HeavyBid Reviews

HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

4.6/5 (497 reviews)
Pros
  • Ease of use, even for people with little computer skills.
  • Makes bidding more streamlined and repeatable. Bid item importing
  • HCSS provides exceptional customer service from a software vendor.
  • Its a product that is used by customers and developed with vendor input
Cons
  • Custom Reports do not alway function as they should.
  • I don't have any complaints about the product or vendor.
  • The quote system could improved upon and be more universal.
  • Nothing. They take care of problems ASAP. We have no complaints.
99%
recommended this to a friend or a colleague
Vince Guzzo

Great product

Reviewed 2015-03-31
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Ease of use, even for people with little computer skills.

Cons
Start up screen on manager system. I would like to be able open any project with starter screen.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Mark Gentile

rked with HCSS for the last 10 years on heavy highway projects.

Reviewed 2016-01-28
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Support is always available and very knowledgable. This is valuable in a crunch.

Cons
Quote comparison screen is hard to understand and lacks information

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Rick Howard

The product is very useful and the company is always making it better

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The product is easy to navigate. Technical Service has always performed at the highest level.

Cons
I don't have any complaints about the product or vendor.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Mark Allegri

Great product

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Makes bidding more streamlined and repeatable. Bid item importing

Cons
You have to go into crew setup to change a crew instead of just being able adjust in the main view

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Bill Wyner

The Premier Estimating Software for Heavy/Highway Work

Reviewed 2014-11-07
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
HeavyBid is very comprehensive and can be customized to meet needs of all different types of contractors. The customer service is exceptional and available 24/7. The software is constantly being upgraded based upon customer feedback.

Cons
The main item that I like least about HeavyBid is that is does not have an undo button. Also, sometimes the software updates remove functions that I liked. I then have to make a request to get those functions added back in on the next update.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Jeremy Lyons

HeavyJob - Making Timekeeping Easy!

Reviewed 2015-03-04
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
How easy it is to use and how helpful the guys are if you do call in with a question.

Cons
I'm hard-pressed to think about anything that I would change or that I dislike.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

aaron shimmel

I am an estimator that uses this product on a daily basis.

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The product provides easy to use, accurate quantifications for estimates.

Cons
The quote system could improved upon and be more universal.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Dan Meyer

Review Of HCSS

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The support for this product is phenomenal anytime you have a question people are always available to answer you.

Cons
there's really nothing I don't like about this product each CSS is always available anytime for any help that they possibly can give you.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

LUCAS WILLIAMS

Heavy Job-- one stop ship for tracking project costs

Reviewed 2016-09-11
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
I like having all project cost available to me through various reports, as well at HCSS willingness to listen and implement suggestions to improve the software

Cons
I have found inconsistencies in some of the data provided by various reports.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Kelvin Rodriguez

Gives Accurate Estimates

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-02-24
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
I like how it is a user-friendly tool and gives accurate estimates. The customer service is very professional, I am impressed that they give solutions right away.

Cons
HeavyBid just need to improve on their mobile app because it's very hard to manage to report.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Richard Scrivener

Estimator with 4 years experience on HCSS HeavyBid

Reviewed 2014-07-21
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
It's a very functional product that constantly seeks to improve itself to meet user needs. Customer service is great. If you are thinking of making your own estimating program, software, or excel spreadsheet, check out this program first. It can do everything you could ever want and is backed up by great 24/7 customer support for when you have questions.

Cons
It is expensive. It is powerful but can be complicated to a first timer.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Craig Parker

I don't know how we could compete in today's market without this.

Reviewed 2014-07-24
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
HeavyBid allows us to bid over 450 projects a year with confidence. As the head of estimating, I can review all the bids and know that they are consistent, uniform, and dependable. Finding inconsistent items and errors is very easy. The 24-hour support truly is '24-hour support".

Cons
Nothing. They take care of problems ASAP. We have no complaints.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Matthew Robertson

6 yrs of experience using HeavyBid as our main estimating software

Reviewed 2014-07-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
I like the fact that when it comes to keying an estimate in this program, you can really keep it as simple you want or really test the program and get very in-depth with the features. Additionally, HCSS has incredible customer support that is always available to walk you through a process, even if you are burning the midnight oil.

