App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Viewpoint Spectrum Logo

Complete, web-based construction ERP software

(5)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Viewpoint Spectrum Reviews - Page 6

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


406 reviews

Recommended

MC
AvatarImg

Madison C.

Environmental Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Madison

Reviewed a year ago

Good, easy to learn

Pros

Theres lot of ways to see entered data, pull reports and filter results

Cons

Sometimes glitchy, slow or just has issues with login link

RD
AvatarImg

Raj D.

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Room for improvement but great interface

Reviewed a year ago

Implementation was not good; thus, software was not used for very long. Now that we are trying again, guides and help seems to be bit lacking. Support just assumes that we are well aware of program and gives a higher-level information. Still glitches as the new technology are being introduced and incorporated ( AP Auto invoicing)

Pros

Integration with Spectrum and pulling data makes it so easy to work with. The dashboards and UI is much sleeker than Spectrum. Service Tech App and process made life easier for our users. Better visibility into job status and manage projects better.

Cons

Slowness in data pulling, user roles are canned and very less room for changing or new role creation. Spectrum BI tool is very limited and does not actually serve much purpose.

PR
AvatarImg

Pam R.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Accounts Payable View

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The ease of navigation. Multi user for all aspects of business.

Cons

Wish we could change the top section of the Vendor Invoices like invoice number, vendor, credit/invoice before you save it. Sometimes you realize there is entry error before you would save it but you have to delete the whole entry and start over.

FB
AvatarImg

Fred B.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Spectrum ideas

Reviewed a year ago

Overall it does what we need still a little glitchy at times.

Pros

Invoicing on spot is great. It is easy to see what the techs are doing and scheduling for weeks out is great

Cons

Server issues. Not the easiest platform to learn compared to others.

SD
AvatarImg

Shelley D.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

If you have a strong team with good buy-in you will have success with this software.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Moving from a stand-alone accounting solution to an ERP system has had many benefits and I only see the benefits increasing with the merger/acquisition by Viewpoint.

Pros

Extremely robust software with customization options. The software is flexible enough that you can grow it with your company and it can accommodate changes in your business.

Cons

At first it can seam like there are extra steps to perform tasks, but once you've used the software for a while you'll understand why. The controls are good and the software delivers accurate results when used properly. Thorough user training is critical.

RH
AvatarImg

Rosa H.

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Editor in Subcontractss

Reviewed a year ago

It’s okay software and works for construction. I was a key user in SAP and since this is customized for Constructions works better than previous JDE.

Pros

The editor in the Subcontract module is AWFUL. There have been no improvements in it for the last 9 years.

Cons

The Editor in Subcontracts. It’s AWFUL!

LW
AvatarImg

Lisa W.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

As a 35 year Accountant - I would not recommend this software

Reviewed a year ago

I just started a new position with a company that uses Spectrum and I am not happy with the program. I was not here when this system was selected or set up and waste a lot of time trying to guess at where to get information. Terms that are used for accounting tasks are not accounting terms. Your help articles are not helpful. When I submit cases for help - I get vague answers and screen shots of the help articles, not a helpful person that understands the accounting issues that I am asking. I have been a Controller for 15 years. If it was that easy - I would not be asking for your assistance.

Pros

The job cost abilities and progress billing functions look good.

Cons

The reports are not download friendly. The AP invoice dates and the month end close processes are just awful. And if there is a way to send AR invoices / billings from the system, I have not found that. But there should be. Do you have any idea how much extra time is spend downloading billings and emailing them to the customers? This system is basic and does not address current accounting guidelines and processes.

TR
AvatarImg

Tracy R.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Accounting Software

Reviewed 7 years ago

I love this software! The report options are endless!

Pros

For years my company used Mas90. While it was a good software, we needed something geared more toward job costing and our service department, that could also handle the growth of the company. We have also recently ventured toward multi-state payroll, multi-company. We are able to switch companies with ease - no logging out!

Cons

We have been using Spectrum since 2012 but have only touched the surface with its functionality. However, there support staff is wonderful as well as their training options.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Emily W.

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Least User Friendly Software I've Ever Encountered

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Nothing, honestly. I have to use this piece of shite software 40 hours a week and it never fails to fill me with absolute rage.

Cons

I dislike just about everything about Viewpoint Spectrum. It seems like it was created in 1996 and hasn't been updated since. It lacks the most basic of features, such as MULTI SELECT. All processes take 5x as long as they should. They have a suggestions site, where they continuously mark suggestions that do NOT exist as "already exists". If they have a UX team, they must not be paying them enough. They seem to have a high turnover and do not attract talented developers.

BD
AvatarImg

Brad D.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Spectrum for Construciton Management

Reviewed a year ago

Satisfied

Pros

I like that it is robust and has a lot of functionality if you know how to use it.

Cons

It is clunky to use and not very intuitive. Spectrum and Team do not flow well together. Running reports to get the data you need is difficult. Change order workflow is not user-friendly.

EW
AvatarImg

Erin W.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Viewpoint Spectrum - Great System - but could honestly use more customer support

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am a huge fan of the software, I helped my company implement it and that really helped me dive in and learn the system in and out. It has great features, for the most part it is rather quick and all in all great!

Pros

I love the ease of use, it is an easy system to learn. Once you learn it it is great!

Cons

Mostly at the moment we seem to be having issues with customer support. It used to be great but is seriously lacking recently.

TF
AvatarImg

Timothy F.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Compass Overview

Reviewed a year ago

Installation went well, and transition went well. There was a short learning curve. Overall I endorse Spectrum and have recommended it to others,

Pros

Attaching an image to AR and AP is most helpful

Cons

There are some searches I cannot perform and I'd like an easier to use Info-Link module. I use Info-Link constantly.

TJ
AvatarImg

Tracey J.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Comprehensive Construction Accounting

Reviewed 3 years ago

Being able to provide up-to-the-minute job costs to our management is extremely important. Having the Spectrum team stay on top of the continuous changes in government reporting, and providing updates to keep us in compliance is vital.

Pros

Spectrum offers modules for each portion of construction accounting, with the ability to use as many or as few of the processes as you need.

Cons

Integration with Procore was underway and then stopped, so we are trying to find other avenues to get the data from one program to the other without having to do double-entry.

SL
AvatarImg

Sharon L.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Spectacular

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Spectrum is very easy to learn by the instructions they provide, when we got this program, our Boss quit, and left us hanging but we had to forge on without the person, so went to instructions they provided with program and guess what we figured it out and got our jobs done. It was not complicated to learn and that is what was great about it.

Cons

the printing changed as the program got more upgraded, use to be able to print with one click now have to click 3 times to get our reports, so I don't like change too much.

JM
AvatarImg

Jeff M.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Spectrum User

Reviewed a year ago

Good Easy to use. Reporting isn't as good as other systems I have used.

Pros

It is an easy system to learn and use. The drop downs and inquiry screens are very good.

Cons

The reporting capabilities are not very good. Some of the delivery reports are not very good. Need a report writer function

PM
AvatarImg

Pam M.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Pam Manoloff

Reviewed 7 years ago

Support for the Spectrum software as provided by the original DC support group is well above average. Their response time on basic to intermediate issues is nearly always instantaneous, and they aren't afraid to dive into the areas that are more complex. They just take a bit more time. And the culture of staff from product support to development to sales to professional services is aimed toward providing solutions.

Pros

The API's are amazing. They provide bi-directional interface with Spectrum allowing maximum efficiency for internal processes. The SQL environment creates a platform for dynamic reporting power enabling the ability to link Spectrum data tables with other databases as well. The intuitive navigation provides a user-friendly experience, and the browser based application eliminates laborious client based software maintenance processes.

Cons

For an asphalt manufacturer and unit price contractor, some of the tools available need to be developed further. They have a good start and for simple analysis situations they may be enough. However, if it sophisticated analysis you are after, there needs to be further development in these areas.

LE
AvatarImg

Lorie E.

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Spectrum Software

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The ease of getting data in and out of the system. Being able to download the data into Excel and Access to do reporting is invaluable. The introduction of the Web Services allowing data to flow in and out of Spectrum has changed the way we do our Project Management by allowing our PM's to stay in the project management software and bringing the data back into spectrum.

Cons

The non accounting users find the system hard to use. Downloading data into Excel needs to be updated to using more current versions of Excel.

AR
AvatarImg

Anna R.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Review.

Reviewed a year ago

Performs for what we need as an industry specific software but would look elsewhere if more options were available and time allowed.

Pros

Industry Specific is its best feature. Cloud option appreciated.

Cons

Clunky, ease of use, slow updates, behind standards in payroll and HR functionality.

CS
AvatarImg

Cindy S.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Why I would never recommend Viewpoint

Reviewed a year ago

Overall it is horrible.

Pros

I don't like anything about Viewpoint and even worse not that it is a Trimble product the customer support is even worse than before.

Cons

The customer support is not very supportive.

CR
AvatarImg

Craig R.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Spectrum Review

Reviewed a year ago

Good experience. Software allows for management to make key decisions.

Pros

Job Costing is effective and diverse. Modules allow for many views of information.

Cons

Financial Reporting is seriously lacking. Financial Reports are basic and cumbersome and allows for errors.

TR
AvatarImg

Tracy R.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Spectrum Rocks!

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The software is very user-friendly, even for our non-computer friendly field techs. I love the dashboard apps. Especially the ones used with the Employee Kiosk and Field Tech modules. We can set these up for our employees where they are never really "in" the software but still able to do their work. The software being cloud-based is an A++ - no software to install! The report options are endless! The customer service is out of this world! You cannot go wrong with Spectrum.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

KS
AvatarImg

Keith S.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

program is not idiot friendly

Reviewed a year ago

it seems we are having issues with payroll. also wish when we do reports it factors in overhead

Pros

change order forms are nice, not a friendly program for everyone

Cons

it always logs out, it seems to be real difficult to enter jobs (maybe its my computer illiteracy )

DA
AvatarImg

David A.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Long time user

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Disappointing Support, functionality. Trimble one is glitchy for logins, have to do work around to gain access.

Cons

Support, and the lack their of. It's pricey I wish they'd fix the bugs.

NS
AvatarImg

Nathan S.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Powerful software that has improved our business

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Cloud platform allows anywhere access. We had several disjointed systems for document imaging, some billing functions, etc. With Spectrum, we were able to consolidate systems and introduce some much needed and improved processes for digital expense approval, time cards. Built on SQL we also implemented automated report functions that has saved lots of busy work. Customizable dashboards allow at a glance management by exception.

Cons

Complex setup, detailed data import could improve, annual maintenance fees are significant as compared to our previous package. Work order system field technician module only allows the most basic system functions.

PK
AvatarImg

Penny K.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Controller

Reviewed a year ago

we started using Spectrum in 1999. It was great customer service while owned by [sensitive content hidden].

Pros

ease of use Spectrum is user-friendly and is easy to navigate within each module.

Cons

Customer Service has changed since [sensitive content hidden] no longer own this product.