App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Revel Systems vs Quickbooks Point of Sale Comparison

Add to Compare

Compare similar apps

monday.com logo

monday.com

4.6

NetSuite logo

NetSuite

4.1

Caspio logo

Caspio

4.6

Xero logo

Xero

4.4

Odoo  logo

Odoo

4.1

Acumatica Cloud ERP logo

Acumatica Cloud ERP

4.5

Good recommendations?

Overview

Revel iPad point-of-sale system for restaurants, bars, retail, quick service restaurants, and enterprises. We help you achieve your dreams!

QuickBooks Point of Sale is a Windows-based POS software that helps businesses in retail industry streamline operations related...

  • Platforms supported
  • Web-based
  • iPhone app
  • Android app
  • Windows Phone app
  • Typical customers
  • Freelancers
  • Small businesses
  • Mid size businesses
  • Large enterprises
  • Customer support
  • Phone
  • Online
  • Knowledge base
  • Video tutorials
  • Platforms supported
  • Web-based
  • iPhone app
  • Android app
  • Windows Phone app
  • Typical customers
  • Freelancers
  • Small businesses
  • Mid size businesses
  • Large enterprises
  • Customer support
  • Phone
  • Online
  • Knowledge base
  • Video tutorials

Video & Screenshots

No videos yet

Pricing

Starting from

99

Per month

  • Free trial available
  • Credit cardless trial
  • Free account
  • Subscription based

Starting from

ic-pricetag

No pricing info

  • Free trial available
  • Credit cardless trial
  • Free account
  • Subscription based

User reviews

3.7

299

5

4

3

2

1

135

66

29

18

51

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
76%
would recommend this app

3.9

170

5

4

3

2

1

73

50

22

11

14

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
83%
would recommend this app

Pros

Overall they have a nice POS interface and it is pretty stable. Their pricing is also pretty good for the base system.
The bets thing about Revel apart from the easy to use interface is the support team - I have been super impressed with the help I have received in setting up my new POS Revel system.
Was a great price and it integrated seamlessly with my QuickBooks Online software.

Pros

Price look up and price change is easy. This product is really good and affordable, I already have 3 stores, I am using same Product for My all business.
The integration between QuickBooks POS and QuickBooks itself is, as one should expect, outstanding. Both programs work exceptionally well together and make accounting very streamlined.
This software is full-featured and really does a great job of keeping track of everything going on in your store. From inventory to sales, the information is there and easy to access.

Cons

Then they're arrogant as hell about it. Don't even get me started on how painful, slow and counter-intuitive the backend is.
Terminals went out of sync with each other and caused major problems with ordering and reports, affected customer service. Every time Apple does an update the system does not work (2-3 times a year).
Terrible Company and even worst with the way they conduct their selves. Their sales reps are liars and only care about making the initial sale.

Cons

I have had nothing but problems. The first day we set it up there was an error and there continues to be same error message even though i have spent numerous hours on phone with customer service.
It regularly freezes up and I have to back out of they system and restart the program which is embarrassing and unprofessional when ringing up customers. Beware and do not purchase this version.
Sometimes the shortcuts are not obvious, so I end up entering wrong numbers in wrong places. It is a little too quick for me.
  • Vendor responds to reviews
  • Last review19 days ago
  • Vendor responds to reviews
  • Last review11 days ago

