HeavyBid Reviews

HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

4.6/5 (497 reviews)
Pros
  • the ease of use by being very natural and intuitive
  • great user functions, customized fields, and solid application
  • the versititlity and common sense along with the standerdisation.
  • excellenty customer support, ease of use, quantity and t&m tracking
Cons
  • Faster improvments on the HCSS HeavyJob mobile applications.
  • I can't think of any time I have had an issue with this product.
  • Not always intuitive sometimesi need to hunt for the right place to be
  • I don't know of anything not to like about HCSS or any of their products.
99%
recommended this to a friend or a colleague
Stanley Gonterman

I have been a user of HeavyBid since the early 1990s.

Reviewed 2014-07-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
I like HCSS because of the ability to set up an estimate the way you want it. You are able to estimate on a unit price basis. You can actually create an estimate in a logical way that the project would be built. HCSS support is second to none. No matter what time of day or night, you talk to a person. On the rare occasion, you may have to leave a message if it is after normal business hours, but your call is returned promptly, and your problem will be solved.

Cons
I don't know of anything not to like about HCSS or any of their products.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Nick Schram

HeavyBid Review

Reviewed 2014-07-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
It can do almost everything needed for bidding purposes. It's very powerful. Their tech support is excellent.

Cons
I've noticed a lot of crashing and lost information. We tried to address this at one of the users groups; however, we never received clarification. This can be very frustrating and nerve-racking the night before a large bid goes in. Updates are sporadic. I never know if there's a new version out. I wish there was a way to automatically update or know if there's a new version and what's changed.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Simon Odjam

Best Estimation Software

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-11-16
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
I really like the software, you can customize it to your suit perferance It really help me to do contract estimation within the shorters possible time and get access to it anytime anywhere.

Cons
It problematic when using it to do estimate for big projects project. I think it should be improve to meet all our (contractors) estimation needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Doug Shealy

Very happy with using this product. We have had HeavyBid for 19yrs.

Reviewed 2014-07-24
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The software is very flexible to work with. An example is you can easily price up a lump sum project with your own breakdown of activities or bid a unit price project with the owner's bid items. As for the vendor, they are the most responsive software vendor we work with. They rely on us to give feedback for their future development.

Cons
There is nothing that we don't like. I wish they would develop an accounting software for the construction industry.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Bill Monville

Have used the product for estimating for the last 10+ years.

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The software is easy to use and the support is very knowledgable. HCSS listens to it's customers and implements changes they are requesting in updates to their product.

Cons
There is not too much I dislike about the product. At points it would be nice to have a better laid out users manual for the program we utilize to help some of the newer estimators understand the product more ithout having to attend training.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Stewart Fiore

A C.A.C. Review

Reviewed 2014-07-22
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The product has endless possibilities to the point where not everyone knows every function. The vendor is by far one of the most professional vendors. Their support group is phenomenal. They even call you back when they do not have an immediate answer and have to do their own research in order to respond.

Cons
It definitely is not user-friendly. If you do not have experience using the software, you are lost. Even experienced users such as myself wouldn't mind a friendlier experience. This also holds true to the various printable reports.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

kevin cleaey

job cost and time input

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
user friendly easy toggles easy drop down menus lots of information

Cons
more in field training lots of different places to put the samr information is a little confusing

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Tamara Clay

exemplorary

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The product is very user friendly and has so many applications. Very excited to learn more about it

Cons
I have not had a bad experience yet with the product or vendor. I have been extremely happy.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Nick Fairey

Great for Civil Work

Used occasionally for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-01-10
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
I used this application going through school and found it very useful for my internship. This was my companies main bidding tool for all projects and accuracy was correct for estimates and control estimates.

Cons
At the time of using HeavyBid, I didn't find the online tutorials very helpful but I am sure this have been updated since then. Overall great program.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Paula Moore

Great Way to Speed Up the Bidding Process

Reviewed 2016-08-26
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
HeavyBid is a specialized program which requires training to properly understand the software and applications - the 2 day training session was an invaluable tool for our group of new users to set up our own profile and comfortably use each of the estimating screens with little error. The team at HeavyBid is professional, friendly and treats us as a priority should we require any technical assistance, appreciating the timeliness of a closing bid date/time.

Cons
No negative comments about the Vendor; this product does take time and patience to transition through each screen without error.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Brian Delmonico

Estimating Site Work

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The tech support is world class. They answer the phone quickly and are always able to provide helpful information.

