App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Lightspeed POS Logo

Lightspeed POS

Point of Sale, Online POS & ePOS System, Restaurant Software

see alternatives

Lightspeed POS Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.4

/5

120
90%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.94/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

Glad we moved to this POS system and better in terms of accounting that it has ever been for us. It is really functional and all team from different ages found it great and easy to work with.
User friendly, easy to use, accessible, great support, great features. Set up was quick to get the system up and running to be able to generate sales, and we haven't had any glitch to date.
The support is amazing, we really love the features and the extra add ons tht are free are amazing. The integration is also great and getting better by the day.
Poor EFTPOS integration, buggy and slow once many orders are entered, very weak timeclock integration, very poor check splitting feature.
There are some features that are missing that we as a business require.
The fact you need to add a new register to have an additional device seems ludicrous to me and I would beleive would limit your customer base.

Lightspeed POS users...

Lightspeed Retail-logocaret
listing-logo

Lightspeed Retail

Aloha EPOS-logocaret
listing-logo

Aloha EPOS

How would you rate Lightspeed POS?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


120 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect POS

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have been using Kounta in our cafe for over 6 months and it is fantastic. Easy to edit, easy to use and cost effective. New staff tend to pick it up and are using it without much support within a few days. The access to information is really good and the reporting tools are spot on. Highly recommended!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

So far so good

Reviewed 4 years ago

Already listed in my response.

Pros

User friendly, easy to use, accessible, great support, great features. Set up was quick to get the system up and running to be able to generate sales, and we haven't had any glitch to date.

Cons

There still are some options we're missing, but ideally would like to have. Our products do come with quite a few options, and it's time consuming to browse through those options. As much as it's partly to do with getting used to the system and the how we structure the system, I believe a lot can still be done and made accessible by Kounta to enhance usability.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My experience with Kounta POS

Reviewed 5 years ago

Thanks to the great resources and easy to follow guides found in Kounta TV & Kounta Support Setup Videos, I didn't even have to call customer service for tech support to setup my initial kounta program. It was up and running in minutes for me.

Pros

It is an easy to understand system that a no technical background person can set it up easily. Its features are well thought out which easily enhance the confidence of any front counter staff that use them for the first time.

Cons

Every software has its weaknesses, however, it seems that improvements (new releases) are consistent. That helps in this face paced hospitality industry.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very Easy to Use and Set up

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Software is super easy and user friendly. We were able to organise the set up all in house saving us money!

Cons

sometimes there are little glitches - but a quick email to support can sort these out

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

AWESOME CLOUD BASED APPLICATION FOR THE INEXPERIENCED

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

This is a very easy POS to use, all cloud based so access at any time is a cinch! for a newby in hospitality without any experience setting up a point of sale its been a relatively simple task. The access to support staff is very good however expended communication hours would be a benefit for the busy people who work on this stuff at night time.

Cons

Haven't come across any yet! if there is one thing so for it's integrating add on's, seems to be a little confusing! but i'm sure that is largely due to my inexperience.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

FANTASTIC ADDITION TO OUR POP-UP SHOP

Reviewed 4 years ago

Used for our Pop-Up store but now considering if we should change our current system to this - staff loved the ease of it as well

Pros

We've just finished running a month long Pop-Up shop and used Kounta on our Albert Merchant terminal device - easy to load & manage items and ease of functionality made it a fantastic addition and didn't take up a lot of space as a normal cash register - other merchants were impressed by it as well as they had never seen it being run on a merchant terminal

Cons

We didn't find any cons with the software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great to get going with!

Reviewed 4 years ago

We were setting up our business and required a system that was not overly complex, could integrate with our systems already in place, would not break the bank and was easy to use. Kounta and it’s integrations has answered all of what we required at a fraction of the cost of all other set up. The support has been great and the sale was helpful, not pushy. We’re very happy.

Pros

Mostly I love the ease of use of the system.

Cons

With our spotty wi-fi system, we’ve had moments of the system not talking to other components such as printers and cash drawers. But not particularly the fault of Kounta.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

easy to operate and intuitave

Reviewed 4 years ago

ten out of ten, can't fault it and will recommend it to absolutely everyone

Pros

Ability to do everything from scratch easily and without spending too much time learning the system, was then blown away by the back end tracking of sales by the hour and great for any off site managers or owners to see productivity and income in versus your wages expenses

Cons

Have not found any yet however we would like a "customer display" app of kounta to show what items are getting rung up before being asked to pay

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Buggy and lack of support

Reviewed 5 years ago

Worst POS system ever. I would give zero stars if I could. Service was dismal and a lot of bugs with the program. It seems like the program was half completed when it was released. While it might perform at a satisfactory level when the business is relatively small and not as busy, this software clearly cannot handle when we have over 100 covers per service as there was no bugs during our quieter...

Pros

Simplicity of the features and simple pricing structure. We were able to view all the reports remotely.

Cons

Buggy and full of errors especially during a busy restaurant service. Reports were insufficient and support was also unable to resolve the issues we were having.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Kounta Review Grazers Yorkshire Ltd

Reviewed 5 years ago

Having used Kounta for 4 months it is proving it's worth. Running the system on Jiffy Vans it allows me to be able to take card payments linked to an izettle card reader. It is easy to update, has a great range of back office information which can help with menu planning, logistics, cash reconciliation and more. Customers love the set up and are amazed when they see such a system on the vans. With regular updates and good customer support Kounta is now an important tool in my business.

Pros

Form, Function and ease of use

Cons

Can sometimes reload during transaction but it is very quick.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

great/easy/mostly simple

Reviewed 5 years ago

quick easy service, with less room for staff mistakes, easy tracking reports & streamline service.

Pros

easy to set up, basic steps guides to help you along. Adding photos of products is a great tool to help the staff learn where items are in the till.

Cons

Having to wait for a call back - sometimes we need to troubleshoot/fix our problems straight away. booking a call is sometimes for us inconvenient. Cash out with inter grated eftpos is too complicated and does not simplify it for my staff.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Kounta makes POS easy

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Kounta is simple to use, and mostly easy to configure. Being in the cloud alleviates the need for backups and facilitates easy changing of products or prices from any device any time.

Cons

Some functions are a little quirky. There are also some add-ons that should ideally be part of the core product such as more advanced reporting/analysis. Also creating sandpit copies of the company to test a complete redesign before implementing would be advantageous.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fast and efficient service for a complicated roll out.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Time saving, improve the professional profile of the store, reduces administrative burden for sales and support staff.

Pros

Data synchronicity of sales and inventory data. Ability to offer a smooth client experience when closing sales transactions in store.

Cons

Search functionality not strong enough to meet all the potential uses for search-ability within our code list. This is a factor of our unique category list which is much larger than the average hospitality client.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

great product, epic online support via chat, always help me out any time of day. c

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The support is amazing, we really love the features and the extra add ons tht are free are amazing. The integration is also great and getting better by the day

Cons

option sets and variants are hard to get your head around. that whole process of creating a special could be made into a much better user experience/workflow 'i want to make a combo special' - select this, then that, then this for example. The nesting and linking is very hard.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

New to KOUNTA

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have found the system easy to use and understand, the support is excellent and no question is a problem. When we needed a solution to a question the support went and found the answer then helped us to install the solution.

Pros

The system is very user friendly and setting up from scratch is easy and quick.

Cons

Some features are not very flexible, we use a rule for a discount period but can only select half hopur or hour blocks a user defined option would be great.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Kounta- great service, great team- a young company going places

Reviewed 7 years ago

Kounta has continually supported us from the initial set up in our retail stores to the continual development of the back office. Kounta has tailored its offering to suit our business needs and continues to take on board our feedback and our requests for newer developments. We have seen Kounta grow from a simple interface to a more well rounded solution. We find their support to be good. As our needs...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Kounta - so easy to use

Reviewed 5 years ago

We switched to Kounta from another cloud based POS system around 6 months ago. We are very happy with change and glad we made the move. The support team are great and always get back to you. The reporting isn't as good as our old POS however the team are working on this to deliver a new level of reporting in the near future.

Pros

Ease of Use User Interface Webinars & Customer Support

Cons

Reporting is limited. Don't like that you have to assigned a printer to each new product

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

GREAT POS

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Ease of use, layout, nice looking, fast,

Cons

Disappointed with the reports. It really doesn't suit for restaurants that go past midnight. So "Today" in reports includes after midnight of yesterday and before midnight of today. It would be nice for the reports to reflect the times we open. 6:00pm till the end of the shift, which is really when you do takings at the end of the day

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Kounta at The Top Shop Byron Bay

Reviewed 8 years ago

Moving from our clunky till system to anything new, we expected improvements. However Kounta totally exceeded all of our expectations and taken our super busy food venue to the next level. Our staff have been so enthusiastic to use the iPad based system and training them was very quick and easy. The Kounta interface is very easy to navigate and our staff are spending more time giving the customers quality personal service. The combination Kounta on iPads, with the speed it delivers, work flow improvements, and awesome reporting, have all combined to great effect. We have seen capacity grow, and sales increase to levels we did not think we could achieve.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Andy Great to hear you're enjoying Kounta and really appreciate the review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I think they have a great product in this Kounta POS Software

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The way it's continually developing with amazing features. It's like they are reading my mind; just as I think of something, it's being implemented.

Cons

That it does not support eftpos New Zealand, yet other than that, there is not a lot to dislike.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

So easy, efficient support

Reviewed 3 years ago

Glad we moved to this POS system and better in terms of accounting that it has ever been for us. It is really functional and all team from different ages found it great and easy to work with

Pros

Easy to use, easy to set up. Quick answers from support team and menus wntwred overnight with precision

Cons

Nothing at the moment despite using it for 5 months across 2 outlets

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This has been a very easy program to use and the help desk has been great

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

How easy it has been for my staff to use, the cost was a big factor when I chose to use Kounta as many over cost more and the support has been outstanding.

Cons

I need the ability to put notes with the end of day cash up, for Auditing purposes. It would also be good to have the finalised takings number on the end of day print out.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy to use and compatible with a lot of add-ons

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

very straightforward and easy to use. It is compatible with Boppl, and bump it which makes much easier for the kitchen to process orders

Cons

The inventory is a bit complicated, we have to add all the ingredient for every dish, I don't know if there are better inventory management software in the market, this one is complicated.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Does mostly what I need and the reports are good at a glance.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It is pretty easy to use? The reports are easily generated. The ability to add and delete products and group them makes the system simple to navigate.

Cons

Kounta will not connect to printers other than Epsom, therefore I can't print! Having to write orders when I have a perfectly good printer sat next to the register is frustrating.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

BEST POS I HAVE USED

Reviewed 5 years ago

I worked at Mcdonalds for 4 Years as a crew trainer and I found using Kounta on an Ipad Air was simpler and a better experience. Quicker and more customizable! There are some features that are missing that we as a business require. Quantity on the Tax Invoice is important for us to have for Corporate Customers!

Pros

Simple DIY Easy to Configure Awesome Customer Service

Cons

No Quantity on Tax Invoice