This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

visit website

The Flybook Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Communication with guides and guests is great. The ability for customers to engage in the reservation is awesome just wish customers used it more.

Jon S.

They answer all our many many questions very quickly, and have also proved pretty darn good at developing or customizing features that fit our business, or help us capitalize on opportunities.

Nick H.

The integration of the on line waiver (Smartwaiver) was seamless. The confirmation, thank you and the other email templates are also great.

Tim D.

Cons

Customers struggle all the time. Call us to make reservations, More waste of time.

Earl W.

Guests would arrive during the same period every day and would cluster into a mass. It was frustrating for them and stressful for our staff.

Kema G.

It didn't always go in the same order of our reservations. I felt like we had to jump around a lot and sometimes there were dead ends that didn't make sense.

Lauren S.

Overall rating

4.7

5

4

3

2

1

35

12

1

0

0

98%
positive reviews
97%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


48 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Flybook for a high volume rental, lesson and tour operation

Reviewed 2 years ago

After using 2 other reservation programs we switched to Flybook. They had initially reached out to us and we opted not to go with them. But when they followed up less than a year later, they had taken the feedback that I provided and made changes to the program which made it perfect for our use. I really appreciated their willingness to change and constantly improve the program which gave me the confidence that I could use this program going forward without it going stale or getting outdated.

Pros

I like Flybook's diversity and complexity of features. The customization abilities of the program allows us to use the program to best suit the variety of needs within all of our departments. The biggest positive we see from Flybook over other reservation software is the rental component which allows for a lot of customization and gives us the ability to maximize each vessel in our fleet without overbooking us at key times.

Cons

The software does take some getting used to on the back end. I'd say it has more of PC feel compared to using a MAC. It is more process based rather than intuitive flow through the program. The other component that I think could use improvement is on the visual side of things that get sent to customers. It would be great to see a more visually appealing booking window and confirmation e-mails etc.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Mike! We really appreciate your partnership. Stay tuned on the email updates - we'll be in touch as we look to improve that area! Megan

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Flybook has been a great tool in our office

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The features we enjoy the most are the automated charges, integration with SmartWaiver, and the note reminders. It is so nice to be able to leave reminders for other users and have important notes pop up when they need to. Integration with SmartWaiver has greatly reduced our paper use and has cut down on our sign-in process when we can easily see who has already signed their waiver. Being able to...

Cons

The client database needs an automated "merge duplicate" function as we seem to have accumulated more duplicates than can be reasonably managed manually. We would like to see a little more flexibility in generating reports ie: which fields to include etc. We would also see a little more flexibility in the client questions. It's a great feature but we'd like to be able to use the same parameters for lodging/rentals as is set for activities. At the moment, any item with an autocollect rule will cause the entire reservation balance to be autocollected (not just the balance due on that item). It would be greatly helpful if individual reservation items responded to the rules that are preset to them.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software, amazing team

Reviewed a month ago

The Flybook's software is great - but the team you work with is what really makes the experience stellar. We initially contacted them with a very short turnaround timeframe to manage reservations for multiple different places as a result of state mandates regarding COVID-19. The Flybook's team was incredibly flexible and delivered professional results with, quite honestly, impressive speed. When we thought things would come down to what felt like the literal last minute, they gave us days. 100% recommend this software and this team.

Pros

It was perfect for what we needed, their team was able to simplify their features to make it fit our needs. They have much more to offer than what we ended up utilizing. We didn't need anything complex, just a reservation software. Out of the hundreds that used The Flybook to book reservations, we received very minimal complaints. What could have been a huge problem for us was solved by implementing Flybook into our processes.

Cons

For our very specific situation, some of the button texts were not entirely applicable. We weren't able to change those, so we had some minor confusion among the users as to why this was.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

It's OK, this is our second year with the system and we are constantly fielding complaints

Reviewed 4 years ago

some rental management, and some ability for clients to make reservations online. Overall the number of phone calls on the system front end is not helping us like we had hoped it would.

Pros

Looks are OK, Pictures are to big. Kind of allows us to keep track of rentals.customer service is always prompt with responses.

Cons

Pictures are to big and require scrolling to sign up on the front end. System does not auto save when a client continues to payment. They have to hit save first, None of them do so we have to call them all the time. Big waste of time.sometimes bikes are available. They are on the back end! not of the front. Customers struggle all the time. Call us to make reservations, More waste of time.NOT...

Vendor response

Hi Earl, We really appreciate the candid feedback and take it very seriously. i think there are a few things we can help you with right away that are mentioned here, and a few ideas here we'd like to consider how to solve for you. We definitely do have a secure server. We have appreciated your business and hope to make things better for you and your staff! You'll hear from us shortly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The Best Option for Multi-day Tours, Single Day Tours, and Rentals in one solution

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Our company has searched high and low for a software solution to managing out product inventory across multi-day tours, single-day tours, and bike rentals. Each of those three types of products has huge variation that also needs to be managed. The Flybook is the only software solution that has come close to working for the complexity of our business. We are happy to have the capacity to book customers online and manage our true inventory on the back end. We have a great working relationship with the team at the Flybook and they have been very receptive to feedback and relatively quick to implement changes to help solve our problems. Their customer service team is excellent.

Cons

We have watched the software improve dramatically, but there are some limitations in how effectively we are able to use it. It's not easy to extract data from the system for whatever reason, reporting, printing documents with customer booking information, or printing documents with information about a trip (start and end time, pick-up time, customer names, etc). Though some improvements have been made here, it is still a difficult point for us.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review, Annmarie. Getting AOAs feedback has been invaluable for us. We have some more advancements coming in reporting we'll keep you posted on!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Reservation System

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, I LOVE the Flybook reservation system. My staff were all able to learn it quickly, once I got up to speed with creating new items and settings I was able to do that quickly and easily. The team at the Flybook is always working hard to improve the system and come up with solutions for whatever challenges we bring them. The system is extremely versatile and is able to work well with many...

Pros

Easy to train staff to use the software, versatile, company very open to feedback, always updating and improving.

Cons

Phone support

Vendor response

We really appreciate your review, Amariah! It's been great getting to know you and work with you and the team at Treeumph! Thanks for the feedback on the phone calls (you know you can always call me, too!). Look forward to more brainstorming and development with you!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very straight forward booking system for the customer. Back end setup requires a bit more savvy.

Reviewed 4 years ago

The reporting tools are great and make our job easier. There are measurement tools available that help compare different facilities across our company.

Pros

This software makes bookings and checkins an automated process. Once staff master the skills needed to operate the system, things run very smooth. There is very little problem with the server for Flybook making our two years with the system a very smooth experience.

Cons

It does require quite a bit of learning to program the software to your specific venue. Once that learning occurs the system runs great. Tech support on the weekends only exists if you have very big issues. Sometimes changes in the software/system are rolled out without good information about how the changes will affect use of the system. There should be long running youtube tutorials available on how to setup your system.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review and feedback, Thomas. As always, we appreciate the partnership and look forward to continued advancements together!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Our 1st season with The Flybook has been great! Conversion was easy and the support is exceptional!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The Flybook seems comparable in front-end user functionality and back-end data reporting with the other top Res Software providers in our industry. They've got an edge in inventory (booking availability) management for efficiency of operations. We also love the pricing structure, and have had no problems passing booking fee on to our customers. Where The Flybook has really excelled and surpassed our expectations is in their client support. They answer all our many many questions very quickly, and have also proved pretty darn good at developing or customizing features that fit our business, or help us capitalize on opportunities.

Cons

We have multiple locations, and while The Flybook does have an "Enterprise" feature which lets us run some basic compiled reporting, we'd love to have all the features and functionality available at the individual location level also available at the Enterprise level.

Vendor response

Appreciate your review, Nick! We are so impressed with you and your team at Edge - so on top of details and pushing creative marketing. it's been great to work with you!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Using The Flybook has completely upgraded our reservations process to make us more efficient.

Reviewed 4 years ago

We benefit daily from use of the Flybook. Our company could not currently operate the way we do without it.

Pros

There are a lot of great tools that make The Flybook good for us, but my favorite feature is the ability to limit resources and availability. We can input exactly what days/tours/guides are available and trust that it will not overbook on accident. We can book with assurance that we have the resources and availability to run each trip because we have set up the limitations ourselves.

Cons

The Flybook has many features that are helpful to us but there are a few items we have difficulty with. One that comes to mind is our newsletter and emails. Creating emails is not totally user friendly and requires some coding to get the formatting correct.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best reservation system on the market!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Peace of Mind!

Pros

The Outdoor Adventure Center switched to Flybook years ago. We had built our own online reservation after trying most of the outdoor reservation systems on the market. Those other systems just did not get the complexities of multi-sport guide tours, rentals and lodging. There where always vital pieces missing from equation. Flybook took the a seat at our table, worked out the customer flow, manager reports, and the office's back end needs and proved not just helpful, but became an intricate part of our team. Thank you Flybook for helping keep me out of the office and on the water more.

Cons

We need to be able to swipe cards with our phones at locations without the ability to use a computer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Long time users. Can't imagine our business without it.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Extra hassle in my day

Pros

The best part of this software is the automated billing and payments. We're a tiny operation so that allows us to focus on the guiding aspect of the business and let the software handle the billing and payment transfers. Also very nice that customers can book trips on their own via the software while we're out on the river.

Cons

Updates are a fact of life in today's world and we've been in business since before the internet was part of anyone's business plan. Many upgrades require us to start almost from scratch creating our profiles for trips. This is a relatively rare event but particularly painful for folks like us who specialize in fly fishing and have zero interest in being around computers. Also, since we are so small we often do custom types of trips that have been almost impossible to set up even with great assistance from FlyBook staff. Most options for most types of guide businesses are covered but it seems like we've always found something that isn't quite possible and requires an analog workaround.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great service that's solved many issues we face in the fly fishing industry.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Flybook has streamlined our booking, deposit, and customer feedback process. The ability for our guests to receive automated emails that remind them about their upcoming trip, auto generates their invoice, and keeps them in the loop prior to arriving and after departing is a blessing.

Cons

I'd love to be able to book multiple dates at one time. We have customers who like to fish multiple dates, but I am only able to book one at a time. If we could book a date range, without having to go through the same process of booking (select number of customers, date, which activity, guide, etc) for each trip that would be a huge benefit.

Vendor response

Hi Justin - really appreciate your review and feedback! It's helped us improve and continued input will keep us innovating!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Flybook is awesome! I highly recommend their product and service

Reviewed 4 years ago

When we started to look for a reservation system that could meet our diverse needs Flybook, who had previously contacted us, was on our list of possibilities. We reached out to support staff who LISTENED to our needs, went away and contacted us the next day with truthful answers about what they would be able to do immediately and what they could build out over the course of a few months. We were immediately...

Pros

The development team is always working to improve the system to meet our needs.

Cons

The hardware devices that we use are limited. We would love to switch our kiosks to apple products but are unable currently.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Kathy! We so appreciate your partnership and look forward to it continuing to evolve. And regarding those Kiosks...it's in the works! We'll hopefully have an update for you next week on that.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Flybook is an excellent all inclusive reservation management system.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We like the robustness of the system. It can handle many different aspects of our business and allows for custom integration with our website. We really like the staffing functions. We can assign staff members to an activity and then request confirmation from them. They then get access to a personal calendar which allows them to set blackout dates. This saves us and our employees a a lot of time and frustration. The customer service team is very responsive to our requests. The auto email functions are efficient and allow for customization for each customer when we need it. It has a user friendly interface and makes booking customers simple and easy.

Cons

I find some of the financial reports to be not as helpful as I would like.

Vendor response

Thank you, Galen for the review. We love working with Sea Trek!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Covers all our needs and backs us up with 1st class support

Reviewed 4 years ago

Complete control and awareness of our rental fleet in an easy to use cloud based service platform

Pros

Easy to use, easy to configure, easy to manage our rentals. Back end calendar display of all our rentals coming & going makes operating our business so easy... From the 'quick pick' rental backend for our walk-in customers, to website integration supporting online reservations by our customers, The Flybook does it all for us. And the few times we've had a question, The support team at The Flybook immediately jumps in and shows us exactly how to get the job done - they are hands down the best support team of any vendor we work with!

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Really appreciate the great review, Dave! So glad the system is working well for you. We appreciate your partnership!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The Flybook has greatly helped expand our operation and increase our reach to the online community.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

1. Ease of use: very small learning curve, user-friendly UI 2. Customization: The Flybook can be molded to the way you see fit, as there are many options for lodging, activities, rentals, and any other reservation type you need to implement. 3. Customer Support: The Flybook support team is very catering to your needs, and are very helpful with questions in the first few days of learning the ins and outs of the software. Fast responses, even on busy weekends. 4. Online Presence: The Flybook's user interface and corresponding widget that is implemented on your website is very user-friendly. In just a few clicks, the customer can have what they want, when they want.

Cons

There isn't much I dislike about the software. Our operation is a little larger than most recreation-based companies, as we have a lodging component, and animal encounters. Even though there were a few options The Flybook did not have, which we needed, they have accommodated us with software updates and implemented new options to create the right setup for our business.

Vendor response

Blake - you have been SO great to work with. We love that we get to call Wilstem Ranch a partner of ours. Thanks for your review and for your business!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Lots of functionality, but not intuitive.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Flybook will allow you to automate the booking process. It will save you time on paperwork and billing. It will get you more customers if they can simply click a button on your website to book trips.

