App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Microsoft Viva Engage Logo

Microsoft Viva Engage

Enterprise Social Network (ESN) to connect and communicate

see alternatives

(26)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Microsoft Viva Engage Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


798 reviews

Recommended

KL
AvatarImg

Kim L.

Staffing and Recruiting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Yammer is a game changing tool. I trust it fully.

Reviewed 2 months ago

I would describe Yammer as a user friendly software which is affordable and secure for everyone.

Pros

Yammer is a software that brings a unique bond in our day to day interaction. Working together in one peace has always been my greatest desire. Yammer helped me to implement this since it creates a platform where ideas are exchanged, discussion and negotiations are also done in an orderly manner leaving everyone contented. The performance has risen gradually bringing more hope and motivation to achieve more.

Cons

It was not easy for us as a team to implement the tool especially in formation of groups and adding new members. However, after a thorough consultation internally, we sorted things fast and it is a great tool.

HR
AvatarImg

Hudson R.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Avaliação do uso do Yammer por Hudson Rezende (Usuário)

Reviewed 10 months ago

O Yammer facilita a comunicação entre os membros de uma organização, permitindo que eles se conectem, compartilhem informações, ideias e documentos de maneira rápida e eficiente. Ele oferece recursos como grupos, mensagens diretas, compartilhamento de arquivos e comentários, o que ajuda a promover a colaboração e a troca de conhecimento entre os funcionários. O Yammer é uma plataforma baseada na nuvem e oferece aplicativos móveis para dispositivos iOS e Android. Isso permite que os usuários acessem a plataforma de qualquer lugar, a qualquer momento, promovendo a comunicação em tempo real e a colaboração mesmo quando estão fora do escritório.

Pros

O Yammer é uma plataforma baseada na nuvem e oferece aplicativos móveis para dispositivos iOS e Android, permitindo que os usuários acessem a plataforma de qualquer lugar, a qualquer momento, promovendo a comunicação em tempo real e a colaboração mesmo quando estamos fora da usina. A alta integraçao com outras ferramentas da Microsoft, como o Office 365 e o SharePointfacilita que possamos compartilhar facilmente documentos, planilhas, apresentações e outros arquivos do Office diretamente no Yammer, além de aproveitar recursos adicionais, como videoconferências do Microsoft Teams.

Cons

Como o Yammer permite que os usuários compartilhem informações e ideias livremente, pode ocorrer uma inundação de informações irrelevantes ou de baixa qualidade. Isso pode dificultar a filtragem e a busca de conteúdo relevante, especialmente em organizações maiores com muitos usuários ativos.

Showing original review in Portuguese. See translation

LR
AvatarImg

Luigi R.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Una ex-valanga di comunicazioni aziendali ora fortunatamente viaggiano su un pratico social: Yammer!

Reviewed a year ago

Molto, davvero molto positiva. Mi sta attraendo molto su argomenti dell'azienda che prima mi "perdevo" perché ero costretto a ignorare quotidianamente molte email (anche su argomenti interessanti) a causa dell'omnidirezionalità nello spazio-tempo di outlook, insomma mi sentivo invaso da tutte le parti e trovavo nella stessa giornata email urgenti del team mischiate ad iniziative importanti ma che mi distoglievano. Ora so che quando schedulo il mio tempo di training, per esempio, apro yammer e vedo le novità, e in due minuti ottengo quello che prima facevo in mezzora andando a ricordare e rintracciare in quali email si era parlato di certi corsi... tanto per citare qualche situazione tipica che si è alleggerita grazie a Yammer.

Pros

La forma social che assomiglia molto al familiare Facebook per certi versi e per altri a Teams ha credo ereditato/sviluppato in maniera molto semplice alcune delle funzionalità di interazione più riuscite e apprezzate nel mondo dei social network, per creare di fatto delle community strutturate. Ecco il punto centrale per cui lo apprezzo moltissimo come nuovo strumento aziendale: L'ORDINE! L'ordine...

