App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Viewpoint Spectrum Logo

Complete, web-based construction ERP software

(5)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Viewpoint Spectrum Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


406 reviews

Recommended

BD
AvatarImg

Benjamin D.

Mining & Metals, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great system for small/med company 1-250 employees

Reviewed 10 months ago

its been okay, a learning curve but after 3 years we have found ways around the items that we were not able to resolve with viewpoint

Pros

the ability to export most reports to excel. and the abilitiy to connect with Power BI.

Cons

Payroll. not the best way to run payroll, if an error is made very difficult to resolve. lack of ability to email paystubs.

BS
AvatarImg

Brad S.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

More than just an ERP

Reviewed 10 months ago

Overall has been very good, far more information available through reports than our previous system. much more expansive in data that can be collected and processed. You can see how projects are doing on a daily basis. Transition from the previous system excellent. Overall very pleased

Pros

It's a robust system that captures a lot of data in a timely fashion. It can be integrated in real time from sites, although we haven't progressed to that level yet, it is our intention to do so in the future. integrates all accounting functions as well as Payroll, PO's and equipment tracking. AP invoice scanning helps eliminate paper. Built in reports are very good and lots of customizable options as well

Cons

Mostly geared for a General contractor, so some of the functions and reporting takes some work arounds as a subcontract. Our time capture for payroll is with another system which needed some customizing to integrate. Not always intuitive in its structure (voiding cheques in AP or payroll especially a direct deposit). limits to selecting multiple items ie.A/P vendors can only select up to 4 at a time unless you make grouping s or select all.

MM
AvatarImg

Marie M.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

General Usage of Spectrum for Construction

Reviewed a year ago

Its okay, but hard to get things accomplished some times. Too many stiff programs, not workable like excel spreadsheets are. I worked with Deltek products for Engineering and they're product for building jobs was Excel based and was easy to maneuver around so you were able to copy things and place them where you wanted them to be. It was like you had the whole job/report in front of you at once and...

Pros

I had no choice in using Spectrum for this company and do not know about other programs for construction other than Sage products.

Cons

I do not like the fact that you can't drill down from reports to get information without having to open up another tab to go searching for the info your requiring. Sage 50 was wonderful in that respect. You could find exactly why a number was appearing on the report and where it came from or why it was there. Many errors were caught that way and were able to be changed before they began to snowball.

SC
AvatarImg

Shelby C.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Pros and Cons

Reviewed a year ago

Rough beginning, but we learned a lot and still are learning. It is a detailed system that requires dedication to learn and to use. If you don't plan to spend enough time and resources to roll it out, it's going to be a difficult time. However, the more we learned about it the more we liked it. It will do what you tell it, but you have to learn how to do that. Definitely challenging, but stay the course and commit to constant improvement and you will be successful.

Pros

Spectrum really does a great job tracking job costs, and when the system is used properly does anything we need it to and then some in relation to jobs. Helps us organize everything and has some great job cost reports built in. Also appreciate the ease of importing data.

Cons

Crystal reports are not ideal, no easy flexibility with report editing, bare minimum financial reports included, clunky processes to post transactions to GL and antiquated feeling user interface. And it's a small thing, but there are several fields that are way too short. Probably a fourth of our vendors have names that don't completely print on the checks. Also don't like the CONSTANT push to purchase add on products.

GM
AvatarImg

Gwyn M.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Our perspective

Reviewed a year ago

The implementation of the software was frustrating at best. High costs to get basic training to implement the software that should have been included in the purchase price. The Service Tech application has been nothing but aggravating. Notes are lost, labor hours are lost. It has taken months to get the app working correctly, but still issues arise which cause payroll issues. Running payroll is over...

Pros

The ease of invoicing. AP invoices are instantly attached to a job or work order and the labor and notes carry over from the Service Tech App. It's nice to have all the charges already ready to be reviewed and invoiced. We do appreciate the real-time availability of the data. We can leave one site map open with data already entered and then we can open a new site map to add or change information. This allows us to not have to delete and start over on the original site map. We like the ability to be able to attach documents.

Cons

The implementation of the software was frustrating at best. High costs to get basic training to implement the software. The Service Tech application has been nothing but aggravating. Notes are lost, labor hours are lost. It has taken months to get the app working correctly, but still issues arise which cause payroll issues. Access to the work order/reports/labor report is terrible. Once the data is pulled to payroll it is not possible to pull the technician's time. There is no other report we can pull to send the guys to verify their hours.

