Schedulicity vs Zen Planner Comparison Chart

Summary
Pricing
Details
Top features
Typical customers
Support options
Mobile apps
Android
iPhone/iPad
User reviews
Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Users recommended to a colleague
Integrations
Social presence
Facebook
Twitter


Reviews

Steve Ktr

A flexible and very customizable management planner

2018-03-15

good expericen

Pros

Gym and yoga studio management that is easy to set up and customize. Customer self-service module limits the amount of time your staff spends on data entry. Good calendar setup, email automation, and flexible reporting.

Cons

Mobile apps are still under development, and some clients of Zen Planner customers complain about inability to schedule classes on their phones.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Zen Planner


Thanks for your feedback, Steve!

Zen Planner Reviews
Zen Planner
Comprehensive Member Mgmt Solution for Fitness Businesses
Read more
Eric Michael

Great tool but has a couple hiccups

2018-10-01

Pros

Organization of my client load, classes and able to schedule my staff.

Cons

Great to have a noticed if credit card were expiring so can not lose income or at least have to.hunt down clients down for new cc and payment

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Zen Planner Reviews
Zen Planner
Comprehensive Member Mgmt Solution for Fitness Businesses
Read more
Andrea Kelly

Satisfied Customer

2019-02-21

My members find it easy to schedule classes.

Pros

The ease of scheduling a class on the member side.

Cons

Minor glitches. One example. My members should receive one alert when their payment is declined. However, some receive an alert everyday until they pay. That is annoying for the members and makes us look like we're harassing them.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Zen Planner


Happy to hear it, Andrea!

Zen Planner Reviews
Zen Planner
Comprehensive Member Mgmt Solution for Fitness Businesses
Read more
Billie Patterson

Useful and organized

2018-09-13

Pros

Creates an organized way to schedule appointments and meetings.

Cons

(Example: can click on reservation or cancel when looking at overall schedule instead of just on your direct profile.)

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Zen Planner Reviews
Zen Planner
Comprehensive Member Mgmt Solution for Fitness Businesses
Read more
Ryan Taylor

Needs a better app

2018-10-09

Pros

Support team is great, and really helps in the on boarding process. They are very fast in response time and give many options for helping solve situations.

Cons

Scheduling ahead of the current week is a little confusing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Zen Planner


Hey Ryan, thanks for your feedback. We're happy to share you can now schedule appointments in Staff App! Check out the tutorial here: https://help.zenplanner.com/hc/en-us/articles/360005456213

Zen Planner Reviews
Zen Planner
Comprehensive Member Mgmt Solution for Fitness Businesses
Read more
Crystal Murphy

My boot camp using this software to schedule our sessions. The phone app is easy and awesome to have

2017-05-05

Pros

I use it weekly to schedule my boot camp sessions

Cons

That I can't see how many sessions I attended on the phone app. I don't usually log in on the computer

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Zen Planner Reviews
Zen Planner
Comprehensive Member Mgmt Solution for Fitness Businesses
Read more
Kevin Schuetz

Trusted software for 5 years

2017-12-07

Pros

All in one solution for database , sign in, scheduling, billing, reporting.

Cons

Reporting is a little confusing and takes too much time. Would like easy one click options for standard reporting

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Zen Planner Reviews
Zen Planner
Comprehensive Member Mgmt Solution for Fitness Businesses
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer

A great program...when it is working properly

2018-03-27

Pros

Zen Planner makes scheduling and paying a breeze.

Cons

Zen Planner has its fair share of bugs to work out. It constantly crashes when I use it, or slows down to turtle speed.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Zen Planner Reviews
Zen Planner
Comprehensive Member Mgmt Solution for Fitness Businesses
Read more
Colin Darling

Solid software, great support.

2019-04-07

Zen Planner takes care of our membership tracking, payments, scheduling. It can be a powerful tool if you know how to use it.

Pros

We've used Zen Planner in our gym for six years, and it's been pretty uneventful overall - which is what you want with such software. It does its job with a minimum of drama. Any issues we've had have been dealt with in a timely fashion. We do not use the workout programming feature (we went with SugarWOD for that), so I can't comment on that particular feature.

Cons

Zen Planner is good about making constant improvements, but there have been some things over the years that are a bit clunky and not necessarily intuitive to use. It's likely a function of building incremental improvements into existing software rather than starting with a clean slate.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Zen Planner


Thanks for the feedback, Colin!

Zen Planner Reviews
Zen Planner
Comprehensive Member Mgmt Solution for Fitness Businesses
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer

Good for very simple gym businesses, bad for everything else.

2017-10-16

Pros

ZP lets us schedule and bill clients in one place.

Cons

This software is the worst part of my job. Do not be fooled by their slick sales staff: this cannot perform most of the functions advertised. It can, but only in a perfect world where you gym runs exactly as ZP imagines it. In this imaginary perfect world, you'd need a team of administrators working full-time to keep your database up-to-date and functioning. Our gym runs about 250 sessions per week. That's either classes or PT. They're all different. ZP's workout builder does not work for this. We were spending ~3 hours per day inputting workouts. It could not scale. So now we do not track workouts in the software. We see 100 leads per week and run free trials to get them into the gym. ZP's various 'prospect' systems cannot handle this. They are not manipulatable enough to handle the different types of trials we'd like to offer. Doing so, again, would take a team of administrators. We now use a separate sales software for everyone on trial. ZP goes down most days for 1-2 hours. 5-6 days per week. Just no software to run the gym. No attendance tracked, no bills processed, no member questions answered. ZP's calendar never works on the first try. Literally. When I click on a staff member's calender I wait 15sec for the software to reload the full gym calendar with no changes. Then I click the staff member a second time, wait another 15sec, and only then am I rewarded with his/her calendar. With 28 staff this is not working.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

1/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Zen Planner


I¿m sorry to hear your experience with Zen Planner has been less than ideal. We'd like to offer help to ensure your database is set up efficiently and give you a direct point of contact for the issues you have brought to our attention. Please reach out to our retention expert, Nick Deprez at nick.deprez@zenplanner.com, to get set up as your review is anonymous and we are unable to reach you directly. In response to your note about down time: we diligently track the down time of our software and are currently at 99.87% availability. This would not be possible if we were down at the rate you described. I¿ve passed your feedback about our feature compatibility and sales to our Sales Team to review and ensure we maintain transparency and honesty in our sales process.

Zen Planner Reviews
Zen Planner
Comprehensive Member Mgmt Solution for Fitness Businesses
Read more
Sean Hayes

Zen Planner

2019-01-24

Pros

Zen Planner is great for booking classes and managing class schedule. It is easy to use and I can pay my membership fees through it.

Cons

Sometimes the app does not load. It usually works after closing and restarting.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Zen Planner


Thank you, Sean! We appreciate your feedback.

Zen Planner Reviews
Zen Planner
Comprehensive Member Mgmt Solution for Fitness Businesses
Read more
Dave Randolph

ZenPlanner

2018-12-14

Zp helped me create and manage clients and billing them monthly. I've been using it since about 2008, so 10 years or so. It has gotten better over time and I've only had trouble with once or twice. It's a solid system

Pros

When it first came out it was ahead of everyone else. It still has a lot of features but it needs a facelift

Cons

The scheduling system needs to be reworked and overall it needs a facelift.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Zen Planner Reviews
Zen Planner
Comprehensive Member Mgmt Solution for Fitness Businesses
Read more
Lisa Herman

Be Prepared for a Nightmare if Zen Planner Doesn't Work for You

2019-04-17

We were trying to handle scheduling our tennis court usage & managed billing.

Pros

The support & training I received at the beginning of the project was really great.

Cons

We are a busy, small company & struggled making the time to figure out how to make Zen Planner work for our business. As soon as we discovered it wouldn't work, we requested to have our account paused while we determined what to do - not that big of a request since we really weren't even using the system yet. They make you sign all these terms & conditions basically saying they can still charge you if they want during a pause that has to be approved anyway. So we decided rather than go through the hassle & potentially be charged further we would just cancel - their loss. Now they are saying we have to give 30 days notice so they are going to charge us another month for a system we never even started using. The customer service here is completely focused on getting you locked in & after that expect to be taken advantage of. Disappointing that a company supposedly designed to help small business just takes their hard earned money instead.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Zen Planner Reviews
Zen Planner
Comprehensive Member Mgmt Solution for Fitness Businesses
Read more
Lynsey Vestal

As a customer it is great!

2017-06-07

using this program is so easy for yoga students!

Pros

It makes it so much easier to make payments, check schedules, and view information about the classes.

Cons

I once had a problem where I paid for a special class, but it did not show up at the studios end. But they quickly resolved the problem.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Zen Planner Reviews
Zen Planner
Comprehensive Member Mgmt Solution for Fitness Businesses
Read more
Alejandro Lopez

Awesome and they continue to work to add new and wanted fuctionality

2017-05-11

One stop shop for managing my business. Automation. And the ability to do a lot with little or no staff.

Pros

Easy to use, easy to manage. It has a great modern look and they don't try to bundle everything in one app. They have different apps for sing in, staff use, and member. I love the reports, and the face check in. Easy to find athletes by their face. Great for when you have new staff. It truly is a great bundle for workout tracking, integration with current website, and integration with marketing emails. All things other companies charge extra for. I would and have recommended this software to other gym and martial art owners.

Cons

The apps are great for managing but missing some fuctionality such as being able to schedule privates on the app.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Zen Planner Reviews
Zen Planner
Comprehensive Member Mgmt Solution for Fitness Businesses
Read more
Stacey Coval

Phenomenal Company

2017-04-18

After having issues (mainly customer service) with our previous scheduling system, we decided to give Zen Planner a try and I am so happy we did.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Zen Planner Reviews
Zen Planner
Comprehensive Member Mgmt Solution for Fitness Businesses
Read more
Mark Valenti

I really enjoy Zen Planner

2017-04-24

Whether it's the staff app, the client app, the clean & clear software, the awesome support staff, the email automation options, the embeddable schedule, or the many more features it offers - I'm extremely satisfied with Zen Planner and would recommend to family, friends or anyone else looking for a software to help their business with the automations and systems needed to grow.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Zen Planner Reviews
Zen Planner
Comprehensive Member Mgmt Solution for Fitness Businesses
Read more
Jenna Byler

Verified Reviewer

Looking for a switch from MindBodyOnline? This is it!

2018-11-28

Pros

I could go on and on but the summary is, this app has improved the way we track client data, retention, our schedule and even our employees.

Cons

I think emailing clients out of the ZenPlanner could be a bit better designed. The function itself works but it's not as simple to use as the rest of the system.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Zen Planner


Thanks, Jenna! We're happy to hear Zen Planner is helping you simplify and improve your business.

Zen Planner Reviews
Zen Planner
Comprehensive Member Mgmt Solution for Fitness Businesses
Read more
taylor Vanleeuwen

Incredible!

2017-05-23

Pros

If your looking for a scheduling software i highly recommend this software.

Cons

The initial set up of the program is a little difficult, it was hard to navigate through at first but again, awesome support team that explained it very well. Only other con is that the website integration is a little difficult and not as pretty on mobile.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Zen Planner Reviews
Zen Planner
Comprehensive Member Mgmt Solution for Fitness Businesses
Read more