HeavyBid Reviews

HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

4.6/5 (497 reviews)
Pros
  • quick and easy to bid change work items and manage crew and resources
  • the quote folders, and bid closing. the tech support is fantastic as well
  • the product is great i can keep close track on crews .there suport is great
  • The best part is the organization and how it streamlines the estimate process
Cons
  • Not always notified of new product updates or releases.
  • nothing much to say here just an undo button would be great
  • There is a tendency to freeze when dealing with large estimates.
  • Hard to implement and utilize all the capabilities as it is very complex.
99%
recommended this to a friend or a colleague
Jari Williams

Life made easy

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
very user friendly easy to navigate, would love an undo option, the calculating tools are a plus. HCSS has thought of almost everthing and continues to improve their product and really listerns to their customers. The user conferance is a definate plus, must go!

Cons
nothing much to say here just an undo button would be great

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Eryn Jones

Heavy Job field use

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The excellent tech support is a give in. I have really been enjoying the blog and addiotnal HCSS construction support

Cons
The benefits/advantages are also a dissadvantage since the mobile is a huge advantage but in many of our environments this doesn't work

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Jason Miller

Great product with great support

Reviewed 2016-01-12
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Excellent support. Always available to answer any questions. Very knowledgeable and quick response times. Software is very user friendly and easy to customize.

Cons
Not always notified of new product updates or releases.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Ben Harrison

system implementation

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The software is the best in class for field capture and daily documentation in the heavy and high construction business. The daialy time card and diary are outstanding.

Cons
True up is cumbersome; it is essentially only for companies whose GL package is lame.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

cory mahoney

Product Review

Reviewed 2016-01-28
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The software is fairly user friendly and if installed and set up correctly can be an extremely powerful tool.

Cons
The setup and the maintenance of keeping up with the software is really difficult.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Jake Anderson

HeavyJob training and user support

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
We can see productivity information at all levels of the organization on the same day that the work happens.

Cons
We have to access the product through Citrix, which sometimes causes difficulties that are not really related to HeavyJob.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Reynoll Abrego

A plus this product makes my life easier i sure reccomend this

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
the product is great i can keep close track on crews .there suport is great

Cons
one of my complaints is that i cant run the maneger off of mobile like i can on my laptop.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Jeff Grimm

great product

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
the quote folders, and bid closing. the tech support is fantastic as well

Cons
there are too many different ways to do the same thing. this can make it difficult training new people and keeping a consistent procedure across larger offices and companies.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Colin Neunuebel

Underground construction estimator

Reviewed 2014-07-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The HCSS support team is great. The software is easy to use; it just takes some time to understand everything that it can do and where to find it. It is very powerful for building bids and the analyses you can perform (e.g., self-performed vs subcontractor, closing accounts, etc). The more I use the program, the more I learn.

Cons
If there was some way to incorporate more keystroke functionality (e.g., ctrl+click to select multiple items, copy/paste, etc.), it would make building the estimate quicker. And adding an undo function (ctrl+z) would help! But I understand the challenges with this, which are that the software is designed to allow multiple users in the same estimate.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Jeff Abbott

Heavy bid review

Reviewed 2016-02-19
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Heavy bid is a software system that is really great for our business. Very easy to use once you get acclimated to it.

Cons
There are no dislikes. Everything we use is just what we need. Makes bidding projects very simple.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

LUCAS WILLIAMS

HEAVY BID REVIEW

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
I LIKE THE FACT THAT ALL PRODUCTS IN THE SUITE INTERACT WITH EACH OTHER. HEAVY BID, HEAVY JOB, AND DISPATCHER. THE QUALITY OF TRAINING PROVIDED IS FIRST CLASS.

Cons
I REALLY LIKE THE PRODUCT SUITE, AT THIS POINT THERE ISN'T ANYTHING I DONT LIKE ABOUT THE PRODUCTS. THE BIGGEST CHALLENGE IS DEDICTING ENOUGH TIME TO GET THE TRAINING.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Dennis Kramer

Very User Friendly

Reviewed 2016-01-28
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Everything is designed with customers in mind. All features and functionality serve a purpose.

Cons
Nothing. There is really nothing bad that I can say about HCSS. They always exceed my expectations.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Antonio Hernandez

From the ground up

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
I like the fact that I can conform the bid on the fly and bring old bids into my new proposal in order to save myself time.

Cons
There is a tendency to freeze when dealing with large estimates.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

JIM PULVER

ENGINEER 30YEARS IN HEAVY CIVIL

Reviewed 2016-01-28
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
GREAT TECH SUPPORT BY HCSS. PRODUCT IMPROVES EVERY YEAR. VERY IN TOUCH WITH THE CUSTOMERS. SOFTWARE IS EASY TO USE AND VERY VERSITLE.

Cons
SOMETIMES LOCKS UP WITH MULTIPLE USERS. I DONT REALLY HAVE ANY COMPLAINTS. IT WORKS WELL.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Bill Hazlewood

HeavyBid is a great tool for estimating

Reviewed 2014-07-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
HeavyBid is built for the unit price estimating arena. It makes everything involved with doing estimates easier, from setting up to closing an estimate, as well as updating codebooks. HCSS does a great job of not only standing behind their software, but the customers as well.

Cons
There's no Undo button. I know why there is no Undo button and know it will never have an Undo button, but that is the best I can come up with for "like least." As for HCSS, it's hard to think of a meaningful complaint about the company or the quality employees.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Johnny Gann

North Rock

Reviewed 2016-01-28
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The ease fo use and the technical support. The product has streamlined our estimating process

Cons
The product is a little hard to learn; however the technical support is very helpful.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

John Campbell

Extremely Powerful

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Functionalty and versatility of this software is great. Allows you to custmize to accomodate many owners needs.

Cons
The software is so powerful it can be overwhelming. Takes time to be a super user.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Kit Larson

Over 5 years working with heavy bid

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The best part is the organization and how it streamlines the estimate process

Cons
There is nothing I don't like about this product. It has helped our company streamline our estimates and be more competitive.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

sean cook

heavy bid review

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
the abililty to import directly into heavyjob and have all my costs and job information available for the foreman

Cons
trying to quickly load bid items and renumbering. alot more clicks than im use to in heavybid. that being said im still learning features that will speed up process

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Heath Line

KGM Heavy Bid

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
saves time in putting our bids together on mutiple projects with mutltple estimators

Cons
I do not have any specific least like regarding this product at this time. HCSS is a great software provider

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Mike Dysert

Heavy Bid review

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
quick and easy to bid change work items and manage crew and resources

Cons
managing two different equipment labor rates between accounting and Heavy Bid. This should be link in some way.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Grant Werdick

HCSS is the BOMB!

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The customer support is second to none! The program is very user friendly as well as a concise tool for estimating

Cons
The program does alot, just takes time to learn the system in it"s entireity

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Quint Davis

Longtime user

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Support center and team are the best. Always very responsive and will not stop until problem is resolved.

Cons
Hard to implement and utilize all the capabilities as it is very complex.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Oscar Villada

Great tool

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Logically and clearly go with the biding process to help to be on time with our bids

Cons
There is nothing that I really dislike. In some screens I think there are too many options for one page

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Darren Paulson

Mobile is where it's at

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Mobile Field and the new Mobile Manager speeds up the process and gives better analysis options than before

Cons
licensing structure and costing. Credentials site is clunky. Needs a group permissions option

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry