Little Green Light Reviews

Little Green Light Reviews

Little Green Light

Cloud-based donor management for super busy development teams.

4.67/5 (70 reviews)
528

rosie cobos

Clunky, skinny, but cheap

02/05/2017

Customer service is friendly but I don't like that I can't reach them immediately.

Pros

This is great if you are a smaller organization--maybe no more than 2,000-3,000 donors. It features basic gift entry, pledges, contact info, etc. If you are a nonprofit just getting started, this could work for you.

Cons

Not intuitive. Hard to learn. Tutorials are complicated. I've been working with it for 4 years now and still not sure how to run reports. Not robust nor intuitive. Our organization has moved past the effectiveness threshold of this product, and we are looking at others.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Endy Reindl

An Apt Fit for a Non-Profit

19/04/2017

Overall a wonderful program.

Pros

Ease of Access, Being able to setup multiple events, campaigns, etc. with seamless transition. Even though I have worked with other CRM's/Operating systems before I appreciate the startup/upload phase of data to be the smoothest to date.

Cons

I appreciate the ability to add almost unlimited amounts of data about a patron/consituent. It would be better if I could customize some of the titles as they do not completely apply to arts programs. I enjoy being able to filter through most options, would look for more development in mailings and e-mails.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
James Childs

Great product for the price!

01/02/2017

If you are looking for a cheap and inclusive system this is it! Can do almost everything you need! Some of the reasons we left was that it was limited in some functionality and the forms were not very engaging on the front-end. Also, the user-friendliness on the back-end.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Amybeth Hurst

Great service!

10/01/2017

At first, we thought it would be a basic database type CRM, since the price is so reasonable. We needed more than that, and we got all that we needed. The generation of the acknowledgments, reports and the batching couldn't be easier. And, I can't tell you how great the customer service is. Top notch.

Pros

The help/faq section, tutorials, etc. Everything you need to know is in there with great examples. It's extremely easy to figure out.

Cons

I haven't found anything yet, but it's only been a month.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Little Green Light

If you're a low volume user, keep up with the classes, tutorials. They're there, might as well use them.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kara Bundy

LGL has made my life so much easier!!!

29/12/2016

I converted my organization's database from FundRaiser in July and have not once regretted my decision. We previously tried to convert to a different database and after 2 days of on-site training with that company, I couldn't even locate a sample record. On the other hand, not only did I (and I'm not a tech person) migrate our entire database myself and merge additional Excel documents in, after only a couple of hours of reading instructions and playing around, I already understood not only how to locate a record but how to enter, report, send an acknowledgement, etc. I occasionally run into things that I can't figure out on my own or by reading the LGL blog but when I reach out to customer service, they respond so quickly and always are able to resolve my issue. I really can't think of anything that can't be done through LGL. We're so happy with it that we're now looking at integrating our payment processing and e-newsletter system so that we have the best data on our constituents possible. I cannot say enough good things about this product. For a small organization like ours with no tech support, this has been a blessing since it is so easy to use and so reasonably priced.

Pros

Ease of use, built-in reports, customer service

Cons

It takes awhile to figure out which fields to use for what but I think that would be the case for any software and depends on a lot on how you approach development

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Leah Knickerbocker

Best donor software for the price!

05/12/2016

We are a small nonprofit that didn't have a large donor base and didn't have a lot of money to spend on a database. We stumbled upon LGL and it was the best choice! It is very easy to use and modify to create fields specific to your needs. No setup fee, all cloud based, you can have as many users as you'd like and it starts at a monthly rate. It's awesome. We are a school, so we use it to track prospective students all the way through alumnae, families, donors, etc. It does it all for us. I highly recommend this to any small organization that wants to transition away from using excel docs to track clients & donors.

Pros

It's very user-friendly and is the best price you can get for donor software.

Cons

I don't really have any!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Little Green Light

I highly recommend this to any small nonprofit. It has so many great features and it's easy to run reports, create appeal letters, track email communications, etc. It also syncs with constant contact and mail chimp - so you can manage your email list too.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Patti Tullgren

If I could give 6 as a review I would

20/10/2016

After many donor management systems and many dollars, LGL is by far the best I have ever used. I would highly recommend giving it a try.

Pros

Ease of use customer support

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Natalie Ramos

Excellent software for donor management

13/10/2016

Used LGL to track and manage donations for a small non-profit. Great software, easy to use for donation tracking and mailing letters. Excellent customer support.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sarah Brown

If you're a nonprofit, you need this database software!

13/10/2016

As an experienced database manager, primarily using the most expensive software out there on the market (and those just below the price level), nonprofits need to consider Little Green Light as their software go-to. It's easy to use - from a novice to an expert - it makes all the sense in the world nonprofits needs to build, maintain and grow their database, it's cost effective and the support is instant. LGL is the database nonprofits have needed all along... but instead struggle to make a more expensive system work while pinching pennies to do good in the world. Their trial period is all you need to fall in love and make the switch! I would recommend LGL to anyone out there looking to build their nonprofit database - or switch from their current one to a new, more robust system that costs less but is as effective as anything out there.

Pros

It's easy. I'm used to a lot of additional gimmicks and fields that only make understanding more complicated in the end. LGL does everything a big database does but is so much simpler to understand.

Cons

From a small-medium size nonprofit, I don't have any complaints! For big nonprofits that may integrate with other database systems, this system may not be that product... outside of that, this system helps nonprofits do their jobs easily!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Little Green Light

The back-end system that's been built, the nonprofit/database/systematic knowledge that's gone into this system is to be applauded. What also should be applauded is the mindset of management/developers to produce a product that benefits the greater good. We all need products that make our world a better place and LGL most certainly does that from a business model. Bravo.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joe Sahd

Outstanding Product & Services!

23/09/2016

Our Advancement team is incredibly grateful for the fantastic product services and level of customer support with LGL! From pulling reports, to generating "thank you" letters, we are more effective at stewarding every single contribution, regardless of size, to allow our high school to continue serving our most important constituent group...our students! Thanks LGL!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cathy Singer

Best Donor Software Ever!

20/09/2016

I have assisted 2 nonprofits in switching to LGL. It was a huge undertaking with the first one, over 40,000 constituents and 350,000 gifts to migrate over. They helped me find a qualified consultant, and we accomplished it in a very timely manner. The end result is Fabulous! I would HIGHLY recommend for anyone looking for a flexible, all-encompassing software!

Pros

The flexibility of LGL to accommodate and streamline multiple softwares, such as volunteer software, grant software, donor software, client software, calendars, tasks, etc. LGL has been so helpful in suggesting solutions, and allowing us to eliminate several costly, single-use software products. Their support and help sections are unheard of! I have NEVER dealt with a company that is so prompt in their responses and so helpful. They have webinars and many video trainings available to do on your own time. And their cost is one-fourth of what we paid previously for our old dinosaur program. Queries and programs are very easy to use. Very modern look, totally customizable for your organization. You will be amazed at everything it is capable of.

Cons

The only thing I wish it would do is have an appeal performance report, and I believe that is in the works now.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Little Green Light

Look around at all the other software that is available. You will see that Little Green Light is an exceptional bargain for all that you get. We are currently tracking donations, volunteers, clients, and grants. Their prices are very fair for large companies with a lot of constituents, which is rare in this industry. We pay one-fourth of what we were paying previously. Our previous company's help was marginal, and they specialized in making you feel stupid when you contacted them! Not LGL. They are kind, honest and very informative. You get a free month trial with LGL, plus if you refer other companies, they reward you with credit on your account. It's a win-win situation all around.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Abigail Pribbenow

LGL Made My Day!

15/09/2016

Our public charter school is using LGL. We've had the subscription for a year but have only just begin to maximize our use of its features. Customer support has been so accessible and responsive as we've loaded our lists into the system.

Pros

The software is easy to use. Directions make sense and are not hard to follow. It feels as though it was designed by someone with a strong understanding of philanthropy and a very good sense of how to design a database that's easy for users to remember how to navigate.

Cons

I guess it would be better if it were free!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Little Green Light

I think this is a great database for a smaller development shop.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sarah Price

Versatile tool for a low price

14/09/2016

Pros

I enjoy using Little Green Light. It doesn't have all the functionality of other products, but it's very inexpensive, and if you are a smaller non-profit, this is a perfect database to use for your needs. It is very intuitive and easy to learn.

Cons

It doesn't have the full functionality of other, more robust, products.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

6/10

Recommendations to others considering Little Green Light

Make sure that this software will fulfill your organization's needs - if you have a smaller constituent base, and/or are a small nonprofit, then this will be perfect for you!

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tony LaMar

Great, simple to use. Been very happy with it.

06/09/2016

Pros

Price is reasonable and it doesn't take a long time to get it integrated into your system. Learning curve is very low. Great and prompt customer support via email. At first this was a turnoff, but they have answered questions in less than hour. Sometimes 5 minutes.

Cons

I do wish it had chat support. But the email support is fast enough.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Little Green Light

Make sure you utilize the support. They will answer any question you have.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sarah Panetta

GREAT donor database with top-shelf features for small budgets

29/08/2016

I've been a fundraiser for 25+ years, primarily with very large organizations (raising $100 million+ annually), and had an opportunity to use a range of nonprofit databases, including home-grown systems and some of the best-known products from large companies. I've been through database conversions on large scales (50+ users, 25,000+ records), and advocated for and managed budgets as a member of the management team. I chose Little Green Light (LGL) after researching options for a small nonprofit where I'm the executive director. (5000 records, 3-5 database users, $350k annual budget)

Pros

As a fundraiser, it's intuitive and has all the features I appreciate and need to support my moves management work. As the database administrator, chief data entry staffer, list- and report-creator and website integration specialist, it's intuitive with great customer service and on-line resources to allow me to meet our organization's needs. Given the opportunity, I would have selected LGL for my previous organizations. It's got all of the meaningful and useful features to support fundraising and data management needs without requiring us to pay for bells and whistles that sound great to upper management (and those who aren't on the front-lines for fundraising) but keep the majority of users from being able to take full advantage of the system.

Cons

There are a lot of great integrations, but since we don't use the bulk emailing products supported by LGL, we've had to try to create our own. We LOVE the ability to create web forms that integrate with LGL and the ease of adding them to our website, although sometimes figuring out exactly how to map the data is beyond us without a fair amount of trial and error. On the other hand, these are tasks I never would have attempted with other systems and that we're able to do without paying thousands of dollars to consultants - which is vital with our very limited budget. We've got access to big-budget possibilities and investing the time and energy generally makes them possible for us. That said, without experience working with bigger systems in the past, I'm not sure I would understand the opportunities or be able to figure out how to tap into them.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Little Green Light

I appreciate the fact that LGL has taken steps to make ancillary services affordable. For example, their partnership with ProPay to provide integrated credit card processing - and the ability to do so with a reduced transaction fee for nonprofits - has had a tremendous impact on our bottom line. Before LGL, our only options for accepting on-line gifts took 5%-15% off the top of each transaction; now we pay less than 3%, and many of our donors choose to cover the fee. (LGL's web form function makes it VERY easy to give donors that option.) I'm also grateful to have access to National Change Of Address (NCOA) processing for a very reasonable fee with a process that's straight-forward. Before LGL, our organization had never attempted NCOA and we were getting more and more returned mail with 10-year-old addresses on file. Often there'd be so much returned mail that we wouldn't have a chance to update all the addresses before sending our next mailing...meaning we were basically throwing printing and postage costs away. We paid $150 for our first NCOA and I know we earned that back immediately based on reduced printing and postage costs for the mailings that have followed.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tracy Mooberry

LGL-not quite robust enough

23/05/2016

Pros

I like it's importing flexibility...that is about it.

Cons

I really feel their customer support is very limited and not as available as it should be for such a limited database. No disrespect to the actual customer service technicians intended.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

4/10

Recommendations to others considering Little Green Light

I feel this is a good product for a smaller non-profit so would suggest looking toward the organizations future needs in respect to this database and its robustness.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Beth Zogby

Excellent Choice for CRM

20/10/2015

Little Green Light is so easy to use and access and input/export data, I can't say enough good things. Compared to homegrown systems I used at universities, or Raiser's Edge and Salesforce (used at other nonprofits), LGL was so intuitive. The staff are available across time zones to help, and they have a strong grounding in nonprofit work from their own careers. I highly recommend!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Katrina Folsom

Flexible, cost-effective solution with great customer service

22/07/2015

I've been a Little Green Light customer for 2 years and it has helped our nonprofit more effectively and efficiently manage data and cultivate relationships with our supporters. One of our key criteria was that our Executive Director--who is way too busy and not super tech savvy--be able to use it with minimal training or time. That has turned out to be true, and makes the rest of our jobs easier too. We especially like the quick, helpful customer service. LGL has even added reasonable features on request, which really makes them stand out compared to other donor databases that won't do it or charge high fees. Cons: there are just a handful. We knew going in that LGL doesn't support split gifts but planned to, and are a little disappointed that feature hasn't been added yet. Managing households can be a little tricky when it comes to email subscriptions and volunteer hours. And in some places (e.g. shared searches) the interface can be a little clunky. Overall, we're extremely happy with LGL's ease of use and excellent customer service!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Yaakov karp

A pleasure. LGL is efficient, smart and practical

17/04/2015

Pros

I like the clear instructions. It puts everything about LGL at my fingertips. I can easily track past interactions with donors.

Cons

I haven't found anything not to like. Although its different from my previous Donor software package, it compares favorably.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Little Green Light

Try it out for a few hours and you'll probably have the same positive experience I had.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
lian gu

It is a complete, easy to use, fundraising and data management tool.

16/03/2015

Pros

It is simple to use and powerful fundraising and data management program.

Cons

It can't provide more choices for different pricing options.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Little Green Light

Just try to sign in, set up an account, and use it to see if it fits your needs.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Scott Sciuchetti

Little Green Light Review

04/03/2015

Pros

It's easy to use and not expensive. Many of the other products require lots of training and cost thousands more.

Cons

It is a simple product. If you have thousands of names on your database, you may not be able to figure out all of the reports and segmentation you need.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

6/10

Recommendations to others considering Little Green Light

This is a great product for small databases. It is not the best for huge ones. You need to take account of your database, the growth you will achieve and the metrics you want to measure.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Marc Griesemer

Hi there good survey

27/02/2015

Pros

It has lots of pricing info and lots of helpful things.

Cons

It takes time to contact them and the customer service needs improvement.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Little Green Light

I would tell them that it has a large learning curve but you get good with time.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Karen Montgomery

Perfect solution for our small but growing nonprofit

11/02/2015

Pros

The best part about Little Green Light is their five-star customer service. When I can't find what I need in their extensive library of help topics and video tutorials, I just shoot them an email, and most of the time, I hear back the same day with an answer, a solution, or, on occasion, a fix to a bug I uncovered. (I was a software tester in a previous life.)

Cons

It's somewhat minor, but I wish the Forms editor provided a WYSIWYG interface.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Little Green Light

As a small but growing nonprofit, Every Child Fed needed a donor management tool that would grow with us, but fell within our current budget. The free options were either too complicated to customize for a nonprofit or lacked the functionality to track and report on donor engagement. Little Green Light offered us a cart full of functions at a price we could afford, and it's intuitive enough so that all our employees and volunteers can find the information they need. LGL will help you get your data imported and get up and running fast.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Krystle Contreras

Overall great experience. Easy to use, great reports

08/12/2014

Pros

It has been easy to navigate and train others to use. Since it is web-based, it is easily accessible.

Cons

I haven't found something I like least as of yet. I've been using the program for almost a year.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Little Green Light

Use the 30-day free trial to learn and access the LGL.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jenny Dixon

I use Little Green Light to send tax acknowledgments to donors.

03/12/2014

Pros

It has made my job easier! Once our Development department enters a donation, I use Little Green Light in the Finance department to print tax acknowledgments and envelopes quickly and easily. In the past, we had separate systems with multiple spreadsheets, and labor-intensive manual mailings. Now it's all on LGL.

Cons

Occasionally, I've had some trouble formatting a letter template, but customer service solved the problem.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Little Green Light

Try the software; explore it. There may be features you're not aware of yet.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more