This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Rapid Gun Systems Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

This is a great company to deal with. They have an amazing system that meets all of our needs.

SF

Stephanie F.

Very easy to use customer database. Tech support is amazing and one of the reasons we have a positive experience with Rapid.

RG

Rob G.

Lots of features love the reports I can run. I find it easy to use the customer support is awesome.

MD

Miles D.

Cons

When something goes wrong it is difficult to get back on your feet. It also can be confusing at times as well.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

The lack of ATF knowledge by Rapid during setup. Not being able to change things or update things without calling and getting charged to have the needed items changed.

IV

Irene V.

The "work around" for NFA items is disappointing. You have to put the item on layaway and Texas requires sales tax to be payable when collected, so the workaround is cumbersome and error prone.

DB

Dwain B.

Overall rating

4.5

5

4

3

2

1

16

8

2

0

0

92%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


26 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

We purchased this system not long after we purchased our store due to an inadequate system

Reviewed 4 years ago

increased efficiency. Excellent inventory control. Excellent serialized tracking methods.

Pros

The electronic bound book and gunsmithing modules. They have increased our back office efficiency.

Cons

The software itself is very good. What I like least is I do not think we were given enough instruction on its complete use. Therefore, I sometimes need to call the help desk for instruction on things that I probably should have known how to do and am charged a fee.

Vendor response

Fae, We are so happy that you are part of the Rapid Gun Systems family and we really appreciate the feedback. As you know, our POS solution is comprehensive and very robust. We agree that it takes time to learn all the ins and outs - and that even carefully planned coursework can't teach a user everything about a product in a condensed timeframe. We structure our education and training around the...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Rapid is a good system for Firearms sales and does a nice job of managing customers and inventory.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Noce customer management

Pros

The e4473 is a good feature however it is an add on. I like the DL scan feature and inventory module however I wish it was more powerful. Inventory management is good and fairly easy to use and the ability to put required fields is a plus. One of the best features is the multi gun email received when a person is required to have extra forms filed for their purchase. The ease of use in the fact that this fills out the for for you is also a great feature. Touch screen works well and is easy to edit and customize.

Cons

Screen size on the NCR POS is too small so you can not have a lot of buttons on one screen. The ability to edit price tags and label is an add-on feature that should be included with the software. For the price many of the optional features should be included like the advanced inventory module and the quickbooks integration. Training could be better and since you are buying the software and hardware...

Vendor response

William, Thank you for being a valued customer and trusting your business with Rapid Gun Systems. Your feedback is appreciated and assists us in becoming a better partner for you and all of our gun store customers. I have forwarded your feedback to our support team and they will reach out to address your concerns (including the possibility of upgrading to hardware with larger screens). We've also recently upgraded to a new version of Counterpoint which has an updated user interface and some new features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The software is clunky and awkward. Some actions take more steps than necessary and difficult.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It has the potential to do so much more than it currently is. It seems as if the developing and building process was done more efficiently, the program would be more of an asset.

Cons

There are many actions that are made more difficult than they need to be. I think other programs run smoother and are more user friendly. It takes a long time for our team to find solutions through the software. We are still missing components that would be important to running our business, such as the membership portal.

Vendor response

Aubrey, We very much appreciate your feedback and are hoping we can work together to ease the pain points that you are experiencing with the system. We often find that we can easily resolve issues with a quick call to the help desk. We also recommend setting up a system refresher course. It's fairly common that the longer a system has been deployed that more and more users have come and gone and...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

One of the best firearms software I have used thus far.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very easy to use customer database.

Pros

Software has many ways to search and collect data. Very easy to use customer database. tech support is amazing and one of the reasons we have a positive experience with Rapid.

Cons

Software is buggy. you need to follow a very specific processes to do things. If you get out of order the software will error or lockup. it's not as fluid as it could be. There are a lot of minor program changes if done would make the software so much better.

Vendor response

Rob, First, THANK YOU for highlighting your experience with our service/support teams. One thing that we believe truly sets us apart from our competitors in the gun POS space is our support. We hear all that time that we blow everyone else out of the water with our help desk and support. We believe that you shouldn't be faced with buying a product and then never getting proper service and support....

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

this system rocks

Reviewed 4 years ago

serious time savings

Pros

This has streamlined every aspect of the inventory, love having a true electronic bound book that makes it very easy to search for serial/part number

Cons

being on the east coast and having west coast support makes things difficult at times, we have done a few updates that left us down until noon or so over here due to timezone differences.

Vendor response

Mo, We rock, because you rock! Partners like you are the reason we love doing what we do every day. We are troubled to hear of the issues you've had getting in touch with our support team. It's surprising as we have a staffed support desk from 6amPT - 10pmPT, Monday through Friday. We open early to ensure that we have ample support for our East Coast clients. We also offer 24/7/365 support for...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The training/support staff are OUTSTANDING...

Reviewed 4 years ago

Simplifies our daily / monthly operations

Pros

1. Does our firearms bound book 2. Sales / taxes reports 3. Customized POS screen 4. Customer information

Cons

1. Only able to conduct certain actions on the POS screen and not in the office, ie. buy backs. 2. Going into sleep mode and having to log on the office terminals, or use user ID swipe cards only on POS terminal. 3. Unable to extend the time before going into sleep mode. 4. Should be easier to obtain simple inventory reports. 5. Item entries should also include Mfg and not just vendor for ease of reporting.

Vendor response

Rich, We LOVE to hear that you are having a great experience with our training and support teams. We pride ourselves on providing world-class service! We'd love to discuss the issues you are experiencing in more detail as some of them are compliance related and we unfortunately can't control (e.g. sleep mode functionality). Related to the reporting, we can customize any of the reports (and create new ones), we simply need the details of what you are looking for and we can build it. I've forwarded your feedback to our support team and someone will be reaching out to see how we can iron out the frustrations you are experiencing. Thanks for being a valued partner!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great system it really has grown into everything you need

Reviewed 4 years ago

Stream line

Pros

Electronic bound book, they really support the 2a community , touch screen is very user friendly, Intervration with our vendors

Cons

Tech support is in California when I can at 9am est with a emergentcy it takes 1-3 hours to get a call back

Vendor response

Joshua, We are pleased to read that you are enjoying all the features and functionality of Rapid Gun Systems. Our intention is (and always will be) to give our customers the best system filled with solutions to everyday pain points - and that includes exemplary customer service and support. Our promise to you includes on-call support staff 24/7/365, so that you never have to wait for our physical...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Customer Service, Easy to Use System

Reviewed 4 years ago

Speed, Reporting, User Friendly. almost to many benefits to mention

Pros

The Ability to customize almost anything, we have added so many customizations over the past year and will be adding many more in the future.

Cons

Needs a facelift on appearance other than that no other flaws, some of the forms and windows look a little out dated

Vendor response

Tony, Thank you for the glowing review. We value our partnership with Kentucky Gun beyond what words can express. Working with your team to develop customizations helps us provide a better offering to all gun stores that adopt that Rapid Gun Systems product. You'll be excited to learn that Rapid Gun Systems just went through a UI facelift to update our look and feel. We received a lot of feedback that the product was amazing but it felt the appearance was a little "too old looking". We heard it enough that we did something about it and now we'd love to share it with you and your team. Our virtual CIO will be reaching out to schedule some time with you to introduce the newest version of the product and to see if that is something you are interested in adopting. Cheers!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Lots of features love the reports I can run. I find it easy to use the customer support is awesome.

Cons

The learning curve for teaching new employees is a little strong. Wish there was a manual or additional training that was offered.

Vendor response

Miles, It can't get much better than an "Excellent" review! Thank you for trusting your business with Rapid Gun Systems! We agree that there is a learning curve and that with any robust system it takes time to learn all the ins and outs. Our training program is structured to get you up and running (on basic use combined with any additional module add-ons that you would extra training on). With...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

It nice to use and easier the more I use it

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The ability to be custom and make it my own and be able to make quick use for items I normally have to search for.

Cons

When something goes wrong it is difficult to get back on your feet. It also can be confusing at times as well.

Vendor response

Anonymous - we appreciate your review, but really wish we knew who you are so we could successfully address any challenges you are facing with Rapid Gun Systems. As you noted, the more you use the system, the easier it becomes. POS systems in general require training and practice in order to master, so it's important to remember that regardless of which solution you chose (in this case https://rapidgunsystems.com/),...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

The system is a lot more complex and non user friendly than it should be.

Reviewed 4 years ago

The interaction between the software and our accounting software was a great improvement over the previous way we did things. The reports are usually pretty good for sales and inventory, and were better than the previous way we did things.

Pros

I like that it can interact with our accounting software, it makes our jobs easier. Some of the reports are very useful for our daily accounting functions, but other reports are not always matching up as they should.

Cons

I dislike that it takes and arm and a leg to learn all the functionality of this software. They need complete training courses for everything in the software on their website or somewhere else.

Vendor response

Jon - we appreciate your feedback and are interested in hearing more about the issues you are facing with Rapid Gun Systems. As you know, we employ a Train-the-Trainer model, which allows us to work closely with 2-3 senior level folks. We rely on those folks to properly train the rest of your organization. While we find a high success rate with this approach, there are cases where the detailed training...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

DEPENDABLE

Reviewed 4 years ago

Better organized and electronic bound book.

Pros

Software is somewhat easy to use but took longer than expected to transition. Training was thorough and customer support is great. Nell was/is a great mentor.

Cons

The "work around" for NFA items is disappointing. You have to put the item on layaway and Texas requires sales tax to be payable when collected, so the workaround is cumbersome and error prone. Wish that the system was better for the NFA items.

Vendor response

Dwain, Nelle is a gem and we are so lucky to have her (and the rest of our service and support team)! I've forwarded your feedback to our team so they can address the issues you are experiencing with NFA items. As you know, Texas has some very specific requirements and because of this the standard layaway feature in Counterpoint isn't structured to recognize the sale until after the layaway has...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

No support after or before California business hours.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Use in store processing.

Pros

It looked good. It had a nice layout and colors. Quote function was nice. Liked Customer history functions. Customer service was nice and helpful but hard to get a hold of at certain times.

Cons

Sometimes it was hard to navigate to find what you were looking for. Had to open too many screens to get to something that should have been much simpler. Had to log on multiple times.

Vendor response

Dennis, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback - we very much appreciate it! As a company we pride ourselves on customer service, which is why we are committed to being available 24/7/365 to service our customers. We regret that you've experienced anything but perfection as it relates to our availability. If you aren't aware, we give each of our customers direct access to our president,...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The technical support team is great at fixing any problems we may have in a timely manner.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This software is easy to understand. It also has lots of options and categories to choose from which makes it very helpful.

Cons

This software does not allow us the option to change what we call "simple corrections" such as, Item Quantity and Last Cost. Once these and other selections have been made and saved there is no way for us to change them if there is an error. Therefore, we have a lot of DO NOT USE items in our system.

Vendor response

Janell, Thank you for taking time to make us aware of the "issues" you are experiencing. I have forwarded your review to our support team and they intend to reach out to your management team to see if we can get some additional training approved. Based on your feedback it seems like we can "fix" and course correct the problems you are experiencing. Please know that you can always contact our help desk/support team at 619) 754-4100 (prompt 3) and they will assist in any way. We find that many times the issues our partners experience are easily corrected (plus, we can instantly deflate any frustrations and anxiety). Let us help!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We switched from Celerant and we are never going back! Rapid has streamlined our processes!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Ease of use for gun sales makes this a no-brainer for any FFL. It has simplified our tasks from receiving all the way to disposition.

Cons

A better GUI would be nice to help with some of our users who are a little less tech savy and need it simple/stupid.

Vendor response

Christian, We are so happy that you made the switch (and even more thrilled that we've proven to you the value of Rapid Gun Systems!). As you know, we've invested a lot of thought into our solution and are excited to announce that we've recently rolled out a new user interface. We received a lot of feedback that the look-and-feel needed a facelift, so we did it! I've forwarded your review to our virtual CIO and he'll be reaching out to introduce himself and share with you the new interface, as well as discuss next steps if you are interested in adopting the updated version of the software. Thanks for being a valued partner!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good experience overall support hours with the time change difference could be improved

Reviewed 4 years ago

A quality POS

Pros

It's a Full featured system that leaves room to expand and grow with your business. It's really a good platform.

Cons

The learning curve and limited training that was provided makes it difficult to trim new hires on the system.

Vendor response

Matt, We appreciate you trusting your business with Rapid Gun Systems. We pride ourselves on providing world-class customer service, which is why we have an on-call team available 24/7/365. You should never have a problem reaching our help desk & we sincerely apologize if that has been your experience at any point in time during our partnership. We stand by our service promise so much that you...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great System Overall!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Keeps A&D book compliant.

Pros

Keeps A&D book straight. Does layaway, special orders, gunsmithing and shipping. Makes interacting with the ATF go smoothly. Customer service is amazing. I pay the monthly service fee and they are quick to fix any issues I have.

Cons

Steep learning curve. It takes 10-20 hours of class to learn the system in and out. Once it "clicks" it's second nature though.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Rapid Gun System just works

Reviewed 2 years ago

Works great for handling the ATF required bound book and reporting. Set up can be a little tedious. One or two functions don't seem to work as easily as they could.

Pros

This software does what it promises. Functionality is great. Handles 99% of my needs

Cons

Some functions are a bit complex. Issues with the 4473 download fairly often. Overall 90% perfect

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

RISE

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Set up process was very easy and very customizable.

Cons

The nickel and diming. The lack of ATF knowledge by Rapid during setup. Not being able to change things or update things without calling and getting charged to have the needed items changed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Only been open for seven months but its worked great for us

Reviewed 4 years ago

It has always been dependable in its functions and even if there was a problem it was easily fixed by our management team.

Pros

How the system has been easily taught to all of our employees. We have a few older employees that hate using computers however after working with them for a short time they have enjoyed using the system. Love that the system is very easy to read with big letters and bright colors.

Cons

The delay for the customer to slide their credit card causes some frustration because it sometimes is on a longer delay than other days.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I'm very pleased with our product...Yes pricey but worth it! I really enjoy working with the team!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The most I like about the software is very simple and to the point. You don't need to jump around in the system. Everything is in order...from begin to end. Most excellent customer service! Rapid Gun System has a well rounded team!

Cons

Least.....hmmm....If I have to point out a "Cons"......maybe price...but on the other hand well worth it!

Vendor response

Aloha Momi - thanks for the wonderful review! If we were to pick a con, that's the con we'll take. We know we aren't the cheapest solution on the market, but we do think we are the best value for the money invested (I think you'll agree with that!). We can't wait to work together for many years to come. Always know that we've got your back! Mahalo!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Customer service

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Touch screen easy to use - customization features - Customer Service is awesome & you can get help same day

Cons

It has taken a few month of growing pains to get things the way we want it and some features are not as we understood.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Very nice product that has steamed lined most of our ATF processes.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy touch screen that is customize-able to each situation and built for ease of use....

Cons

There are a few simple POS functions that this does not offer that i think should come with the system for how much you are paying for it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is a great company to deal with! They have an amazing system that meets all of our needs!!

Reviewed 4 years ago

This software has made it very easy to keep track of all of our serialized and non serialized inventory!

Pros

This software is so easy to use! I love all of the reporting capabilities as well as the inventory accuracy!

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The team at RGS have been fantastic to work with.

Reviewed 4 years ago

A near all in one solution for a custom gun shop.

Pros

The simplicity of the user interface really makes it easy to follow along. I know that my clerks will be able to use the software easily due to this.

Cons

No NIC check integration and lack of SOT support. I would like to see these added at some point to help streamline the processes.

Vendor response

Thanks for the great review, Mark! We are really looking forward to working with you and the team at JMark. As your training begins - and as you start to work with Rapid Gun Systems - we look forward to gathering your feedback and insights on system improvements. NICS integration is something we wish we could do, but that is a common thing among all gun POS partners. SOT support is a beast, as you know. We do hope one day that we can better service this very specific thing (our research and development team has this on their consideration board for future enhancements). Cheers!