App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

The EDGE Logo

Construction estimating for commercial subcontractors

(7)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

The EDGE Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

298

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.58/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

houzz-pro
acculynx
countfire

Pros and cons

My overall experience has been wonderful. The Edge Estimating team has been more than helpful if we have ever needed any help with the Edge system.
I've been Using The EDGE system for 11 years and still feel like it's the best software on the market. When packaged with a good digitizer it's well worth the price tag.
My day to day experience with the edge is very user friendly, I find myself being able to navigate with ease through the program and customer support has been good.
Also, on occasion it will not show any errors but when you try and view the recap it will not let you saying there are errors. With all of that being said it is a minor problem for this software.
The program is awful, but I really don't have a choice to use anything else. I have started developing my own program.
Cost for add on's, lack of undo button and if you want to change a formula, its difficult to understand.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


298 reviews

Recommended

MK
AvatarImg

Mike K.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Only Estimating Software

Reviewed 6 years ago

Best construction estimating software on the market.

Pros

I've been using the Edge Estimating Software, on and off, since 2012. I own another take-off software that is a great tool for measuring, but doesn't have the integrated condition builder and pricing features. Scanning through some of the other reviews here, let me assure you, that the negative reviews are from those who don't have the correct operating system to run Edge functions or the user just doesn't understand how to use the system. Construction take-off's are only as easy as your understanding of the part and pieces (conditions) required for an accurate take-off. The Edge Estimating System is the only software I would suggest for on-screen take-offs with the ability to hand-enter if you're so inclined. I prefer on-screen as there is 0 chance of losing a condition in transfer.

Cons

You can't load large pdf's at one time. Can't view more than one screen at a time (would be nice to be able to open a detail page and measure parts while building the condition). A little pricey.

JB
AvatarImg

Jeffrey B.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Edge (Vs 10.7)

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We can customize the database. This allows us to have consistency with our estimates. The functions are intuitive. The learning curve is short. The on-screen takeoff communicates well with the pricing and condition setup features.

Cons

The functionality of the software is behind some of the competitors. We are on an older version. It can be glitchy. We've lost estimates when the Edge crashes. This is less frequent as new versions have rolled out over the years. From what I've seen, these issues are addressed and resolved in the new version. The cost to convert to the new (cloud) version is extensive. There will also be a learning curve. The architecture of the software is all new. This will be an additional cost (training and down time) and will introduce opportunities for estimating errors until we get the new software figured out.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa

AD
AvatarImg

Adam D.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Edge 12 - It's getting there

Reviewed 5 years ago

In a nutshell, we are enjoying The Edge 12. But like my "Cons" list and my review title suggests - It's getting there (slowly). Right now, we're about at a 70-75% satisfaction rate for Edge 12. There is still a lot of work to be done to return to the quality of ease provided by Edge 10, and I don't doubt that it will eventually get to where we're 100% satisfied.

Pros

The Estimating Edge is one of the best (if not the very best) estimating software programs available on the market. It is easy to use, and the upgrades they made to the Edge 12 (compared to Edge 10) have sped up the estimating process (overall). Streamlined and accurate, we trust The Edge (and their customer service team) to provide us with everything we need.

Cons

Still very buggy and glitchy. The Edge 12.6 had fixed many of the issues that were prevalent since Edge 12 was first released; however, there are still glitches. Blurry drawings, slow response/lag time on mouse clicks, etc. But least favorable was the fact that they took away most of the aspects of Edge 10 that made it SUPER user-friendly, and it's not nearly as user-friendly as Edge 10. Their claim of "Less Clicks" for Edge 12 has proven to be inaccurate, as we often spend more time clicking through pages than we did when we had Edge 10.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We have created shortcuts in the Version 12.6 please check them out https://www.estimatingedge.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/LIT-User-Keyboard-Shortcuts-WEB_0619-2.pdf. I am more than happy to send you a hard-copy. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa

aa
AvatarImg

abiezer a.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

After learning it well, you love it.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Our company uses it's own proprietary estimating software. I use the EDGE to do quick calculations of extra stuff I need to import manually into those estimates. I realized the EDGE is somewhat flexible to do certain changes.

Pros

The version I use is not a user friendly, interactive . It is very technical, which I like. Not everyone learns it well, which gives me an advantage as I have learned it more than everyone else I have met that uses it. I know of companies that have purchased it and do not use it due to not having anyone proficient enough to work with it. That is my advantage to get on a good job.

Cons

This version can be used on up to windows 7 only, which makes it a bit obsolete. To use more advanced windows you need to upgrade to a different version and there are costs involved, plus it becomes web based and internet dependent. I don't like that at all.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa

SS
AvatarImg

Spencer S.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Edge Estimating 10.8

Reviewed 5 years ago

With all the little quirks the Edge has, it is still a fairly versatile program. I came from PlanSwift 11 and even though it was a little easier to do take-offs, the database building was much simpler with the Edge (for the most part). Overall 8/10.

Pros

Custom Database Building. Ease of Take-off estimating.

Cons

The small bugs (Crashes, install issues, etc) Not Cloud Based, yet. No tutorial on how to make custom 'reports'.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa

DH
AvatarImg

Dennis H.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Version 12 Review

Reviewed 7 years ago

The new version is easy to learn and move around within the program. It as the same basic function/layout as for the different tabs, scenario, section, condition, drawing. It has some great new features within the drawing (take-off) screen, but some improvements would be helpful in certain areas of the drawing (take-off) screen. I'm sure that there are other great changes that I have not seen yet, but overall, the new version 12 is a fantastic improvement from previous version of the Edge Estimating Software. I cannot wait to get all of the other estimators working on the new version.

Pros

Accurately producing a bid. Keeps the project organized when it come to alternates, VE options and other project changes.

Cons

Manipulation of the drawings within the take-off screen, example - measuring, without being within a condition, draw lines parallel or perpendicular to each other. Detail screen not working or is very limited in what you can do.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.

SM
AvatarImg

Scott M J.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Estimating

Reviewed 7 years ago

I really enjoy using the edge for my fireproofing take-offs. The simple design of the user interface makes it quite easy to use, and their technical department is very responsive to questions and dealing with the back-of-house operations if changes with-in the program need to be done. This program allows me to greatly increase my production as an estimator in both the quantity and quality of my estimates for my company. With the ability to upload drawings directly into program, I have gone paperless in my estimates, saving my company money in the long run by not having to order or print out drawings anymore. The Edge is a great tool for us and highly recommended.

Pros

Ease of Use. Good Technical support.

Cons

Fireproofing Shop Drawings as printed out directly from the Edge are a bit messy. I need to use a PDF editor to edit and clean them up. Should have the ability to write notes directly on the take off pages that can be included in the printed out shop drawings

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.

MC
AvatarImg

Michael C.

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Long Time User

Reviewed 7 years ago

I think the product is great. would love to see the changes forthcoming with Version 12. I think there are a few of items that would only make the program only that much better.

Pros

The fact it walks you through each assembly and gives you the areas you need to focus on. unlike with Qbid you have to know each part and peace before building the assembly.

Cons

Some of the Onscreen features of Qbid would make the edge that much better. like the ability to just select a portion of a wall assembly in stead of the entire wall. or having to break it up into small parts.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s. Additionally, version 12 is now available and can be implemented immediately depending on your databases. This greatly improved version is a total rewrite which enables us to deliver innovative features, an updated modern interface, and is much easier to use. If you are interested in upgrading feel free to contact sales@edgeestimating.com.

DH
AvatarImg

Dennis H.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Edge - Not There Yet

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall experience is very good. Like the program a lot and it fits our company well enough for the estimating team.

Pros

The versatility of creating different conditions. The ability to quickly add conditions. The accuracy of the calculations.

Cons

Not able to stack hyper links from page to page. Need to track details from Elevations back to enlarged details. Sometimes this will be three to four pages back into the documents. Do not have the ability to add notes, lines, clouds, bubbles, etc... to the take-off page. Can only add notes in one line and not a paragraph type setting. Need better options in printing out take-off, annotations come out too large and it does not print out correctly on 11x17 size paper. Need to utilize the project management side of construction as well.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa

DM
AvatarImg

Dave M.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great product overall

Reviewed 7 years ago

I have been using the edge software for 12 years now and so far it has been the best and well rounded system so far. The cost seems to be getting a little high compared to other programs with similar functions. I would like to see the system receive a few upgrades to justify the cost. Hopefully this will include a production control module for the project management side.

Pros

The accuracy of the system, the simplicity and universal use of the conditions.

Cons

Doesn't have enough features to assist with the project management side. Needs more control options for uploaded drawings. would really like to see a production control feature for managing projects.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s. Version 12 is now available and can be implemented immediately depending on your databases. This greatly improved version is a total rewrite which enables us to deliver innovative features, an updated modern interface, and is much easier to use. If you are interested in upgrading feel free to contact sales@edgeestimating.com.

GB
AvatarImg

Garrett B.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Software works well, but hard to learn.

Reviewed 7 years ago

I have been using the EDGE software for 3 years now and have found the software to be Useful in estimating our roofing projects. There are a lot of capabilities that software offers, but I haven't scratched the surface of using it to its full potential . The software is not very intuitive for new users and takes a while to learn to use the software correctly. We did have a technician come to our shop for some training a month ago. It has greatly helped but there are still many things that I need to learn. It would be nice to have a back button and the onscreen takeoff software to be able to snap to points on the original drawing the way BlueBeam Pdf. software works. Overall the product is good, but could improve on the ease of use.

Pros

I like the tapered insulation take-off it preforms for flat roofing

Cons

The ease of use and the inability to navigate easily between details and pages.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.

TT
AvatarImg

Tyler T.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Estimating made easy

Reviewed 7 years ago

The Edge is a completely comprehensive method of estimating construction projects. The best part about the program is the user has the power to manipulate the input in order to meet his needs. The Edge has been a terrific tool which has allowed for a full breakdown of our operations from estimating all the way to evaluation of job cost versus expected O + P. The friendly staff at the Edge in Boynton Beach, Florida have been great to work with from the time I was in Florida for the introductory stages to the customer service aspect now. It's a terrific program and I would highly recommend it.

Pros

The overall functionality of the software is seamless. It's very easy to set things up and estimate a project using the Edge in a matter of moments. Once the preliminary stages of learning the ins and outs of the program is complete, it makes taking off a project very easy.

Cons

It can be clunky at times when revisions to estimates are necessary.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.

PS
AvatarImg

Pete S.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Edge review

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I have been using The Edge since 2006, I believe the software version was 7. We are now using version 12 with the cloud. What I like most about the this program is the ease of use and how it reduces my time estimating. With the time saved, I am able to take that time and be productive with other task during the day.

Cons

the Edge is a great program and if I had of to choose something that I like least I would say, the setup and not having the ability to transfer job information into our accounting and project management program.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. The EDGE does integrate with accounting and project management software. To view the integrations, visit https://www.estimatingedge.com/integrations. If you do not see your integration on the list please submit a request at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa or email marketing@estimatingedge.com. We continue to improve The EDGE experience and appreciate your candid feedback.

CV
AvatarImg

Christopher V.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Sr. Estimator/Project Manager-DRI NFCA-(IFRM/SFRM)

Reviewed 7 years ago

Over my career that has spanned over 23 years. I have taken projects off from the old school method by hand. To utilizing a number of other estimating programs that are out on the market. The EDGE system is by far the most comprehensive all in one system that is a must have for any Fireproofing company. From saving time in doing take off's to the daunting submital process. Most would agree that this is the Holy Grail of the Fireproofing world!

Pros

Once configured to meet your in house requirements with cost coding and other basic formatting. This is by far the best system i have ever used.

Cons

would give it a 10 if not for the occasional 5 second time to back up...

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comment about the 5 second time to backup has been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.

TS
AvatarImg

Travis S.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cuts estimating time in half.

Reviewed 7 years ago

I have been using the Edge estimating for about 3 years now and I can't imagine life without it. The Edge Estimating is so important to me that when I recently switched companies and the new company didn't have the Edge the first thing I did was call Ryan Bogart in sales and purchased a license out of my own pocket. The Edge allows me to bid each job more comfortable because of the great database and tools. I strongly believe that my success in estimating is in a large part due to the great software programs like the Edge. The Edge Estimating is always there to help answer any questions I have and that includes both the sales and technical guys. Everyone I have been in contact with at the Edge has been absolutely great and I absolutely recommend their software to anyone.

Pros

The Database and the tools are great.

Cons

The software can be a little complicated at first but the technical team is always a phone call away and they are great with helping.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments.

MA
AvatarImg

Miranda A.

Construction,

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Roofing Estimator

Reviewed 7 years ago

Roofing estimation. Shingles and flat rolled membrane Roofing as well as sheet metal fabrications.

Pros

Ability to relace tilda codes. Ability to change units from LF or SF to pails/tubes etc.

Cons

Unclear of how and when items get changed and messed up in the database. Especially when we hire a new employee something always seems to get messed up. Adding an "are you sutr you want to change this in thr database" prompt might help. Also a "select all" button eoukd be helpful in the wizard.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We welcome the opportunity to help you to ensure complete customer satisfaction. Please feel free to contact support at theestimatingedgesupportteam@edgeestimating.com or sales at sales@edgeestimating.com. We have also noted your request and welcome additional comments http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.

JN
AvatarImg

Joshua N.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great estimating tool!

Reviewed 7 years ago

The Edge is a clean system that allows our estimators to quantify and create bids that are easy to review and simple to follow. Having a uniform bid software makes training easy! The Edge reports truly give our project managers an advantage in ordering materials and understanding the bid. A great tool!

Pros

The software makes for an easy take off. Reviewing bids is simple. Revising old bids or creating multiple bid scenarios is as simple as a click.

Cons

Not many cons... you cannot manipulate colors or fonts. So visually speaking you can't make color separators for grouping. Not a game changer.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments. We also welcome additional requests at http://bit.ly/2h3ti3s.

ME
AvatarImg

Mike E.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good overall, need a few more features

Reviewed 5 years ago

I am performing metal stud framing & gypsum board takeoffs to produce bids. Overall, I like the program. The previous company was transitioning to the newer version of Edge. It seemed quite different, so I never made the transition. We are currently using an older version at my current company.

Pros

I like that the takeoff and pricing functions are all in one program. It is easy to modify prices and production rates. Performing the takeoff is smooth.

Cons

Some basic functions should be added: 1. CTRL+Z to undo last operation. 2. Be able to cut (or copy) and paste multiple conditions from one page to the next. 3. Autofill/suggest when typing in a group code.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your review and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa.

IP
AvatarImg

Ian P.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good program for quick estimates and takeoffs for material and labor on construction projects.Great!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Easy to learn, for beginners to the program. Easily manipulated to fit a specific companies needs, awesome!

Cons

After giving feedback about new updates to the software, most of our suggestions weren't taken into consideration leaving us frustrated. This also opened up more problems trying to use the new update the way we were used to working, slowing down our productivity.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. While we strive to include all customer feedback in releases, at times we have to re-prioritize feature/functionality requests. Your requests are still on the backlog list and you can be assured that the product team continually re-evaluates these. This year, we have added more developers in order to meet all our customers needs. We value your business and thank you for being a loyal customer.

KH
AvatarImg

Kip H.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Longtime User

Reviewed 5 years ago

The Edge saves me so much time in preparing estimates. Time in the office is limited. Using the Edge lets me make the most of that time.

Pros

I've been an Edge customer since the late 80's when the program was DOS based. We bought then for the same reason I use it today. It's fast and accurate. I can change systems and calculate numerous alternates with ease in in short order.

Cons

That's really hard because there's very little that I don't like. If I had to give an answer it would be that the tapered insulation designer was an add on instead of being part of the program.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. We appreciate your loyalty to our product. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market.

AH
AvatarImg

Allen H.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Happy User

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Speed at estimating, no longer having to waste paper and time printing plans, easy to go back and make changes to the project

Cons

Unfortunately my boss never sent anyone to training, so wish there were better operating manuals on how to manipulate the data base and change how the formulas figure different materials. These may exist on the web site but I haven't found what I'm looking for yet.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We have a knowledgebase article on the v12 user guide https://www.estimatingedge.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/LIT-User-v12-User-Guide-The-EDGE-WEB_0519-1.pdf. We encourage our customers to be trained on The EDGE to be able to utilize its full potential. We have monthly webinars that could benefit you from watching. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa

SB
AvatarImg

Stephen B.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great software, very flexible!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The EDGE is very flexible. I can start out with one condition and manipulate it into almost any other condition I need quickly (change out paint types, labor rates, etc.). I also like that I can look at and change all production rates at the same time on the same screen.

Cons

I don't like the navigation, there is too much reliance on the mouse and the keyboard is underutilized. I would like to be able to zoom in and out of drawings with the clickwheel on the mouse.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa

DJ
AvatarImg

Dan J.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome

Reviewed 5 years ago

Love the tapered system module and the drawings that it provides, I am able to sit with owners and show them options which usually puts me in front. Love it!

Pros

Once you have conditions set the edge is unstoppable, unfortunately most feel that it's to big of a task.

Cons

Building conditions for new products is an ongoing issue, wish that the Edge had better relationships with manufacturers. Seems like manufacturers would be more than willing to help sell their product using the Edge.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments! The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa

JD
AvatarImg

John D.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

We began using The Edge approximately 2 years ago. They had just transitioned to web-based version.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Accurate estimates.

Pros

If used properly it is very accurate in providing estimates in a timely manner. There is some up front work to do in order to build systems for the estimates. There is work in any software transition. Once setup properly for you business and needs it is a great estimating tool.

Cons

It can be confusing to use at first and will require training. But it will be a good estimating tool once it is tuned for your use.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at https://goo.gl/g8SgW7

DS
AvatarImg

Doug S.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

C level view

Reviewed 5 years ago

It has made our material estimates and overall estimates much more accurate.

Pros

Ease of use Customized database from our costs and historical data Detailed material list and labor activity durations

Cons

Compatability with Foundations software No the greatest for tough reroofing projects

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and comments. The Estimating Edge team strives to build the best Takeoff and Cost Estimating software on the market. We appreciate your feedback and welcome product feature and functionality requests at http://bit.ly/2LVCjZa