ShopKeep Reviews

ShopKeep Reviews

ShopKeep

The simplest way to make smarter business decisions.

4.36/5 (165 reviews)
24,895     7,368

Laurel Winslow

Customer support is really crummy.

11/03/2017

I ordered the whole system before we were up and running live so that I could check it off the list. Big mistake, cash drawer came with no cable, wrong printer for our application and zero directions for set up. 60 days later when we were up and running, I had to buy a whole new printer (they would not return the first one even though it was never used) and they claimed I must of lost the cable for the cash drawer. (it wasn't ever unpacked) I really tried to work with these folks, but they had my money and was no longer interested in supporting the software. I was told they only sell the hardware as a courtesy to the customers. I will be changing over as I am opening two other sites this year.

Pros

Ease of use on the software

Cons

Customer support and hardware support is the absolute worst! I am an easy person to get along with and they ruffled my feathers more than once!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

3/10

Recommendations to others considering ShopKeep

Yes....don't do it, there are others out there that do a much better job for restaurants.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
alex steve

Best value out there

14/02/2017

Shopkeep has made running my business alone doable, the simplicity and price of Shopkeep is fantastic. The customer service is very helpful and they make sure you understand everything before you hang up.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anthony Naples

Making it Easy

08/02/2017

I own a small business with a rotating crew of part-time workers. Shopkeep's straightforward interface makes it simple and easy, both to train and use for newbies.

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

ugly

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Will Rennix

Best value out there

06/02/2017

They have always taken care of me every step of the way. From setup, integration, and problem solving. Highly recommend.

Pros

ease of use

Cons

not very robust

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bethany Walbaum

Great for small businesses!

01/02/2017

As a small business owner, managing and running everything on your own, the simplicity and price of Shopkeep is fantastic. The customer service is very helpful and they make sure you understand everything before you hang up.

Pros

Ease of use Great layout Great customer service

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering ShopKeep

Owner

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Erik Karow

Most Excellent

01/02/2017

The ease and functionality of Shopkeep is second to none. From starting up your iPad to inputting all of your items, it was a breeze. If something perhaps does cause you some trouble, their help department is amazing at getting hints resolved in a hurry. From small businesses to larger scale production businesses, Shopkeep is sure to keep you happy.

Pros

Ease of product

Cons

Rounding on taxes.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering ShopKeep

Bar none the best product out there.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alex Villarreal

Simply the Best

01/02/2017

ShopKeep, although it looks like it's made for a restaurant POS I have made it work for my business, which is a 3D Ultrasound Imaging Studio. It very user-friendly and makes things a lot easier from associates clocking into monthly total all easily accessible

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Edward  Denyer

Best small retailer option

24/01/2017

We love using shopkeep, as a startup venture the transition was easy, there are always things we would love to add or improve, but we are satisfied in that we made the right choice!

Pros

Easy to configure, use and mine for data

Cons

Some things could be improved to help streamline the operations side of the business

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering ShopKeep

If you are starting a business, its a great option so you can focus on other more important matters

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Caretta Carrington

Best POS System

20/01/2017

ShopKeep is the best POS system I've ever used. It is user friendly for everyone no matter if it's the first time or the one hundredth time using a POS system. It has everything you to operate your business; the quality is great! The customer support team is awesome! It's worth the price; I would refer everyone to ShopKeep! Love it

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kathy Davenport

Purchase of second register

15/01/2017

Shopkeep has been helping my business since 2014. When we grew into a second register....shopkeep made this very easy. The equipment was bundled so I knew I had everything I needed. Setting up my new register was very simple. I've already set my sites on a new iPad mini register for Express checkout!

