Mobile Event Apps Reviews

Mobile Event Apps

Award-winning mobile apps for trades shows and conferences

Mobile Event Apps

Review Summary

Pros

I have a great experience working with Core-Apps over the last few years. Their customer service is wonderful.

Kayla F.

On the operations/logistics side: the Core-apps teams makes setting things up absolutely a breeze. They are fun to work with while being efficient and helpful.

Leigha S.

Team of customer support and tech staffs were fabulous to work with. They took all of our last-minute changes in stride and made us look good.

Paula H.

Cons

The landing page for the mobile app download prompts was a horrible user experience, however, we asked them to change it.

Amy H.

The app still has a lot of bugs in it on Androids. Our attendees have trouble figuring out how to do simple things because there aren't any directions they can follow.

Banai F.

I was the co-chair of the first genealogy conference to use an app. It was a risk because it was early in the adoption of iPhones and similar devices.

Paula H.

Overall rating

4.7

(65)

5

4

3

2

1

49

15

1

0

0

98%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


65 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Partners

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have used it for the last five years and will use it for this coming year. The Core-Apps team is second to none. They have come through for us even when we had a near disaster last year when our content provider could not provide Core-Apps with our event data electronically. This meant that the technical team at Core-apps had to juggle personal commitments with our schedule to get us live in time for the event kick off. So although this review is supposed to be about the app, it is the support behind the app that matters. The app itself is rock-solid and there is not much to say about it except it works (well).

Pros

Ease of use. The end users at our conference rarely come to us at the event to ask us how to use the app. For me that is simple proof of its intuitiveness.

Cons

I work on getting the content to the app. Typically we have a third party that provides the information and when the integration between the two systems works it works very well. Last year though we had an issue that was not Core-Apps problem but both Core-Apps and I had to struggle to manipulate the data manually. Not fun! In fact somewhat of a near disaster though, again, this was not due to Core-Apps. So what I like least about the software is that there is no work-around to manipulating data. Working from spreadsheets is ok prior to going live. Editing information in many spots is laborious and can be mind boggling.

Vendor response

Thank you for the kind words! The data manipulation issues are real, we have over the last couple months created some ability to make your life easier next go around. Make sure you talk to your project manager for details.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Core-apps offers exceptionally responsive customer service.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Able to solve complex event structure issues while delivery exemplary customer service to our event organizer clients. Always feel that Core-apps has our backs and that any challenge can be mastered - or at least, dealt with.

Pros

Very stable, very configurable. Handles complex integrations well and allows for inevitable inconsistencies in source data.

Cons

Could improve metrics portal, but we understand that desired metrics are a moving target... Admin areas could also use some improvement.

Vendor response

Thank you for the feedback Steve! It is always great to hear about positive experiences with our technology. We continue to improve our features and functionality and appreciate that you recognize our ability to solve complex problems.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

App Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy way to navigate a conference, and becoming the environmentally friendly choice

Cons

Too many reminders/notifications, time slots and actual session times differed, not enough customization

Vendor response

Sorry to hear there was not enough customization and the session times were off. We strive for continuous improvement and client communication is an important part of that process.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Core-apps for Trade Association

Reviewed 2 years ago

We stopped printing an on-site guide now that we use a mobile event app. There was very little grumbling from the attendees with this switch. We also needed to provide technology that attendees are used to when attending other conferences. We have a small team and rely heavily on the Core-apps team to be the technology arm for our conference.

Pros

This app is easy for attendees to use. The functions seems intuitive for my members as I rarely received questions on how/where to navigate. So far as I know, the app performed as it should for each of the conferences we used it for. On the operations/logistics side: the Core-apps teams makes setting things up absolutely a breeze. They are fun to work with while being efficient and helpful. I can't recommended them enough.

Cons

I feel we get good value for what we pay for yet I have wondered why apps are as expensive as they are. I realize everyone need/wants to make money. It would be lovely if the pricing would be bit less. For a small trade association, it's a big price tag.

Vendor response

Sounds like we need to get you a sponsor through our Amplify offering!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great customer service

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall we appreciated the great customer service and high functionality of the app.