Cons

Devo dire che al momento non riscontro criticità

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

KB
AvatarImg

Kristin B.

Insurance, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for Community Enagement

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, for a larger company I would recommend Yammer, it can sync well with all your Microsoft products and it is a fast and efficient way to spread a message to a large amount of employees at the same time! Yammer can hold the messages, documents, trainings, videos so that you can still review them at your leisure as a user and still participate in the comments! I will say that if you are watching...

Pros

This is a great software to get everyone in the company (or community) involved! You can post updates to share company wide and all of those who have joined Yammer can not only access the details, attachments and/or videos attached, but the users can also comment and hold conversations about the topics posted. This system will also house documents, training, videos, company updates, polls, monthly...

Cons

The only con that I have experience is more of a "user settings" I would love to be able to exclude myself from several emails that I receive on what seems like a daily basis, however I have found a work around to just route the emails to a non-important folder until I do have time to review them! The only other hard thing that I have noticed when it comes to Yammer is when/if you are watching a "live feed" it can be a little confusing to keep up with the most recent comments/questions being posted while the feed it continuing.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Writing and Editing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A Great Means to an End

Reviewed 5 years ago

Yammer has been so amazing at allowing the freelance workforce to come together and really discuss current issues and information about the work. Otherwise, we'd all be so isolated and unable to work together to enhance the finished product of transcripts. That information share is so, so important to not only get the best work to the client, but also to learn more and advance individually in the field. It links me to fellow transcriptionists and gives the human contact that makes up a huge portion of actually being to tolerate long hours of work. So thumbs-up, Yammer.

Pros

I use Yammer to link to fellow employees of Transcribeme. So far, Yammer has been extremely easy to navigate and I have not seen any glitches during my two years working with it. Yammer uses columns to organize your different feeds which helps with clarity. In a quick sweep of my feed, I can see the app directory, any new activity in all my groups, suggested managment or key team members to follow...

Cons

All the positives said, I think Yammer could work on it's design. Maybe it needs some modern touches and perhaps more social features. An amazing app that brings work-at-home people together could always do with more social features ie. a live-chat feature, customizable themes, more inviting interface because it's really important to catch the attention of freelancers so that they are more apt to frequent the site.

MG
AvatarImg

Margaret G.

Oil & Energy, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A cost effective way that has changed our productivity, decision making and saves us time.

Reviewed 5 months ago

Yammer has made transparency and productivity the pillars. I have high hopes with Yammer, the bond and commitment to achieving more and more will grow.

Pros

Yammer has a unique approach to bringing together people with common goals to keep connected and organized. This way, I was able to recognize the loopholes on the overall performance which gave me a chance to make the necessary adjustments. It keeps everyone informed on the proceedings by sharing valuable files and documents. It is quite secure and I can feel the change closer and closer everyday.

Cons

So far so good. No complaints from all parties. I had easy time since day one.

RN
AvatarImg

Raghavendar N.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Unique Social network for corporates

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have used this for solution seeking where we put our request or query and we get response with what people know about it or sometime we get perfect solution too. Apart from work related, we also share the cool pics related to the happening or team events or festivals celebration. Also, polls are conducted to seek the feedback from colleagues about new change in the company or changes that is needed.

Pros

We have Office365 at our company, next to Skype the other app that is extensively used is Yammer for collaboration. We can switch this seamlessly across our Laptop & phone apps. Yammer is social network within the company. Everyone is member as soon as they join and we have different groups where we are free to join. But default, based on our department we are tagged to parent groups and we can view the updates and share our feedback just like Facebook. We can create new groups based on the need and invite people or tag them to get their attention. The biggest advantage of this app is your voice is reached to thousands in minutes and you may get feedback from top skipping the hierarchies. So easy to connect and easy to use and make an effective use for networking across the colleagues

Cons

User Interface is not rich and looks and feels needs improvement. Not sure but it hangs for me quite number of times. Also, little difficult to search for a post or feed. It becomes more confusing once more and more groups are created.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 10,001+ employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

An employee's Yammer Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

My experience with Yammer is that I am a low level clerk with nobody reporting to me in any capacity. All of the network on any Yammer blog I do are high level banking executives and bankers who I have no shared association with. I am the black Beatle Bailey in General Halftrack's world. (as per the comic strip) Also, I do not appreciate being trolled on my Yammer blog by these people who have implicit...