Key features

  • Total features60
  • API
  • Access Controls/Permissions
  • Accounting Integration
  • Alerts/Notifications
  • Audit Management
  • Barcode / Ticket Scanning
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • CRM
  • Commission Management
  • Consignments
  • Cost Tracking
  • Credit Card Processing
  • Customer Accounts
  • Customer History
  • Customizable Reports
  • Customizable Templates
  • Data Import/Export
  • Data Synchronization
  • Delivery Management
  • Demand Forecasting
  • Discount Management
  • Electronic Payments
  • Electronic Signature
  • Email Marketing
  • Employee Management
  • For Retail
  • Forecasting
  • Gift Card Management
  • Inventory Auditing
  • Inventory Control
  • Inventory Management
  • Inventory Optimization
  • Inventory Replenishment
  • Inventory Tracking
  • Kitting
  • Label Printing
  • Layaway Management
  • Loyalty Program
  • Mail Order
  • Manufacturing Inventory Management
  • Marketing Automation
  • Merchandise Management
  • Mobile Access
  • Monitoring
  • Multi-Channel Management
  • Multi-Location
  • Multi-Store
  • Online Ordering
  • Online Payments
  • Order Management
  • Ordering Automation
  • Payment Processing
  • Point of Sale (POS)
  • Price / Margin Management
  • Pricing Management
  • Product Identification
  • Promotions Management
  • Purchase Order Management
  • Purchasing & Receiving
  • Receipt Management
  • Reorder Management
  • Repair Tracking
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • Reporting/Analytics
  • Restaurant POS
  • Retail Inventory Management
  • Retail Management
  • Retail POS
  • Returns Management
  • Returns Tracking
  • Rewards Management
  • SSL Security
  • Sales Orders
  • Sales Reports
  • Sales Trend Analysis
  • Search/Filter
  • Separate Checks
  • Shipping Management
  • Split Checks
  • Supplier Management
  • Table Management
  • Tips Management
  • Touch Screen
  • Vendor Managed Inventory
  • Vendor Management
  • Warehouse Management
  • Wholesaler Management
  • eCommerce Management
  • Total features71
  • API
  • Access Controls/Permissions
  • Accounting Integration
  • Alerts/Notifications
  • Audit Management
  • Barcode / Ticket Scanning
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • CRM
  • Commission Management
  • Consignments
  • Cost Tracking
  • Credit Card Processing
  • Customer Accounts
  • Customer History
  • Customizable Reports
  • Customizable Templates
  • Data Import/Export
  • Data Synchronization
  • Delivery Management
  • Demand Forecasting
  • Discount Management
  • Electronic Payments
  • Electronic Signature
  • Email Marketing
  • Employee Management
  • For Retail
  • Forecasting
  • Gift Card Management
  • Inventory Auditing
  • Inventory Control
  • Inventory Management
  • Inventory Optimization
  • Inventory Replenishment
  • Inventory Tracking
  • Kitting
  • Label Printing
  • Layaway Management
  • Loyalty Program
  • Mail Order
  • Manufacturing Inventory Management
  • Marketing Automation
  • Merchandise Management
  • Mobile Access
  • Monitoring
  • Multi-Channel Management
  • Multi-Location
  • Multi-Store
  • Online Ordering
  • Online Payments
  • Order Management
  • Ordering Automation
  • Payment Processing
  • Point of Sale (POS)
  • Price / Margin Management
  • Pricing Management
  • Product Identification
  • Promotions Management
  • Purchase Order Management
  • Purchasing & Receiving
  • Receipt Management
  • Reorder Management
  • Repair Tracking
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • Reporting/Analytics
  • Restaurant POS
  • Retail Inventory Management
  • Retail Management
  • Retail POS
  • Returns Management
  • Returns Tracking
  • Rewards Management
  • SSL Security
  • Sales Orders
  • Sales Reports
  • Sales Trend Analysis
  • Search/Filter
  • Separate Checks
  • Shipping Management
  • Split Checks
  • Supplier Management
  • Table Management
  • Tips Management
  • Touch Screen
  • Vendor Managed Inventory
  • Vendor Management
  • Warehouse Management
  • Wholesaler Management
  • eCommerce Management

Integrations

  • Total integrations30
  • Constant Contact
  • Gmail
  • Google Analytics 360
  • Google Calendar
  • HubSpot CRM
  • HubSpot Marketing Hub
  • Mailchimp
  • Meta for Business
  • Microsoft Outlook
  • PayPal
  • QuickBooks Online Advanced
  • Salesforce Sales Cloud
  • Shopify
  • Slack
  • Stripe
  • Twitter
  • WordPress
  • Xero
  • Zapier
  • Zendesk Suite
  • Total integrations3
  • Constant Contact
  • Gmail
  • Google Analytics 360
  • Google Calendar
  • HubSpot CRM
  • HubSpot Marketing Hub
  • Mailchimp
  • Meta for Business
  • Microsoft Outlook
  • PayPal
  • QuickBooks Online Advanced
  • Salesforce Sales Cloud
  • Shopify
  • Slack
  • Stripe
  • Twitter
  • WordPress
  • Xero
  • Zapier
  • Zendesk Suite

User reviews that mention these apps

LP
AvatarImg

Lauren P.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

RUN!

