This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories
MicroStation

3D architecture software for construction businesses

visit website

MicroStation Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Overall it's a great software for professionals and not so much for beginners since it provides features and functionalities which is the best.

Anonymous Reviewer

It is so useful and helpful. We can get our drawing quickly I believe that Bentley's R&D is one of the best learning software in our company.

MEHMET S.

I love the ability to create an extremely complex and intricate design by utilizing microstation software.

Hillory H.

Cons

There are no prompts which explain what you are doing wrong, instead the program just crashes, leaving the user to wonder what he has to do to make the program work.

Yash B.

Administration can seem confusing as there are so many different options.

Jovan D.

It has been a struggle as of late but from past experience i believe the bugs will all be worked out.

Andrew P.

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

60

64

16

2

0

87%
positive reviews
91%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


142 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great CAD product which has evolved into the strongest available

Reviewed 3 years ago

Ease of project creation and distribution. The ability to open DGN files that date back to the 90's as well as other formats.

Pros

MicroStation has great file sizes. Compared to competitors, MS file sizes are a fraction. The amount of control for many of the elements is beyond comparison! Text styles, dimension styles, references, and linestyles can be controlled and manipulated to the greatest extent. This allows for easy use of these objects. Printing in MS is the most reliable, and predictable, of any CAD product I have used. Some products will shift the print from one user to another, even if the same printer is used. MicroStation can/will overcome simple obstacles and yield the same results from printer to printer.

Cons

Some tools that exist in other CAD platforms need to be implemented in MS. The ability to select an element and trigger a tool that would then select similar objects based on type, level, color, etc. The Select by Attributes tool available is nice and highly functional, but requires too many clicks.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Must have software if you work with DOT

Reviewed 2 months ago

MicroStation has been a lifesaver for me for Road Projects. I had used AutoCAD for Raod Design and it was very tedious work. MicroStation is easy with Complex Road Alignment, Vertical and Horizontal alignment, cross-section development, Profile Design, and quantity survey. Your single model design can all of it. It reduces the use of other software and programs.

Pros

Integration of MicroStation with State Departments' rules and regulations is one of the best features that it has. I have been using MicroStation for Road design for different state DOTs. MicroStation provides you the ability for Parametric modeling of infrastructure projects. It helps to reduce repetitive work and make it efficient for designers and engineers. Microstation has helped me to design and deliver projects according to DOT's requirements.

Cons

MicroStation is expensive software to have for a single person to design infrastructure projects. It is difficult to get training in the software as you can get it only if you are going to use it for state projects. The ability to understand and make it work the way you want is very limited.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Answers for Open Roads and SS4 - poor performance and issues with new software bugs need work around

Reviewed 3 years ago

Working on 3D Model development and workflows

Pros

I like they are moving to doing design in 3D - software from what I seen the interface in Open Roads looks easier.

Cons

Help files are poor - difficult to set up standards and information on setting up standards is hard to find - using software seems tricky very picky on the prompts new users can not get a grasp - need to use heads up prompts than switch to key board - many bugs in SS4 difficult to move standards forward - trying to develop work flow is cumbersome - using Project Wise is another issue with their own...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Microstation review

Reviewed 2 months ago

Again I believe MicroStation is the best software out there for Highway design that I have used. I have tied AutoCad but have not been impressed.

Pros

I am in the Highway design industry which is where MicroStation excels when accompanied with GeoPak. I have been using MicroStation/GeoPak for 23+ years now and it has always been easy to use. Lately there has been some growing pains as it transitions to a new format call OpenRoads Designer Connect edition.