Pros

This software is fine if your e-mail is tied to the account and you can use this through the company access. I would be happy if I can access this software through my university or my network with Linked-in. (Which includes my employer)

Cons

I am restricted by way of my company access. I am unable to start a new yammer blog from a remote computer outside of the company that I work for. Under my employer's access, I am unable to see my company e-mail outside their intra-net. I am also under my employer's restrictions due to the proprietary data that is of importance to the company, but is of no use to me outside of my employer's work site. Why should I need a company token to access and edit a yammer blog on my laptop that has nothing to do with my employer? (Apart from what I think is slight branding detail that is of importance to my employer, but is is biased and prejudicial to me) I have no use for the technical detail that my employer uses yammer for.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

César C.

Computer Hardware, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The standard network for business communication

Reviewed 2 years ago

In general, I have had an excellent experience with Yammer, it has everything you ask for from a collaborative tool and has the bonus of being part of the Microsoft ecosystem, which is possibly one of the most powerful in the entire market. It is a 100% recommended platform for any audience.

Pros

Yammer is a Microsoft platform and it has all the good things about this type of tool, it is very flexible, it has a lot of integrations with third parties, it works fast, it works on any device, it is safe and reliable, the updates are up to date, etc. Yammer is an excellent collaborative tool, that is its main function, it applies from small groups to gigantic companies, it is a platform designed for collaborative work and its tools and interface make it noticeable, it has a fairly formal but very well optimized interface. In addition, it is an excellent program for internal communication and transferring files. Yammer is a 10/10 platform.

Cons

The platform's advertising is very invasive, from the many emails that arrive, from unnecessary notifications to the phone, etc. The interface, although it's fine, is quite boring, it works well, but it doesn't encourage you to spend a lot of time on the platform.

Pc
AvatarImg

Prasath c.

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Yammer - Share content and collaborate

Reviewed 2 years ago

I had never heard of Yammer before I started working at my company, but I've since discovered that it's one of the most popular workplace apps out there. It's used by companies of all sizes to share information, collaborate, and build relationships with employees and partners. When I first started using it, I was surprised at how many people I could connect with right away. Word quickly spread throughout the company about my new account, and I was soon receiving invitations to join groups and conversations with people all over the world. The platform allows me to interact with my colleagues in ways I never thought were possible. The social networking aspect of the platform has allowed our small business to grow and become more successful than ever before.

Pros

1. Yammer is a business social networking service that allows small and medium-sized businesses to create a private, secure online workspace to help build stronger relationships with colleagues, clients, and customers. 2.Yammer integrated with Office 365 services in a number of ways. Within Yammer itself, it will be possible for users to create Word, Excel and PowerPoint documents through Office Online. 3.It is a tool that allows users to easily create, share, and connect with Yammer-enabled applications. It is primarily used for communication, but it has the potential to accomplish a wide variety of other tasks. 4. It is a great platform to share links to articles and sites that can help you learn more about the technology.

Cons

1. It's expensive, members are often confused with the feature set is limited. 2. It can be difficult to add new members to Yammer and create new groups. It is also difficult to create new groups without an invitation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Romain D.

Aviation & Aerospace, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Le facebook de l'entreprise

Reviewed a year ago

Dans notre entreprise, nous utilisons surtout Yammer pour avoir un "contact humain à distance" : pour se donner des nouvelles et favoriser l'échange et l'esprit d'équipe.

Pros

Interface claire et conviviale. Les fonctionnalités sont ni plus ni moins celles que l'on s'attend à retrouver sur un réseau social tel que facebook : Message général ou à un groupe de personne, création d'évènement, publication de post, commentaire, like, partage. On peut également partager des fichiers.