Reviewed 5 years ago

If you are considering a new point of sale system I would run as far away from Revel as possible.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

Revel is a bunch of liars. They promise one thing and do another. They chargedinitial start up fees and immediately started charging our company per month per location back in June. It is mid September we still do not have any services set up with Revel because non of their payment processors were compatible with our type of business. Yet due to our terms and conditions they will not refund any...

Vendor response

Hi Lauren, I am sorry to hear that there have been some issues in getting you set up with a credit card processor. I see that you have now chosen one, and once we hear from you, we are happy to proceed. Unfortunately, sometimes there are small hiccups in getting set up depending on the route clients choose. Revel is happy to assist you along the way and our Support team is available 24-7. Best Regards, Sarah at Revel

ky
AvatarImg

ken y.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Good Choice for POS

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Revel System features a slick Point of Sale system. I am able to use many different payment types and works with Samsung Pay without NFC technology.

Cons

I would like to see more integration with different software we use. It's not easy to export some of the information to connect different data.

JB
AvatarImg

Joshua B.

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Revel Systems are intuitive, easy to use, and supported by a relatively flexible customer service team.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I like the intuitive functionality and the breadth of options for a point-of-sale system. While it is not necessarily the most chain-friendly system, it is flexible enough and would probably be ideal for an independent company.

Cons

It is not as adaptable for very specific systems (like for a chain restaurant), and sometimes the customer service is contracted out to people who are not primary English speakers, which makes it more difficult to resolve problems (though their expertise is sufficient and oftentimes very good).

EC
AvatarImg

Erin C.

Supermarkets, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

One they get your money, you'll get neither a functional system nor customer service

Reviewed 4 years ago

The customer service is abysmal. Once the sale is made, you are chopped liver and the company really doesn't even seem to care if your system ever gets up and running after that point.

Pros

I can see exactly what we sold on a certain day. They look impressive so despite the fact that they have low functionality they look really pretty....but, lets be honest....that's mostly the ipad.

Cons

Notice how it's spelled rEVEL. (it's illiterate evil with an R). Things I though rEVEL would do but it doesn't, problems we have, and why you shouldn't purchase revel for your establishment. 1. When you set up a customer, they are not automatically set up to collect reward points. Your staff have to create a rewards card separately, then link it to the customer. We've had lots of input errors because...

MM
AvatarImg

Matt M.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Total Disappoinment

Reviewed 5 years ago

I'd stay away from this system and this company. I'm a small business owner and I've spent more time trying to get Revel to fix their POS (point of sale) than I have running my own business. I will soon cut my losses and find an alternative solution. I promise, this company will drive you to extreme frustration. Finally, I recommend paying a little extra for a better Poiny of Sale system, you will find it's cheaper in the long run than trying to use Revel.

Pros

Very Powerful Database for retail store once you have all your prices and inventory entered. The POS is easy to use after (only after) set up.

Cons

1. Despite previous positive reviews for customer service, they are terrible! They are great for explaining how to use the product, they are terrible for fixing their own product! 2. ALSO, DO NOT USE FOR E-COMMERCE! The web order feature (e-commerce) is useless and looks even worse. Prepare to explain your problem repeatedly when using support. You will be transferred from one tier of support...

RL
AvatarImg

Robert L.

Restaurants,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Best in Class Point of sale

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The Revel POS has all the features my business needs to run my shop and I just love how easy it is to run it. My last Point of Sale took us 2 weeks to learn and Revel was learned by all staff in the first morning . Simple yet powerful. I have 4 systems and running strong thanks you!

Cons

It is more exp. then others in the market but again the only one that works with my business needs.

Vendor response

Robert, we appreciate your warm words! Glad to know Revel iPad POS meets your needs!

JM
AvatarImg

Jesse M.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Awesome customer service

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Was a great price and it integrated seamlessly with my QuickBooks Online software. Awesome customer service. I have a couple of issues: mostly due to my ignorance, but customer service was always available with minimal wait time, and always a great experience and positive results.

Cons

Not all the features my business could use, but I have figured out work arounds that get the job done. I have a niche business, so there are not many affordable options for point of sale systems. Revel has fit my needs nicely with the budget I can live with.

LC
AvatarImg

Lisa C.

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Wild about Revel Systems

Reviewed 6 years ago

We decided to turn in the old fashion cash register and purchase a Point of Sale system. We decided on the Revel System, and after one season I can't say enough about the system, features and the customer support. It is intuitive so easy to train new employees. Great purchase order features along with a re-order feature.

Pros

Ease of entering items, cost, reports created, and customer support.

Cons

None at this time...

Vendor response

Hi Lisa, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on Software Advice. I am so glad to hear that Revel is working so well for your shop! Cheers, Sarah, Community Manager, Revel Systems

BR
AvatarImg

Bree R.

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Would recommend

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Easy to use and syncs well with Tyro & Xero. Back end management and reporting is simple and data is easy to extract

Cons

Some final sale steps could be shorter. Ease for users to accidentally upgrade from itunes is frustrating

WJ
AvatarImg

Ward J.

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Sold a bill of goods that just didn't pan out.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Fast, easy-to-use POS interface. I like Apple products so that was a bonus that they use Apple branded iPads.

Cons

Revel is a decent product backed back some terrible customer service. The on boarding process, done remotely, is not robust enough and as a result you are left unable to use most of the features without paying for ongoing account support. Most importantly, I was sold on the idea that Revel had total and complete integration with Quickbooks, which is NOT the case. The integration creates a total mess in Quickbooks, and employee hours can only be ported over to Quickbooks in whole numbers and no overtime. The sales team was, for the most part, unresponsive after the sale was made. Extra equipment was sent and billed to us that we did not order. Revel is extremely expensive compared to the competition. I would not purchase this product again.

Vendor response

Ward, thank you for the feedback—we're sorry that we let you down. We've been in touch on other platforms and with you directly, but please let us know if there's anything we can do to help. Thanks, Holden

MA
AvatarImg

Mohammed A.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Amazing!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Really happy of 2.5 yrs of Revel! Clouding and real time access from all type of users makes things goes very fast and productive

Pros

QuickBooks integration (Not Fully but ok) Amazing reporting Ease of Use Multi-Lang support

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AR
AvatarImg

Alex R.

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Do Not Go With Revel PoS

Reviewed 7 months ago

Terrible experience with all teams involved. The person that was supposed to be handling our case was rude and extremely inattentive We didn’t even get to start using the system because it was not delivering what we asked for.

Pros

Nothing All I can say is that the package looks nice but there’s nothing useful in the package but a pack of lies.

Cons

The sales process is extremely misleading and they will tell you anything you want to hear but delivery will fall very short During the process of selecting a point-of-sale system be interviewed several software companies including Revel In this process the sales person promises that their point of sale is capable of the options we were looking for and in the process of discovery after we made payments...

JM
AvatarImg

Jesse M.

Sporting Goods, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Great customer support

Reviewed 5 years ago

I would highly recommend the Revel system in conjunction with Quick Books.

Pros

It meets my business needs, and the customer service is excellent! The easy learning curve is great for new employees.

Cons

It doesn't have certain features a specialty shop like mine could use. For example: I have a service department, so work orders would be awesome, I have a rental department, so rental reservations would be cool, and I have a travel department, so a booking feature would be awesome. I do work arounds, but it would be nice to have it all run through my point of sale.

KB
AvatarImg

Karen B.

Luxury Goods & Jewelry,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Horrible - extremely poor choice on my part.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Salesperson lied to get my sale. Told me I would be able to enter our online sales manually. What a headache.

Cons

Now I have to make this work, and it is just unbelievable what was not designed into this software.

Vendor response

We are committed to provide an excellent service to all of our customers. We are sincerely sorry to hear that you had a frustrating experience with Revel Systems. Thanks a lot for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

PF
AvatarImg

Patrick F.

Restaurants,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

The Revel Product is second to none. Excellent in all aspects

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The Revel product is by far the best product on the market today. Technical assistance is excellent and customer service is timely and professional. Working with the software and its Quickbooks interaction is pretty straight forward. Technical assistance on the part of Revel is easily accessible when needed.

Cons

It would be nice if it worked with Quickbooks Desktop

LD
AvatarImg

Leah D.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Simplified Our Work Flow

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

There are so many pros, here is a list of some of them: Inventory Tracking, Variable Pricing, QuickBooks Integration, Accurate Accounting...

Cons

Learning curve for connecting accounts for QuickBooks, more videos would be great, but customer service helps a lot with this.

JD
AvatarImg

James D.

Restaurants, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Everything was absolutely excellent!

Reviewed 6 years ago

It's a huge undertaking when transitioning a restaurant from writing orders on paper tickets to the most advanced POS system. We were up to the challenge and so was Revel. Taking orders couldn't be easier. Revel saves the restaurant a lot of time and time is money.

Pros

The absolute best feature has to be the Ingredient Inventory. We have some fantastic recipes and this handy feature combines with our order management. We never run out of ingredients now that we have a Revel POS.

Cons

I feel like it needs just a little tighter Quickbooks integration.

KT
AvatarImg

Kim T.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

An affordable POS system

Reviewed 5 years ago

Our speed of checking out a customer has more than quadrupled over our old Quickbooks system. The customers are much happier.

Pros

Revel is responsive to our concerns, and has made changes based on our suggestions. Checkout of a customer is very rapid.

Cons

It was originally developed for the bar/restaurant industry. We are a garden center. Some of the features are not well suited to that. Reports could be easier to customize to our needs. The thing we like the least is the inability to see the open account customers open balance from the back office.

Vendor response

Hi Kim, What a nice review! Thank you for posting to Capterra and for sharing your feedback. I appreciate your input as a retail customer - we are working very hard on our retail capability this year so I am sure you will see some great features with our next software release. Thank you, again! Cheers, Sarah, Community Manager at Revel

AR
AvatarImg

Ariday R.

Wholesale, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Ariday's Review

Reviewed 6 years ago

It helped us make our sale smoothly and on time and not time consuming for work. All my employees enjoyed this system.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

LD
AvatarImg

Leah D.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Works Well for our Small Business

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, Revel is a good company. We are a small convenience store at a marina and campground and they are working well for us. One of the reasons we went with Revel is because they have teamed up with Shell Corp. to create an integration for fuel pumps and the Revel point of sales. Revel is the cheapest option on the market, that I was able to find, to be able to offer my customers pay at the pump options. This is still in the works, but they are making steady progress and I am excited for when we can try it out.

Pros

Revel is easy for employees to learn (even the non-tech employees) and to use. They have good updates; they listen to their customers about what is needed and then try to implement it. Our store is an hour away from the main office, and we are able to see the inventory from the office to place orders for the store! The reports are useful, varied and well laid out for ease of reading.

Cons

The integration between QuickBooks Desktop and Revel has been a bit tricky. I wish their support team was a bit better at understanding how the two programs talk to each other. I have found that I need to have the Revel Support team tell me how Revel is supposed to talk to QuickBooks and then I'll have to go to the QuickBooks support or forum to figure out how to set up QuickBooks so that it does what Revel intended.

BC
AvatarImg

Brent C.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

The worst multi-Store POS on the market

Reviewed 5 years ago

Do your homework first and be thorough. DO not believe everything they tell you. The salespeople are polished. Serious waste of time and money.

Pros

There are absolutely no Pros to this system. We installed in in June 2017, it is now February 2018 and we still have ongoing issues that are unresolved. The most recent is today with testing the "Online Store". The credit card batches do not match the bank deposits. Revel points at the cc merchant who in turn points back at Revel. Nothing resolved, and nobody will to take responsibility for it. Save your time and money, look for something else.

Cons

confusing, does not track inventory as it should, does not interface correctly with Quickbooks, support is the WORST. No help, we wasted thousands of dollars on this system.

Vendor response

Hi Brent, I am really sorry to hear that you have had such a poor experience overall. I have taken a look at your ticket history and I do apologize that it looks like you encountered a bug. However, we are definitely working on the issue and as of 2/6 the issue has been resolved. Unfortunately with bugs fixes are not always immediate but we do attempt to push them through as quickly as possible. I can also see that our agents are waiting for the green light from you to integrate QuickBooks. While I do apologize for the frustration you have experienced so far, our customer support teams are actively working with you and happy to assist you with your business objectives. Regards, Sarah at Revel

JD
AvatarImg

Jake D.

Accounting, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

A Powerful POS

Reviewed 6 years ago

The Revel system is everything you need in an iPad POS. It is loaded with options and functionality for use in several industries (what else do you expect from the POS partner of Intuit's Quickbooks?). From restaurants to retail, Revel is completely customizable to handle all forms of sales tax, eat-in tables, retail categories, reporting, and even integrates with other software like Quickbooks Online. While...

Pros

The functionality and flexibility is great. I love that almost everything can be customized according to the preferences and needs of the business owner and his processes.

Cons

The way the integration works with QBO takes some getting used to, but it is not a deal breaker.

Vendor response

Hi Jake, This is great feedback to hear on our QuickBooks Integration. Thank you for taking the time to share on Capterra! Cheers, Sarah, Community Manager, Revel Systems

KC
AvatarImg

Kevin C.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Easy to Use and a Real Time Saver

Reviewed 5 years ago

We upgraded to Revel from an old cash register and it makes the overall process of managing our retail store easier than ever!

Pros

Easy to use, integrates easily into Quickbooks online for easy bookkeeping, easy to train new employees

Cons

The initial setting up of the wireless network was somewhat cumbersome, but once we got it hooked up it hasn't skipped a beat.

GT
AvatarImg

Greg T.

Restaurants, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

The best SMB point-of-sale for the money

Reviewed 5 years ago

Easy to train employees on, decreased costs, moved scheduling into our POS and removed some of the payroll issues we were having. Quickbooks integration made our accountants happy too

Pros

It's inexpensive, cloud-based, easy to set up & operate and doesn't break the bank on start-up fees & equipment. Love that they use iPad's & android so that I'm not stuck with worthless computer equipment when it's time to upgrade. System has above-average, out-of-the-box reporting & had many of the small odds and ends we were wanting to make payroll, scheduling, and inventory tracking easier

Cons

Inventory tracking is their weak spot. Yields, edible portion calculations and supplier integrations don't exist. It's a simple system and could get the job done for many restaurants but lacks some functionality if you're wanting to get the specifics

Vendor response

Hi Greg, Thank you so much for your review and for your feedback! Would love to set up a time to hear more and maybe even recruit you for our advisory board ;) Thank you again! Cheers, Sarah at Revel

KH
AvatarImg

Kerry H.

1-10 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Dissapointing product and support

Reviewed 4 years ago

I stuck with Revel for the first two years of my business because of the desktop QuickBooks integration, which made things easier on my accountant and myself for bookkeeping. Now that they no longer host a Sync app, they are trying to force everyone onto QB online. The support agent I spoke to claimed that there was no way to export the data manually to desktop. The system was clearly designed for...

Pros

Formerly integrated with QuickBooks desktop Offline sales if internet goes down Somewhat intuitive POS station (still some issues)

Cons

Eliminated Desktop integration on short notice Back end dashboard is difficult to navigate Customer service can have EXTEMELY long wait times Sales team is unreachable after you start paying

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback, Kerry. We apologize for the frustrating and disappointing experience you've had; someone from Revel will be reaching out soon to see what can be done to make things right.

AF
AvatarImg

Anna F.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Quickbooks Point of Sale logo

Quickbooks Point of Sale

overall good product

Reviewed 6 years ago

User-friendly, but sometimes buggy with other systems (i.e. loses communication, etc). usually a quick resolve as customer service is helpful

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

TC
AvatarImg

Tanya C.

Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Quickbooks Point of Sale logo

Quickbooks Point of Sale

Best for retail not service

Reviewed 2 years ago

For retail I find its great. its easy to use to enter the items we need and get through the sale

Pros

For the retail side of the business its great for tracking inventory and sales. Ease of set was great.

Cons

We provide a lot of services and don't want to have to run information through two systems. For services this is not great. The reports don't give the right information and the information doesn't transfer to Quickbooks accounting software to provide the information as well. We can't add classes and are struggling with running invoices. This could also be in part of lack of understanding how the systems work.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Horacio C.

Verified reviewer

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Quickbooks Point of Sale logo

Quickbooks Point of Sale

Great POS system for small business

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I bought the simple version of Quickbooks POS and it had great features for an entry business. No limits on inventory list and great tool for customer loyalty rewarding. For being a simple version, this brings a lot of handy tools to track inventory and awesome sales report.

Cons

Very laggy when filled inventory list with 1000+ items. Also, the online feature needed to be on the expensive version, so it didn't offer it like other POS systems do without upgrading.

JT
AvatarImg

John T.

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Quickbooks Point of Sale logo

Quickbooks Point of Sale

Lovin it

Reviewed 3 years ago

I used to do my inventory every Sunday evening. It would take me 5 to 7 hours a week. Now its done in minutes with QBPOS. We use Individual Point of Sale out of PA to purchase, and maintain our POS systems.

Pros

This software has given me abilities that other camping resorts envy. Every time I tell other campground owners how QB POS can trend, suggest orders, track inventory, and that it has endless reports that integrates right into Quick books, they are floored.

Cons

We really dont have any dislikes with the software. It performs well and runs reliably. We are on our second generation of hardware, and the software is stable and fast.

hl
AvatarImg

hunter l.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Quickbooks Point of Sale logo

Quickbooks Point of Sale

let me explain my review

Reviewed a year ago

read above

Pros

Our business has been using quick books POS since we opened our shop in Oct of 2004. We were advised that we needed to upgrade to quick books 19 as their systems don't last forever . our computer technician ( whom has installed over 60 quickbook programs) came and installed it on a Friday Morning . ( never do anything that has to do with banking on a Friday because you can't tell if things are working...

Cons

this is a business with no accountability. You can not get anyone of the phone to help. They have passed the buck every time that we have called . then they say we will call you back and they never do. Please think twice before using this company.

PF
AvatarImg

Paige F.

Fine Art, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Quickbooks Point of Sale logo

Quickbooks Point of Sale

An okay system for PC but no compatibility with mobile technology and prone to dumping data

Reviewed 6 years ago

I used Quick-books for about a year and while it was an easy system to use on the PC, I found my business needs were better met by moving to a POS system that was mobile friendly. Quick-books has a very easy to use the system--items are tracked with a generated barcode and the system lists when the item was brought in when it was purchased last, and by whom it was purchased. I appreciated the compatibility...

Pros

Very easy to use. It generates bar codes to corresponding with individual or grouped items and then displays the price, merchandiser, and all vital information in the same place for me to find. I liked to be able to track when, where, and by whom an item was brought in and then sold.

Cons

Quick-Books was prone to glitches and to dumping, data on inventory entered. I lost over 2,000 records on new merchandise brought in for our annual holiday sale. Overnight there was no record I had ever entered, sold, or updated anything over a two-week period, the most pivotal two-week period of our year. Luckily my accountant and I had already paid the artists for their sold works, but it took hours...

SV
AvatarImg

Sharni V.

Retail,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Quickbooks Point of Sale logo

Quickbooks Point of Sale

Easy to use, but not easy to upgrade

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Ease of use. It was simple to teach employees how to use the register side of it. It synchronized easily to quickbooks financial once everything was mapped.

Cons

I could not upgrade past windows 7 on the machines that ran this product. It required I have a machine set up as a server. It cost me pretty much the full price of the product to add another register, or back end user. In order to update the product you had to buy it outright again. There was next to no updating of the product. I bought version 10 back in January of 2011 and until I stopped using...

MS
AvatarImg

Michael S.

Wine and Spirits, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Quickbooks Point of Sale logo

Quickbooks Point of Sale

QuickBooks Pro Point of Sale Version 12

Reviewed 6 years ago

I've used QuickBooks Pro in my retail liquor store for about fourteen months. I don't like it, for four main reasons: First, if I'm making a sale and I notice the price of the product or the on-hand quantity is wrong the software won't allow me to make corrections from the "Make a Sale" screen. It will allow me to change the price, but the change will show up on the receipt as a "discount," and...

Pros

Poor as it is, it does keep working. It hasn't crashed yet.

Cons

See review