Daylite for Mac Reviews

Daylite for Mac Reviews

Daylite for Mac

CRM and Project Management app for Mac, iPhone and iPad ONLY

4.52/5 (48 reviews)
910     3,542

robin Spielberg

Very Robust System for Small Business---But you Have to Put the Work In

15/03/2017

Pros

Daylite has a lot of functionality and wonderful integration. (Our calendar and email integrates with Daylite). We use this software for our customer database. To get the most out of the product, you need to take the tutorials so you can learn how to "tag" customers and create mini databases. For example, if you have a buyer that has bought certain items from you company, you will want to tag that buyer with the name of the item so you can pull up reports. The more you use the tags and connections, the better your reports will be. We find these very useful, but if someone in the office forgets to tag a customer properly, the data is pretty much useless.

Cons

It is not "plug and play". You need to put the work in to understand the functionality.l If you have a "lazy" employee, you might not get the full use of the software

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Vali Sorell

Review of Daylite V6.0

16/02/2017

For a novice, it was difficult to understand how CRM software works. Though the tutorial covers the basic of CRM, many of the steps are based on a previous version of the software, so it was confusing. However, the basics are very logical and easy to follow. I still need to more fully understand the less commonly used features, but I feel comfortable enough with the software to use it on a regular basis for all my CRM needs.

Pros

Consistent interface across the multiple features.

Cons

Using some of the features are restrictive and don't work for me. For example, the choices within the category, type, state, etc. don't provide choices that make sense in the context in which I use them; if there is a way to change them and make them specific to my needs, it was not made clear from the documentation.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ameleah Wilson

People management along with project management

12/02/2017

Daylite provides options to manage the people as well as the projects. I can manage and see all info related to our team members and which projects they are assigned to. It helps me managing the resources for new projects.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Daylite for Mac

Managing project resources have been easy using daylite.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nicole Pitchard

Colorful activity sheet helps out

11/02/2017

Daylite helps with managing productivity from our team. The colorful activity sheet is easy to review and is helpful. It helps us managing all company projects and assign to the right team member.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Daylite for Mac

Good looking statistics and dashboard.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Neha Sharma

Single application for managing all project activities

11/02/2017

Daylite provides a single application for managing all project related activities. All projects can be managed within this and users can easily see the assigned activities within their projects. Dashboard provides a quick summary of to-do list for the day. Calendar feature helps to review the timeline and milestone.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Daylite for Mac

Managing projects has became better using daylite.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Austin Teer

Improved integration with Mac OS

11/02/2017

Working on my MacOS have been easier with Daylite application. The app works great and is easy to use. Managing office projects with Daylite works well and reports can be extracted easily.

Pros

Projects management becomes easier with Daylite.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matt Dale

Easy to use application

01/02/2017

We have found Daylite to be an easy to use App for our team here. The project team relies completely on this system to manage their projects. It has been a core part of our delivery team and we can't stay without Daylite.

Pros

We love this tool as it has been a major part of our success.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Daylite for Mac

Good tool to be used as it contributes towards the success of the projects.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alan Sacher

Project timeline matters with Daylite

01/02/2017

It helps us managing and keeping timeline of projects. Easy to scheduled tasks and the timelines using the dashboard tools.

Cons

Would like to have a chrome extension which can notify desktop notifications for new tasks assigned

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jenson Hagen

Daylite has unfixed bugs and weak functionality

12/01/2017

Anymore, there are simply better CRM programs for a Mac. A few years ago, Daylite was the best of the worst. The software and app were full of bugs and complicated tech solutions to ensure data synced. I had this weird bug where my tasks would not delete and Daylite support knew the problem existed for customers but forced people to upgrade to a newer version instead of fixing the bug. It's an overall wonky system for an expensive price, and that was fine 5 years ago but better software and apps now fill the market for CRMs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Marketcircle


Hi Jenson

We are sorry to hear that your experience with Daylite was not a positive one. We work hard to make sure our customers love Daylite and we take your comments seriously.

The reason your issue wasn't fixed in 4 was that Apple dropped support on the SDK Daylite 4 was programmed in. To submit updates to the app store developers had to use the new SDK which meant a complete rewrite. Daylite 4's development cycle had ended so we can not invest in rewriting it. This allowed us to focus on the newest technologies available and continue to move Daylite in the future. While we still believe this was the right decision we are sorry that you were affected by it.

Syncing was a common complaint of earlier versions and why we developed Daylite Cloud. Each server environment was different, and made syncing a challenge. With Daylite Cloud that is a thing of the past as we manage all that for you. If you give Daylite Cloud a shot we are confident you'll be very happy with the updates!

Read more
Jason Gray

Best Mac CRM available

23/12/2016

My use case: small consulting firm that has been in business for 3 years. We use Daylite for customer relationship management, project & task management, calendar/resource management, as an applicant tracking system for our executive recruitment line of business, opportunity tracking, correspondence, etc. Prior to using Daylite, we ran the Salesforce platform and if you are willing to commit to the Apple/Mac ecosystem, Daylite is simply so much better than anything else that we have tried for the variety of tasks above. Not only was our previous solution almost 3x the cost, it was much more difficult to use, to customize, and to generate employee buy-in to actually use the system. Because this is a Mac-only product, it integrates extremely well and any Mac user will find it very intuitive. The data is in the cloud, but the application sits on my machine. This allows for the excellent reliability and off-line usability of a desktop application with the security, standardization, and data-recovery benefits of the cloud. Obviously, because it is Mac-only, I can't get a seat for one of my partners/contractors unless either they or I am willing to invest to get them into the Apple ecosystem. Not a problem internally for my company, but it is a limitation that can best be described as the blessing and curse of Daylite. I am certain that if it was a web-based or cross-platform software, it would not integrate as tightly and there would be more performance issues. Its not something that I consider a fatal flaw as I am fully invested in the Apple ecosystem, but is a limitation for scalability. In the few instances where I have had a support issue come up, I'd place MarketCircle's support team right at the top of software support teams that I have ever dealt with. They spend the time necessary to understand the problem, find the solution, and communicate fully and quickly. What more can you ask for? If you are looking for a small/medium-sized business CRM that (for my use case) far exceeds the usability and functionality of Salesforce at a fraction of the cost, and you are committed the the Apple ecosystem, I cannot recommend Daylite highly enough.

Pros

It is tightly integrated with Apple hardware and software, so it just works the way that you need and expect it to. This is a truly full-featured CRM/project management system/opportunity tracking system that is capable of the configurations, customizations, and integrations of systems that cost 3-4 times as much.

Cons

The blessing and the curse is that it is Mac-only. That makes it able to work as well as you'd expect a native Mac app to work, but it obviously limits your hardware choice and eliminates the possibility of sharing the CRM cross-platform. The performance and stability gains are well worth it in my opinion, but it is nonetheless a limitation.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Daylite for Mac

If you are looking for a small/medium-sized business CRM that (for my use case) far exceeds the usability and functionality of Salesforce at a fraction of the cost, and you are committed the the Apple ecosystem, I cannot recommend Daylite highly enough.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Marketcircle


Thank you so much for your review, Jason :)

Read more
Howard Holtzman

Best Information Manager Available

22/12/2016

I've been using Daylite since 2004 and it has been a great asset to our business. Specificity there is no better way to keep track of your relationships. The only thing we would like to see, is an easier way to track Text Messages.

Pros

Great customer support.

Cons

A bit slow to come up with new functionality.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Daylite for Mac

I highly recommend Marketcircle's Cloud Service

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael Prager

Happy customer

22/12/2016

I don't need to say a lot. I would, and do, recommend Daylite to friends seeking a Mac CRM. I think the product is good, and the support is fantastic.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andrius Keblas

Great CRM for SMEs

22/12/2016

We have been using Daylite for all our marketing activities as a CRM and it has been fantastic! Probably the best thing about it is its functionality and features - every company can mould it to its needs and make it as simple or as complex. The only thing that could be improved is customer support, since the company is based in the US, it lacks timely support for Europe-based companies.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Marketcircle


Thanks for the review Andrius! Just to clarify, we're in Canada, not the US :)

Read more
Max Black

Unique and effective

21/12/2016

Great product but it does have some functionality issues and isn't as effective as it should be via mobile device.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Patrick van Rosendaal

Great product & excellent service

21/12/2016

After 2 years of use, I cannot imagin my biz without Daylite. Very user friendly, great tech support and great add ons avaible from iOS xpert.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sara Samplawska

My workflow nirvana

21/12/2016

I've used Daylite for many years (long enough to remember how excited I was when Daylite Touch came out) and although the set-up took some brainstorming/planning because there is a myriad of possibilities for workflow management, it was well worth the investment. This product is versatile, robust and accommodating. I use it primarily for GTD and project planning for my accounting practice. It is my one-stop shop for organizing my time, tasks and deliverables. The customer service over the years has been improving with its response-times and helpfulness. It was great when I first started using Daylite and has exponentially improved since then. I cannot imagine my practice without Daylite.

Pros

Flexibility, endless set-up possibilities, offline access, task management abilities (keywording is awesome)

Cons

not being able to have activity tasks auto-start at a certain date without setting up a task as a reminder

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Daylite for Mac

It is definitely a more steep than average learning curve but well worth it in the end to spend the time.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Reid

Using Daylite (and replacing the rest)

08/12/2016

In the past I have tried a number of software solutions. I've used other CRM's along with TODO list apps. Daylite allows me to keep everything in one place and basically use just one app for managing relationships as well as email (on my desktop), projects, tasks, my calendar and more. No more jumping from one app to another - it's all here. Basically every bit of information about a client can be linked. The forms and reports are incredibly useful and it's the only CRM I have found that allows me to link and show important items in my Apple Calendar (without having to use Google Calendar.) Now scheduling is a breeze.

Pros

I love the integration. When using the desktop app I can link everything and see the relationships right away. I use it as a smart contact list, a project planner, a reminder system - and even very simple finance tracking. The learning curve has been fairly easy and I have to be honest, I appreciate Marketcircle's videos as well as the user guide when I get stuck.

Cons

The only 'wish list' item I have is for Daylite's mobile app to allow linking incoming emails with contacts and organizations. Other than that I can't think of anything else I want it to do.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Daylite for Mac

Daylite is a Mac only app - but if you're a Mac user this is the CRM to take a serious look at.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Darren Woolley

An very easy to use workflow / project / relationship management system for Mac OS

06/12/2016

We have been using an automated marketing system to generate leads through our online inbound marketing, but the conversion of leads into projects and the management of the delivery of the projects was ad hoc and disjointed. We decided to implement Daylite as most of the consultant base was mac OS users either laptop, iPad or iPhone. The system provides us with a single end to end solution from lead to invoicing and everything in between meaning it is something you find yourself using every day.

Pros

Very easy to use interface and comprehensive collections of data to manage leads out of Sharpspring and then track and manage those leads through conversion, project delivery and invoicing. It provides us with an end to end solution to manage our resources, costs and customers.

Cons

Not all of the team has Mac OS, except on their phones. This becomes a limitation.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gregory Marchese

A wonderful mac and ios CRM.

03/11/2016

The app is a great tool for shared colloboration, with an easy to use shared contacts, objectives, calendar and tasks list. For a sales team, this is an excellent tool for keeping all members working off one database. The app syncs a copy locally, so you can work offlien as well.

Pros

This app is being used to track leads, and tasks associated with the leads.

Cons

Custom reporting is a little difficult to setup, but hopefulyl you have an admin or analyst who will set it, and you wont need to touch it again.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jim Callahan

Daylite 6

03/10/2016

Overall, Daylite 6 seems to be just the ticket for our size company and my particular needs. They have a ton of training videos, although I think they are a little to generic. As a first time CRM user, I had a hard time getting my head wrapped around the "what's the first step to take in getting started" part, but since I have been working it for about 8 weeks now it is starting to make more sense. They should do a video entitled, "Here's how to begin using Daylite."

Pros

I like the way it integrates with Mac Mail, Calendar, and Contacts and ties them all together, and especially like the Projects segment, although it too, needs a better tutorial.

Cons

Wish the difference between Tasks and Wordlist items was a little better defined, and the section on Opportunities. Also a way to have better view of "what I've got in the works" would be helpful.... to see it in almost more a calendar, or list view would be good, although maybe that I just haven't gotten there yet. Bottom line is I'm still going month-to-month until I see if this is the one.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Daylite for Mac

Try it out on the trial and then go month-to-month, it takes a couple months of working with it, getting it all down to really evaluate it's effectiveness for your sales.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Syd Chesson

A great product. Great value for the price.

13/09/2016

Pros

Functionality is great. Able to easily operate for 100 staff members on projects and time management and to manage 10,000 contacts. Direct filing of emails from Apple Mail to client contacts and projects. Great training aids, videos. able to be implemented across diverse sectors of the business.

Cons

The only difficulty is getting staff to keep all contacts up to date.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Daylite for Mac

Try it with the free 30 day trial and you will find it is great.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael Cary

Daylite = worth checking out but buggy

06/07/2016

Pros

The product is quite configurable and the design is well thought out and creative.

Cons

The software, especially iOS software but Mac included, crashes all too often. The night side is that I have not lost any data due to a crash. Their tech support seems to try to be helpful, but problems seem to take a really long time to get resolved.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Daylite for Mac

All in all I recommend trying this out- even with the software bugs, when it works it works very well and is superior to many other CRM software in the market.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Donovan Dikaio

Daylite 6 is Fantastic

18/05/2016

Pros

Daylite is extremely fast and responsive, transitioning from a web based CRM to a native CRM on OSX has been a great experience for us.

Cons

The only problem I've had with Daylite in the past is licenses would stop working and that would create problems with other users trying to connect to the database. The problem no longer exists with Daylite 6. The biggest problem I see with daylite is with plugins, you left with having to deal with companies like IOSExpert who make plugins for daylite. This company is based in Germany and rarely responds to support inquiries even being a paid subscriber of the product and a paid support user. Daylite needs to have a list of supported plugins that either they design or sign off with as a complete compatible plugin but as is we're left with dealing with awful support and mediocre plugins from developers like iOSXpert.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Daylite for Mac

Download the 30 day trial. I think you'll be impressed with Daylite.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rahim Mohamed

Life Changer

03/11/2015

Using Daylite and the accompanying apps has really enhanced my productivity and helped me manage my time better. With almost all my communications and new business coming through my email accounts, Daylite Mail Assistant can help me organize my business and personal life all from Apple Mail. I can keep track of emails, notes, tasks associated with projects, tasks and meetings and plan for the future to ensure I am making the most of my time each day. Highly recommend Daylite. Worth every penny.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tomas Janzon

A great tool for an independent musician.

18/10/2015

Daylite makes it possible for me to handle several international tours and composing and recording projects at the same time. A great tool for an independent musician.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more