LM
AvatarImg

Louise M.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Spectrum

Reviewed a year ago

Overall Spectrum has streamlined and made our entire experience easier start to finish. As long as the information going in is correct the end product is correct - garbage in garbage out. The support system is great as well as the external support such as the Viewpoint Network, connecting you to peers is fabulous

Pros

Ease of use, eliminating multiple programs, live data update, split screens

Cons

having to do multiple steps to update invoices, not being able to access all information in one module. Some of the reporting is convoluted.

LF
AvatarImg

Lisa F.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Spectrum- accounting review

Reviewed a year ago

Customer support is awful. The software is too clunky. The cash management and g/l needs a lot work to get into the current century. Too many tabs.

Pros

I like the contract status report. It is one of the best reports on the market.

Cons

Trial balance functionality. You can not run trial balance specific date. Can not drill down from trial balance. It is not easy to enter a journal entry. Although there are alot of templates that can be imported into the system but it is not the answer. It would be great if you could enter the journal entry in one screen . Tooo many tabs to do a simple task.

KW
AvatarImg

Kayla W.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Spectrum Review for Electrical Contractors

Reviewed a year ago

Spectrum has treated us well so far. However the migration and implementation was a terrible experience.

Pros

Large upgrade from Procontractor, but I liked the functionality or workflow of Procontractor better.

Cons

How each module is separate from the general ledger, becomes a pain!

JM
AvatarImg

Jerrylynn M.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Spectrum implementation in Construction Company

Reviewed a year ago

The system is strong but it could be more consistent. Training is touch for new employees because of the multiple steps and inconsistencies between modules. Ability to store documents and records is the true benefit.

Pros

System is purposeful and structured. Users need to understand and follow all of the steps in a process, which sometimes at the beginning seem difficult. However overtime with an increased level of understanding the system becomes the system of record. Our favourite feature in our office is decreased reliance on paper. Our AP, cash management and AR departments are all paperless!

Cons

Spectrum could make things earlier by having consistency between modules. There is currently inconsistently between the AP and AR modules. Consistency would be very helpful especially when learning the system. Help desk - we have incurred thousands of dollars using our implementation subcontractor to help identify fixes to issues. The help desk for months didn't answer the phone and unless your payroll wasn't being released there was no phone call back. Their sales brochure shows 'world class' support department. This non-level of service will cost you money.

LP
AvatarImg

Les P.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Spectrum ERP is adequate for a majority of your needs

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have not had a great experience with Spectrum from the initial sale, where we were told its capabilities in multi-company interchange, and found out it was untrue, and wanted us to pay a huge amount for this capability. Technical support is terrible where you have to sometimes wait for weeks to get an answer. I don't know when the last time I got an answer the same day, but with our other software we do.

Pros

The import data feature utilizing Excel is a really good system. It does what an ERP system should do, so it gets the job done, not the most efficient but it works.

Cons

This system is very click heavy and not streamlined. You have to click multiple times to get anything done, even though there is not reason to have to have extra clicks. Screen displays from on area are not consistent in another (some you enter up front info to see the input/edit screen, others the input/edit is displayed and is allowable when you enter the required information). It is not always...

Vendor response

Thank you for the feedback and taking the time to leave a review! We want to make sure you're aware of our customer resources including Viewpoint Academy, The Network, and more. Follow the link for more information on these resources. https://info.viewpoint.com/rs/623-NDA-487/images/Customer-Success-Resources-2022-07.pdf

NM
AvatarImg

Nick M.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

New Spectrum User

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are still developing our processes as we are still a relatively new user, but overall we have had a very good experience with Spectrum.

Pros

The software was relatively easy to implement and start using after going live. There are numerous canned reports that are very helpful and it is also easy to navigate the database when creating custom reports.

Cons

The cost projection entry screen desperately needs to be updated. It was so cumbersome to use that we had to hire an outside consultant to build us an Excel template that interfaced with the system. Also, we allocate overhead based on a rate per manhour and this turned out to be a manual weekly process (our old software actually did this automatically).

Vendor response

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, Nick. We greatly appreciate your feedback!

MB
AvatarImg

Meredith B.

