HeavyBid Reviews

HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

4.6/5 (497 reviews)

Pros
  • The flexibility it allows the estimator. Reporting!
  • I like how easy it is to use. With master estimates, it is easy to customize the software to industry needs.
  • Customer service is very good. Whenever we have issues with the product there is always someone there to help out.
  • the ease of use. I like the clearness of info regarding markup % and the ease of adjusting pricing by up or % on each line item.
Cons
  • New copy function does not pull in resource plugs from master list
  • New updates come in, and don't always get updated or explained right away
  • Some of the reports could be better. They have been making some improvements in the later released.
  • Takes a little time to get familiar, but then very easy to use. It seems a little overwhelming at first.
99%
recommended this to a friend or a colleague
Alex Brown

Easy to use

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The software is a great time savers. Being able to integrat Heavy Bid, Heavy job and the Saftey system is nice. Great customer service and timely help with any issues. I also like the estimate check features to check for errors and missing costs. Being able to copy from previous estimates is also a great time saver.

Cons
New copy function does not pull in resource plugs from master list

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Corey Krewson

Easy to use program with lots of customizability

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-05-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
I like how easy it is to use. With master estimates, it is easy to customize the software to industry needs.

Cons
The reports are a bit complicated for first time users. Not all of them are used either but it just takes practice to know what is needed.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Brandon Dahn

Heavy job is a great product

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The best part about Heavy Job and HCSS is the customer service. They are very quick to solve any issue. They also listen to there customers to help improve the product.

Cons
I dont know that there is anything that i dont really like about HCSS. I know that they cant make a product that is great for everyone. I guess they do not keep up on the android mobile app as much as the IOS.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

kyle gould

Heavy Job Exprience

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
the product is very user friendly, offers multiple options to make almost all aspects of your easier. the tech support is second to none and answers questions quickly and accurately.

Cons
i have very few complaints, but if i have to come up wit a downfall it is HCSS's willingness to listen and try to implement too many requests. these requests sometimes burden the system.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Anonymous

Heavy Bid - Expensive but worth it

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-02-12
Review Source: Capterra

HeavyBid works well for us and we have no plans of changing. We like the concurrent licensing vs a per user model. It isnt cheap, but it is at least manageable.

Pros
HeavyBid software makes quoting large construction jobs manageable. with the import function we are able to get accurate costs and estimates for projects that we bid.

Cons
System works good even though it looks like it was developed 10 years ago and hasn't gotten a facelift...but it works.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Kelsey Mulleneaux

I use HeavyBid to submit estimates for public works products

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The product does what i need to accurately develop costs for my bids based on different needs. i also love the techinical support provided over the phone if needed

Cons
There are a lot of features that can get you sidetracked from your basic needs to build an estimate. HCSS doesn't always take my suggestions to incorporate into new versions.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

William Cooke

Heavy Bid Review

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Flexibility and ability to work with diverse accounting systems. The BIG THING is the product support which is available 24/7 and in English. What's more the problem is resolved in a timely manner.

Cons
Some times it is a bit overwhelming. But usually I can work through with support to understand and apply. There are many features that the software can do but sometimes it's had to actually use them all.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Darin Henry

HeavyBid is the best!

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
HeavyBids customer service is by far the best I have encountered in my work and personal life. They are always there, usually on the 2nd ring but def by the 3rd! HeavyBid has such customizable features they always have an other or an answer!

Cons
Only negative is that the system doesn't have a takeoff software in its product lines, maybe this will be added to future editions.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

cesar piedrahita

heavyjob review

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
the ease of use itsbthe best feature, including interaction with our accounting software. customer support is the best acroos all industires. second to none

Cons
there isn much i dont like about the feature. If I have to choose something is trying to explain to management thrROI on the software. At first glnace it may look pricey, but when all integration is completed across all applications for HCSS the investment is worth it

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Allison Whitman

Great Estimating Software for Heavy Civil Bidding

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-03-30
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The software is easy to use once you get familiar with the system. The integration with Vista by Viewpoint is extremely helpful, as that is the Construction Software we use. Great reports to get data that you need. Reports help with the buyout process as well. Considering implementing HCSS Heavy Job at our company for tracking in the field. I love that you can get production requirements from direct cost report to the guys in the field.

Cons
Takes a little time to get familiar, but then very easy to use. It seems a little overwhelming at first.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Matt Schroeder

HeavyBid for Civil Construction

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
What I like best about heavy bid are the automatic features. For example, once we set up quote class with material resource codes it has made are bidding process very efficient. HCSS has the best customer support, if you are a DOT contractor like us and have an issue at midnight they will answer.