Cons

En ce qui concerne le divertissement et le partage d'info, Yammer est parfait. Par contre, pour ce qui est de travailler cela ne vaut pas un groupe Teams. En effet, sur Yammer la gestion des fichiers est minimaliste, il n'y a pas de workflow ou de gestion partagée des tâches, ni de calendrier de projet.

Showing original review in French. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

deba o.

Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good content sharing tool which is underutilized because there are a lot of alternatives

Reviewed 5 years ago

Yammer has helped us reduce the number of intracompany emails and also reduced the number of meetings since we all can collaborate within it.

Pros

Yammer is like a social media tool for workers in my company to interact with each other. We tried it out in 2016 and we never looked back. Company update can be sent to all members just like using an email, while documents, images and videos can be shared within it. It is cheap, sign up is free and have good customer support. You can easily join a group or create a group depending on what you want....

Cons

Yammer is too strict on 3rd party adverts within their platform. It is not widely popular and people just tend to disregard it. The learning curve for yammer use to be very low but recent additions and innovations somehow made it a bit steep for newbies. yammer work more like a social media platform rather a corporate tool with the many innovations been added to it The interface is too rigid for my liking. (personal dislike but my colleagues absolutely loved it)

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

David S.

Automotive, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great application to keep communicated

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

What I like about this application is Yammer is fully equipped to act as a central contact of contact and communication in my network. We have an international set (scattered) of people on my network and we choose Yammer in our communication center. We create a commercial space for each working group and another for our coordination team. Not only do we use group spaces, but also the messages between the members of the Yammer group are extremely effective and safe. We can write to individuals or create groups for continuous communication in the hammer. Therefore, although we must maintain the security of the information in the part of the world we use, we trust the aspects of security. I also use the iOS Yammer application to access my account and messages.

Cons

What I do not like about this application is the user interface is not rich and it seems and considers that it should improve. I'm not sure, but a little time is suspended. In addition, it is not very difficult to seek publication. It becomes more confusing again when several groups are created.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Samuel K.

Pharmaceuticals, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Professional Version of Social Media!

Reviewed 3 years ago

My overall experience with Yammer has been phenomenal, and I am sure that my coworkers can attest to that experience, as well. I have been able to communicate efficiently with coworkers, I have been able to share documents with them, and we have all been able to update our "statuses" just as we would on most other informal social media sites. Would definitely recommend Yammer to anyone.

Pros

What I like best about Yammer is that it acts like a pseudo-social media site, but only within the inner circles of your near and distant coworkers, (meaning those who are on site and off site), but within the same company. The site makes for a nice getaway whenever you need a break from work and you want to see what everyone else has to say on their profiles, if you want to send direct messages back and forth to a coworker, if you want to share various files, (both professional and personal), among a slew of other features that are very reminiscent of other social media sites. Only individuals with the proper corporate email addresses are able to create an account on Yammer and join your inner group of friends, which is fantastic.

Cons

There is literally nothing that I do not like about this software, because its purpose is very simple - and all of what it is made for is being met, at least in my case, and I have been using the software for a decent amount of time now. The messaging is in real time, the interface is simple and appealing, and it is accessible on desktop, laptop, or mobile.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for community building

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Yammer creates a sense of community within the organization, helping to build a strong corporate culture and improve employee engagement and it makes it easy for employees to collaborate on projects and share information across departments and teams.

Cons

Integrating Yammer with other systems and tools can be challenging, requiring additional IT resources and expertise and With so much information being shared on Yammer, it can be difficult to filter out the noise and find the information you need.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Curtis S.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Enhancing Collaboration and Communication: Yammer Delivers!

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Yammer fosters seamless collaboration and communication, connecting employees across departments and locations, breaking down silos, and enhancing cross-team collaboration.The integration with other Microsoft tools, such as Office 365, streamlines productivity by allowing seamless sharing of documents, real-time collaboration, and scheduling meetings within the platform.Yammer's mobile app enables employees to stay connected on the go, ensuring participation in conversations and access to important updates, making it convenient and flexible for a modern workforce.