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Viewpoint Spectrum Assessment

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall we have very few problems and almost no downtime. Our employees can access the system from any internet connection which has saved us during hurricanes, covid and such. We have never missed a payroll even during those times. It is easy to use and our employees are able to get their jobs done as needed relatively efficiently. It has open APis for pushing data in and pulling data out. They are focused on improvements to make the overall job of construction from the field, PM level and back office better and run more efficiently.

Pros

The product is mostly user friendly so it's easy to train new employees. single entry that feeds all the pertinent modules is key. The linking of the documents to transactions and then being able to see them throughout the modules is awesome and has saved time in the support functions to not have to pull copies of documents for others that need to see it. Also, the menu that allows you to jump from...

Cons

There is no option to post in detail to the GL in some of the modules and some transactions, even though coded to a job, do not show the job number on the GL side. The job cost transactions do not show the GL codes on the transactions. Therefore, it can be difficult at time to reconcile things between the job and GL. Also, even though the JC transactions pushes to the T&M module, there is not a...

Vendor response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a thorough review. We really appreciate your feedback, Meredith!

AZ
AvatarImg

Amy Z.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 11 years ago

Our business has two divisions - Commercial Construction and Service Maintenance. We’re based in Pennsylvania and have been operating for about 28 years. The computer system we had been using prior to switching to Dexter + Chaney was outdated for our uses. After carefully reviewing all the options, Dexter + Chaney was high on our list. One of the main functions we were looking for was something...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

HS
AvatarImg

Harris S.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Look elsewhere if you want a successful implementation with a company that cares.

Reviewed 6 years ago

If you want a successful implementation with a company that responds promptly and effectively when problems arise, look elsewhere! On our "go live week", Spectrum was not configured, AP and AR were not fully imported and the parts that were imported did not match up. Due to overworked Project Managers, it often took 2-3 days out to schedule a call time with them and no one from Spectrum senior leadership...

Pros

-None so far as they failed to take us live. -Competitive pricing -Great user community with a forum.

Cons

Cons: -Custom projects not delivered on time for "Go Live". At least 1.5 months behind schedule -Sales team would send a contract and then when we went to sign said they made a mistake and increased contract price. -Never provided solutions to problems. -Implementation specialist what tell us features about features that we would be using then come back to us and say those features are actually not...

KM
AvatarImg

Kerry M.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed a year ago

looking back it wasnt what was best for our company, and would have not purchased it

Pros

from accounting side, its really nice reporting structure

Cons

cannot customize it for our specific use.training provided was very inadequate,felt like you were all in until it was sold, then felt left out

KD
AvatarImg

Kerri D.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Solid product across the board

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I find it easy to navigate through, most options are intuitive and easy to figure out, problems are easy to trouble shoot as far as reconciling and researching transactions.

Cons

I wish report customization was available to the average user, not just to those trained in Crystal report writing, or for hire at prices that make it unattractive. The data is all there at the fingertips, its frustrating to not be able to pull down exactly what you want. That being said, there are a lot of canned reports available, they've done a fairly decent job of anticipating most needs, especially in the payroll area with work comp and payroll tax reports. I also would like to see payroll tax reports available to print/file out of Spectrum.

MH
AvatarImg

Melvin H.

Construction,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Spectrum - Great features but could be better

Reviewed 11 years ago
Pros

Document imaging is truly built inside the software. The image storage was built inside every module for anything you want to scan. All of our AP (invoices, vendor contracts, Insurance Certs), AR (invoice supporting documents, MSA's), equipment files (titles, registrations), etc. were stored electronically and very easy to review. When approving AP, right inside the pre-check register I could review...

Cons

We had problems keeping the TB in balance. At least every three months, we had a transaction that only posted 1/2 of the entry, so when we ran a trial balance, it was out of balance (and the rebuild utilities wouldn't fix it), we then had to spend hours researching witch entry didn't post correctly, figure out the other side of the entry and then pay someone with backdoor access to recreate the missing...

LH
AvatarImg

Lori H.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Viewpoint works well for us

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, we have had very good experiences with Viewpoint Spectrum. We have been on board since 1996 and so we are very well versed in it.

