pros

It was easy to use once I had the training required

Cons

It was difficult to implement for the team

Vendor response

Hi James. Thank you for your feedback. CSA Group has helped push the envelope with DRM features and polices in Vitrium that our system wasn't originally designed to enforce, but that it does today. While your learning curve may have been steep, the system continues to evolve every few months with CSA's and other brilliant feature requests. The content protection offered and the tracking included are second to none.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Secure and functional with great customer service

Reviewed 4 years ago

We were uncertain when going from a standard PDF approach to a more sophisticated digital rights management approach. It was new to us and we were unsure whether it would overly complicate the delivery of content. The people at Vitrium have gone the extra mile to help us out, from the very beginning. Service and access to the employees, even top management, are very important to us. This is something that usually does not happen when working with a big company. Rather than sending large PDFs that some email servers reject, we are now sending a link that provides simple, protected access to our content. We encounter a small customer-related problem from time to time, but the people at Vitrium are quick to help us resolve it. We highly recommend Vitrium without reservation.

Pros

Vitrium allows us to create a quick username and password for each customer, which speeds up our delivery process, compared to our previous system. The online web viewer is an easy way for customers to view the report. It also enables viewing on tablet computers.

Cons

The user interface does not display the number of devices on which users have accessed a document. That must be done manually by sorting and filtering a spreadsheet for each user and each document. A quick counter on the UI would be ideal, and should be simple to add.

Vendor response

We are so grateful for your kind words. Thanks for sharing your review. In more recent versions of Vitrium, and for the enterprise subscriptions only, there's additional information provided for a given User's record under the Clear Usage window. There, at a glance, one can see Device Use, IP Address Use, Print Use, and File Use. However, it would seem that also providing File Use WITH Device Use per file would be useful and would help identify potential issues with end-users sharing content credentials. Vitrium also has plans on adding a notification system where administrators can define 'triggers' for things such as a user accessing content from n or more devices (or IPs) within a specified period of time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software for delivering protected documents to end users

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Multitude of options for users. Manually creating IDs and keys is useful in some cases, integrating with out customer database so users automatically get access to appropriate documents is useful in most others. Downloadable protected PDFs or webviewer based documents used entirely in the browser satisfies almost every customer.

Cons

The very rare instance where a system update brings down the system for half an hour to an hour always somehow coincides with when my crankiest customer just happened to try accessing their documents.

Vendor response

Hi Daniel. Thanks for the feedback. Your comment is very true as no matter when we schedule an update, there's always someone globally that could be affected. However, we're now down to only minutes of downtime for an update due to greatly streamlined and automated release capabilities and soon may not have any downtime as we continue to evolve our system deployment abilities. This fully automated deployment can even be passed on to our self-hosted enterprise customers. Everyone is looking forward to that day!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DRM including video streaming

Reviewed 2 years ago

Digital rights management made easy and well as the ability to have DRM on streaming products such as videos.

Pros

Single sign on capability, test account included to use in test environments, fantastic customer support from implementation to the end user stage.

Cons

For true single sign on DNS routing and web service calls/ urls need to be configured, not a CON so to speak, just something to be aware of.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy and Effective PDF Protection

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have had a great experience in using Vitrium Security to protect documents which we deliver to our customers. Over the past 5+ years, Vitrium has added value to the information which we provide to our clients, and we are very happy with the service.

Pros

We appreciate the ease of use and the effectiveness in the protection afforded our documents in using Vitrium Security.

Cons

The sole area in which we would like to see improvement is in an easier method for users to select their own user name and password options for viewing documents.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review. We are glad that you¿ve had a great experience in using Vitrium Security. Permissions are granted via user names which, in most cases, will be an email address. As many of the systems are integrated to 3rd party back-end systems, these email addresses are required to remain static in order to maintain the system relationships. However, an administrator of the Vitrium Administration UI can make the change to the end-users email address. However, an end-user must consult with the content vendor to request such a change.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Does what it says

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Lots of flexibility for users to access pdfs(our primary use) setting expiry and resetting access. Able to limit access b device IP so people can’t just share your hard work.

Cons

Have had some glitches over the years. Weren’t able to reset access properly for a while. But the platforms rm seems quite it bit more stable recently.

Vendor response

Thank you very much for your great review! We are glad that our DRM technology gives you control over your PDFs. It's one of our core values to continuously improve our products, services and processes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

One of the best and most affordable small business to enterprise level DRM solutions out there.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We use Vitrium mainly as a client PDF document security solution. It is cost effective, easy to use, with cogent and timely customer support that feels more like a part of your team rather than just another outsourced service run by low level customer service reps. When you need help. You get it directly from people who know the product and that save time, anxiety, and money.

Cons

With what it already does so efficiently with documents, would love for Vitrium to develop a multimedia DRM solution that covers audio and video so we wouldn't need to look for a DRM solution with a different company to cover those areas.

Vendor response

Thank, Sterling so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review. I'm sure you already know this today, but Vitrium now supports much more than PDF's today. A complete list, including video, is available here: https://support.vitrium.com/hc/en-us/articles/360000423563-What-file-formats-does-Vitrium-Security-protect-

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review from BSRIA information centre

Reviewed 2 years ago

Pretty easy to use from an administrators' point of view. But overall the customer experience has been better with the previous software we've used eg Locklizard - easier to search, download and print etc.

Pros

Easy to use for the administrator Multiple formats to share information Can limit number of prints and viewing to comply with British copyright Easy to load documents Easy web access - don't have to download bespoke viewing software Good software processing speeds and reasonable download speeds

Cons

Can be difficult for customers to print I have to be careful how I edit a document eg not use crop facility otherwise that hinders printing - eg it prints only one page at a time It is not easy to create reports - at least the customised reports that I would like eg how many items have been ordered/assigned and who ordered them I've not be able to find a way of viewing what a customer has ordered and editing the order (eg view and edit order history)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The Best Option

Reviewed a year ago

Vitrium has been a critical part of my business. They have always treated my small business very professionally, as if I was a big business to them. Customer Support is very responsive. Excellent customer support.

Pros

Vitrium PDF protection has been a wonderful partner for my business since 2008. They are on top of changes in technology and have been very willing to understand and adapt to the unique requirements of my business. I am glad I chose them when I did.

Cons

Only compatible with Adobe Reader because of unique printing requirements. Unique printing requirements also mean that my customers cannot use protectedpdfs on iPads and other tablets.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Vitrium Security offers easy-to-use DRM for PDFs and other formats.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The ability to manage access to our documents in a very specific way. The DRM for PDFs is very granular. No plugins or proprietary software are required. The web viewer is brilliant and brings our documents to any device while still maintaining control.

Cons

It is possible to defeat the DRM for PDFs, although this is not trivial or quick. It suits our product perfectly, because it does not contain sensitive information, but instead hundreds of pages of proprietary images. Removing the DRM from all these pages is unfeasible. However, if you are protecting short, sensitive documents, you are better off using the web viewer, whose DRM can't be defeated.

Vendor response

Thanks for the kudos, Michael. Yes, we also believe that our proprietary Web Viewer product is much more secure than Adobe's PDF spec and we are constantly adding new features based on customer feedback. Video support is one of the biggest core product changes we delivered last fall and we're in the process of enabling inter-linked PDF's while maintaining links between multiple documents; Ability to embed files in a PDF and access same in the Web Viewer; and more ...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best DRM in the market place

Reviewed a year ago

Excellent product, easy to integrate, Good Admin Tool set, Good WEbViewer tool for clients to personalize their notes. Full fledged futures in the DRM Space

Pros

Easy to Integrate. Their API's are the best to integrate seamlessly WebViewer for Document viewing and personalization is best Policy management is Good WaterMarking capabilities are good SSO integration is seamless

Cons

If you are looking for only DRM , this is best, else you have to see what can this do. This product has more than what is needed.