Cons
There really is not much to dislike about this product. It is easy to pick up and is fully customizable to suit your crew and material needs.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Kevin Judalet

As a Project Controls Manager, i spend a lot of time on a daily basis

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
HCSS provides exceptional customer service from a software vendor.

Cons
Custom Reports do not alway function as they should.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Curt Walker

HCSS HeavyBid

Reviewed 2014-07-24
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
HeavyBid is a powerful tool that our company has relied on for 15 years. It has enabled me to concentrate on the most important aspect of estimating (productivity analysis) and freed me from most of the mundane calculations that would otherwise be required. It not only helps with estimating but dovetails with project management and accounting software. It offers upload and download to EBS and Excel. It can incorporate information from spreadsheets.

Cons
I have nothing to complain about. HeavyBid performs perfectly, and HCSS is a great company.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Virgilio Arevalo

Powerful Software

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-02-24
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
It is a powerful software, data input is easy and cost-effective. Every construction firm needs this tool. It makes management very easy.

Cons
There is little to no cons on this product, it is just a little expensive but we get what we pay for and more.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Brian Klatt

Excellent Product, Minor polishing needed

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The ability to remotely review and track daily reports and timecards. Daily cost tracking and projections.

Cons
The mobilty of the manager version is cumbersome. It has to connect with the office, so if connectivity is limited (hotspot) the interface is extreemly slow. This is an issue that is currently being addressed by HCSS, and there are a few ways around it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Stephen Bernard

Heavy Bid Review

Reviewed 2016-02-19
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Easy to use and intuitive. Makes completing owner bid forms easy. Customer service is top tier.

Cons
Sometimes problems occur with the quote folders. Problems also occur when copying activities from different estimates.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Mike Montario

Heavy Bid has helped us expedite our bidding process

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
the ease at which i can custimize my bid for different owners is great. it is simple and fast. HCSS also has amazing tech support.

Cons
we currently only use a fraction of the capabilities nof Heavy Bid as well as Heavy Job and E360. Implementation has been a little tiedius.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Tim Robben

Great product to get your estimate done quickly and effeciently

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
HCSS has a very comprehensive program and support staff. It will make your estimates more accurate, timely, and effecient.

Cons
There is not a whole lot to say in this regard. They try in every way to make sure you are satisfied as a customer.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Jonathan Foster

Heavy Bid is complex but simple to use

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Its a product that is used by customers and developed with vendor input

Cons
No complaints, but if I had to name one I would suggest to have more icon based functions must like mobile option for heavy job.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

John Hooks

Senior estimator with 11 years experience using HCSS Heavybid

Reviewed 2014-07-24
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The flexibility of the product allows you to setup an estimate in a way that is most comfortable for you to work and review. HCSS probably has the best support system out there. There are few situations that they can't resolve immediately, because they have seen most of the technical situations that can arise, and their people are obviously familiar with all of them.

Cons
I don't think I have a least favorite part of the software, but the only thing I would wish for is a report generator so that we could adapt reports for different situations. But, that is a minor concern.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Joe Whitcomb

The product gets the job done

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The support team is always very helpful with any questions and or problems. When bidding large DOT projects we can bring the crews in with the activity and it saves an enormous amount of time by not having to building your crew for each activity.

Cons
I do not like the amount of clicks that is required to create an estimate. I did see some improvement when modify the crews for the new version we can now do it without clicking on modify crew, then selecting the equipment and or operator that we want to change.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Eddie Noak

Review of HCSS HeavyBid

Reviewed 2014-07-15
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
HeavyBid can perform just about any task that construction estimators can dream of when putting together projects. From simple crew formation to integrated takeoff, production calculation routines, extensive quoting, and vendor management tools, it does it all. HCSS support personnel are always just a phone call away.

Cons
Since HeavyBid does have the capability to perform so many different functions, it can be daunting and overwhelming for first time or new users. The complexity of some of the functions takes time to master.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Brian Blackowicz

HCSS user for two years

Reviewed 2014-11-04
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
It's easy to accurately bid projects and keep track of all bids across the company. If a material, equipment, or labor rate changes, it is easy to change the system and go about your bidding the same way you would normally. For group bid review, everyone can open a project together to look things over rather than crowding around one computer.

Cons
For smaller jobs, it is sometimes more time consuming to go about setting up everything in this system compared to bidding it other ways.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry