App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Revel Systems vs Square for Restaurants Comparison

Add to Compare

Compare similar apps

Caspio logo

Caspio

4.6

NetSuite logo

NetSuite

4.1

monday.com logo

monday.com

4.6

Odoo  logo

Odoo

4.1

Xero logo

Xero

4.3

Cin7 logo

Cin7

4.3

Good recommendations?

Overview

Revel iPad point-of-sale system for restaurants, bars, retail, quick service restaurants, and enterprises. We help you achieve your dreams!

Square for Restaurants is a cloud-based point of sale (POS) solution with support for dine-in, pickup & delivery restaurant...

  • Platforms supported
  • Web-based
  • iPhone app
  • Android app
  • Windows Phone app
  • Typical customers
  • Freelancers
  • Small businesses
  • Mid size businesses
  • Large enterprises
  • Customer support
  • Phone
  • Online
  • Knowledge base
  • Video tutorials
  • Platforms supported
  • Web-based
  • iPhone app
  • Android app
  • Windows Phone app
  • Typical customers
  • Freelancers
  • Small businesses
  • Mid size businesses
  • Large enterprises
  • Customer support
  • Phone
  • Online
  • Knowledge base
  • Video tutorials

Video & Screenshots

Pricing

Starting from

99

Per month

  • Free trial available
  • Credit cardless trial
  • Free account
  • Subscription based

Starting from

0

  • Free trial available
  • Credit cardless trial
  • Free account
  • Subscription based

User reviews

3.7

298

5

4

3

2

1

135

66

28

18

51

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
76%
would recommend this app

4.3

35

5

4

3

2

1

21

7

3

3

1

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
83%
would recommend this app

Pros

Overall they have a nice POS interface and it is pretty stable. Their pricing is also pretty good for the base system.
The bets thing about Revel apart from the easy to use interface is the support team - I have been super impressed with the help I have received in setting up my new POS Revel system.
Was a great price and it integrated seamlessly with my QuickBooks Online software.

Pros

What I like the most about square processing payments is that it makes it very easy to restore that customer's information such as email, phone number and past transaction history and payments.
I have enjoyed using it overall as a user to save time and be efficient.
You will read that this product is all in one, and it really is. It is great for small businesses.

Cons

Then they're arrogant as hell about it. Don't even get me started on how painful, slow and counter-intuitive the backend is.
Terminals went out of sync with each other and caused major problems with ordering and reports, affected customer service. Every time Apple does an update the system does not work (2-3 times a year).
Terrible Company and even worst with the way they conduct their selves. Their sales reps are liars and only care about making the initial sale.

Cons

Beyond that steer clear if you are a restaurant. The convenient tech on the backend does not justify to the awful day-today, and utterly useless reporting.
Not a software, but a very minor inconvenience with the round jack. The reader would occasionally turn during a card swipe, causing a read error.
E.g. I have a category called "Beer" that contains 8 different beers. I can see how much gross sales the category does, but I cannot look into the category to see any more detail than that.
  • Vendor responds to reviews
  • Last review5 months ago
  • Vendor responds to reviews
  • Last review4 months ago

Key features

  • Total features60
  • API
  • Access Controls/Permissions
  • Accounting Integration
  • Audit Management
  • Barcode / Ticket Scanning
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • CRM
  • Cash Management
  • Clock In / Out
  • Commission Management
  • Cost Tracking
  • Credit Card Processing
  • Customer Accounts
  • Customer History
  • Customizable Reports
  • Customizable Templates
  • Delivery Management
  • Demand Forecasting
  • Discount Management
  • Electronic Payments
  • Electronic Signature
  • Employee Management
  • Forecasting
  • Gift Card Management
  • Inventory Auditing
  • Inventory Control
  • Inventory Management
  • Inventory Optimization
  • Inventory Tracking
  • Labor Cost Reporting
  • Layaway Management
  • Loyalty Program
  • Mobile Access
  • Monitoring
  • Multi-Channel Management
  • Multi-Location
  • Offline Access
  • Online Ordering
  • Online Payments
  • Order Entry
  • Order Management
  • Order Processing
  • Ordering Automation
  • Payment Processing
  • Point of Sale (POS)
  • Pricing Management
  • Product Identification
  • Purchase Order Management
  • Purchasing & Receiving
  • Receipt Management
  • Reorder Management
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • Reporting/Analytics
  • Restaurant POS
  • Retail Inventory Management
  • Retail Management
  • Retail POS
  • Returns Management
  • Returns Tracking
  • SSL Security
  • Sales Reports
  • Sales Tax Management
  • Search/Filter
  • Separate Checks
  • Shipping Management
  • Split Checks
  • Supplier Management
  • Table Management
  • Tips Management
  • Touch Screen
  • Warehouse Management
  • eCommerce Management
  • Total features29
  • API
  • Access Controls/Permissions
  • Accounting Integration
  • Audit Management
  • Barcode / Ticket Scanning
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • CRM
  • Cash Management
  • Clock In / Out
  • Commission Management
  • Cost Tracking
  • Credit Card Processing
  • Customer Accounts
  • Customer History
  • Customizable Reports
  • Customizable Templates
  • Delivery Management
  • Demand Forecasting
  • Discount Management
  • Electronic Payments
  • Electronic Signature
  • Employee Management
  • Forecasting
  • Gift Card Management
  • Inventory Auditing
  • Inventory Control
  • Inventory Management
  • Inventory Optimization
  • Inventory Tracking
  • Labor Cost Reporting
  • Layaway Management
  • Loyalty Program
  • Mobile Access
  • Monitoring
  • Multi-Channel Management
  • Multi-Location
  • Offline Access
  • Online Ordering
  • Online Payments
  • Order Entry
  • Order Management
  • Order Processing
  • Ordering Automation
  • Payment Processing
  • Point of Sale (POS)
  • Pricing Management
  • Product Identification
  • Purchase Order Management
  • Purchasing & Receiving
  • Receipt Management
  • Reorder Management
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • Reporting/Analytics
  • Restaurant POS
  • Retail Inventory Management
  • Retail Management
  • Retail POS
  • Returns Management
  • Returns Tracking
  • SSL Security
  • Sales Reports
  • Sales Tax Management
  • Search/Filter
  • Separate Checks
  • Shipping Management
  • Split Checks
  • Supplier Management
  • Table Management
  • Tips Management
  • Touch Screen
  • Warehouse Management
  • eCommerce Management

Integrations

  • Total integrations29
  • Constant Contact
  • Gmail
  • Google Analytics 360
  • Google Calendar
  • HubSpot CRM
  • HubSpot Marketing Hub
  • Mailchimp
  • Meta for Business
  • Microsoft Outlook
  • PayPal
  • QuickBooks Online Advanced
  • Salesforce Sales Cloud
  • Shopify
  • Slack
  • Stripe
  • Twitter
  • WordPress
  • Xero
  • Zapier
  • Zendesk
  • Total integrations29
  • Constant Contact
  • Gmail
  • Google Analytics 360
  • Google Calendar
  • HubSpot CRM
  • HubSpot Marketing Hub
  • Mailchimp
  • Meta for Business
  • Microsoft Outlook
  • PayPal
  • QuickBooks Online Advanced
  • Salesforce Sales Cloud
  • Shopify
  • Slack
  • Stripe
  • Twitter
  • WordPress
  • Xero
  • Zapier
  • Zendesk

User reviews that mention these apps

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Worst POS system I have ever used - removed after install - review long overdue

Reviewed 5 years ago

We are a successful multi-unit restaurant group that operates restaurants in the San Francisco Bay Area

Pros

This system is for QSR counter service - NOT full service restaurants. WAY better systems than Revel

Cons

NOT meant for full service restaurants. This was literally one of the worst business mistakes I have ever made. Without a doubt the worst customer service I have ever experienced. The system is not designed for full service restaurants, has connectivity issues and frequently crashed.

Vendor response

Hi Greg, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I have checked our records and it looks like you were a customer nearly 2 years ago. I hope we have made some strides in our restaurant capability and network stability since then and I do apologize that we were not able to meet and exceed your expectations. Regards, Sarah at Revel

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Swim or you will sink and drown!

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

It is on line, very versatile, seems more suitable for restaurants than retail. Customer Service staff has a great attitude.

Cons

No f2f support was provided, all the implementation and initial set up was intuitive, over the phone. Not all the functionality offered was in place, nor working properly. Doing set up as we were learning the system. The sales representative did not provide any advise, nor fulfilled their promises. Total lack of commitment. After 3 months of learning to swim and survive the implementation, at the...

Vendor response

Sorry to hear about the difficulties setting up the system and unexpected charges. We are glad to know everything worked out in the end and making sure our pricing model is well understood by new clients.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Revel has been Fantastic

Reviewed 5 years ago

In general I would recommend Revel to anyone. Restaurants, quick service establishment, bar and deli.

Pros

The reporting capabilities and the ease of use and the reliability of the Networking equipment used makes our systems rock solid. The KDS has also been so beneficial.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Great Overall

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great POS overall! In order to balance out the slightly unstable system, I recommend force quitting the app and logging back in if there are ever issues. Also, it's always nice to turn off your ipad every once in a while and give the operating system a break.

Pros

- Great features such as in depth reporting, table management for restaurants/bars - gift card and loyalty program options to maximize customer retention and repeat business

Cons

Not a lot of cons, the biggest issue I hear is that the system can be a bit unstable, especially if it gets busy.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Revel, the Xero of POS; Beautiful software, outstanding customer support.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Our business has 8 locations under the Cobb & Co. brand name. We are TSR, multi location, and have future plans for up to 20-30stores in the next 4 years. Confident that we can grow with Revel.

Pros

Revel's use of real estate and easy-to-learn interface is second to none. Revel support structure, 24/7 with escalation to Tier 1>2>3.

Cons

Little bit spenny. They're just lucky it's so damn good. Would like to see some integrations with reservations software for restaurants. Other than that, Revel is choosing some good partners.

Vendor response

Hi Alex, Thank you so much for all of the stars! And the feedback. I would love to get your feedback in further detail. I will reach out to you directly via email. So glad to hear you will be growing with us! Cheers, Sarah at Revel

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

The best SMB point-of-sale for the money

Reviewed 5 years ago

Easy to train employees on, decreased costs, moved scheduling into our POS and removed some of the payroll issues we were having. Quickbooks integration made our accountants happy too

Pros

It's inexpensive, cloud-based, easy to set up & operate and doesn't break the bank on start-up fees & equipment. Love that they use iPad's & android so that I'm not stuck with worthless computer equipment when it's time to upgrade. System has above-average, out-of-the-box reporting & had many of the small odds and ends we were wanting to make payroll, scheduling, and inventory tracking easier

Cons

Inventory tracking is their weak spot. Yields, edible portion calculations and supplier integrations don't exist. It's a simple system and could get the job done for many restaurants but lacks some functionality if you're wanting to get the specifics

Vendor response

Hi Greg, Thank you so much for your review and for your feedback! Would love to set up a time to hear more and maybe even recruit you for our advisory board ;) Thank you again! Cheers, Sarah at Revel

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Regretted it right off the bat

Reviewed 4 years ago

Stay away! This is not a system for beginners. There are a lot better systems out there, keep looking. We are switching to Cake but also considered Square.

Pros

Offline mode... that's it. Its requiring me to say more but there really isn't anything else good to say and I've been a customer for 3 years.

Cons

Customer service is terrible. Hours on the phone trying to fix hardware issues. The back end is extremely confusing and difficult to program and navigate. They are unwilling to help with this part so it's all on you. I'm too busy running a restaurant to be a computer programmer. And don't buy the app...it doesn't work at all.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Revel Software is great, Customer Service is Better

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Very easy to use, functional, and streamlined. The Revel Customer Service is always on point, helpful, available, and free! Having opened 3 restaurants with Revel in the past year and half, I have talked to technical support/customer service for literally hours, and it is always a great experience.

Cons

Revel is far superior to competitor options. The only change would be a little more ease in editing buttons on the fly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Pretty, but Problematic

Reviewed 3 years ago

Lots of restaurants and retail stores I frequent use Revel. I would try Revel again if given the choice, but I would make sure to get my employees trained in troubleshooting themselves to avoid the potential of a customer service snafu.

Pros

I work for a small college bookstore that recently transitioned from an ancient, outdated POS system. We were all so excited about Revel. It's sleek, easy to use, and much simpler than many of its predecessors.

Cons

The biggest trouble we ran into is that Revel is hopelessly buggy, and I would sometimes be on the phone with customer service for an hour before getting my problem resolved. For a small business with only one cash register, this was often a nightmare.

Vendor response

Thanks very much for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that our system fell short of your expectations, but hope you give us another chance in the future. We're constantly working to improve the quality of our products and services.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

A journey

Reviewed 4 years ago

I feel they are listening and improving, several of my concerns have been addressed and a few have even been corrected in recent updates.

Pros

The cloud-based system allows me to access and make changes remotely which is fantastic. The online resources for education and help are great. Ease of use in payments, refunds, tabs, etc is awesome. I have had a great experience with a team who helped set up and guide me through the Revel experience

Cons

This software is improving, but is sold to traditional dining service restaurants and is more optimal for fast casual- register style dining. I have had many struggles trying to get the system to categorize things abd get me the information I need. The payment process and tracking for server checkouts has been complicated, as well. As far as tips processing and credit cards.

