HeavyBid Reviews

HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

4.6/5 (497 reviews)
Pros
  • easy to use and very customizable for how you would like to build each bid
  • 24 hour support...love this. I like being able to come up with total cost per any unit.
  • ease of use. software is straight forward to use and the tech support is great when you need it
  • The support staff and training available is easily the best of any bidding software I've used before.
Cons
  • no bad ...all good...hard to find something negative to say
  • Nothing! Honestly I have nothing negative to say about this product or vendor, both are great!
  • Occasional issues with syncing timecards to server and from HCSS servers to our internal servers.
  • I am finding more and more benefits of this software as i use it. There is not much on disliking it so far.
99%
recommended this to a friend or a colleague
George Wehner

great product-total success

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Heavy Bid has the best support in the industry. The staff has great knowledge and are always calm and easy to talk to regardless of the issue.

Cons
That is a tough question as you are asking me to discuss an tool that I love and rely on everyday. I really have very little i dislike about this product.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Nicholas Buhler

Estimating heavy highway projects

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
HCSS has the best customer support of any opther software I have ever used. The product itself is very powerful while still maintaining its user friendly nature.

Cons
The only thing that I havent figured out how to do yet is with regards to concrete plants and I am hoping that this gets answered here at UGM

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Jared Robert

Invaluable software

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Heavyjob gives our company the ability to focus on the most important part of our jobs by taking care of the routine tasks that would otherwise take up a lot of our useful time. At the same time, it is helping us to achieve the highest level of detail when it comes to tracking cost, quantities, and materials.

Cons
If I had to name something that I like the least about the product, it would be that the user interface has so many features and different ways of accomplishing tasks that it can sometimes be overwhelming to the user.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Ryan Bernath

HeavyJob Rocks!

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
This product allows our field personnel to quickly and accurately submit their time and production to the office. They instantly know how they're performing on each item. At weekly meetings items can be reviewed and adjusted as needed.

Cons
Nothing! Honestly I have nothing negative to say about this product or vendor, both are great!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Ray Zanon

Over a decade of using HeavyBid

Reviewed 2014-07-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
This product was built by people who really know the Heavy/Highway construction industry from the inside. It's amazingly intuitive and built in a logical manner that follows right along with how a construction estimator thinks. The level of service before, during, and especially after the sale is beyond compare. I never cease to marvel that when most software companies have scaled back their technical support, HCSS just keeps improving theirs.

Cons
The software is geared primarily toward large highway project contractors. It works quite well for companies that specialize more in the private market. My only suggestion would be to increase the ability to customize things like bid alternates to allow for the ever-changing ways that private owners request bids to be compiled.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Anonymous

We use heavybid since 10 years and are very satisfied

Used weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-11-14
Review Source: Capterra

Very useful, save us a lot of time in our estimating process

Pros
Service and formation are great, software is improved every year, it saves us a huge amount of time in our estimating process

Cons
From Texas in english only, although we are working in french in Quebec, some features need to be purchased at an higher price and implementation in a company may be long

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Harold McCants

Ease of Use

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
24 hour support...love this. I like being able to come up with total cost per any unit.

Cons
I really wish product had an undo button. There are many instances when you accidenty delete a valuable piece of iformation that you need. once you delete it it is gone unless you have backed up the estimate and go back to an earlier copy.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Jason Greer

HeavyBid is Great

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
As a large heavy civil construction company, equipment cost is large part of our estimates. The way the program manages equipment cost is very good and helps us to manage our costs.

Cons
The product is based on older technology and an update to the overall tech would be great. (I am sure very expensive)

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

phil baranowski

HeavyBid for owners

Reviewed 2016-02-19
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Vendor support is excellent. They answer the phone in 3 rings or less, and you always get a live person who answers

Cons
We have been able to configure the software to complete owner estimates, but because of our unique estimating needs it took a lot of upfront prep and thinking to configure it properly

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Erik Snyder

user friendly and powerful features

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Very easy to use and understand. Tech support is awesome. The UGM are very informative. The updates are not too frequent but frequent enough.