Pros

Though more expensive than the other bids we got for our academic conference, this app has the benefit of an API that pulls the information directly from our All Academic database. This meant that changes to the core system, therefore, are automatically populated in the app, saving us significant staff time. Speaker, schedule, and room updates are generated automatically in the app. The app included the full text of abstracts, lists of authors, and allowed the user to search and sort presentations by theme and type. It also featured My Schedule and My Favorites functions, which allowed participants to plan which sessions to attend in advance.

Cons

Searching for names on the app was not truly global. Some of our speakers found that their events did not all show in the search results. If we wanted their names to be searchable with the global search functionality feature we can support it here but it would slow down the app.

Vendor response

Over the past year we have worked to speed up search and provide greater coverage for speakers that are in the author blocks.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Integrations Specialists

Reviewed 2 years ago

Working with Core-Apps has been so much easier than our last few apps. The last few vendors took enormous effort on our part to load all the necessary data. Core-Apps has been much easier and, once set-up, is painless. From an external perspective, it's a better user experience all the way around.

Pros

We've integrated a number of systems into Core-Apps and all are working great, and it has been a very easy experience to work with the team. So easy, that I was worried we'd have a mess on our hands - but we didn't! Our support team is so quick, easy to talk to, gets things done quickly and are always here for us.

Cons

The landing page for the mobile app download prompts was a horrible user experience, however, we asked them to change it. They did it within days and now it looks great.

Vendor response

Glad we could meet your needs!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This team is AMAZING, we had some custom work completed and they were even willing to work overnight

Reviewed 3 years ago

This software eliminated many of our attendees worries from previous app experiences. We had the benefit of completely customizing the software to meet the needs of our event.

Pros

Ease of use, flexibility, ability to completely customize the product to fit our needs. This team was willing to go the extra mile in customizations. They allowed us to use the product in ways it had never been used.

Cons

Reporting could be enhanced by creating additional functions within the product. Reporting seems to be limited, however this is also an area I need to explore more with additional features that will be utilized in upcoming events.

Vendor response

Thank you for the feedback Tara! It is always great to hear about positive experiences with our technology. We are always improving and feedback like this helps us achieve our goals of being the best event technology ecosystem for the trade show and event space.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We love CoreApps Mobile Event App

Reviewed 2 years ago

CoreApps Mobile Event App has been a wonderful on-site addition for our conferences. Attendees love having all the conference info - agendas, speaker handouts, business partner directory - right at their fingertips. The live push notifications are a great way to inform attendees about last minute schedule changes and we have been able to sell them to Sponsors to help offset the cost of the app.

Pros

The CoreApps software is extremely easy to use and the completed apps are great! We have never had any issues in the set-up phase that CoreApps was not quickly able to fix for us with their wonderful customer service. Our conference attendees rave about the app year after year!

Cons

Some of the Sponsorship opportunities get a little complex for our sponsors liking. The options available are great, but sponsors often do not want to put in the time to take advantage of them.

Vendor response

Thank you Sharon! We're glad that your event app continues to be well received by your audience!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Hard to Beat in Terms of a Conference AND Expo App

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It manages conference, events, and exposition content very well. I've never had an app that did all of it so seamlessly. Additionally, I strongly feel it is great value. I also really like the capabilities of starring your favorites, taking notes, and sending a post-show recap. Not only have I used Core-Apps from an organizer level, but also as an attendee and I found that feature very beneficial.

Cons

Navigating between show years is a bit challenging, though I'm sure that's a way to simplify it. I just haven't addressed it yet. It would be nice to also be able to edit an attendee's registration within the app itself.

Vendor response

We have several ways in which we can address this. Talk to your project manager and a solution can be found.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Core-apps is great!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Our attendees can see what everything we're offering at convention with a touch of their finger. They can create their own custom schedule including education and exhibitor visits and be as visible as they want to other attendees. The customer service is second-to-none. They are very responsive and available to make edits on the fly.

Pros

I appreciate that the software is truly turnkey. Many times in the past, I have had to spend hours working on the data to fit the box of the app provider I was working with. With Core-apps, we make sure the data is complete and accurate and they do the rest.

Cons

I wish the audience polling feature was included or less expensive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One year down. There were challenges but it was mostly good. Attendees liked it.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The end result looks good and it's fairly easy for attendees to use. It's customizable and flexible yet still streamlined. It has banner ads, push notifications, and the ability to add/delete/change buttons.

Cons

1. It doesn't handle names with accents well. They don't alphabetize correctly and you can't search for them. 2. There's an issue with sessions that have speakers with order numbers (as opposed to a roundtable where there is no numbering). Whe searching for a speaker, the app will list the speaker's presentation order number (e.g, 1, 2, 3, or 4) first, followed by the presentation title when in...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Exceptional Customer Service

Reviewed 2 years ago

I would say that our overall experience with this mobile event app was very rewarding. We could not have accomplish what we did without the excellent customer service and support provided to us for both occasions from team.

Pros

Using Core Apps for the first time was quite rewarding. In 2017, our agency was on the hunt for a product that would help to facilitate the unique needs of our Teacher Leader Summit; specifically, the ability to push out updates to participants in real-time and the need to filter the plethora of sessions in an efficient manner. The overall functioning of the app was met with rave reviews from participants so we were not hesitant to working with them again for our 2018 Teacher Leader Summit. The customer service and support that was provided to us, especially with some unique, challenging requests, were superb!

Cons

The setup to having the volume of session materials uploaded uniquely to function in the app was proven to be quite challenging--that was not necessarily solely on Core Apps; but, it was a process that was painstaking memorable.

Vendor response

Rene, we have further refined the feature you are using to make it easier this year!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Search Features not that great

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall it was a good experience. Our rep was very friendly and helpful. She was able to help us figure out some work-arounds. There was a lot of work just to get a task completed and not having the poster icon be able to search properly was a BIG problem on-site for us.

Pros

It is a good basic app. It can do all the things that every other app can do - lists speakers, exhibitors, attendees, sessions, etc. We were able to figure out work-around for our sessions. We needed to have our speakers listed in each session in the order of appearance and the Chair & Co-Chairs needed to be listed first. Normally this app lists everyone in alpha order.

Cons

You can't search posters/abstracts by multiple fields. You can only search by the title or poster #. We need to be able to search by author(s), title, category, poster # or institution. You can't upload your own spreadsheets. You have to fill them out and send over to Core-Apps for them to upload for you.

Vendor response

The search features you are looking for are in your app today, and depending on the complexity of your data you should be able to use our client importing tools!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

We've een working with core-apps for several years and generally happy with the app and the service.

Reviewed 3 years ago

We find the app very useful at our conferences. A lot of people use it and never look at our printed schedule. We also like the web version for those without smartphones.

Pros

In 2014, our other vendor broke the app with their bad info and the core-apps team worked hard to make our app work correctly the way we wanted. We see new features in the app probably every year.

Cons

The person in charge of the app the past two years screwed up the same thing both years. The rep this year was not very responsive or knowledgeable. We seem to get a new rep every year now. The app still has a lot of bugs in it on Androids. Our attendees have trouble figuring out how to do simple things because there aren't any directions they can follow. We had a couple years with improved ratings on our sessions and this year that just disappeared and by the time we can see that part of the app, it's really too late to fix it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Core Apps is a stellar app and so are the team members.

Reviewed 2 years ago

As stated before, excellent mobile app with great functionality. Our attendees were very satisfied with the ease of use, functionality and ability to navigate. The team was great during the proposal phase, functionality planning, content ingestion, supplier management, execution, and customer service. Great product, service and decent price. I would highly recommend this product and staff for your event.

Pros

Core Apps had all the features and functionality of the similar providers plus additional that others did not. The customer service from start to end was exceptional.

Cons

I had no complaints regarding the software or the company. They met all my requirements and were great to work with.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We're glad our team and technology was a 5 star experience!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Super easy, intuitive, great customer support when there are questions!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The software is so easy to use. Anyone can pick it up and instantly be able to find what they are looking for without a lot of learning curve.

Cons

It is so easy, show managers have a tendency to put too much on the dashboard thus, making everything harder to locate instead of easier.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback Andrea!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Useful App

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, this is a very useful tool to conferences and meetings. It allows attendees to have access to event schedule and information without having to carry around a large or heavy program. One of my favorite features is being able to send out notifications in the app. It has helped disseminate information to attendees in an easy and timely fashion.

Pros

The app is easy to use and Core Apps provides good customer support.

Cons

Some options are not as obvious: One example is when you create your profile, you don't see yourself listed and our conference attendees think something is wrong until we inform them you will not see yourself in "attendees".

