App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Smartlook Logo

Smartlook

Write a review

Qualitative analytics for websites and mobile apps

(21)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Smartlook Features

Features Summary

Functionality

4.6

/5

134

Total features

72

14 categories

Smartlook features

API
Activity Dashboard
Activity Tracking
Alerts/Notifications
Application Management
Audit Trail
Behavior Tracking
Behavioral Analytics

Common features of Reporting software

API
Access Controls/Permissions
Activity Dashboard
Ad hoc Query
Ad hoc Reporting
Alerts/Notifications
Audit Management
Collaboration Tools

Price starts from

0

Per month

Flat Rate

Pricing options
Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Screenshots

Contenders comparison

Functionality

4.6

/5

134

Price starts from

0

Per month

learn more

Total Features

72

Unique features

  • Transaction Monitoring

  • Retention Tracking

  • User Research Analysis

  • Funnel Analysis

Functionality

4.5

/5

9.9K

Price starts from

25

/user

Per month

visit website

Total Features

91

Features in Common

22

Unique features

  • Skip Logic

  • Multi-Channel Communication

  • SSL Security

  • SMS Messaging

Functionality

4.3

/5

6.7K

Price starts from

14

/user

Per month

visit website

Total Features

201

Features in Common

25

Unique features

  • Configurable Workflow

  • Monitoring

  • Document Storage

  • Relationship Tracking

Common Smartlook comparisons

Reviewers who mentioned features said:

PW
AvatarImg

Philip W.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Smartlook helps me look smart

Reviewed 6 years ago

Seriously this is a tool you should be using so you know how your website works for your customers, it's all about finding what works and where you may be going wrong. It's cheaper than a consultant and this online consultant works 27/7

Pros

Smartlook is easy to use it helps me see how people interact with my website so I can improve user experience. I have also been able to make contact with customers who have had difficulty placing an order so this software has helped me in more ways than one.. It can also be used a a good anti fraud deterrent also.

Cons

Price I think the price could be lowered to help the smaller business ,you know the one man band who works from home.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review!

GA
AvatarImg

Giovanni A.

Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I'm not with a good (or bad) experience, because Smartlook doesn't work in Wix Plataform ='(

Reviewed 7 years ago

None, yet ='(

Pros

Nothing, yet, because my website was hosted in Wix Platform, and Smartlook doesn't work in this platform. I'm anxious to Smartlook star to work in Wix Platform, for I begin to use him.

Cons

The platform should work in Wix Plataform, for I use it. Please, add this feature <3. I'm responsable, from my enterprise, to adminstrate website. And Wix Platform also have some problems with Google Analytics. Thus, I would to see Smartlook working in my website.

Vendor response

Hi Giovanni, thank you very much for your review. Lukas Mehnert CMO at Smartlook

KM
AvatarImg

Kapil M.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best User Experience Tracking Software

Reviewed a year ago

it helps in understanding website user behavior, tracking the analytics and supporting in Improving the content on the website.

Pros

The Integration is super easy, we can get new information about user behavior every time when we check the tool, it is a good software to analyze, improve and implement the content and services on a Platform (web or app)

Cons

not much, it is good and keep on updating

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

James T.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Flat out love SmartLook

Reviewed 7 years ago

CRO that improved ROI by a minimum of 36%

Pros

Quick and easy setup. Get to know what you're customers are doing on your website. Track IP/location of site visitors. Tech info i.e. desktop vs mobile.

Cons

There's a minimum API support online. Would like to see better API documentation and flexibility. Also integration with other platforms such as MAS and CRMs. Would love to integrate SmartLook with Marketo, Salesforce, HubSpot, InfusionSoft and the likes.

Vendor response

Hi James, thank you very much for your review. Lukas Mehnert, CMO at Smartlook

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Michael R.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool for viewing visitor actions

Reviewed 6 years ago

The main goal is to improve the conversion rate. Easy to set up and use. Learning curve on understanding the data. Think it will be a great tool.

Pros

The recordings are a great way to see how a visitor interacts with your site. You can view new or returning visitors. Shows referral source, path through site, device used and even browser. Also location.

Cons

Trying to parse and understand all the data is a bit challenging. Would be nice if there was some kind of automated summaries. Lot of data to digest and interpret.

Vendor response

Hi Michael, We are actively working on some automation ;-) Thank you very much for your nice review. Lukas CMO at Smartlook

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Marcel V.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Not impressed

Reviewed 3 years ago

I must say I am disappointed.

Pros

Solid app for website traffic recording and easy to implement but there are cons with it...

Cons

There are better apps for monitoring website traffic than this one. If you want to end a trial or a month subscription, just be careful to write them that you wish so in advance otherwise they will charge you even if you have removed your payment card in the account settings. It´s a scam and ridiculous - they do NOT have unsubscribe button in account settings. They don´t even bother sending notifications about ending period. Also, if you want to stick to free trial, you should know that with a decent traffic on your website your recording will end very very fast. Futhermore, this app has a good review because they offer you a free 14 days or even a month free in exchange for a great customer review on review sites.

EA
AvatarImg

Enver A.

11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Essential Online Marketing and Customer Experience tool.

Reviewed 7 years ago

User Experience Optimization

Pros

It is a great tool to monitor incoming traffic (with sources), and to track their movements on the website in order to improve the user experience on the website. It is a great feedback tool.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Enver, thank you very much for your review. Lukas Mehnert, CMO at Smartlook

MM
AvatarImg

Martin M.

Consumer Goods, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very helpful, I recommend

Reviewed 7 years ago

I have mentioned it before, but I have to again emphasize that it is powerful marketing tool and also very important instrument for improving functions of your e-shop.

Pros

The basic version is free (so you can try all important functions for free) It is very easy to understand how it works It helps me to improve my internet eshop. I could not see many faults of my eshop without this system. It is also very powerful marketing tool, you can easily watch the behaviour of your customers (where they come from, what time they spent on particular page, what was the reason why they left your eshop etc.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Martin, thank you very much for your review. Lukas Mehnert CMO at Smartlook

TI
AvatarImg

Tariq I.

Education Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good tool to check real-time visitors

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Smartlook is great that shows in real-time what's exactly user is doing and also it shows the typing data of user in the forms. It also easy to create funnel and track overall process in smartlook.

Cons

The least things about smartlook is that it doesn't show accurate data of cities.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

useful tool with good number of functions

Reviewed 6 years ago

See moments when customer get some bug on our page.

Pros

Easy set up of targets and events on page. Create data based on history. Easy UX and design. Fast answers on our questions.

Cons

Heatmap created without our CSSs :( Another point with heatmap - generated long long time after creation - we have a lot of sessions but heatmap didn't work by few days.

Vendor response

Hi, thank you for your review! Lukas CMO at Smartlook

AT
AvatarImg

Atour T.

Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I was able to update my website without requesting criticism, which saved me a lot of time.

Reviewed 2 years ago

I watch a few records at random and can tell what the user wants from our website.

Pros

The basis of Smartlook's conversion rate optimization mechanism is qualitative data. It enables me to gather, record, observe, and analyze visitor behavior on our website.Owners of interactive websites that want to employ qualitative analytics to enhance the performance of their platform can use Smartlook. Numerous third-party applications, including Wordpress, Google Analytics, and Shopify, are integrated by Smartlook. It includes a mobile app, is accessible for free, and offers premium customers access to additional tools and functions, which is really helpful to me.

Cons

I want to have the choice of viewing the recordings in a pop-up window or a panel on the same screen.I don't have the possibility to organize the recordings into folders or tag them.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Cynthia R.

Information Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Smartlooked for awhile now

Reviewed 5 years ago

Smartlook has given time management a new definition. It allows us to save tremendous time and work more efficiently.

Pros

So we've been using Smartlook for some time now and I always thought it was a decent program. Having just gone through an entire tax season with almost every call utilizing this tool, it deserves a second view so to speak. Smartlook allows tech support or agents (in my company) to share screens with their customers. We can see their mouse movements, help them to navigate through the various options...

Cons

The only thing I can say I least like about this software is that you can only screenshare within the website. Unlike another competition, you cannot screen the customers complete computer screen. If a customer wants to minimize a screen so you can see a document on their computer, for instance, you can't. In my line of work its not a deal breaker at all because the majority of the workflow is within the website.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review! This review is not related to Smartlook but more to Turbotax. Please change this, Lukas

LV
AvatarImg

Laura V.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect blend of qualitative & quantitative analysis for our measuring our product

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Smartlook is the perfect blend of qualitative & quantitative analysis for our product team. It's given us a new perspective on how users are experiencing our product — from how quickly users can achieve key goals, to what our product looks like on all kinds of weird and wonderful resolutions. The true power of Smartlook comes from how it captures every event that occurs, and then allows you to search...

Cons

There's nothing I'm disliking about Smartlook, although I'm looking forward to more flexibility with pinning stacked event charts (where I'm comparing multiple events) as a single dashboard tile. This would make tracking our key metrics really slick. Mostly I'm just excited to see where they take the product!

Vendor response

Hi Laura, thank you for your review! Lukas CMO at Smartlook

MP
AvatarImg

Márton P.

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The idea to look how our customers use our websites is brilliant. I'm always very excited to replay.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

I have spotted out several typos and failures on my site just by looking what my visitors had seen. It provides the best insight as well regarding the customers behaviour, it is not comparable to anything else I was using (google analytics, path recording). I ve discovered a new world with Smartview and can't help spending hours playing back then recordings, and checking what and hiw the visitors were doing.

Cons

On a smartphone the right panel (offering other other recordings if the same visitor ) takes up a considerable amount of space, and it takes too much clicks and precise zoom to hide it. Itwould be better to be able to switch it off from the profile settings, (or simply deactive it for the free package) Its also a big painpont, that there is no option to filter out the recording from direct (not facebook, google etc), as this info is also not visible on the smartphone listing

Vendor response

Hi Márton, thank you very much for your review. We will change Smartlook in future and it will be much more mobile friendly. You can filter the visitor recordings in the advanced filters. Under Visitor behaviour is the option referer. Enjoy Smartlook Lukas Mehnert, CMO at Smartlook

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Aliya W.

Consumer Goods, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great way of deriving customer insights

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall I am having an amazing experience of using this tool. This software has provided ways to the users like never before in terms of user behavior. This is a software that just feeds and records all of the users surfing over websites and in mobile apps which is a great thing because this innovative feature allows users to inculcate and derive information by filtering out millions of recordings in absolutely no time.

Pros

Moving on to the pros of this platform, this software is a great solution due to so many things. First of all, the heatmaps within the software are so useful. Moreover, this software is always showing important information like IP addresses and even country data on the user interface so that it gets easier for the users. Also, this platform provides an easy way of recording all of the user sessions which I find very useful and insightful which can help me in the later stages when it would come to explore consumer insight.

Cons

The mobile applications need more improvement in the sense that new updates are required which work well with phones as this can facilitate the overall experience a lot and can take the user experience a few notches higher. Moreover, the dashboard needs to be improved as well so that the user interface feels more convenient and easy too.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Melih Ç.

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I hope our competitors won't discover this tool before we take the advantage!

Reviewed 2 years ago

We decreased our churn rates by 20% in tutorial sequence. I believe this product can increase many of the mobile game's retention by 5% to 10% easily. I am writing this comment because developers are friendly, and they deserve success. However, I still hope my competitors don't discover this tool.

Pros

We love all the data and funnels but when it comes to looking at what players are doing in the game is something different. We can now watch what players are doing. This is magical! With Smartlook we can now learn what they like how they interact with the game, and we can design the game accordingly.

Cons

I think the monetization of the product is still premature however price is still great for this quality product. I believe if the product encourages companies to use it for every app & game they have, this product can increase it's revenue more than limiting funnel and events. Smartlook is a secret weapon for any mobile game studio, and if this product wants to tap into that market, its monetization needs to be adjusted. I hope our competitors will not discover this product before we take full advantage!

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Apparel & Fashion, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Using this tool is a breeze, and it provides helpful suggestions

Reviewed 2 years ago

To learn more about how our customers use our websites, we employ Smartlook. We can track visitors' actions with the help of Smartlook in a way that we can't achieve with other analytics solutions. In other words, we now know how to improve the user experience. Smartlook helped us discover what issues our customers were having as they completed the checkout process. As a result, we saw an increase in our website's conversion rate.

Pros

When you're trying to get a better understanding of a new feature, recordings come in handy. Using Smartlook's many filtering options, we can quickly locate what we're looking for. It's also critical for future development to keep an eye on how customers go through funnels.

Cons

Some features of Smartlook irritate me, such as the inability to compare A/B test heatmaps and recordings on the same map or video. Having the ability to filter recordings and heatmaps through Google Optimize would be quite beneficial.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Michal P.

Internet, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great qualitative analytics tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

Smartlook is a great addition to Google Analytics. It provides answers that you can't get from your quantitative data. A must-have for marketing analysts and UX designers.

Pros

Smartlook doesn't sample their recordings in comparison with most competitors. Their support and account management is top notch, wouldn't even consider a change because of them.

Cons

There are some bugs now and then but nothing too annoying. And I always get answers whenever I report them, it doesn't get unnoticed and they work on fixing them. User management is a bit clumsy at the moment but it should get better in the future.

Vendor response

Hi Michal, really thank you for your review. Actually we are working on a new user management , to make it more clear. Thanks for your review, Lukas CMo at Smartlook

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Grisell M.

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Getting analytics from the visitant view is a great tool nowadays.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

With this type of solutions we can know if our visitors have problems when making a purchase, or find a button, for example, as well as verify the most common actions within a specific page. Record even the visits made from phones and tablets, always leaving the videos saved for 3 days in the app (you can extend the number of days by inviting friends to use the solution) and for three months in the cloud (videos that we consider more tools). In addition to the video we will also see the visitor's IP address, location, browser, traffic source and time spent on the page, so it is a perfect complement to analize.

Cons

The limit is too short, but it's enough if your website don't have millars of visits. Lately the tool has not recorded several sessions. Now blocks checkout page on free version. A world map of all the users connections, would be usefull.

Vendor response

Thank you very much

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sagar M.

Mental Health Care, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

First tool to use if you're creating a mobile app

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great app to do qualitative analytics in user's natural environment helping faster product development. This enables better prioritisation decisions.

Pros

Ability to view each session and understand UX issues without having to wait for user feedback

Cons

Inability to create custom tags for users for easier identification in case where we want to view the recordings anonymously.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good price great results

Reviewed 5 years ago

I'm impressed with the platform especially all th features you get for the price. I have tried other platforms that have a portion of this feature and for the mid in beta while Smartlook has really thought out the different metrics and filters.

Pros

Its easy to use with a ton a filters to filter users by location, page details, and other website activity. Y our even able to not only filter out your companies IP address but star valued users to continuously look at hate website behavior. It's easy to share the videos and view them to notice trends or issues amongst users.

Cons

It doesn't archive the videos past a certain time frame it also isn't super easy to sort by date

Vendor response

Hi, thank you very much for your review and feedback. We will add it to our Trello feedback borad. Lukas CMO at Smartlook

SZ
AvatarImg

Silvia Z.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Smartlook helps me to understand of behavior of my customers

Reviewed 7 years ago

customer preferences

Pros

It is a step towards understanding our customers and helping us prepare our strategies. It is really useful to begin to understand our clients. You have an overview of the demand and customer preferences to help them customize the offer.

Cons

At least I do not like that this free version is limited and I often have to clear data. We would also prefer some statistics, for example, where our customers are from what country, region, city, age, and so on.

Vendor response

Hi Silvia, thank you very much for your review. Lukas Mehnert CMO at Smartlook

JW
AvatarImg

John W.

Consumer Goods, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Brilliant software by Smartlook and a real game changer its like looking over the customer shoulder

Reviewed 7 years ago

It is so easy to use and is like watching a video of someone using your website. I have no idea how they get such fantastic video quality (or seem video quality) and not slow down the website. This is fantastic software and a real game changer, I have already started spotting little tweaks that need implementing from watching over the customer's shoulder.

Pros

A fast easy implementation does not slow down the website, you can see what the customer gets up to. You will not believe the quality and once you have tried it no more need to study analytics charts to try and figure out what is going on. You won't believe it but it is FREE.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi John, thank you very much for your review. Lukas Mehnert, CMO at Smartlook

SR
AvatarImg

Selene R.

Apparel & Fashion, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, very useful, excellent to know at all times what the customers do in my e-commerce

Reviewed 7 years ago

Know which products are the most visited by customers, in addition to the time that remains on the page to discover the limitations that each client can have in navigation for later use for improvements on the web

Pros

Necessary every day for the preparation of marketing campaigns, the handling is very intuitive and easy

Cons

The loading of some of the recordings is somewhat slow and it takes time to show the recording when the customer is still on the web.

Vendor response

Hi Selene, thank you very much for your review. Lukas Mehnert CMO at Smartlook

MG
AvatarImg

Miguel G.

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

a very useful tool

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

I can improve my web and the user experience thanks to smartlook being able to analyze the behavior in different computer browsers, tablets and mobile.

Cons

The limit of 1000 recordings in the free account is finished in a short time, even so it is quite useful to obtain data of the operation and to correct possible errors that we can only see through this tool.

Vendor response

Hi Miguel, thank you very much for your review. Lukas Mehnert, CMO at Smartlook