HeavyBid Reviews

HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

4.6/5 (497 reviews)

Danny Matthews

VP Estimating with a Heavy Highway contractor using Heavy Bid

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The product is very user freindly and a complete packeage for our estimating needs. We have 8 users and bid many different types of projects from small paving projects to large bridge and highway project. Heavybid allows us to bid as many as 400 plus projects per year. HCSS support is top of the class.

Cons
Some specilized reports are that would breakdown the cost and price with showing all the details are difficult to use. Example pricing change order work for an owner that requires the labor, equipment and materials details for submittal but without the cost of each crew item.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Jose A. Infante Corona

Very Robust and trustworthy software group.

Reviewed 2016-06-23
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
It is a very comprehensive software group that will meet all your needs for a sub-contractor. From bidding, scheduling, COST TRACKING, statistics, equipment maintenance and fuel, and more. It really have all we needed. And the customer service is amazingly good.

Cons
There is no undo button (Which it is understandable for record keeping purposes). But, in HeavyBid and some instances of Heavy Job, it is a hard pill to swallow. Also, in Heavy Job, COs, POs, could be better handled. Also, Field users do not need to be computer experts, but they do need to be comfortable with computers and software (which it is not always the case).

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Michael Edde

HeavyBid Rocks

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
HCSS prides itself on innovation and customer service. They are constantly updating their products to keep up with modern technology and the changing construction environment. HeavyBid makes the estimating process streamlined and much more effecient. It helps us bid a lot more work.

Cons
There is not much to dislike about HeavyBid. The only negative that I can think of is that the software (although user friendly) can be very complicated. But that is where their helpful customer service comes to the rescue to help you out.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Travis Tholstrom

HCSS heavy bid is the best estimating software I've used in 22 years.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-07-20
Review Source: Software Advice

I would and have recommended this software to others.

Pros
Customer support is amazing. There is always someone there to receive my calls at any time and on any day.

Cons
So expansive it's hard to learn all the tricks. It's hard to transfer all the tricks I've learned to coworkers but we have weekly trainings to share information.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Anonymous

Limited Fields are Biggest Negative

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-10-02
Review Source: Capterra

It's great for most estimating functions and it is super easy to copy files. However, the limited description is such a drawback it would probably preclude me from actully recommedning it to others in my field who would invariably run into the same issue.

Pros
It offers lots of options for how to enter bid items. The modules talk to each other well so information does not have to be entered numerous times.

Cons
The character limit in the description field is the most aggravating quality. I enter descriptions that are sometimes three lines long and they don't fit. I have to make up absurd abbreviations because my estimators don't like the Alternate Description feature as they have to toggel between them.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

dexter kollesq

project manager/estimator

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
They are very good at respondsing to questions and getting answers in a timely manner. This product is very helpul in putting together accurate estimates and tracking the job. This product is very user friendly and could be taught to anyone in a short time fram.

Cons
Sometimes it wont let me do exactly what i want to. Sometimes navigation is very timely unless you know all of the shortcuts. Some of the reports and information isnt very clearly laid out. If you didnt use the software before navigation can be very difficult.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Wes Partin

Probably the industry standard for construction estimating software

Reviewed 2016-09-07
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
HCSS offers very good 24 hour support. The program is very adaptable to all levels of construction estimating/bidding and can speak to most well known accounting software. Several levels of the software provide more or less detailed options, depending on your requirements

Cons
Extremely structured and difficult to set up database initially. Upkeep is fairly easy, if your initial setup was performed with some aforethought.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Scott Velting

HCSS HeavyBid is Powerful and Effective

Reviewed 2014-07-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
There is no end to the amount of detail you can get simply into a bid with HeavyBid. Once you figure one part of a project, you never have to do it again on future bids. Once you build an activity, it can be used as a starting point for future work and modified quickly. Once you set up labor, equipment, material, crews, etc. in the system, it is quick, simple, and precise. On the fly changes are easy to make, and I can be sure that my costs are covered. Being on the lower end as far as size contractors who use HeavyBid, i have never felt that i am treated as less important to HCSS than their largest user. HCSS has always been a delight to deal with and I consider them to be an important partner in our business. And they make us feel important to them.

Cons
The only thing that would make me like it better would be if it were free. But the constant improvements and excellent support make ownership costs easy to justify.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Jonathan Ketchum

The Best Estimating Software on the Market

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-11-02
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
- Has a plethora of features which create an easy bidding process - Can setup local or global resource libraries to allow a job-specific library with our general materials - Easy to run all reports of all different kinds and easy to read

Cons
- Can be a bit buggy when within an activity, which may force it to crash. This is primarily because of user error though and you learn ways to stop this from happening.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

John Phillips

working with Heavy Bid

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Heavy Bid contains every way necessary to build a complete bid. The multiple methods allow the user to approach the solution from different angles to come up with a complete, accurate, competitive proposal.

Cons
There are very few dislikes. It has a simple interface but which has at times complex means to a solution. It is not the perfect software. There are a few functions which wcould use enhancement such as vendor solicitation and document control.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Dustin Baker

Gets the job done correctly

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-27
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Heavy Bid gives you a lot of flexibility for determining where to put costs and revenue. Overruns/Underruns are handled with ease.

