App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Viewpoint For Projects Logo

Viewpoint For Projects

Viewpoint’s award-winning Common Data Environment

see alternatives

(0)

Viewpoint For Projects Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

35

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.91/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Viewpoint is generally easy to use and navigate and has a great many useful functions. I've been an administrator for 7 years and even now I find things here and there that make my job so much easier.
I have a good experience so far, it helps me with my purpose and got the documents as I needed.
The ease of use & reliability of the programme - it's very easy to issue & supersede documents.
If 1no file fails to load in a revision, it can sometimes mess up the revision and need to all be resubmitted. I also find that the search feature can be difficult to navigate large file structures.
The naming of drawing can be confusing for new starters.
No many updates over the years to bring it up to date with other system that are available in today market.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


35 reviews

Recommended

BW
AvatarImg

Barbara W.

Commercial Real Estate, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Viewpoint for Projects Software

Reviewed 2 months ago

The Viewpoint support team are the best I have ever dealt with. They respond quickly and are always able to help (apart from the system issues) and never make you feel silly if you raise a case.

Pros

Viewpoint is generally easy to use and navigate and has a great many useful functions. I've been an administrator for 7 years and even now I find things here and there that make my job so much easier. I like being able to share current information quickly with users and external parties and I appreciate having the email function so that I can get documents uploaded quickly to the correct place.

Cons

There are some issues with things going on in the background and are taking some time to rectify but they generally don't impact our customers too much.

MK
AvatarImg

Monika K.

Management Consulting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

VFP used by Airey Miller

Reviewed a year ago

I'm an admin level user of other CDEs: BIM 360 and Dalux, and have exposure to Asite. I really like VFP despite its few shortcomings and not-so-attractive user interface. I think this system can be intimidating at first, but personally the more I use it the more I appreciate it.

Pros

Primary and secondary file format, 3D Model Viewer, COBie generator, naming convention deployment (and that it can be enforced). We use public links a lot as well and it is very useful as well as the virtual containers. Customer service is excellent. They respond quickly and are usually very knowledgeable.

Cons

The look and feel of the software is a bit outdated. I like that it's highly customisable (settings), but that's a downfall as well, it can get complicated to control access and security settings. It would be great if VFP would allow using projects and templates. Instead every time we create a new project, we have to re-build the folder structure and the main settings. User guides could be updated.

SF
AvatarImg

Sandy F.

Railroad Manufacture, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

good system, but lacks a lot of features

Reviewed a year ago

overall its been a real struggle to convince users to use the system

Pros

available from anywhere, usually reasonably quick, support staff are fast at responding, even if the answer is not always what i would expect

Cons

workflows are clunky at best, non dynamic, live revise is slow, buggy and unreliable, unable to digitally sign documents within adobe, we use a roundabout way to markup docs with signature, but it is not very user friendly

SH
AvatarImg

Sam H.

Civil Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Quick and Easy Document Approval

Reviewed a year ago

The system allows us to record that documents have been checked and reviewed with a few quick clicks, saving time and administration and making it easier to comply with our internal procedures, as well as efficiently issuing deliverables to our clients

Pros

The workflow editor makes it easy to design a workflow that suits our business and specific projects.

Cons

Despite being quick and easy to run reports, sometimes all the fields aren't available to be shown in the report e.g. the "Short Code (Revision):" field can not be added to reports despite requesting this through V4P Support

AG
AvatarImg

Anil G.

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Viewpoint 4Projects Review

Reviewed a year ago

Very good, always get support without much delays. Our company has not used it extensively as we should be using the Product

Pros

The Ease of uploading documents; easy for version control and inserting document name

Cons

Dashboard - require Viewpoint/Trimble to provide more user friendly Dashboards and Reports so that the Construction Management team can use on daily basis

TJ
AvatarImg

Tom J.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Arguably one of the best file sharing project softwares - perfect for collaboration

Reviewed 2 months ago

Thoroughly postive

Pros

The ease of sumitting information for approval, the ability to supersede documents. Navigating the folder architecture is very straight forward.

Cons

Notifications. whilst these are actually important it would be useful for third party users to be able to customise the flow of transmittals. Particular when using the platform for multiple projects this can end up bombarding one's inbox.

BB
AvatarImg

Ben B.

Construction, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Highly Recommended

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, after some initial training, I highly recommend Viewpoint For Projects. I could not do my job without it.

Pros

Ease of use and the amount of features. Definitely a one stop shop for all construction-based document controlling.

Cons

The interface can be a bit clunky, at times. Something a little more user friendly would've helped me when initially learning the software.

GK
AvatarImg

Georgina K.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

For Projects

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Structure and navigation is logical and easy to understand. Workflow system and drawing stamping is invaluable for on-site project team.

Cons

Lack of preview available for drawings. Being able to see a thumbnail would be extremely useful for navigation and finding information.

OM
AvatarImg

Omar M.

Real Estate, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

in General very good software

Reviewed a year ago

Good experiance and we can see a room for development, however the pricing of other tools to be reviwed .

Pros

I like the strucre and easy to use, security and users creation unlimited

Cons

the signiture and marking need to be developed and lonked with 3rd party codument siginnig

tM
AvatarImg

tadas M.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

tm

Reviewed 2 months ago

very good software, easy to use.

Pros

Easy access and capabilities of shearing documents

Cons

notifications and alerts, in my opinion i think is to may of notification and alerts.

CC
AvatarImg

Conrad C.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

An invaluable tool for managing design documentation in a common data environment

Reviewed a year ago

The initial set up needed some serious thought and some big decisions needed to be made about how we were going to use the product to best benefit the business. As time went by our use of the product has matured. We are now in far more control of design documentation than we were prior to investing in this product.

Pros

The configurability of the product allows any business to design the product to meet the needs of the business rather than trying to fit the business to use the product.

Cons

The interface is very dated at present but changes are on the way to make it look and feel more up to date

TO
AvatarImg

Thomas O.

Civil Engineering, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very good all round product

Reviewed a year ago

i left a project and was asked to do some document control on it 2 years later because the systems are easy to follow i was able t find, revise and upload again with ease

Pros

ive been using Viewpoint since 2015 and this is the 3rd civils project in a row ive been using it. I feel for document control

Cons

if 1no file fails to load in a revision, it can sometimes mess up the revision and need to all be resubmitted i also find that the search feature can be difficult to navigate large file structures

RG
AvatarImg

Rhianna G.

Construction, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Incredibly Useful

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I many features included in this software on a daily basis, all elements of which are easy to use/understand. I don't know what we'd do without it.

Cons

Once you know the software and how it works, the navigation process is very easy but I think it would be helpful if navigation was made slightly easier for those who are unfamiliar with it.

NS
AvatarImg

Nebrido S.

Civil Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A Useful Software

Reviewed a year ago

I have a good experience so far, it helps me with my purpose and got the documents as I needed.

Pros

I can easily find and access the document I need. Readily available even when I'm worker remotely. It's user friendly software.

Cons

I have not maximized my usage of the software yet, but so far it does not disappointed me yet.

KG
AvatarImg

Kai G.

Construction, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Viewpoint review 1

Reviewed a year ago

Very good system, to upload, download, discover, use and interpret.

Pros

Easy to access, easy to use, learn and teach, quick to use when functioning, uploads made easier

Cons

Not many aspects hard to use but maintenance and system being slow occurs occasionally, no other issues or faults.

AW
AvatarImg

Andrew W.

Construction, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good Construction Document Management

Reviewed a year ago

Generally good, apart from users find it difficult to access if they have multiple enterprise access

Pros

Workflows are very useful to ensure reviews are carried out

Cons

Permissions can lead to problems and cause bugs in the workflow

KS
AvatarImg

Karl S.

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Document control

Reviewed a year ago

RFI. And drawing comments made ea

Pros

Search documents easily. Upload comments and see revisions of each item

Cons

Due dates for re submission of safety documents. Every 3 months maximum

RT
AvatarImg

Rizwan T.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Vewpoint User

Reviewed 2 months ago

Ten out of Ten.

Pros

It is user friendly, provide ability to track required information.

Cons

All good. Perhaps speed and spread of information can be improved.

rm
AvatarImg

robert m.

Construction, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

4P for Construction

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I like how there is a chronological path and changes can be tracked.

Cons

smoother interface, would like it to be slightly less clunky.

BL
AvatarImg

Billy L.

Construction, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

oKAY

Reviewed a year ago

good

Pros

good software, easy to use and good graphics

Cons

delays in receiving updated drawings on the software

MB
AvatarImg

Mason B.

Civil Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A useful tool for BIM.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The ability to share information on an easy to use platform, with a clear and concise way to upload and download what you need.

Cons

The way some projects have been set out on viewpoint can be an issue, but this is mainly with those uploading the projects, not the software itself. Viewpoint having a standardised project setup may be a useful feature to implement in future.

BS
AvatarImg

Ben S.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Easy to find drawings. easy to share drawings.

Cons

when extracting documents it add x 2

ac
AvatarImg

anthony c.

Construction, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Feedback review from RLUH

Reviewed 2 months ago

Very good, the product as a whole works very well so long as all users interpret what is required

Pros

Generally easy to use and share content, project overview also very helpful

Cons

The only real issue we had was from a user bias not programme related.

CD
AvatarImg

Courtenay D.

Construction, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A good system and easy enough to use but does lack in some areas compared to other vendors

Reviewed a year ago

I have used the system with two of my companies and i have to say that the general experience has been good but not great as it lacks in certain areas and we generally have to use other system to get the full experience we require to run our projects. this is the same for both companies

Pros

Ease of use of general features and the customer support is very good.

Cons

No many updates over the years to bring it up to date with other system that are available in today market.

NS
AvatarImg

Neil S.

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

viewpoint

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

it helps store documents that are then accessible

Cons

the notification section to advise people of items to upload is poor as it is out of view when you tick this and you have to be aware that you have to scroll up