Pros

Ease of use; job cost accounting; ability to have multiple companies

Cons

I do HR and payroll, so I do feel there are features in HR that could be improved; Viewpoint, in general, works very well for what we do. Since we have had the system since 1996, there have been many integrations since we purchased and I feel like some of our processes are older and support doesn't know as much about the older processes. For example...the way we set up union codes and wage codes....evidently our way go back many, many years and there is a more supported way of doing it now, but making the transition is tough.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad that Viewpoint Spectrum has been able to grow with your business throughout the years. That's amazing you've been using Spectrum since 1996 - Thank you for your business and support!

TH
AvatarImg

Teresa H.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Cobuilt

Reviewed a year ago

The overall experience has been a positive one. The benefit is the data is consistent and reliable.

Pros

It was timeconsuming and somewhat tedious, but that could have been converting the data from our former software.

Cons

The inability to customize reports without advance knowledge of Crystal Reports.

JB
AvatarImg

Josh B.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Viewpoint Spectrum is very functional

Reviewed a year ago

We are still implementing it but it seems to have all the features we need to operate more efficiently and to move off of some of our spreadsheets.

Pros

I love that we can have project managers approve invoices digitally, easier to keep track of what's out there. I also love that subcontracts and bid schedules can be uploaded to Spectrum and you can bill off of them, makes it easier to make sure pricing is accurate.

Cons

I don't love how difficult it is to move costs to different jobs. Maybe I just need to play around with it more, but I wish it was easier to adjust.

NE
AvatarImg

Nicole E.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great product has some flaws but nothing we were not able to work around.

Reviewed 3 years ago

It's been a great product that we've used for the last 9 years.

Pros

The way that as technology changes they system is updated to match.

Cons

Vacation accrual system is not what I'd like it to be. I have to do my own spreadsheet to get it to work properly.

EL
AvatarImg

Elizabeth L.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Spectrum Reviewed

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Spectrum does a great job of job cost management, record management, and the onboarding of employees directly to software with the help of HR Management.

Cons

The payroll features and reporting are more complicated than most software I have used in the past and their are a few ways that this should be made easier for a payroll specialist. It is missing or overcomplicates the pulling of employee data that causes issues when specific report information is needed for governmental entities. Customized reporting would be helpful.

JE
AvatarImg

Jim E.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Like the Product Overall but Needs Help

Reviewed a year ago

Yet to be seen but we have not lost hope. We however need quality help from Spectrum.

Pros

It works for subcontractors that bid Lump Sum and have complexity in their work. Contractors such as electrical, hvac and suppliers and installers of structural and miscellaneous steel require better accounting than many other subcontractors.

Cons

Initial Implementation and training has been poor and very frustrating. There have been some good experiences but overall it has been negative and not productive experiences. We own other Trimble products but no one seems to know anything about the other products Trimble sells and we own. We changes to Spectrum for it was supposed to work better than our former accounting system, Computer Ease, but that switch over has not produced the promised results.

JH
AvatarImg

JOAN H.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A daily tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Spectrum gives me an instant look at open POs or subcontracts, payment history, job and equipment costs, helps to manage compliance (licensing, current COI, etc.), time reports, timecards, vendors, phase/GL/job codes. I can instantly find out whether an invoice has been paid, when we invoiced a customer, whether new equipment has been added to inventory. We have nearly eliminated paper files using Spectrum and digital files. In the past couple of years, Viewpoint has created an outstanding suite of user support that ranges from daily updates, web-based free training, and a responsive staff that helps find learning resources or the right technician/trainer to answer questions. The Viewpoint Network was a game changer for me.

Cons

The reporting function is limited if you don't know Crystal Reports, and the reports aren't consistent. Some are available in comma delimited format, which makes it relatively easy to structure the information in Excel. Others download only as preformatted Excel reports, using an older version of Excel, which is awkward to use.

CS
AvatarImg

Carol S.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Viewpoint Spectrum: Would Recommend to Any Construction Co.

Reviewed a year ago

Overall it has been a great experience. I have no doubt I picked the right software. It is easy to use, the trainers were knowledgeable and easy to follow. The few times I have needed Tech Support, the response was quick and the issue was resolved. It does everything we need it to do.

Pros

I really like the AP system. Very easy to enter data and make corrections. The support I receive from Viewpoint is very helpful. Now that the training is finished, I feel they still have my back. Also the Cash Management with being able to print MICR checks. Now we can order blank checks instead of having to order new checks for each account (53 of them).

Cons

My least favorite module is AR. Entering information is easy, but if you make a mistake it is hard to follow how to make the correction. Maybe it is just me, but I think it could work a little easier.