Cons
This is a steep learning curve for heavybid however, their support is world class. No waiting and instant help.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Riccardo Francese

Excellent product for Civil Construction Projects

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-02-08
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
It's like a giant spreadsheet and helps you to manage several parts of your project Really great auditing features

Cons
Program is still based on an old and archaic data structure that sometimes requires maintenance Not very good for complex mechanical projects

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Tara Canavan

Great product

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-09-21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Great features. HCSS offers wonderful classes at the UGM each year to make using products easier. Great for use on projects of any size.

Cons
Start up can be slow. It takes some time to use the product to its potential and integrate all the software together.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Josh Jensen

HCSS is the bomb.com

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-05-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Allows you to customize your bids to your liking. Bids can be streamlined for customers and/or you can copy what the owner has set up.

Cons
THE SELECT BID ITEMS FEATURE NEVER WORKS. EVERY TIME I TRY TO ADD BID ITEMS THROUGH THE SELECT BID ITEMS IT DOESN'T WORK!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

John Tatsukawa

This software gets the job done. With good planning you can have a smooth rollout!!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-05-03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Dispatcher is invaluable for us. Heavyjobs also does a great job of tracking hours. Both save us time and money!

Cons
We wish it would work seamlessly with our financial management program. Right now, we are manually entering the information.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Dylan Murphy

Great Product for the Industry

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The codebooks are very helpful if setup correctly. Being able to bring in activities with a states standard item code speeds the bidding process up tremendously. Also, Support is second to none. Call anytime and someone will be there immediately to help. They wont get off the phone until the problem is resolved.

Cons
Some very minor tweeks might need to be changed, but if you know what they are they can avoid them. However, if you do make the mistake, you can still find it in the end under the Estimate Review.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

doug early

Heavy Bid is great

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-07-12
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Very functional. Can modify bids very easily and create and remove bid files very quickly. Customer service is great.

Cons
The quote form (I believe Crystal reports) loads and closes very slowly. Calculation routines are complicated

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

edward fessler

great software

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-02-09
Review Source: Capterra

use it every day. dont know where i would be without it. even when the rare issue arises, support is always avaialbe and very professional. anyone looking to keep their estimating at top notch needs this program.

Pros
ease of use and its overall functionality

Cons
almost too indepth

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

JT Walsh

Heavyjob- Worth the Grind

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Before coming to this event in Houston I liked how intuiitive the HeavyJob software is. It allows for easy production tracking and therefore easy field adjustments that can benefit the individual job, the company, and the future jobs within the company based on information gleaned from the results of the tweaks. After attending this event HCSS has proven to be highly nowledgable of their own product and ready to work to make it even better.

Cons
The lack of easy transition from not usong the software to using the software for primarily field employees has proven challenging. Also there is not a great way to quickly take copies of field tickets and incorporate them into a pdf of daily reports.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Jonathan Ketchum

HCSS Heavy Bid - Top of the Line Bidding Software

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

HCSS Heavy Bid has numerous essential features that other bidding software just do not have. They improve the ease of use and efficiency of almost every part of the process. They also allow for easy integration into their HCSS Heavy Job software, if you win the bid. After having used multiple bidding software, this one stands out as the best.

Pros
- Ease of use for adding custom items and making changes after the fact - Well laid out and easy to navigate menus - Ability to have multiple tabs open

Cons
- None

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

justin amlung

Excellent software for estimators and construction managers

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-08-14
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Insanely powerful program. The cost database from previous jobs make estimating far easier when old numbers are at your fingertips. Great customer service.

Cons
Takes a while to understand program and use features effectively. Once the ins and outs are learned, the program becomes intuitive.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Erik Paulson

I have not had an opportunity to find this much detail in any estimating platform in over 20 years of estimating.

Used occasionally for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-08-21
Review Source: Software Advice

I would highly recommend this to any business that is into production estimating. Once you are set up, and ready to go you can estimate a lot of work using the stored information quickly.

Pros
The ability for me to create an estimate that can be handed off to a project manager that doesn't have him asking me 100 questions. It is all there for them and helps them get the project started off right.

Cons
There is a fair amount of learning that goes into it, and if you are not careful about the set up you can really have problems that multiply through the estimate.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Corey Summers

Heavybid review by grading contractor

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
heavybid is the easiest and most user friendly estimating software that i have ever used. Heavybid can be used by any employee with very little training.

Cons
cant speak of any problems or concerns we have had with the project. we have used it for numerous years and if we have had any problem it has been handled quickly and professionally. no problems to speak of and cant think of any problems in the near future

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Eric North

My experience with this product is for Heavy Civil estimating

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
What I like best about this product is the many ways that you can get the same result. I also like that you can customize almost every report to give you what you are looking for.

Cons
What I do not like about this product is that it can be time consuming and confusing on how certain things are supposed to be entered. sometimes it is not clear what report it is you need to run in order to get the report you want

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Brian Dlugonski

Learning experience but can't imagine estimating without it

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Customer support is 2nd to none. Phone calls answered in quickly and responses have always been correct. Techs are knowlegable and personable and will explain what was wrong and what had to be done to correct the problem(s) which are typically a user problem not a software problem.

Cons
That I don't know how to use everything that it offers nor would I need to. What I least like about HCSS is that it's not closer to home (Maryland).

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry