App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Viewpoint Spectrum Logo

Complete, web-based construction ERP software

(7)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Viewpoint Spectrum Reviews - Page 13

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


406 reviews

Recommended

JN
AvatarImg

JENNIFER N.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Better Value Than the Competition

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

It is very intuitive and doesn't take a lot of trial and error or reading of a manual to get the hang of it for the most part. It does a great job on tracking costs and because of its ease of use the PMs don't mind entering their own data.

Cons

The reports are not exactly where I would like them to be; job costs are not as detailed as in our previous software but that may just be a function of me not knowing how to use it to its full capability.

SH
AvatarImg

Sean H.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Spectrum is pretty decent

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Regular updates and added features, Dexter Chaney Network is awesome (I mean, who doesn't like earning rewards points for learning about your work software?!)

Cons

I wish the Project Management module had more to offer. Also, some of the workflow items are clunky.

AC
AvatarImg

Ayoka C.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

I know there's so much more I could do with Spectrum, but I'm limited.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

It's functionality. The system is easy to use and navigate through once you have an understanding of it's functions.

Cons

I don't like that I cannot correct mistakes that are, in my eyes, minimal. For example, and I've done this more than once, if I set up a job an invert the job number. I can't go back and revise it, I have to start all over again with the correct number. I believe that a permissions issue, but it should be a corrective issue at entry and it's an administrator fix only.

LY
AvatarImg

Linda Y.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Spectrum review

Reviewed a year ago

I've recommended Spectrum to a couple of companies as I have been using it since 1999

Pros

Easy to use, Like the crystal reporting to change our invoices.

Cons

nothing at this time. I dont not have any cons at the moments.

SW
AvatarImg

Sara W.

Building Materials, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Spectrum

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This is fairly simple to use. Its nice being able to look up a job number and see all PO's related to that job in one glance. Its very straight forward.

Cons

Sometimes pulling reports the way I want is difficult and, do not feel they export to excel to be able to sort easily.

Vendor response

Hi Sara, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate you!

RG
AvatarImg

Richard G.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Spectrum Review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Cloud based helps to save space on our existing servers. Several product off some type of intergration

Cons

Not intuitive or easy to navigate. Customer service is slow and unorganized.

JC
AvatarImg

Janessa C.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Makes my life a lot easier!

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Paperless and works well to keep track of the accounts payable department. I have enjoyed learning how it works.

Cons

I would like to see more training and info to learn what the software is capable of to be able to put procedures in place.

KY
AvatarImg

Kevin Y.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

From an accounting perspective... as opposed to construction work perspective

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The ability to attach various files as backup to each JE , AR, AP or pretty much any transaction.

Cons

Not very financial reporting friendly. Not very accounting friendly. Way too cumbersome to find the GL accounts a transaction impacts. If I want to find the debit and credit of any transaction, I should not have to go through so many processes and filtering just to find it.

TE
AvatarImg

Thomas E.

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Buyer Beware - Not user Friendly - Lots of Limitations

Reviewed a year ago

Wish we would by and use another product.

Pros

It is an accounting software that has accounting features.

Cons

Everything is simplistically complex. Many limitations.

FA
AvatarImg

Farooq A.

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

General review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

It allows us project accounting which allows us to calculate project P & Ls..

Cons

Difficult to use and project costing module is not very effective.

LK
AvatarImg

Lacey K.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

The Good and Bad

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The software is great for project management/ job tracking

Cons

This software is very lax in the HR and reporting department. The report are not dynamic and the features in the payroll and HR modules are weak.

AH
AvatarImg

Apryl H.

Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Not user friendly and very manual for a computer program

Reviewed a year ago

Not a fan

Pros

Nothing nothing nothing nothing nothing

Cons

Having to enter the job number 10 times for one invoice and batch number almost as much...just for one invoice. Not being able to copy a previous invoice and modify it vs entering every line item again for every invoice. Menu items not in the order of how they are used. Very labor intensive and high key strokes as compared to previous program used. Hard to search items and reports are confusing...

JA
AvatarImg

Jt A.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Viewpoint Spectrum is a key asset

Reviewed a year ago

Viewpoint helps me stay organized and reflects how the business side of construction can aide in the overall complexity of new and older jobs.