Cons
Some of the reports could be better. They have been making some improvements in the later released.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Chad Cameron

Top Notch Bidding Software

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Heavy Bid does a great job at organizing your crews/budgets/schedules and is super easy to use if you are either a new contractor to HCSS or one that has been involved for 20 years

Cons
Sometimes there are way to many options or buttons that i dont know what they do. I feel like i only use 50% of what Heavy bid offers. However I do learn more and more each day.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

sam davis

great product suite

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
great way to submit electronic time cards and production quantities / materials used. the new mobile app release with it's job analysis is great - you can quickly see how jobs are doing in the field instantly

Cons
there's not much not to like... I wish the export of production quantities to timberline worked - it's causing us to manually enter quantities into accounting software

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Dru Buck

Heavyjob Implimentation Cooridinator

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Since going to the mobile version we have found the product to be extremely user friendly. The Hcss support team is the best I've dealt with from any software company.

Cons
The laptop version was very challenging for our foreman to use. I would like more training and functionality with the Pay estimate and change order module.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Michael Longtin

Our experience has been very good

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The field and mobile capabilities of heavy job makes us more efficient. Foreman and Superintendents are able to track time, submit time etc. from the field without having to go into the office. Things are timely!

Cons
Having the ability to interface into our back office system is very important. Having a propietary database makes this a bit more difficult.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Kevin Heddy

Heavy Bid is Awesome!

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The flexibility it allows the estimator. Reporting!

Cons
That it is in Houston and not San Francisco. It would be great to have some localized offices in major cities that have increased access to training. Trainers are usually pretty busy and it can be difficult to get the correct dates lined up. If there were maybe a few more trainers that would be great

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Matt Hebert

Heavy Job review

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Product is very in depth. It does the things it is designed to do very well. The support staff is very responsive and knowledgable. The system can be made to tie into most account systems for transfering data.

Cons
The product can do so many things that it can be a bit intimidating at first to learn. Once that initial hurdle is cleared the key is continued training

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Nick Miller

HCSS Heavy Job - Used to track time in the field and send to office

Reviewed 2015-03-09
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Customer service is very good. Whenever we have issues with the product there is always someone there to help out.

Cons
When the calendar year ends, if an item is in process, the quantity goes away. This is only on the tablet. The main software at the home office works well, but sometimes hard to track in the field.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Scott Wheeler

Worthwhile and successful!

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Structure and organization to prevent error or doubling up of costs. Useful for both public and private bidding. Review and if/then analysis is very powerful and timely on bid day.

Cons
Career learning opportunity when using this complex and detailed estimating program. Demands on Head Estimator to manage the program reduce the estimating capacity of that individual.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

michael alford

cost tracking

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
the product is great for getting real time data. most accountung systems are weeks behind but heavyjob gives yiou the info quickly. hcss provids great support and looks at all suggestions from their users.

Cons
overall i don't have any negative comments it has always been very helpful and provides real time info. the only problem i have is making sure the info my users put in is correct.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Kristofer Demasi

One of the best customer support groups out there!

Reviewed 2014-07-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
There are a lot of great features in Heavy, all of which help save time putting estimates together, which allows me to spend more time with the takeoffs and fielding the projects. Some of the more important features are the ability to setup labor, crews, equipment, and materials in to the database, allowing for quick entry into the activities. Also, having a library estimate almost completely populates the projects for me as soon as the bid items have been entered! The few times I've had to call customer service, they always pick up within three rings, and I haven't been able to stump them yet.

Cons
It's hard to find something not to like in the program. There are a few modules that I haven't invested too much time into figuring out, but that's more me than them.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Anonymous

Works Good but Could Use Some Improvements

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-03-30
Review Source: Capterra

our bids seem to be tighter and its a good tool to be able to track price escalations throughout the years.

Pros
Setting up a bid is intuitive and I like that the different components 'talk' to each other. Copying estimates and deleting information are also easy.

Cons
some of the character limitations are ridiculous and entering bid prices for comparison is not as intuitive as it could be.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Mike Rowe

I like it!!!

Reviewed 2016-02-19
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
the ease of use. I like the clearness of info regarding markup % and the ease of adjusting pricing by up or % on each line item.

Cons
There isnt a whole lot that I dont like about heavy bid. The intial user training I got left a lot of questions unanswered about operation but that was conducted internally and was not done by hcss.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Brad carpenter

Heavy bid has stream lined my bidding process

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Ability to make changes on the fly and also easily adjust between calendars. If you need to check OT prices the software makes it very simple.

Cons
The software is very complex and capable of a lot. I only use the software for my needs and sometimes can get overwhelmed with the amount of options.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Debbie Brown

Very user friendly, consistently easy

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Product is very easy and logical to use. I set this up with my employer in 2003, left the company, and returned 7 years later. It was very easy to jump back in and pick up where I left off with very little learning curve. Support is always easily available at any time needed.

Cons
New updates come in, and don't always get updated or explained right away

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry