This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Bokun

Cloud-based booking management solution for tourism industry

see alternatives

Bokun Reviews - Page 3

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


327 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Enjoyable experience

Reviewed a year ago

I have been extremely happy with Bokun and the customer service

Pros

Was with another software company since changing to Bokun my bookings have tripled

Cons

Calander for employees is not easily accessible. I would like to see weekly calendar that employees would see as a schedule

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Bokun Does what it says it does

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has been a great working relationship with Them and They are always their when I call.

Pros

The ease of use is really the Pro side of the system.

Cons

There is no Cons . I have been using it for a while and cannot find anything to say as to what they do wrong.

Vendor response

Hi Angel, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business and are here to help you if you have any questions or need assistance. Best, Bokun Support

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simple and affordable

Reviewed 3 years ago

As an accommodation provider, Bokun has really streamlined my booking and payment processes - pretty much all guests are paid in full online upon arrival, saving time and making for a better check in experience.

Pros

Simple, streamlined booking widget (for your website) and easy-to-use property management dashboard

Cons

Doesn't provide sales spreadsheets with HST information (which I need for tax purposes in Canada)

Vendor response

Hi Megan, Thanks for your review of Bokun! We're so glad to hear that you find our widgets and dashboard easy to use, and that we've helped to streamline your business. We do not yet have country-specific reports built but we are always looking for feedback for our Product team, so we are happy to pass that suggestion along. Thanks! - Bokun Support

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Choice

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Everything! Especially the controls over our experience's availability, the opportunities to partner up with names in the marketplace, the great, great (can´t repeat enough) help from the support team (especially for someone like me, a one-man band!). Oh, the widgets! Almost forgot! You can create the most amazing widgets to share with your partners, etc.

Cons

Sometimes, understanding the funcionalities of Bokun and reading thru the help texts could be a challenge for those who speak English as a second language like me. But the support them will fully compensate the difficulties.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Bokun for Tour and Activity operatros

Reviewed 2 years ago

we get good readership and visibility for our products. we will continue adding more day and multi-day excursions and off-road safaris on Bokun.

Pros

Bokun is great software for tour and activity operators. The day to day activities itinerary feature and online payment possibility for customers is amazing.

Cons

they are yet to fulfit in the best way possible, the pricing option based on participants on a shared transport.

Vendor response

Hi Abraham, Thank you for your review and for your feedback on the ability to offer different pricing based on transportation options. We have some solutions we'd like to suggest that will allow you to offer different pricing based on if the type of transportation your customer is selecting -- please reach out to us via support@bokun.io or the chat in the product, and we will help you get it set up. Best, Bokun Support

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Bokun is excellent

Reviewed a year ago

With Bokun I can set everything in order with my bookings. Also customers enjoy modern and comfortable widgets at my website)

Pros

It is easy to use and implement to the website.

Cons

Unfortunately, it is not translated into Russian.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best booking software

Reviewed 2 years ago

I used other bookingtools before and bokun is the best so far. Value for the product is awesome.

Pros

The userfriendly functionality is awesome. And the presentation of our tours and lessons is perfect. Customers having no problems in booking and it is very easy to create new experiences.

Cons

There is nothing I don’t like. But I would like to have more payment providers included. And the new functionality of planing your resources needs some improvement (e.g. one surfboard per customer etc.)

Vendor response

Hi Christoph, Thank you for your review and your suggestions on adding additional payment providers and enhancing resource management. We are continually working to improve the Bokun product, so please keep checking back on Bokun for enhancements in these areas. Best, Bokun Support

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

GOOD VALUE

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has been a good experience to work with Bokun. It makes your job easier. Also, the marketplace is good, there you can contacto other companies to sell your productos.

Pros

You can manage your booking from diferente companies in just one place.

Cons

Sometimes your productos las too long to get publish on the other suites. Once you make some Changes in Bokun, it takes a few hours to get to the site you want it to get to.

Vendor response

Hi Antonio, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you have been able to find and connect with other tour operators in the Bokun Marketplace! We understand your concern about the delay in changes that you've made in Bokun reflecting on other distribution sites; we've taken this feedback to our team and will keep you updated as we make improvements. Best, Bokun Support

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Bókun changed my business for better!

Reviewed a year ago

All my business reservation system is with bókun. We have 60% more customers from all over the world. Great software.

Pros

Integrations with API are great. Reservation system is very easy to drive. Financial is great.

Cons

For us have been difficult using widgets with our web page. We didn’t. I want to find easier the widget integration, so I’ll be able to do it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best bang for your buck

Reviewed 2 years ago

Some of the some of the applications are not extremely user-friendly. Customerservice is also a couple days for a response.

Pros

Best thing is that it offers a streamlined booking platform that Compares to other platforms that cost hundreds of dollars a month.

Cons

Some of the some of the applications are not extremely user-friendly. Customerservice is also a couple days for a response.

Vendor response

Hi Brian, Thank you for your review and for your feedback. We hear you loud and clear and are continually enhancing the Bokun product and also working diligently to reduce our customer services response times. Best, Bokun Support

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing support team, excellent system

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

We developed an in-house plugin to connect our tours to different OTAs through bokun. Tech team has been very helping.

Cons

Documentation could have been a bit more advanced

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best experiences manager

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Very practical Emails reminder for activities You can find seller for your activities You can create a website via bokun

Cons

Not very clear when it comes to the options they have even they have a lot to offer

Vendor response

Hi Lahcen, Thank you for your review and for your feedback! Bokun prides ourselves in having a lot of features and options for tours and activities operators, and we appreciate your feedback on the difficulty understanding what those features are. We are continually working on improving Bokun, including its usability, so keep the suggestions coming! Best, Bokun Support

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Bokun saves us endless hours

Reviewed 2 years ago

Bokun allowed us to move two staff off the phones and into more profitable jobs.

Pros

Our business was growing beyond the ability of my staff to keep up with reservations. We first heard about Bokun through TripAdvisor so thought - this may be a workable solution to our problem. Indeed it is! Bokun was easy to set up and started working flawlessly on the first day. If we had any questions, they were quickly answered. Adding Bokun to our system was the most productive thing we did in 2019.

Cons

We haven't experienced any issues even during our roll-out of the system.

Vendor response

Hi Gary, We are so happy to hear that Bokun has been productive and helpful for your business! Thank you for your review, and do not hesitate to reach out to our support team if you have any questions or feedback. Best, Bokun Support

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very good software, but a bit hard to get around

Reviewed 2 years ago

Best benefit is sponsored placement on Tripadvisor for me now. But am planing to use other sites that Bokun supports and I believe it will be extremely useful to have it all managed from one place. Will continue using it, just needs some more simplification.

Pros

Its very nice to have all my booking sites linked to one site and have additional benefits like getting sponsored placements at Tripadvisor. Support team is great.

Cons

Its a bit hard to get around. I am never sure if its in sync with other sites like Tripadvisor. I dont know what affects what, so very often i need the help from the support.

Vendor response

Hi Toni, Thank you for your review and your feedback. We understand your concerns and feedback around the ease of use and visibility into what is syncing with the distribution partners and when. We will continue to work on making Bokun easier to use and understand. Best, Bokun Support

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It makes your life easier, good results with less time spent

Reviewed a year ago

Is a great system, a lot a features that help grow business, connecting API to other OTA's is very easy and what I like the best is the customer service, it has been excellent, not just the response time the information provided, it has always been very good.

Pros

We operate different destinations within the country, and the system have the availability to have one master account and the sub-markets, all in one single account, this help a lot because with other systems we need to have different account for each market.

Cons

The contract area, Im still learning but I find it a little confusing at times, and having a tool to chat with client once a contract has been finalized will be excellent, because the only choices I find is to amend contract, but not just a message option, without making an amendment .

Vendor response

Hi Jacqueline, Thank you for your review and your feedback! We greatly appreciate your suggestion of being able to send messages in the Marketplace, after a contract is complete, without making changes to the contract. It's a great idea, and we've passed it onto our team. Best, Bokun Support

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best travel site!

Reviewed a year ago

Bokun has the most helpful and friendliest staff, whenever I have a question or issue. The interaction between West Hollywood limousine and Bokun promises clients a red carpet / five star service.

Pros

Bukon puts my projects and activities in front of a huge international community looking for our products. The great thing about them, is that their clients are looking for superior service and smile when they receive it.

Cons

Nobody likes change, but learning and navigating the Bokun site was a bit tricky in parts.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Help!

Reviewed 2 years ago

The chance to have all our reservations in only one service no matter their origin has been the best Bokun has done for us. Bokun also give us the opportunity to grow in the online markets in ways we did not spect at first sight, now we know that all the tools at Bokun will increase our sales.

Pros

I totally like Bokun becouse it came to fix a great problem we had with our OTA and our website management and the chance to make other bussiness trough the contacts in the Bokun network is a really good chance to grow on our sales.

Cons

I guess at the beginning it was a little bit difficult to catch up with all the improvements week by week, but overall I think we are geetting to it.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review! We are so happy to see that you have been able to grow in the online markets and increase your sales. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any questions or suggestions for product improvements -- support@bokun.io

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

It was a good deal till it started to cost more than others

Reviewed a year ago

We have been using Bokun for over 6 month now. At the beginning it seemed like a dream. Good pricing, instant chat and they actually made us think they were taking care of us. Then we started to find issue and bugs in the system, issues that have been there for months, and they don't know how to answer. The pickup list display Room instead of pickup place meaning you have to open every single booking to know where you have to pick customers up. Passenger list is bugy aswell. Bokun should stop trying to make websites for us and focus on the core business: the activities features There should be a package option that let you offer a discount if customers book two or more activities.

Pros

Being a Tripadvisor company makes the integration with Viator good

Cons

It does not have a Package Creation Feature at all Plenty of bugs and they don't even know when they will got them fixed Backend seems from 15 years ago The email options are a joke

Vendor response

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Capterra about your experience with Bokun. Whilst we are very happy that you have found the integration with Viator useful, I apologise that you have not been as pleased with other parts of the platform. I would like to mention that the pick-up list now displays both location and room, which should resolve the issue that you mention...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Bokun is easy to use, and support is excellent

Reviewed 2 years ago

Problems are usually minor, and can be resolved with just one quick email to a support staff and response is usually within hours.

Pros

Easy to use; features (full spectrum) that suits my business (private tours), compatible with my website (Wordpress)

Cons

Pricing catalog - conversion between USD and CAD features hard to get right.

Vendor response

Hi Bobby, Thank you for your feedback about the pricing catalog and conversion from one currency to another. We are always enhancing the Bokun product, and we appreciate your suggestion and feedback! Best, Bokun Support

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing ecommerce enables platform for travel experiences providers

Reviewed 2 years ago

In one word, amazing.

Pros

3 things that I really loved are: 1. Super easy backend to manage products, sales and inventory 2. Marketplace to have swift alliances with fellow product suppliers to promote up-sell and cross sell 3. Very active customer support

Cons

As the software is still undergoing design changes, there are a few hiccups that occur sometime. But these are easy to resolve with a website builder.

Vendor response

Hi Ajay, Thank you for your kind words. As you said, we are continuously updating and advancing the Bokun product, every single day. Please let us know if you have any suggestions for future improvements. Best, Bokun Support

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Robust tours & activities system

Reviewed 4 months ago

Using Bokun for more than 2 years. The competition in the field is fierce but Bokun manages to innovate and stay to be one of the leading companies. I hope that their paid plans would not discourage operators from around the world.

Pros

Easiness of use and connect with partners to resell our tours. Robust system with all functionalities for tours and activities business.

Cons

Nothing really! I like it all! Very easy to use, lots of features, site builder, great widgets for partners.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great platform

Reviewed 2 years ago

Centralisation of all booking channel has never been this easy .

Pros

The quality/price is unbeatable. And the support team is very helping

Cons

The personnalisation options. And still impossible to mix Bokun with Google booking.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Bokun

Reviewed 2 years ago

Once all is in place it safes time that you usually use for the handling fron bookings, collecting money etc. It all goes automatically. I highes the company's visibility and therefore you get more sales

Pros

Great software to share products and get sales! Fantastic support 24h hours.

Cons

Widgets that are very easy to integrate in an existing webpage

Vendor response

Hi Franziska, Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you're enjoying Bokun and our online booking engines. All the best, Bokun Support

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Bokun has made my life easy...... well easier.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Being a brand new business, I was trying to keep track of my bookings on my own and create relationships with providers that could sell my products-- it was too difficult to handle on my own. I came across Bokun and it has truly made running my business easier. I still have a lot of work to do, but I do not have to worry about my supply as I know precisely how many bookings I have each day. It has also opened up so many more avenues to sell my products. I am learning more and more each day, and I am excited where this can take my business.

Cons

Having never used a product like this, it was a bit intimidating at first. Initial instructions could have been a little better.... although in all honesty it could just be my lack of technical knowledge.

Vendor response

Hi Jason, Thank you for your review and your feedback. Your insight about the ramp up period and learning about the product is super helpful, so thank you for that! We're glad to hear Bokun has made your life a bit easier, and we appreciate your feedback. We're always working to improve Bokun, and we'll use your input here to make it better. Best, Bokun Support

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Starting a subscription fee at the start of winter in a pandemic?!?

Reviewed 9 months ago

We are massively disappointed by the move Bokun has made from commission based bookings to a monthly subscription fee. This is the worst timing possible to release such a feature at the start of the winter season (most activity companies quite season) and during the COVID-19 pandemic when bookings are already low. With the additional option of paying for more additional features?? We put a lot of time and effort into Bokun setting up all our events. We will not be using there service again, we have now found a better/cheaper booking service.

Pros

Easy to use, used to be great for small businesses.

Cons

We had some issues with customers paying on the mobile phone through stripe on Bokun and has now become unaffordable for small businesses.

Vendor response

Hi Ryan, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry to hear that you are not happy with Bokun's transition to a subscription-based model. Our Pro plan is currently free until the end of the month, after which it will cost $49 per month. Opting out of this plan shouldn't take more than a minute; it can be done easily in your account. You can always opt in and out seasonally, as...