Cons
Some of the coding conventions are fixed, such as certain cost types must start with certain alpha numeric characters. This makes it more difficult to conform external data for import into codebooks.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Kyle Johnson

Estimator that's been using this for 2 years, and it works great

Reviewed 2014-07-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
I like the time savings. I also like no longer having repetitive input, but rather having a full library of activity, crew, material, and equipment codebooks.

Cons
There may be a way for this already that I just don't know how to do, but potentially having more options with the reports as far as what columns and information you want to see instead of having to use a predetermined report would be nice.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Mark Bray

Bidding Heavy Civil Construction

Reviewed 2014-07-15
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The software logic and flexibility paired with the setup of our crew and equipment configurations make bidding simple and configurable to the specifications and requirements of each job. When we hit the occasional snag, HCSS support provides with quick and effective solutions.

Cons
Some of the calculations happen behind the scenes of the program and are not documented in all of the reporting. This is sometimes confusing for our new estimators, but advanced training and experience often alleviate the issue.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

joe kostka

my input on what i personally think of heavy bid

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
the ease of use by being very natural and intuitive

Cons
sometimes can be detailed and complicated especially setting up and choosing vendors, i've also became confused when building mareial folders

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Gene Sugg

Ugm reviews

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Support is excellent. Product fulfills many needs user friendly field usrs makes job easy and more efficient

Cons
Not always intuitive sometimesi need to hunt for the right place to be

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Dave Lambert

HCSS review

Reviewed 2014-07-23
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
I like the completeness of the program to cover all aspects of our work and the ability to adapt it to the many different types of projects and owners we bid to. Also, whenever we have questions, I find that customer service is incredibly responsive and easy to contact.

Cons
There are some quirks with the layout of the tools that I do not find very intuitive, but I am able to get past them. I also would like to have more control to search the estimate and to scroll through screens.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Salwat Hamrah

Simply Amazing

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-02-27
Review Source: Software Advice

Go for it

Pros
1) Love the customer support 2) It is very handy for usage 3) I am impressed by the construction estimates given by them.

Cons
1) There are some minor technical lags which I am sure the HCSS Team will address in updates. 2) Sometimes the support calls take a little extra time to revert. Though no complaints.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Anthony Vlahos

Amazing Product

Reviewed 2016-01-27
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
One of the best programs i have ever used. its so simple and easy to use.

Cons
Nothing. everything about it is amazing. they keep on updating the program which keeps on making it better.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Steve McCloskey

Long time user

Reviewed 2014-07-25
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The software is very user-friendly. It allows for as much detail you may need on a large project or as little as you might need for smaller projects. It allows for database file for every aspect of the project and reduces repetition between projects. The support you receive for this software is outstanding.

Cons
I can't think of any time I have had an issue with this product.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Jodie Tooley

Streamlining payroll

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
HCSS training was excellent and, therefor, implementation was easy. We cut our payroll processing time in half.

Cons
There are some things I would like to see in the mobile app that aren't quite there yet, like negative quantity adjustments and better visibility for the field personnel.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

James Duncan

heavyjob - great product

Reviewed 2016-02-18
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
excellenty customer support, ease of use, quantity and t&m tracking

Cons
There is very little not to like. Great product. would like to see more support on android.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Neil Clark

Great program

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
the versititlity and common sense along with the standerdisation.

Cons
Some of the work we need to do require work arounds to fit our application. multipal jobs within one project.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Brad Nadolson

Great Estimating & Bidding Software for a Heavy-Highway Contractor

Reviewed 2014-07-25
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
I like how it is designed for and tailored for contractors who work in the heavy-highway construction markets. Since they are focused on that market, their solutions fit our needs. I have recommended this software to others I know in the industry.

Cons
There is really very little I do not like. When we have made suggestions for changes, they have been made. The company is very responsive to its customers suggestions for improvements.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Joshua Pulley

Impressed with Software

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The calculation spreadsheets are a big help. Customizing screens are good.

Cons
Not an easy way to set up Alternates that have multiple mobilization bid items

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry

Jason Lenaburg

EASE OF USE

Reviewed 2016-02-17
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
great user functions, customized fields, and solid application

Cons
Faster improvments on the HCSS HeavyJob mobile applications.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


HeavyBid

Estimating software for the construction industry