This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories

Sage 300 Construction and Real Estate Reviews

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


458 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

User for many years

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like that Sage 300 CRE can cover several aspects of our construction company, such as accounting, project management, job cost, etc. Each module talks to the other one. The customer support is excellent.

Cons

Sometimes it's hard to search a specific help topic. Every now and then we'll come across strange quirks in the system that doesn't make sense, but support is able to help.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

the system is very user friendly and the support staff is easy to work with and always very knowledg

Reviewed 3 years ago

makes life a lot easier than manual books although we still keep a few. easy to navigate the system and find what you're looking for.

Pros

user friendly and support always there to help and resolve issues quickly. everyone on staff has been most helpful and so easy to work with

Cons

sometimes you have to wait to speak to someone if its not first think in the am otherwise the wait time is not that bad

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This software was so easy to learn and use.

Reviewed 4 years ago

I love using this Sage product and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Pros

Very user friendly - the software is so easy to use that I picked it up right away when I first started and didn't have any training.

Cons

Some modules don't talk to others and that can be confusing. But, I can call in and a friendly rep will walk me through the issue so that it gets fixed and then I know how to do it for next time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great software. Eazy to use, great support from Sage support.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Extremely easy to use and navigate in each module. I'm self taught. The implementation process was easy and I was guided by a Sage consultant. When I have had to call Sage support they are kind helpful and always solve/fix the reason for my call.

Cons

When you delete a transaction in any module the history shows as a reversal, I wish it would just disappear.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Sage 300

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I like how it offers printouts for every single thing you do on there and finding what I need for resident statements is simple after a while of using it.

Cons

I dislike how it's not easy to use all of its features. I use it for resident statements mostly, but it's still unclear on how to get everything on there correctly. It's easy to make mistakes on there and I wish there were a way to edit those mistakes before it's set in stone. Also, inputting some data doesn't automatically update everything else, you still have to do that by hand.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Sage Construction

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very good. Does everything that I need it to do.

Pros

Able to run customized reports for each job. Run paid to date reports on jobs in progress to show how each job is tracking. Able to set up each job with change orders etc.

Cons

A lot of functions that I do not need to use. Maybe nice to have a more customized program depending on your position/duties within the company.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Older software package with lots of features.

Reviewed 3 years ago

This used to be the best CRE on the market - but that was 15-20 years ago. Sage has so many different product offerings, there doesn't appear to be much focus or investment in this industry. Time for a do-over.

Pros

Covers most of the operations you'd expect in running a complex construction process as a contactor - HVAC, plumbing, electrical, etc. Integrated finance module. Strong user groups.

Cons

Old, clunky interface. UI fresh not convincing. Very poor mobile module functionality. Somewhat of a closed universe - doesn't play well with other software systems, even some from Sage.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Complicated set up with lack of flow.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Coming from Quickbooks this is a living nightmare. Simple items like the ability to print a deposit slip do not exist. While it allows for a breakdown to figure out your real per job/customer cost, the number of steps to get this data are time consuming and drawn out. You must have accounting knowledge to use this and plenty of time. Possibly designed for large companies that have dedicated people to perform each of these tasks. The service software is not bad and is one of the few that completely integrates the ticketing into the system as opposed to a separate app. It is currently not compatible with Microsoft Server 2016 and you must have Windows 2012R2 for the most recent version.

Pros

All your info in one place. Integrated software to take your project from takeoff estimate to Final billing. Plenty of forms can be set up including Notice to Owner, etc. Instant scheduling for techs a plus and the ability to bill as soon as they complete the job.

Cons

Price, both time and money. Everything must be customized. Very few standard forms/documents/report. Difficult to operate.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Not a User Friendly Product

Reviewed 2 months ago

Each time I call customer service, the representative spends time searching the knowledge base and more times than not, they are not able to help. Doesn't seem that the representatives actually use the product or understands the accounting process.

Pros

The add-ins that allow for easier use of the Software has changed the friendly use of the product. Adding excel export has made it much easier to create reports instead of using report writers.

Cons

The size of the entry, it's too small and you cannot change it. You are limited to the screen that shows and it normally is too little space or area to view. The conditioning is far too difficult. You need to understand some basic coding to properly condition. Formulas also require too much information about IT to properly set up.

Vendor response

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Sage products and services. We strive to deliver the best experience possible for Sage customers. We would welcome the opportunity to connect with you to better understand how we can exceed your expectations in the future.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

RELIABLE AND ACCURATE ACCOUNTING SYSTEM FOR THE CONSTRUCTION JOB

Reviewed 2 years ago

SAGE is an amazing application for preliminary stage cost estimation of construction works, and at the post contract stage, great for project management.