Pros

Simplicity

Cons

Not ready for chip cards

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Keira Thompson

From paper to iPad

14/01/2017

I use to use paper receipts. I switched to ShopKeep based on internet reviews and the need to modernize. I can't say enough WONDERFUL things about their customer service. They respond to emails fast and either pick up the phone right away or they have a call back feature if they are busy. The app and BackOffice is really easy to use. Set up is easy too and they assign you a person to help with your initial questions. Overall totally worth it! The only thing I hope they improve is the ability to exchange items (currently you can only return).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
nadeem khan

Not help for small business

13/01/2017

Once they get your business they will not care who you are. I would tell all the small business not to use this POS system. For equipment, they hook me up with POS Portal and my God that's worst company to deal with. Don't use this company.

Pros

Nothing

Cons

Customer service and their partners like POS portal equipment.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10

Recommendations to others considering ShopKeep

Just don't use this company.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Pennie Espiritu

ShopKeep POS

13/01/2017

Using Shopkeep over the past year has made my life much easier. Keeping track of what is coming in and going out is much easier with the ShopKeep system.

Pros

Easy to use. Nice reports

Cons

No loyalty program build in.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering ShopKeep

Think about the way you want to list your products before imputing them.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stacey Ingerick

Ease of Use and Quick to set up and use!!

11/01/2017

From Day One, The Shopkeep staff were super helpful and gave us a plethora of information and guided assistance to get everything going. Our scanner and receipt printer were seamless and started working right away and we also paired our own credit card transaction machine with the Shopkeep POS Software with ease. We can now check out our customers a lot faster now with the option of having hot keys for our best selling items in our candy store! Thank you for making a wonderful product that makes our life easier....!! :)

Pros

The Hot buttons

Cons

The having to add every piece of inventory in, its time consuming, but necessary...

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering ShopKeep

When pulling up the item and having to adjust inventory numbers for new stock coming in, I would love to see it have add come up first, instead of delete or subtract.... im always adding more stock into the system than removing it.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Will Rennix

Best Value to be Found

10/01/2017

I've been using ShopKeep for four years now and it's been wonderful. At no time has there been a doubt in our minds that we went with the right system. Easy to use and amend. Keep it up, SK!!!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
gary atkinson

ShopKeep rocks

10/01/2017

I am as non-tech as it gets but this system is so easy to use even I feel like a pro. From the initial set-up including inventory input to various updates over the last 4+ years I've had it, I would highly recommend this POS system to anyone.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Max Patton

Shopkeep solved our problems

10/01/2017

I would recommend to a friend. The time clock feature works great. I wish it worked on iPhone. Only works with iPad

Pros

works great for cashier and time clock

Cons

doesn't work on iphone

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tony Naples

Starbirds Review

10/01/2017

Shopkeep has made running my business alone doable. The customer support is great, and always available- and friendly to boot.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Christopher Bray

Rescued us from a POS of perpetual problems

10/01/2017

When we first transitioned from a legacy POS to an iPad-based POS, we'd gone with another product that seemed perfect. Unfortunately, that product was like buying a house and discovering a day in and day out that it was full of mold, had cracks in the foundation and other structural problems, and the repair people tasked with helping you seemed trained to make things worse. It required constant attention in order to ensure very basic functionality, crashed constantly, caused massive headaches with credit card processing, and everyone from our account rep to her bosses to "tech support" was so clueless, one could write a sitcom with the stories. We shopped around for our replacement, making sure to ask all the questions and investigate to the best of our abilities so as not to end up in the same place. We found ShopKeep and could not be more pleased with the results. I cannot overstate how completely opposite every interaction with ShopKeep has been compared with the competitor we replaced. Every question has been answered satisfactorily, every issue dealt with (and not forgotten by an overwhelmed support crew), and every guarantee upheld. Even better, the application itself functions as advertised, so we are not spending actual hours of our time making something work; it just works. We don't experience crashing, lost data, unsolvable credit card processing nightmares, and the rare calls to tech support are quick and painless. There may not be as many back-end bells and whistles in terms of reporting and inventory, but these are always in development, and I feel comfortable saying that when these new elements are introduced they will function as described. The app is clean, intuitive to learn, easy to use, and the resources made available, detailed online instructions, videos, etc. combined with helpful, engaged, communicative staff at all levels ¿ have made ShopKeep a hero to us. If I ever notice ShopKeep being used at another business, I always make a point to ask about it and find the same enthusiastic appreciation I'm trying to convey here. (Whereas I do the same with the competitor we ditched, and always see their eyes glaze over.) I highly recommend ShopKeep and know that users will be as satisfied as we are to have found them.

Pros

Clean design, easy & intuitive to learn, very stable i.e. does not crash, connectivity has never been an issue, back-office works well in its current format. Tech support always available, helpful, and willing to go the extra step to help when they do not immediately have the answer. Simplicity, meaning one is not overwhelmed with more features than one could use (and which could be rendered pointless if overall stability is a challenge). Fairly flexible layout for the iPad menus. Very straightforward to set-up, and the online resources are comprehensive. I taught myself everything in an afternoon, and staff all took to it quite easily. I have not had to spend hours and hours trying to establish functionality with a line of customers staring at me.

Cons

BackOffice reporting could be a little more comprehensive and with more user control in terms of personalization. Bulk editing and management of inventory/stock items is nice, but individual item edits can be time-consuming if one is only working on 5 items (vs. 50).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering ShopKeep

Changing over to ShopKeep was so easy and such a smooth transition for us. I recommend availing oneself of the online tools and the user Forum in order to keep in touch with other users and provide feedback to ShopKeep (who is always responsive). It is very, very noticeable to work with a company that is responsive and communicative at every level. My hope is that this will always be the case with ShopKeep.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Katherine Belczak

Over 4 years of great service.

10/01/2017

In 2013 we decided to upgrade our POS system to an iPad based register. At the time, I was looking for something that was straight forward and decently priced. I haven't regretted deciding on ShopKeep. I've never had a situation where I haven't been able to find the information I needed about sales and inventory and any technical issues we've had have been few and far between and phone support has been prompt and thorough. We currently use ShopKeep as our POS system in two separate retail locations.

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

I wish there was some way to navigate a little quicker through inventory.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Carolynne Chancellor

We Love ShopKeep

10/01/2017

ShopKeep has been invaluable with the start of our new business Checkered Past Winery in Dallas. Very Simple to use and learn. Easy to keep track of sales, inventory, and trends. Employee hours and info are easy to manage. Customer service is very helpful and always available. Can't imagine using any other POS system.

Pros

Easy and efficient

Cons

Building reports can sometime take time but it still functions well.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Louisa parkinson

Review for gift card

10/01/2017

I was disappointed to see that customer service is no longer 24/7 but continue to recommend Shopkeep.

Pros

Very easy to teach people how to use.

Cons

The toggle on the receipt printing page is counter intuitive. And the reporting while robust is not as flexible as I would like.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Donavan McGrath

Excellent Product

10/01/2017

For what we needed to be a mobile business, Shopkeep steps up to the plate and gives us everything we need, including support on the weekends.

Pros

The ease of setup and use.

Cons

The mobile card reader needs to be chip ready.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Evelyn Lott

Small Bussiness Savior

10/01/2017

I'm so thankful I found out about the ShopKeep POS system. As a first-time business owner, the ease of the app and the amount of tech support from the ShopKeep team as made my life so much easier. My employees learned the app extremely fast and we are able to keep up with inventory and our numbers quickly, which is always important in a restaurant. Along with my employees, my customers always compliment our POS system.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stephanie Maynard

Love Shopkeep

10/01/2017

We've been using Shopkeep for 5 years and love it. They continually make improvements, listening to the feedback from their users. We know many other businesses using much more expensive POS systems and they are much less satisfied that we are.

Pros

Easy to use, data easily accessible, backoffice comprehensive.

Cons

The fee per register - we need 7 registers occasionally, a package deal would be nice.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering ShopKeep

Highly recommended over other more expensive POS packages. Much prefer Shopkeep over Square POS.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more