Cons

Yammer's interface can be overwhelming for new users, requiring some time to get accustomed to its features and functionality.The platform may experience occasional performance issues, such as slow loading times or delays in notifications.Yammer's search functionality could benefit from further improvements to enhance the ease of finding specific content or conversations.

LC
AvatarImg

Liza C.

Renewables & Environment, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A unique tool for coordinating communication between team members

Reviewed 2 years ago

Through Yammer, we have records that document the work of the different groups, and it also helps to manage the process of communication between them, thus shortening the time needed to communicate information to members, and this leads to better tracking of tasks.

Pros

Yammer enables us to create groups by specialization, so that we can easily share files and task updates, in addition to scheduling all events for all group members in a unified calendar. I like the fact that Slack integrates with email platforms, as well as Video Conferencing platforms, which enables us to interact more efficiently, as well as enable us to discuss, add comments and suggestions in an organized way. With Yammer and thanks to the high-quality automation provided with it, all dashboards stay up-to-date, based on updates from group members.

Cons

There are no negative things affecting the main functions of Yammer, I just need to lift some restrictions on formatting and editing the panels to become more relevant to the nature of our work.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good to have but not very impressive

Reviewed 2 years ago

if you do not have intranet and you want employee engagement tool then this will work great with subject to lot of campaigns for employee onboarding and engagement with yammer

Pros

Very user friendly, doesn't required employee training or guidance on how to use it. so many inbuilt features for social sharing and employee engagement saves tons of development work for custom intranet portal

Cons

not much tightly integrated with other O365 products, it makes difficult for admin to onboard emplyees

JM
AvatarImg

Joshua M.

Printing, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A Unique Blend of Social and Business Collaboration Platform

Reviewed 5 years ago

I think my overall experience with Yammer is functional - yet, under-utilized. It provides and interesting social space within the hustle and bustle of a business world. I think some organizations can pull this integration off - but it is difficult. Yammer is built in a way that should increase collaboration and alleviate location based barriers for working teams. However, Yammer can fall into the potential pitfall of diving too far into a social trends over creating cross-functional teams. Therefore, in the end, I see a lot of promise in the tool - with quite of bit work left to go.

Pros

Yammer does a really nice job of offering a social platform for workers to interact with other across the company. I work in a large organization and Yammer is a tool that I use to interact with my business cohort across the country. I have really enjoyed the opportunity to add individuals to your connections, find like-minded groups, and share documents for others to review. I have tried using Yammer for various uses and have largely found it beneficial for keeping up with co-workers in off-site locations.

Cons

I think Yammer can fall a little too far into the social category for a business. I have often felt like the platform veers too far into a social media tool rather than a business collaboration platform. The user experience feels very similar to Facebook and often is difficult to differentiate it from other social platforms. I have had other experiences with other business tools that seems to pull this off a bit better than Yammer. From my experience, other business professionals realize this and stay away.

TS
AvatarImg

Tami S.

Retail, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Yammer Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

As said above, we're a big organization and having a platform where you can interaction in real time with a large or specific audience is great, even more so now that my entire company is working from home. We use other messaging services, but Yammer really helps with things like announcements, process updates, and communication in general. It's integrated perfectly into Office 365.

Pros

Yammer is a social networking platform that functions similarly to Facebook or NextDoor, but for professionals & businesses. My company is quite large, and we have a good amount of employee that work from home (even before the pandemic in 2020), so this is a great platform to use for communicating. I like how you can create teams that are small and very specific (like just my team, or all of the employees working in the same role as I) and broader (all div, all company etc.). The most useful tools to me are the ability to share process updates and by "liking" them you know who has read and acknowledged the update, and for creating polls for a specific audience to gauge which path to take when there are multiple solutions.

Cons

The Yammer layout is very similar to that of other social networking sites, I would like if they would give the software a facelift and make it more distinguishable from other, similar programs.

DL
AvatarImg

Darrus L.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Specialty specific physician message board

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Provides an easy to use platform for communication and sharing. The relatively limited feature set keeps interacting with Yammer a straight forward experience. For our purposes Yammer provides a great substitute for the "Doctor's Lounge" that our physicians miss since we are a much larger organization than just a few years ago. Physicians can, in physician only environments, discuss patient cases and ask for advice and referrals to other specialists from a much larger community of their peers than are available at their physical location.

Cons

Because Yammer does not seem to have all the same connections to our AD database as other applications in Office 365 getting everyone onto the platform can be challenging. Creating and managing groups can be daunting as the platform is open. Controlling the types of communication on the platform can also be difficult and channel moderators have to stay vigilant. This does mean that the platform is creating new work for those staff chosen as channel moderators, and depending on adoption and usage this can be a significant commitment of time on a regular basis.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kacie H.

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Facebook for your Coworkers

Reviewed 4 years ago

I used this at my prior company, and HR in particular found it to be rewarding. From celebrating milestone employee birthdays and announcing new hires to promoting newsletter content and collecting charitable donations across the enterprise, Yammer is great for casual announcements. Serious announcements, urgent communications and PR are still best distributed via email. But Yammer is scalable to your company. It can be as streamlined or intricate as you choose.

Pros

Yammer is modelled after social networking platforms, both from function and UI standpoints. So if you can use Facebook, you'll instantly feel comfortable on Yammer. Think of it as a social intranet - post companywide updates and photos, hold contests, have team-specific chats or channels to cut down on inbox clutter, and promote a culture that's both full and well-informed at your office. Yammer allows polls, and you can set up email notifications to make sure you don't miss anything that might be of interest to you.

Cons

Yammer's social function is still a bit lacking, and it doesn't integrate as seamlessly with Office 365 as I'd like. Be sure that your company is thoughtful about what should be communicated on Yammer, and what should still be sent via email. Adoption by other employees was a challenge for us, as it can feel like just anotjher platform to have to check on a daily basis. I did receive feedback from several colleagues along the lines of "I already check my email. It's easier to have all communications go though Outlook. Why would I want to add another platform to my list of things to check?"

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mahmut S.

Consumer Electronics, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Empowering Employees to Share Knowledge and Ideas

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Yammer is a great platform for improving communication and collaboration, increasing employee engagement, and enhancing knowledge sharing within a company. It can also help to streamline information sharing, improve transparency, and reduce reliance on email. Overall, Yammer is a valuable tool for companies of all sizes that are looking to improve their internal communication and collaboration.

Cons

Yammer's potential drawbacks include limited integration with other Microsoft 365 applications, the challenge of achieving user adoption, and the risk of information overload. Companies should consider these limitations and implement effective strategies to maximize Yammer's benefits.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Tawanda S.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Team collaboration enabler offering endless possibilities

Reviewed 5 years ago

It was so confusing at first and I was nearly tempted to quit and unsubscribe, However, overtime I got the hang of it and my team appreciate it

Pros

I like that it is simplified and its quiet easy to use even for the newbies. The tiling of feeds according to subject and relevance makes it easier to get the best out of. Ideas flow unabated and team members can quickly share productive information.

Cons

I would like to see Yammer filtering the messages and feeds posted so that only relevant information is retained for future reference

SR
AvatarImg

Steve R.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It's a great program to use for a virtual office!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Great benefits, it's a wonderful virtual office

Pros

Yammer is a terrific way to communicate with people in your company when you don't have a traditional office setting, where employees work from different areas. You can have conversations and get up with people immediately, plus have various "buckets" to divide up work tasks, or have different networks for different departments. Uploaded and downloading is easy, and it's a repository for valuable files. To have a platform where everyone can be on the same page is invaluable. And with smart phones, pushes can allow one to be notified immediately of any update or conversation. Has similar feature to Facebook, so it's easy to learn. Again, a great virtual office!

Cons

Honestly, there are very few cons, sometimes it won't let you upload or download items, but that is a rare occasion. Sometimes the search isn't reliable.