Vendor response

Thanks so much for your feedback, Gentry. We've been working hard to improve the experience of our customers with both our product and our support. That work isn't yet finished, though, and your input is greatly valued. - Holden at Revel

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Innovative QSR POS solution, terrible customer service and poor reliability

Reviewed 6 years ago

Although it’s an innovative product, the quality of customer service is horrible. Three of our restaurants in Europe run on Revel and we have seen significant decrease in stability / consistency. Frequent updates in recent months have caused complete service failure during lunch time (as updates seem to come in at exactly that time). Our account manager is basically helpless, and can only offer us...

Pros

-Innovative cloud based solution -Low Capex vs. other full fledged POS solutions -Hardware can be purchased separate

Cons

-Poor reliability, frequent updates / changes to the system make it difficult to maintain. Updates which are not announced cause a lot of disruptions in restaurant -Poor customer service -API is poorly documented, limited calls allowed

Vendor response

Hello Chris, I'm very sorry to hear that you're having a poor experience with your system and support. We definitely want to be sure to meet your customer service needs. I will be reaching out to you directly to learn more about how we can turn things around here. We're also happy to work with partners to increase API calls. We do set a limit at the outset of our relationship with our partners but we are always available to increase limits if we realize there is a specific need for one of our valued merchants. Revel's Business Development team will work with the partner providing you the integrated service to find an immediate solution. Thank you for sharing your feedback and for bringing it to our attention. Regards, Sarah, Community Manager, Revel Systems

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Wrong decision

Reviewed 6 years ago

Just over a year ago we decided to move our POS system from Quickbooks POS to Revel POS and we have never stopped regretting that decision. The support is horrible, standard features that should always be available in POS are always "coming with the next update", the updates cause more problems than they fix, and the whole system is geared toward restaurants which is not at all what we do.

Pros

In theory, it would be awesome, but we needed reality and it's miserable.

Cons

Standard features are missing, support is rude and one of our tech guy spends 70 percent of his day on the phone with support trying to get help which takes days or weeks (or never) to resolve. The networks (emphasis on the plural) we had to set up to make this work were ridiculous. Each individual POS terminal requires it's own network with 4 appliances which is really messy and seems redundant, but it doesn't work any other way.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

We love Revel!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The ability to keep an eye on sales in real time from our Headquarters and the ease of use... there is not a lot of training needed to teach a new associate to use the POS and nearly no room for error.

Cons

The support site could be a little more helpful. Some help topics do not offer a lot of explanation or are geared more for restaurants and do not address how we would use certain settings for retail. We are also a little disappointed in the customer facing display's capabilities. We thought that the customer would be able to enter their own email address to be added to our mailing list from there, but the functionality is not there. It is pretty much just a fancy way for the customer to watch their order being rung up and a pen-pad for them to sign their credit card receipts. We have our fingers crossed that the functionality we needed will be added soon as we believe it will be an integral part of our marketing efforts!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Only good if your needs are very Basic

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall Revel is a total letdown and will be replaced by year end with a better system, lots of things we were promised could be done require using their "Open API" which costs more per month than the entire POS system does for 5 stations. We were not told about the API pricing upfront (or that there was even a cost at all, it was pitched like it was included in the regular fee) just that we could...

Pros

Overall they have a nice POS interface and it is pretty stable. Their pricing is also pretty good for the base system.

Cons

Functions are hard to find Very much geared towards restaurants, so if you are in another business be prepared to see restaurant specific stuff all over you can't turn off Material changes to the way things work with zero notice Can only see profit margin by employee no P&L type report. Inventory uploads regularly fail with no notice, and no way to tell what was added without doing a manual compare of before and after and trying again with the additional items.

Vendor response

Hi Michael, I am truly sorry about your experience and I have shared your feedback with our sales management team, as well as the customer service team. I am confident that once we get we get a bit more info from you, we will be able to come to a resolution in terms of API and reporting. Our customer service team will be happy to follow up on any outstanding issues you have. Regards, Sarah, Customer Advocacy Manager at Revel

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

A Powerful POS

Reviewed 6 years ago

The Revel system is everything you need in an iPad POS. It is loaded with options and functionality for use in several industries (what else do you expect from the POS partner of Intuit's Quickbooks?). From restaurants to retail, Revel is completely customizable to handle all forms of sales tax, eat-in tables, retail categories, reporting, and even integrates with other software like Quickbooks Online. While...

Pros

The functionality and flexibility is great. I love that almost everything can be customized according to the preferences and needs of the business owner and his processes.

Cons

The way the integration works with QBO takes some getting used to, but it is not a deal breaker.

Vendor response

Hi Jake, This is great feedback to hear on our QuickBooks Integration. Thank you for taking the time to share on Capterra! Cheers, Sarah, Community Manager, Revel Systems

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Amazing features and functionality for accurate business analysis

Reviewed 4 years ago

Give your customer service agents at your call centers raises! I have spent dozens of hours on the phone and talked to numerous people from all over and every single one of them has surpassed all expectations of product knowledge and customer service! That makes a world of difference!

Pros

The features from a business owner's perspective are unparalleled. Everything is totally customizable tofu the specific and unique needs of individual businesses. The customer service alone makes this worth the money. I have never looked forward to calling customer service before, but the training of the employees of not just product knowledge, but also customer service is absolutely unmatched.

Cons

I have three specific areas of opportunity for Revel. 1) Taking payments of split checks (especially when one guest leaves earlier than others) is the worst system of any modern systems I have ever worked with. After splitting the checks, it is impossible to change the way you split the items if one guest has already paid and left. This really needs to be addressed if the product is going to be marketed...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Dissapointing product and support

Reviewed 4 years ago

I stuck with Revel for the first two years of my business because of the desktop QuickBooks integration, which made things easier on my accountant and myself for bookkeeping. Now that they no longer host a Sync app, they are trying to force everyone onto QB online. The support agent I spoke to claimed that there was no way to export the data manually to desktop. The system was clearly designed for...

Pros

Formerly integrated with QuickBooks desktop Offline sales if internet goes down Somewhat intuitive POS station (still some issues)

Cons

Eliminated Desktop integration on short notice Back end dashboard is difficult to navigate Customer service can have EXTEMELY long wait times Sales team is unreachable after you start paying

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback, Kerry. We apologize for the frustrating and disappointing experience you've had; someone from Revel will be reaching out soon to see what can be done to make things right.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Revel Systems for Table Service Lacks VERY VERY VERY Basic Tip Report for Servers

Reviewed 5 years ago

Before you buy Revel ask the sales rep to try to print a basic tip report with a server log in prior to batching out at the end of the day. It's not currently possible unless you give your server full financial access.

Pros

Revel Systems syncs with Quickbooks better than any other system I'm aware of. They most often sell the equipment with higher-end networking and wireless access points such as Meraki or Ubiquiti whereas others use residential Netgear, Linksys, or TP Link which jeopardizes the stability of using a tablet as your POS.

Cons

This oversight by Revel is ridiculous. However, are you table service and do you need your servers or other employees to take credit card tips out of the cash drawer at the end of their shift? Or leave a receipt in the drawer of how much they took out? If so it's not currently possible with Revision 2.22.9-61 or below for a server to print a basic tip report (unless you give them full financial...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Trust the Bad Reviews

Reviewed 6 years ago

For the sake of easy reading, I will simply say that at 49 years old, I have never had a worse experience in terms of product capability, professionalism within a company, accountability, and most of all, service. So bad was the product and service, that I willing gave up the initial expense, to allow myself to walk away from any contractual obligation. And this was after only months of use. There...

Pros

Few

Cons

Many

Vendor response

Hi Peter, I am sorry to hear you had such a poor experience and that we weren't able to turn it around for you. It is definitely not characteristic of our platform or current Customer Support structure. I took a look at your history and I see that you have not been a customer for some time now and that your primary issue stemmed from networking - if the networking is not functioning properly, of course, it can cause problems, and it can sometimes be environmental. We have definitely made a lot of advances since you were a customer and we now offer an Apple Ethernet Connect solution which solves trickier situations. I am just sorry we weren't able to offer this option to you formerly. Regardless, your feedback is appreciated. - Sarah, Community Manager at Revel

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Extremely overpriced fees and disappointing system!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It looks nice and sleek on the counter. The actual POS is pretty straight forward after training and most employees caught on quickly.

Cons

Where to start?? First, the monthly fees are insane considering the poor quality of the product and customer service. For two locations and three terminals, we paid fees to Revel each month. We've experienced a lot of equipment issues (tickets not printing to kitchen, card swipe goes down, mobile unit won't connect and allow orders to be taken, etc) oftentimes in the middle of a lunch rush. We...

Vendor response

Hi Meghan, I know we have already spoken over the phone about this, but I do apologize for your experience. It sounds like you encountered a known issue with the Online Ordering that has since been fixed. I apologize as I know how frustrating that can be when you are in the midst of service. We do appreciate your feedback and, again, apologize that we weren't able to work on a resolution for you sooner. Best regards, Sarah, Community Manager at Revel

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Skeptical at first...

Reviewed 6 years ago

After months of wrangling with the decision of which system to invest in I cautiously went forward with Revel. 2 terminal system only so if it didn't work out the damages would be minimal. I learned the hard way jumping in with two feet real quick with Clover. (Different business than the one I bought Revel for. The CC processor is really to blame for saying that Clover is a good system for full...

Pros

Basic programming is relatively easy, uploading large amounts of items via excel spreadsheet was great. The support has been awesome! We have made a few mistakes on our end and they have gotten us back on track, plus quickly been able to guide us through some more complex feature programming. No issues have gone unresolved and none have gone into the 2nd day. No issues have been in any way critical or serious either.

Cons

Even though our system is 100% hardwired it still requires an access point that is wireless. I don't like the potential issues with wireless. A few days ago one of the terminals was having a spotty connection issue.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Simplified Our Work Flow

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

There are so many pros, here is a list of some of them: Inventory Tracking, Variable Pricing, QuickBooks Integration, Accurate Accounting...

Cons

Learning curve for connecting accounts for QuickBooks, more videos would be great, but customer service helps a lot with this.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Revel Retail POS

Reviewed 6 years ago

We recently switched to the Revel system from an older POS. While there was a slight learning curve for our employees it was very slight and has run smooth. Since installing Revel the amount of information garnered from the system has already begun to transform our business for the better. I would highly recommend Revel to anyone that is looking for quality software that will bring them to the next level in their retail establishment.

Pros

Ease of use, back office software, Cloud based.

Cons

Many items for retail are not turned on immediately.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Perfect for our cafe!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Revel has been great for our restaurant. We needed something more tailored to our needs as we have grown. Revel has a great feature set and it has greatly smoothed out our operations.

Pros

Many options for customization. Easy to use and detailed back end for reporting. Smooth operations for orders.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Revel Systems logo

Revel Systems

Easy to use and great user interface

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The best thing about this software is its easy use of use

Cons

I really like the inventory management system, which worked well for managing bar inventory

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Square for Restaurants logo

Square for Restaurants

Not Worth The Time

Reviewed 3 years ago

When using Square we did not have the best experience and the customer service was not the greatest either they are very rude and do not know how to talk to people with respect. They do not offer protection for customers when purchasing products online or directly through the store like PayPal or other online softwares which is a problem not only for us as a business but for our customers as well.

Pros

Connects straight to banking system, Can use small Tablets and phone to do business

Cons

Fees are larger than most other software systems, money does not deposit directly to bank you have to request that money is sent.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Square for Restaurants logo

Square for Restaurants

Not Ready For Prime Time

Reviewed 3 years ago

All the good things about Square exist with other systems that lack the bad things. They are new to the restaurant space and they are evolving, but they are not there yet.

Pros

The user interface is clear and simple. It works perfectly well for our servers.

Cons

The back of house reporting is a disaster. I’ve never worked with a more complicated, obtuse, confusing reporting function. They say you can customize your reports, but that’s true in only the simplest sense. We can’t customize reports so that all the info we want is in one place. We still need to bounce from report to report to find the data we need. It takes my bookkeeper far longer to reconcile sales to receivables than ever before, and occasionally we spend hours trying to make sense, on the phone with support personnel who also can’t make sense of the reports. Any positive reviews of the reporting functions are from customers that really use the reports seriously or diligently. If you care that your receipts are correct, Square makes it virtually impossible.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Square for Restaurants logo

Square for Restaurants

the best POS for restaurants

Reviewed 2 years ago

Square was a huge help for us as a restaurant this year. With covid-19 businesses had to move really fast to the online market and Square provides the tools to get there really fast and easy.

Pros

It is really easy to set up, the price is way better than the other systems in the market, it works with wifi and you can use it on your laptop, Ipad, smartphone. I love how they offer the CRM tool and even more I love how easy is to create a website for your restaurant with them.

Cons

they could improve some of the features so It is even easier and faster to select the items. for example to add more options to the conditional words ( add, yes, No, extra, etc...) they could put the option to replace (ex: replace Ham for turkey) so when we have a customer who wants to customize a product we do not have to write long sentences all the time, instead we can just click a few buttons and is done.