Cons

Lately, as mentioned above, Microstation has been transitioning over to OpenRoads Designer Connect edition which is been difficult at times to work with. Although the format has changed they have been pretty good at trying to set it up similarly to what we are used to. Still there are issues though some may be caused with Ohio DOT trying to setup functionality as well. it has been a struggle as of late but from past experience i believe the bugs will all be worked out.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good to use . Printing quality is good. Software system is quite good.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Especially for utilities drawing , level overwrite , line weight can easily work with microstation. After print out , can see very clearly. Coordinate system i like. Mostly for government project , we need to work with so many reference file. Microstation only can solve for reference file problem

Pros

Model View( Model view, Design View, Sheet View) Coordinate system, Easy to use and easy to understand , can attach so many references file, Level Overwrite

Cons

Software can work well with so many references files.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Functionality and User frieindly

Reviewed 2 years ago

visualizing and modeling point cloud data and reality meshes. microstation have separete module for each and lots or fundtion that can extract data. also reads several formats of point cloud which means i dont have to use another application and allow point cloud classifications with alot of features and specs

Pros

what i like most about microstation it have alot of operations can be done through microstation drawing, 3d modeling, making charts and work sheets. without haaving to close and open another appliation. also i can visualize my work, hide, display or clip my design without deleting or removing any item. also microstation dynamic reference makes it easy to update all my drawings and sheets (3D&2D) with only updating design model. most of all it is Auto-save CAD application. and i can record each change i do on me my design and recall this changes.

Cons

workspace, worksets configurations and design file settings needs to be more easy to understand

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

User friendly

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have been using microstation for more than 11 years and I find it very easy to use plus it can be customised for industry specific needs.

Pros

The shortcut features, it is flexible to multiple sectors of designs, it can allow user to create batch process script for automation.

Cons

User guide with frequently asked question in bentley communities to be linked with the software help menu.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Useful but requires a lot of training

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I've been using MicroStation as my primary CADD software for my job for the past year and a half. The functions and features are numerous and extremely helpful.

Cons

While it is extremely useful and I have gained a pretty good command over its functions and features, it is difficult and time consuming to learn. I had to sit through hours of tutorials just to learn how to use the interface. Any time I have to learn something new, I often have to search for instructions online or in the help manual. It just isn't extremely intuitive.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for Civil Engineering

Reviewed 6 months ago

very positive

Pros

Microstation is a great CAD platform for civil engineering. When used with design software I much prefer microstation to autocad. I feel it fits civil engineering much better from everything from file structure to button assignments.

Cons

One con would be how button keyins change when design software is loaded. This can be worked around by changing your task but it seems there could be a better way

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

basic 2D / 3D advanced drawing program

Reviewed 4 months ago

It can be used as a common platform in all engineering areas such as Map, Infrastructure, Architecture, Construction, Mechanical, Installation, GIS.

Pros

Engineering programs that cannot do 3d modeling but have other advantages connect two programs to each other with an interface developed for microstation.

Cons

There is a problem that the lines drawn in the latest v8 version, but in this version, cannot be opened in the previous versions.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Extremely stable CAD platform for professional level production.

Reviewed 3 years ago

It's the main platform for our daily production, so it's essential to us getting our work done.

Pros

Very stable. Never crashes. Getting started is easier than some of the competition, you can be up and drawing very quickly. Some of the features are more intuitive than other software in the same class. You can get your drawing to look how you want it to look more quickly. Software will let you go as in-depth as you want. If you wish to use it for basic tasks you can, but if you want to dig deep and become a power user, there are many many levels of depth. Integration with newly acquired technologies, points to a bright future for the Microstation platform.

Cons

Some of the more powerful features of the software require you to spend some time looking under the hood and learning the inner workings. There is not absolute consistency within every aspect of the GUI. Not every menu etc behaves in the same way, but this is a small nitpick, not a big deal.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I have been using Microstation to design Highways and complete construction drawings since 1994.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Microstation with GEOPAK is a COMPLETE Highway Design and Construction Plans Production Package. All needed tools are included from Survey Data Reduction to As-Build Plans Preparation. I would never switch from Microstation to AutoCAD!

Pros

The command set and menu has not changed dramatically in last 20 years. So as improved versions are released, there is never a completely new interface to learn. The existing drawing command still work in the new releases. New functionality is added on top of existing tools. Complete tools for design drawing standardization and detailed construction quantity takeoff are unique to Microstation with GEOPAK. The Autodesk Civil3D do not have the same capabilities for quantity measurement, takeoff, and tabulation.

Cons

The high cost of each design seat to use the software license. The competition has an LT version for less cost. But you get what you pay for. Microstation with GEOPAK is the MOST complete and advance highway design software available.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I have been using microstation everyday for nearly 30 years since intergraph days till todate

Reviewed 3 years ago

Geographic coordinate accuracy, compatibility with many other software platforms in multidicipline environments. ie survey, mapping, civil drafting, 3d modelling

Pros

Of the all the CAD programs I have tried over the years Microstation is the most :- Customisable to user needs and multiply workflows. Intuitive dialog tools. Easy to learn. Prepackaged with excellent tools to improve workflows and can emulate Autocad and work with DWG files in a Microstation environment. Comes with 2d & 3d tools and some GIS features, Backward compatability of old files, that is to say you can open DOS version DGN files from 25 years ago and they still work in the current version.

Cons

The latest version CE has moved away from the traditional interface and adopted the MS Ribbon bar, which I don't like , the change is too radical and looks too much like Autodesk. I'm sure will get used to it eventually but for now I find it clumsy and time consuming.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Review from a seasoned college graduate.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

After a while it becomes second nature to use, and the grid hotkeys are the best setting there is

Cons

When making the transition from autocad to micro station, there is a lot of frustration because some college students come out with decent drafting skills. MA suggestion would be to approach more school and see if they can use micro station next to autocad in the drafting classes.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

User friendly Engineering software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Coming from a background of using AutoCad, it was a little bit of a learning curve. This program is necessary for state/city projects in our location.

Pros

3 years ago I made a switch to a new company that solely used MicroStation and I have an AutoCAD background. Once I was acquainted with the general layout and set up my toolbars, it's been very easy to learn the program. I love the autosave feature, that it accepts AutoCAD files, and the way the select function works.

Cons

That they do not have efficient quick keys. AutoCAD quick keys make the workflow easier. In MicroStation, they are not user-friendly, so I draft without. Also, beware of the way they work the network licenses if you accidentally go into a version you do not have extra seats for, it will allow you to work in it and you'll receive a HUGE bill.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

MicroStation is no doubt the best software working for the development of 3D models.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The file sizes in MicroStation is great. One can easily control the dimension styles, references, text styles and line styles.It is very stable.For daily production it is the main platform.Integrating with the advancement of new technologies, the future of MicroStation software is very bright. MicroStation software allows us to open and covert AutoCad files.

Cons

The price of MicroStation license is very high but I know it is absolutely because of its quality. So there are no specific cons but there should be some different line styles and font styles.There should be some improvements in word editor. Whatever any thing is, this software no doubt improves our modelling skills.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

I personally started out on AutoCAD by Autodesk for my drafting experience and I switched to MicroStation when I started working for National Grid and I have had nothing but great things to say about MicroStation. This software is much more user friendly.

Pros

The most beneficial tool in MicroStation is the ease of finding support. Questions are easily answered by typing in what you want help on, there are plenty of quick keys and YouTube videos to assist you. Also the MicroStation support team is always willing to help with quick response time

Cons

I do not have any bad things to say about Bentley or MicroStation. I have never had a problem

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use interface for powerful tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have been working on traffic engineering design and details development. this software is powerful and save me a lot of time. I can work on multiple DGN files without the need to open and close each file every time. once someone get experienced with it, one person production can equal to 3 person production. it saved me a lot of time. I use it with FDOT SS4 and it make plans productions a breeze with all the cell libraries and ready to use features.

Pros

easy to use many features for different engineering and science disciplines saves time, money, and effort professional results easy to integrate with other software plenty of learning resources online

Cons

challenging for new users Help section needs to be more simplified

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Microstation is much easier to use that autocad. It's less time consuming to use than autocad.

Reviewed 3 years ago

It's just easy to use. I use it at my job here and it makes my job easier. I also use AutoCAD but avoid it if I can. Microstation is just much, much better.

Pros

Ease of use. User friendly. Can use two, three screens which make it easy to copy items to find things on the screen easily. Microstation allows you to open and convert autocad files. YOU DON'T HAVE TO SAVE YOUR WORK!! I just love this product. I can't say enough good things about Microstation by Bentley.

Cons

I do like the tabs that autocad uses so that you don't have to open a file separately. The cost of a Microstation license is fairly expensive. I'd like to have some different fonts and linestyles given by the manufacturer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Solid tool suite for multi-discipline integrated design!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Stable platform, excellent visualization and rendering, robust tool set even for just drawing geometry. Discipline BIM tools integrate amongst each other miles beyond the Autodesk realm. All time favorite feature? The reference manager dialog box and using logicals!

Cons

Click heavy, users can develop wrist strain easy if not careful. There is ambiguity about how some features work. For example, is it really necessary to shift the global origin in design files anymore? Why is it that level display settings will carry across reference models, but then become broken? Why not a quick fix button for that?

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use with lots of other capabilities

Reviewed 3 years ago

The easy creation of a 3D model has helped convey design aspects to non-engineers and the public.

Pros

They have a lot of support videos of community forums that have been really helpful on resolving issues or finding best practices for each particular use. The file format makes opening and switching between files much quicker than autocad.

Cons

No complaints about microstation itself but they have been making a lot of improvements and changes to their 3D package. It's been a difficult to keep up with the all the changes as an original geopak user. Once I got used to the new tools it an helped my efficiency working on projects.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A fantastic Design Software to work with!

Reviewed 3 years ago

My Modeling skills are improved and Can definitely a much better modeler than, If I use AutoCAD these times. Highly recommend this product over AutoCAD in infrastructure.

Pros

I find 3D modeling and and my integration with Civil discipline is lot more easier with this software. As a civil structural Modeler myself, I find Microstation is the best to my industry and Bentley's R&D is one of the best learni g paths one could go through.

Cons

Needs some improvements in Word editor. Its not that versatile as AutoCAD I always find that Microstation can definitely do much better Parametric Cell creation. Needs some improvements there.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

My preference in highway design software

Reviewed 2 years ago

I used this software in my undergraduate classwork, and I enjoyed the learning process, even if the bentley learning studio is a little difficult to navigate.

Pros

I appreciate the tools available in InRoads Suite, for use with surfaces and geometry alignments when creating models or roadway elements. I currently use Microstation V8i as my current version, and it satisfies my companies needs for roadway highway design.

Cons

I have found some small bugs that will cause either an abrupt crash or a 'slow' crash that is more recoverable. I have heard that the CONNECT Edition is much less stable than the V8i version of Microstation, and for that reason our company has avoided switching to CONNECT for future projects, until bugs have been worked out.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This software is really a blessing in my work, and it has made my work every time easier for me.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to use with the friendly users. It's multiple screens helps the user to copy items and  find stuff on the screen. MicroStation is the best software which allows us to open and convert Autocad files. Dialogue box and reference manager are the great features that this software has. So I would say this is versatile with many functionality.

Cons

If i talk about the cost license of MicroStation is a little high but i also know that is because of its quality.There are no complaints about itself even they are improving and bringing some innovations about 3D packages .

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product for infrastructure design

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have been using MicroStation for over 7 years. It is the best drafting software for engineers designing infrastructure.

Pros

MicroStation is the best product for highway and bridge design. It is a very easy software to use and has a minimal learning curve. Overall, I find MicroStation to be much easier to use than AutoCAD. Bentley is improving all of their MicroStation/OpenBridge products and advancing the future of BrIM.

Cons

I have no major criticisms of the software. There are some limitations with creating 3D models, but the product is coming along quickly.