Vendor response

We are working to redesign some of the networking features including profile to make them easier to use

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great event app

Reviewed 2 years ago

We've been using the mobile app for a a number of years now and I can't imagine not having it. Each year we utilize more of the features, for example this year we sent more push notifications and tried the beacons for a second time. We see usage grow each year as well.

Pros

The app is the first place I send attendees and staff for event information. The app holds everything and conveniently displays convention and trade show information in an intuitive manner.

Cons

The expense. Each year our committee asks questions about the cost, I do worry that they will ask us to shop around.

Vendor response

Thank you for your response Mary! We look forward to continuing to provide a feature rich event app experience for your attendees!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Core-Apps Team is easy to work with

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great team to work with, simple to navigate (in general), and good support.

Pros

Core-Apps is easily adjusted to meet the needs of whatever our organization faces and easy to adjust as items come up. That's the one thing I would say works best: ease of use and easy to update/change. Core-Apps support team is responsive and easy to work with.

Cons

We are switching to a new sessions management software, so this may be moot (we'll see), but the set-up for categories/tracks isn't that good - too much information. I'd like to see it sleeker/more scaled down so it's simpler for the users.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Core-Apps is the Go-To Conference App

Reviewed 2 years ago

I was the co-chair of the first genealogy conference to use an app. It was a risk because it was early in the adoption of iPhones and similar devices. Using the app put our conference — and our genealogical society — on the map and helped create our brand as a technology leader. In subsequent years, we saw several other conferences use Core-Apps as their vendor. But we were the first. Team of customer support and tech staffs were fabulous to work with. They took all of our last-minute changes in stride and made us look good. You can’t ask more than that from a vendor.

Pros

It was easy to use both as a conference planner as well as an attendee.

Cons

Seriously, there was nothing I didn’t like.

Vendor response

Thanks!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good customer service, but not the most advanced features

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

There are adequate customization options, like colors, icons, and layout. Being able to choose a background image and custom icons is also a plus.

Cons

Having to send app updates and content changes to a Core App team member who then had to update the app wasn't always the most efficient way to handle changes and was somewhat time-consuming. I'd like the ability to update certain content myself rather than having to go through someone else.

Vendor response

Thank you for the feedback Natalie! It's constructive feedback like this that helps us optimize our products and features for our clients and their attendees.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

It has made coordinating speakers and sponsors much easier and saved time

Reviewed 3 years ago

Time saving and providing conference attendees with a way to manage the conference

Pros

Being able to manage speaker confirmation, uploading of bios, photos and presentations and agenda to the app

Cons

The software isn't a problem, I would say that support staff do not always communicate adequately and make errors. They also seem to have a high degree of turnover so you start with one person and get transferred to someone else to complete.

Vendor response

Thank you for the feedback Sue, it's constructive insight like this that helps us to optimize our features and customer experience.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Getting better every year!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I appreciate the responsiveness of the team at core-apps in making our mobile app unique to our event. Also, they have worked with us to create specific content that works for our organization's needs. Their help desk is excellent and very quick to reply and very knowledgeable.

Cons

There are some very minor issues with non-changeable color choices that are difficult for some older attendees to see clearly.

Vendor response

We have a redesign of the user interface to help with this issue.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I've checked out many other apps and none seem to have all the features as this one!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Helps us communicate with our attendees easier and got rid of the big printed convention program book!

Pros

Ease of use, interface, design, customer service, ability to create your own schedule, and least inexpensive of all other products I checked out!

Cons

Photo uploads needs a bit of improvement. Would love a way to download all the pics at once, when the event is over (as an administrator on the back end).

Vendor response

Thank you for the feedback Janet! We continue to use insight like this to improve our products for our valued clients!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We've used Core-apps for two years and it's truly turnkey. I recommend it to peers frequently!

Reviewed 3 years ago

I don't spend days working on our event app anymore! The customer service is top notch!

Pros

It's truly turnkey. I don't have to re-work my data to fit a convoluted template. The customer service we have received has been wonderful.

Cons

A feature we removed from the app last year was left on the app this year which caused some confusion for our attendees. It was resolved/removed quickly.

Vendor response

Thank you for the awesome feedback Christi! We think you're top notch too and look forward to continuing to help.!

page 1 of 3