Cons
Some of the features can be tweaked to my personal preference. Larger notes section in the activity tab would be very useful.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Josh Lovetere

A fresh technology mindset for the field

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
HeavyJob mobile has the simplicity necessary for our field users while capturing the frontline information required for the backoffice. Big button, easy to user interface makes HeavyJob mobile a home run.

Cons
Occasional issues with syncing timecards to server and from HCSS servers to our internal servers.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Brad Sundheimer

HCSS HeavyJob

Reviewed 2015-03-09
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The software ties the quantities from the field, to the pay estimate, and then to the subcontractors. HCSS provides great support.

Cons
Change order entry could be a little easier with regards to the item description. If the change order is just changing a quantity, then the description should default to the original bid description.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

George Tucker

Great time at the Seattle Heavy Bid 101

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-08-08
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The functionality is superb and lets you save time by utilizing labor rates, crews, bid items etc. from common taks/jobs as templates. Powerful tool

Cons
Steep learning curve and non-intuitive interface. It could be much more clear and have a better dashboard. Other than that, pretty stellar.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Tony Barnett

Fantastic Produst and Service

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The tech support is fantastic. Every time I have called they have been extremely helpful and have solved my issues. I wish every tech company had as good of tech support as HCSS.

Cons
I have no complaints. The only complaints I have are diretly related to the internal set up and not to the product itself.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Mark Santucci

HeavyBid Review

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
What I like most about this product is that it is extremely easy and fast to learn. You can make material codebooks which save all materials that you would ever use and you can keep historical pricing for each piece of material to use.

Cons
What I like least about this product is DBE options. It is hard for me to figure out if I am meeting the DBE requirements of the project without exporting to excel and doing this separately.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Nick Lange

Great display format

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
HeavyBid has a great user interface and layout. It makes it easy for all levels within the company to be able to look at the screen and understand what is going on even if they were not one of the estimators.

Cons
I am finding more and more benefits of this software as i use it. There is not much on disliking it so far.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Luke Strahler

Heavybid Review

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
It is an easy product to pick up on and learn. The format is very user friendly and allows me to perform functions in ways that are more efficient for me. HCSS is always on call and very helpful with issues.

Cons
Not having a comparison way of estimating or software I don't have any negatives about the software in general.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Leann Martinusen

Time Cards

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Ease of use, straight forward, willing to modify/improve programs, users group meeting, shirts, hats, and customer service representatives

Cons
Manager not on iPad yet; CalTrans equipment does not have the attachments in the equipment data file...they have to entered manually on every bill. I think it makes that part of the program unusable.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Kevin McCormick

HeavyJob Review

Reviewed 2016-02-19
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The software is extremely user friendly, and especiall with the mobile app. Customer service is second to none.

Cons
There is not really much to say negatively. HCSS listens to their customers and takes ideas and suggestions into account, while being transparent in their direction.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Josh Smith

Review of Heavy Bid Software at the HCSS training seminar in Huston

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
easy to use and very customizable for how you would like to build each bid

Cons
the use of the exports and other software it links with does not always want to combine properlly. When i want to export to heavy job it lags and takes several minutes to load. In addition not all information comes over from time to time

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Chase McQuillen

good, great product

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
I think i would say that i like the ability to have instantaneous job costing and budget versus actual variances.

Cons
I don't like the cost of the product. In addition, Understanding and updating the mobile device costs is somewhat tedious.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Randall Moore

streamline the estimate and work it faster

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
one of the best features is that as a project manager i do not have to concern myself with labor rates, burden or equipment rates...i only have to focus on my task and the resources required

Cons
no bad ...all good...hard to find something negative to say

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Chris Loots

HeavyBid Review

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The support staff and training available is easily the best of any bidding software I've used before.

Cons
There are so many features you don't even know about or wouldn't know are there unless you call their support and ask or attend many training sessions.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

john baccino

overall good experience

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
ease of use. software is straight forward to use and the tech support is great when you need it

Cons
the expense of getting set up is high, but the return on investment comes quickly when you realize the project profitability

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

mark grdina

glc meg review

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
easy software to use the quote system allows easy closeout of bids the activity codebook allows consistancy throughout the company

Cons
many of the newer features we don't use. we use it as an estimating system not a scheduling software product

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry