Fons Features

Fons

Scheduling & payment software for appointment-based business

4.85/5 (66 reviews)

Fons Feature Summary

  • Online registration
  • Payment processing
  • Recurring appointments
  • Online scheduling
  • Public calendar availability
  • Family management
  • Customizable cancellation policy
  • Group appointments
  • Timezone detection
  • Automatic appointment reminders
  • Calendar sync w Google & iCalendar
  • Create invoices
  • Customizable Billing Rates
  • Recurring appointments, billing & invoicing
  • Registration management
  • Subscription services
  • Transaction history
  • Calendar website integration
  • Availability management
  • Appointment management
  • Class scheduling & management
  • Billing & invoicing
  • Automated billing
  • Staff Feature
  • Personalized client profiles
  • Instructor / tutor scheduling
  • Reservation management
  • Billing rate management
  • Customizable billing
  • Email invitations & reminders
  • Visual billing reports
  • Automated ACH & credit card processing
  • Client & family management
  • Client management

Competitor Feature Comparison

ACH Payment Processing
Appointment Management
Automated Billing
Availability Management
Billing & Invoicing
Billing Rate Management
Calendar Management
Calendar Sync with Google
Class Scheduling
Client Management
Email Invitations & Reminders
Email Templates
Instructor Scheduling
Invoice Management
Personalized Profiles
Recurring Billing
Registration Management
Reminders
Reporting & Statistics
Reservations Management
Role-Based Permissions
Student Management
Transaction History
User Management
Website Integration
Visit WebsiteCompare App
ACH Payment Processing
Appointment Management
Automated Billing
Availability Management
Billing & Invoicing
Billing Rate Management
Calendar Management
Calendar Sync with Google
Class Scheduling
Client Management
Email Invitations & Reminders
Email Templates
Instructor Scheduling
Invoice Management
Personalized Profiles
Recurring Billing
Registration Management
Reminders
Reporting & Statistics
Reservations Management
Role-Based Permissions
Student Management
Transaction History
User Management
Website Integration
Visit WebsiteCompare App
ACH Payment Processing
Appointment Management
Automated Billing
Availability Management
Billing & Invoicing
Billing Rate Management
Calendar Management
Calendar Sync with Google
Class Scheduling
Client Management
Email Invitations & Reminders
Email Templates
Instructor Scheduling
Invoice Management
Personalized Profiles
Recurring Billing
Registration Management
Reminders
Reporting & Statistics
Reservations Management
Role-Based Permissions
Student Management
Transaction History
User Management
Website Integration
Visit WebsiteCompare App

Fons Feature Reviews

25 reviewers had the following to say about Fons's features:

Peter Metzger

Perfect marriage of appointment scheduling and invoicing

2019-03-01

Recurring automatic payment based on actual appointment usage is brilliant.

Pros

Killer feature for me is the ability to schedule recurring package purchases that are automatically billed when the previous package runs out.

Cons

I wish it had more bookkeeping functionality, more customizable reports, ability to record expenses, etc.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
(Professional Training & Coaching company, 1-10 employees)

solid company, still optimizing their product

2019-04-08

After reviewing several scheduling options, this one did not make the cut due to low integration options and lack of 2-way google sync.

Pros

The client and program management features are particularly helpful.

Cons

However, the biggest issue is 2-way sync with google calendar.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Free Trial

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

4/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Fons


Hey there! Thanks so much for the review and the feedback. It sounds like the big feature you are wanting is integrations with other services. We'll be offering a robust suite of integrations very soon! We opted to hold off on integrations until we pinpointed exactly how our platform would best serve our customers, and could identify which integrations would be most beneficial. We'll hope to chat with you again in the near future!

Read more
Steve Eulberg

The right tool for the job

2020-04-02

Smoothing the scheduling and payment for my music studio.

Pros

This is the third on-line scheduler that I've used, the only one with built-in payment and it is the most affordable, most responsive and easiest to manage.

Cons

Having more than one marketplace that is outward facing that separates individual lessons from workshops and consultations is a wish.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lindsay Rinaldi

Fons Is Great!

2020-05-15

Pros

My school is new to Fons and we are continually impressed with the level of customer service.

Cons

limitations in reporting and attendance records

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stuart Scadron-Wattles

Easy to use client interface

2018-04-18

Pros

Scheduling lessons is quick and intuitive. Payment system works well and transparently.

Cons

It needs to be able to display different venues for separate appointments. The calendar selection does not show day of week.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tom Sitzler

Fons for music instructors

2019-07-19

The biggest part that i am solving is payments. With the auto pay function, I no longer have to keep hounding clients to pay their invoices!

Pros

My favorite part of this software is the accountability component. It makes the clients take that extra step to confirm appointments, making sure they remember.

Cons

The interface of the calendar is a little lacking and I cannot change the size of the calendar slots like in google calendar.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dawn Murray

Elegant and intuitive!

2018-07-26

Pros

Customer support, professional design, reasonable fees, everything is seamless, reduces admin time significantly

Cons

It's difficult to convince some clients to trust a system that saves billing information and charges them if they don't come to scheduled appointments. ( this is my policy, And it's much easier to enforce with this system)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Katie Levine

Fons Review

2018-09-16

Fons allows me to invest my full energy into teaching my students when we have our lessons, rather that spending time and energy discussing policy and payment. My relationships with families of my students have been greatly improved because of Fons!

Pros

Fons automatically bills clients on a per lesson or monthly subscription basis, it has been really great to not have to keep track of forgetful clients and chase payment.

Cons

The processing fees are more than worth it for the time I save, and the ease of use of this program!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jerry Trzeciak

iROCK Music School

2019-04-15

They take on board feedback and do great things with it to make the product even better.

Pros

This platform is easy to use and so professional looking.

Cons

Integrated payment system is so good.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jonathan Blakoe

Great Scheduling tool & platform

2019-09-08

We have been using Fons for several months in our music related businesses, it's been a great experience so far, keep it going !

Pros

We love how easy it was to set up, the interface is easy to use, there are several possibilities of automating and integrating the key functionalities, and the pricing is reasonable.

Cons

I don't think there is anything specific we disliked about Fons, it's a great service overall and happy to keep using this in our business!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Fons


Thank you so much for your review., and we're so glad that you're enjoying Fons. Feel free to keep us posted if & when you come across something that could use improvement, or if you think of a feature you could use! So much of our design is coming straight from our users. We appreciate you big time.!

Read more
Karin Wilcox

Best Customer Service I've Ever Experienced

2018-11-08

I'm using them to set up client management and billing for my voice studio.

Pros

Beyond having a really intuitive user interface, they have some of the best, most personal customer service I've ever seen.

Cons

I have no complaints. Any additional functionality I'd like, they are already working on.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Free Trial

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Diane Whitfield

very easy way to schedule lessons

2018-08-09

Pros

See open slots, check your calendar, make a reservation for a spot, and then get an email confirming that you have it.

Cons

It seems very easy to use.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rob Hampton

I no longer dread billing my students.

2018-09-17

Now my calendar is synced with my students, and the billing happens behind the scenes.

Pros

Not spending six hours at the start of every month calculating and emailing invoices to each of my students.

Cons

A minor gripe: I'd like to have access to a record of each email Fons sends on my behalf.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Xavier Suarez

Appointment based business automated

2019-10-09

Every time something has been wrong or I have had a question the team is always there to answer and they are real people, which is really cool.

Pros

Fons keeps track of how many appointments you have had with that client and leaves the guessing game of how long was each one and how many in the past, because they keep track of all of that.

Cons

I think I would like to be able to enter more of my clients information, specially if they have more than one kid, I would like to enter that information myself because parents are a little lazy doing this.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Fons


Hey there Xavier. Thank you so much for this review! We are so happy to hear that you're enjoying Fons. More importantly, we appreciate your feedback on what you'd like to see. We're working on a way for you to add more client information yourself, it's a great idea. Thanks again!

Read more
Allie Tyler

Amazing software & even better customer service!

2020-11-07

Fons is the best platform for ease of scheduling, invoicing, offering many pricing options & subscriptions, and CUSTOMER SERVICE!

Pros

I love the ease of client booking, options of subscriptions and packages, and the interface of the software.

Cons

My phone calendar stopped syncing with the app (likely my phones issue and not the app).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Pieter Drummond

Game Changer

2020-03-08

Before Fons I had to trudge through tracking Billing.

Pros

Fons has been a game changer for my educational consulting tutoring service.

Cons

Then they added a new feature to prevent this error from happening in the future.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Katie Keefe

Easy to set up, even easier ongoing use, and amazing customer service

2019-11-09

Every time I have a question I get clear directions, an offer to help, and an offer to call.

Pros

Straight forward, streamlined, intuitive design, and so easy to use.

Cons

This software and customer service team has saved me a ton of time, and I just really can't think of anything I don't really really like.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jessica Risinger

Game-changer

2020-08-03

Fons has the best customer service of any company that I have worked with before.

Pros

The ease of billing and tracking my customers payments is so valuable.

Cons

At first the various billing options were a little hard to figure out, but customer service helped me to figure out just what I needed.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Fons


Jessica, thank you so much for this review. We absolutely appreciate it, and are so glad you're enjoying Fons!

Read more
Shannon Ninburg

Fons has made scheduling so easy

2018-08-08

Pros

I can see the calendar of possible lesson times, and his teacher can approve of them directly.

Cons

Credit card transaction fees seem a little high

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Fons


Thanks Shannon, for the awesome review! Unfortunately, the credit card fees are from our processor, but as the client you shouldn't have any fees, if you see something different please let us know.

We are busy improving the client-side for an even better experience! If you have any ideas we would love the feedback:)

Read more
Sharissa Reichert

I LOVE FONS!!!

2019-03-01

Easy to use. Easy for my customers​ to use.

Pros

I also love the notifications that I get when I get a deposit.

Cons

No cons. I like everything about the system. I really have no complaints or issues.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lisa Radtke

Just What I Needed

2019-11-02

Payments are automatically done so I never have to ask twice for payment, it just shows up.

Pros

It solves my problem of creating invoices and hoping that payments come in.

Cons

Each month so far I've had to get help with some aspect of my getting payments.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Melinda Schreffler

Great customer service!

2020-05-01

Pros

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and the Fons team were prompt and informative in answers to our questions. They also implemented specific functionalities we requested that are important to our organization.

Cons

There are not as many reports available as in our previous software, but Fons is very open to suggestions and they are constantly adding new options.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael Pickett

great app!

2018-08-12

Would definitely recommend for small businesses who need scheduling and payment systems.

Pros

super easy to use for customers - intuitive, simple, clean, never have any questions

Cons

I'm a customer of the primary users

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Fons


Michelle, so awesome to hear from the client-side:) Thanks for the great review! We are working on the client-side experience, so stay tuned for a new release, soon. If you have any ideas of what you would like to see from your side, just let us know.

Read more
Brittney Thomson

Fons Is Life Changing

2018-09-15

Awesome.. can’t say that enough.

Pros

I have never heard a complaint for my policy since using Fons and never missed receiving a payment because Fons retrieves it for me.

Cons

I honestly have no real complaints.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Fons


Hey Brittney,

While we do have a ton of great easy to use features, everyone does love the automated cancellation policy. Whoa, $300-$400 a month from cancellations, you are now able to capture, that's amazing! We've had others tell us the same thing, but until you really start adding it up it's hard to imagine it would ever be that much. Great job & glad we could help! Also, thanks for the great review!

¿ Mica ~ Customer Success Team

Read more
Takashi Walker

Great Product

2019-12-05

Pros

easy to use, clean interface, great customer service

Cons

a little more options in regards to minor features, but they are working to add those features in the future.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more