Pros

Easy to customize for report generation, navigation on the interface is also very easy, the accounting system is very reliable organised and accurate, it’s a versatile and rich application, I think I still need to learn more to maximize the potential of SAGE

Cons

The customer support needs to be more responsive to questions about some of the application features, the application is a complex one, I think, we need a tutorial program or forums to learn more about this application, so many features I need to know about. Thanks.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

It does what it is supposed to

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

- Customer support is helpful - Large community to help trouble shoot - Service Management is an excellent application for scheduling and tracking scheduled monthly or annual service.

Cons

- It takes forever to reach an actual person in customer support - Some of the modules feel clunky and the built in reports are very limited. Editing a report is not intuitive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

HR PAYROLL

Reviewed 2 months ago

the use of this accounting software is user friendly and helps to keep things organized

Pros

user friendly ease of the navigation from one area to another

Cons

reports are hard to navigate and need to be built to specific needs

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Sage 300

Reviewed 2 years ago

This software is very different from Sage 100, after some training and use I have found it to be a reliable useful software.

Pros

This software has a lot of options. There is a wide variety of reports that can be ran with a multitude of information. The software integrates with our project management software making it much easier to streamline the processes.

Cons

The many options this software offers is often hard to find. From the main menu opens a secondary menu which often opens into a third menu.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great integrated software

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The integration- My project managers can estimate a project and we can track the job costs and accounting in the same software.

Cons

It hard to teach to others. Not the easiest user interface. People find it confusing. But I make it easy by setting up shortcuts to the tasks they use (clear lien waivers or the couple common job cost reports the project managers use)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Sage 300 Construction and Real Estate Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have been using this software for a long, long time. It used to be called Timberline Software. It has always worked properly and performed well for accounting and reporting.

Pros

Very stable. Does the job of accounting and reporting for both real estate and construction entities.

Cons

No drill down ability. Reports do not normally print in excel automatically.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Sage 300 CRE

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Accounts Payable and Payroll functions are good

Cons

The system is sometimes hard to navigate. Sometimes you just have to click to so many different modules to get to where you want.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Use When Tracking Job Cost

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

The best feature of this product is the job cost module.

Cons

Not efficient when setting up new accounts, job costs, cash accounts. The cash management module makes it hard to record one disbursement to two accounts.

Vendor response

Thank you for submitting a product review. Your feedback is invaluable to the continued improvement of products and services from Sage.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Sage 300 CRE

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall we have been using Sage (formerly Timberline - we still call it that) since 2003. Very happy with this product.

Pros

Allows detailed entries into all modules. Sage Knowledgebase has had every answer. The ability to filter is great!

Cons

Sage Knowledgebase search is difficult. Sometime have to word different ways before finding an answer. Can be unforgiving sometimes with errors.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Mostly positive

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I believe the software is easy to use and teach to someone. For the most part we receive updates on a timely basis.

Cons

Sometimes we don't receive State information on a timely basis. Also it would be very helpful if Sage would send all customers an email when issues come up like the Pervasive license expiration issue, so we are all aware of problems like that.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ease in using

Reviewed 2 months ago

We can get our financial status at anytime. Love this product

Pros

The ease in using Sage. The professional support that you receive. Great product

Cons

I needed to get some custom reports that our accountant requested.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Needs a modern look and functionality

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Estimating and accounts payables are useful

Cons

Accounting module is antiquated. It feels like a DOS program.

Vendor response

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Sage products and services. We strive to deliver the best experience possible for Sage customers. We would welcome the opportunity to connect with you to better understand how we can exceed your expectations in the future.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Accountant

Reviewed 2 months ago

The overall experience has been great.

Pros

The job Costing feature tracking cost. It is very good

Cons

The waiting time to speak with a Rep. This can be frustrating especially when you are closing the period.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Fully Integrated Construction Software

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Field to office integration. Paperless filing, approval, reporting & processing C-Suite products for the Exec functions

Cons

Unless you've integrated with other field software or have previous Sage implementation experience, a custom install from a Sage rep can be costly. Not as user friendly to those that have no Sage Construction experience.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Ageing system

Reviewed 3 years ago

Needs an update to remain relevant.

Pros

Rock solid accounting package that does a very good job at the basic functions. Uses a grid data entry method witch works well for keyboard data entry.

Cons

Has not kept up with current technology and is behind in the features department. Sage has opted to add through third parties rather than integrate features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Long time user since inception as Timberline

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

How every facet of a business is all integrated, from Job costing, payroll, accounts payable/receivable and general ledger

Cons

Had the estimating program for awhile. Found it a little cumbersome for a small business as we don't have the personnel to keep the data base up to date on a regular basis. Nice how it integrates with Job Costing however.

page 5 of 19

Select your country

10+ YEARS RECOMMENDING SOFTWARE

© 2010-2021 GetApp. All Rights Reserved.
GetApp® is a registered trademark of Nubera eBusiness S.L. Nubera eBusiness uses its own and third-party cookies. By using the website you are accepting the use of these cookies. To get more information about our cookies click here.