Pros

Viewpoint Spectrum is great for me because of the easy usage. I can log in, assign bills after approval and it only takes a few minutes.

Cons

I haven't found any cons up to this point.

TB
AvatarImg

Tanja B.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

New User

Reviewed 6 years ago

Customer Service terrible and useless. Miss our old system.

Pros

Unfortunately there is not much I like. System runs faster processing info than our old system.

Cons

Have to use multiple reports to make one report

RH
AvatarImg

Russ H.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Jaded by the first impression

Reviewed 6 years ago

So-so

Pros

Software is reasonably intuitive to use once you understand its features

Cons

The front end training needs huge improvement. We went through a resell Partner and it was a disaster

TL
AvatarImg

Tim L.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Spectrum

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are relatively new. The potential appears to be limitless. Time will tell....

Pros

Getting info into the right setup allows realtime tracking. Job costing in realtime is crucial to ontime billings.

Cons

Very tricky getting all the setups right so that data tracks in correct phases. Phases is relative to discipline.

BT
AvatarImg

Bobi T.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for accounting, payroll, job costing, etc.

Reviewed 8 years ago
Pros

It is user-friendly (quite easy to use and to train others to use). There are constant updates (service paks) that keep the product current. There is always something new that enhances existing modules. If we ever have problems, they are addressed quickly.

Cons

The HR module is lacking in many ways. We run many HR functions outside Spectrum (spreadsheets, files, etc). User securities could be improved on (ease of setup).

JH
AvatarImg

Joy H.

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Payroll Clerk

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Time card data entry is easy to enter, saving time over our previous software.

Cons

Can not re-print a copy of direct deposit check stub for employee.

MB
AvatarImg

Michele B.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 11 years ago

I am with Christenson Electric, Inc. in Portland, Oregon. We are not unique, just a typical electrical subcontractor. We converted from Bidtek to Forefront/Spectrum back in October of 2004. Overall, I love the ability to transport documents from reports in Spectrum to excel or word documents. For the most part, the system is very easy to use. I believe we are in version 13, although I don't maintain...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

ct
AvatarImg

colin t.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

There are way too many inefficiencies for users to deserve higher ranking

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

GL and Job Cost balance and are accurate. Audit logs are solid and transactions are traceable. Ability to export to Excel is nice.

Cons

Where to start??? There are dozens of ways this software requires 2x-5x as many clicks of a mouse as it used to require to get the same functions completed. Version 14 is a step backward in most regards from an user-efficiency standpoint.

CV
AvatarImg

Connie V.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Spectrum

Reviewed 7 years ago

The Service Contract module is not user-friendly. Calls to support have resulted in more research needed on their part to get the answers we need to use the module.

Pros

I appreciate the ease of moving from module to module. You definitely need to know Accounting to use the financial modules.

Cons

Every module is an additional cost & additional cost for training/support. Although, the support team is very responsive.

LG
AvatarImg

Laura G.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Human Resources & Payroll Modules

Reviewed a year ago

Works well for a construction company. Many areas of the programs are very outdated. The Human Resources module is mainly lists and info gathering. Viewpoint One HR Management is slowly adding funcational and interacting features - but need more incorporated with payroll.

Pros

They are slowly enhancing their features - Onboarding is good.

Cons

They need to develope more functionality with time and attendance. Incorporate time off requests against vacation accruals, etc.

RR
AvatarImg

Ryan R.

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

We just changed to this product and it is a big step up

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The flexibility of this product is great. We use it for accounting and there are many different reports and formats you can print to sort data

Cons

There was a pretty decent learning curve for use. It took a little while to get everyone on track for use but it is going a lot better

RR
AvatarImg

Roman R.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Spectrum: easy to use

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The program is very straightforward and simple to use. It offers many tools in the hub to track your hours and pay stubs easily.

Cons

When time reporting, the entry day defaults to the current day regardless of what day is selected.

LH
AvatarImg

Lisa H.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 11 years ago

I've used several accounting software programs since 1986 and studied software design - authoring code for various applications. The Spectrum product has a number of design problems and lack of features for HR and PR functions. There are many glitches necessitating "work arounds" and a number of reports or reporting options are missing from the selection. The ability to correct within a payroll...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review