Pros

Flybook has a ton of functionality, but the software is interlaced with out of date stuff they don't want you to use. You can't simply learn it by using it. Once you figure it out, the booking software is extremely functional.

Cons

It is difficult to learn since it is full outdated non-functional stuff. Customer service has been extremely slow. I sometimes wait a week or more to get a response. Customer service should be a lot better for a small company.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Been using Flybook for a few years and it's essential to the operation of my company.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

By far the guide management features are what I like most about this platform. We are able to manage a dozen guides in multiple states over 20 different different activities. We've shopped around and couldn't find any other company even close.

Cons

It can be a little challenging to get the hang of some features, but it's not a significant hurdle. Once you get the flow nailed down it's really a breeze.

Vendor response

Thanks so much for the review, Matt. Been really great working with you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Does everything for our rafting company!

Reviewed 4 years ago

The Flybook has made dozens of valuable improvements since we started with them years ago. They continue to provide good customer service and important updates - more than I can say for other companies, who we have considered contracting with. Thank you! The system works well for our rafting company,

Pros

The activity and resource calendar is great - we are able to assign boats and staff on a custom, trip-by-trip basis. Everything on the calendar is customizable.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Lauren! Thanks so much for the review. It's been great working with you!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

I've been working with Flybook for five or so years

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The software has come a long way in the time that I have been a user. I like where the company is going and the customer support that I receive from Flybook.

Cons

I would love to have a way to access (view, not necessarily change) my calendar quickly without the need for internet. The feature to download to a google calendar is nearly useless when changes on Flybook do not quickly and automatically sync in a google calendar without refreshing the links.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We use The Flybook for our online and back end reservation system.

Reviewed 4 years ago

We require reservation, no walk-ins, so the reservation filters allow us to control the flow of customers.

Pros

Flexibilty to make changes to suit our needs, and ease of creating promo codes with various options. Statistics are very helpful.

Cons

We have had some issues with the link to SmartWaiver. maneuvering through the back end has improved.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review Matthew! It's been so great working with you and your team, and look forward to advancing the system continually with your great feedback.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Flybook: An incredible resource for enhancing customer service!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Before we implemented The Flybook as a reservation system in 2016, wait times at The Adventure Park at Virginia Aquarium sometimes exceeded two hours. Guests would arrive during the same period every day and would cluster into a mass. It was frustrating for them and stressful for our staff. Now, with The Flybook, guests smoothly flow past check-in and waiver completion and get to the fun stuff of climbing and zip lining more quickly. In addition to easing these tensions, The Flybook team has helped us turn this reservation tool into a system for evaluating our business performance and for making marketing decisions. The Flybook team listens to our needs and responds with continuous software improvements.

Pros

The Flybook team has worked with us to create a platform for effectively managing reservations, tracking financial growth, and evaluating marketing decisions. As we have grown in our recognition of what we need in such a system, The Flybook team has delivered.

Cons

Every improvement that we've suggested has been respected and continuous improvements have been made by The Flybook team. I can't think of a downside to purchasing this software.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for the review and feedback, Kema! We so enjoy working with you and the team at Virginia Beach!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The Flybook is invaluable to our business.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The backend of the software makes it easy to put in a reservation. I can also keep track of guides who are working and place them with certain guests.

Cons

The front end doesn't quite work the way I would like. The beta is better but could still use some work. I sent some ideas to Casey.

Vendor response

Matt - thank you so much for the review and as always, the feedback. We continue to incorporate the front end feedback and as usual - super valuable to what will be the end product!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good product with good support, and online tutorials

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I like that is easy to navigate and on the user end is not that complicated. It has good reports and seems to give you hints when something needs to be done or changed. The tutorials on line inside the software are very helpful and accessible .

Cons

For my business I do not need all the options so I tend to want to overdue it or complicate it. If you just stick to what you need I feel it simplifies the platform.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Change is hard, but Flybook is user friendly, great customer support. Very personalized experience.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great support. They are very receptive to changes, and implement those as quickly as possible. The system is easy for new users to learn.

Pros

Once everything is set up, it's a very user-friendly system. There are many options for customization, and if something is missing or can be improved upon, the support team will find a solution and implement it quickly. Aside from their personal approach, we liked the Flybook because of their calendar viewing option. We went through demos with many software companies and Flybook seemed like the most well rounded company in terms of pricing, features and support.

Cons

Set up can be a bit daunting, but that's the same with any system. Once that's complete it's smooth sailing.