The Flybook Reviews

The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

4.7/5 (46 reviews)

Camille Feenstra

Flybook has been a great tool in our office

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-08-14
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The features we enjoy the most are the automated charges, integration with SmartWaiver, and the note reminders. It is so nice to be able to leave reminders for other users and have important notes pop up when they need to. Integration with SmartWaiver has greatly reduced our paper use and has cut down on our sign-in process when we can easily see who has already signed their waiver. Being able to preset deposits and automate balance collection has greatly reduced our administrative burden. It is not quite as flexible as we would like it to be but it's a great start! With a bit of an unusual business structure we have found that some of the features offered by Flybook just don't quite work the way we need them to which has caused a few headaches on our end (ie: lodging module, client questions etc). That said, the staff at Flybook have been willing to explore our needs and work with us to find solutions (where possible). They are easy to work with and respond quickly which is a huge plus! All things considered, Flybook has been a great fit for us and we look forward to seeing how they grow and develop in the years to come.

Cons
The client database needs an automated "merge duplicate" function as we seem to have accumulated more duplicates than can be reasonably managed manually. We would like to see a little more flexibility in generating reports ie: which fields to include etc. We would also see a little more flexibility in the client questions. It's a great feature but we'd like to be able to use the same parameters for lodging/rentals as is set for activities. At the moment, any item with an autocollect rule will cause the entire reservation balance to be autocollected (not just the balance due on that item). It would be greatly helpful if individual reservation items responded to the rules that are preset to them.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Annemarie Kruse

The Best Option for Multi-day Tours, Single Day Tours, and Rentals in one solution

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-06-28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Our company has searched high and low for a software solution to managing out product inventory across multi-day tours, single-day tours, and bike rentals. Each of those three types of products has huge variation that also needs to be managed. The Flybook is the only software solution that has come close to working for the complexity of our business. We are happy to have the capacity to book customers online and manage our true inventory on the back end. We have a great working relationship with the team at the Flybook and they have been very receptive to feedback and relatively quick to implement changes to help solve our problems. Their customer service team is excellent.

Cons
We have watched the software improve dramatically, but there are some limitations in how effectively we are able to use it. It's not easy to extract data from the system for whatever reason, reporting, printing documents with customer booking information, or printing documents with information about a trip (start and end time, pick-up time, customer names, etc). Though some improvements have been made here, it is still a difficult point for us.

Response from The Flybook


Thanks for your review, Annmarie. Getting AOAs feedback has been invaluable for us. We have some more advancements coming in reporting we'll keep you posted on!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Ian Rutter

Long time users. Can't imagine our business without it.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-09-26
Review Source: Capterra

Extra hassle in my day

Pros
The best part of this software is the automated billing and payments. We're a tiny operation so that allows us to focus on the guiding aspect of the business and let the software handle the billing and payment transfers. Also very nice that customers can book trips on their own via the software while we're out on the river.

Cons
Updates are a fact of life in today's world and we've been in business since before the internet was part of anyone's business plan. Many upgrades require us to start almost from scratch creating our profiles for trips. This is a relatively rare event but particularly painful for folks like us who specialize in fly fishing and have zero interest in being around computers. Also, since we are so small we often do custom types of trips that have been almost impossible to set up even with great assistance from FlyBook staff. Most options for most types of guide businesses are covered but it seems like we've always found something that isn't quite possible and requires an analog workaround.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Amariah Dawes

Great Reservation System

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-04-11
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, I LOVE the Flybook reservation system. My staff were all able to learn it quickly, once I got up to speed with creating new items and settings I was able to do that quickly and easily. The team at the Flybook is always working hard to improve the system and come up with solutions for whatever challenges we bring them. The system is extremely versatile and is able to work well with many different type of promotions that your business may want to run. The Flybook team is extremely receptive to feedback and requests. The one and only thing I don't love is that when you call the technical support phone line literately no one ever answers the phone. However, in the same breath, they are very responsive to emails and resolve issues very quickly. Sometimes you just want to be able to pick up the phone and get a quick answer for smaller things that may come up with out emailing to open a support ticket. This one small annoyance is far outweighed by the many benefits the Flybook offers. I would whole-heartedly recommend this system to anyone looking for a comprehensive reservation system for their business.

Pros
Easy to train staff to use the software, versatile, company very open to feedback, always updating and improving.

Cons
Phone support

Response from The Flybook


We really appreciate your review, Amariah! It's been great getting to know you and work with you and the team at Treeumph! Thanks for the feedback on the phone calls (you know you can always call me, too!). Look forward to more brainstorming and development with you!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Thomas Knuth

Very straight forward booking system for the customer. Back end setup requires a bit more savvy.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-07-11
Review Source: Capterra

The reporting tools are great and make our job easier. There are measurement tools available that help compare different facilities across our company.

Pros
This software makes bookings and checkins an automated process. Once staff master the skills needed to operate the system, things run very smooth. There is very little problem with the server for Flybook making our two years with the system a very smooth experience.

Cons
It does require quite a bit of learning to program the software to your specific venue. Once that learning occurs the system runs great. Tech support on the weekends only exists if you have very big issues. Sometimes changes in the software/system are rolled out without good information about how the changes will affect use of the system. There should be long running youtube tutorials available on how to setup your system.

Response from The Flybook


Thanks for your review and feedback, Thomas. As always, we appreciate the partnership and look forward to continued advancements together!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Nick Holt

Our 1st season with The Flybook has been great! Conversion was easy and the support is exceptional!

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-09-25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The Flybook seems comparable in front-end user functionality and back-end data reporting with the other top Res Software providers in our industry. They've got an edge in inventory (booking availability) management for efficiency of operations. We also love the pricing structure, and have had no problems passing booking fee on to our customers. Where The Flybook has really excelled and surpassed our expectations is in their client support. They answer all our many many questions very quickly, and have also proved pretty darn good at developing or customizing features that fit our business, or help us capitalize on opportunities.

Cons
We have multiple locations, and while The Flybook does have an "Enterprise" feature which lets us run some basic compiled reporting, we'd love to have all the features and functionality available at the individual location level also available at the Enterprise level.

Response from The Flybook


Appreciate your review, Nick! We are so impressed with you and your team at Edge - so on top of details and pushing creative marketing. it's been great to work with you!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Casey Lamont

Using The Flybook has completely upgraded our reservations process to make us more efficient.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-06-28
Review Source: Capterra

We benefit daily from use of the Flybook. Our company could not currently operate the way we do without it.

Pros
There are a lot of great tools that make The Flybook good for us, but my favorite feature is the ability to limit resources and availability. We can input exactly what days/tours/guides are available and trust that it will not overbook on accident. We can book with assurance that we have the resources and availability to run each trip because we have set up the limitations ourselves.

Cons
The Flybook has many features that are helpful to us but there are a few items we have difficulty with. One that comes to mind is our newsletter and emails. Creating emails is not totally user friendly and requires some coding to get the formatting correct.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Blair Corson

Best reservation system on the market!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-08-20
Review Source: Capterra

Peace of Mind!

Pros
The Outdoor Adventure Center switched to Flybook years ago. We had built our own online reservation after trying most of the outdoor reservation systems on the market. Those other systems just did not get the complexities of multi-sport guide tours, rentals and lodging. There where always vital pieces missing from equation. Flybook took the a seat at our table, worked out the customer flow, manager reports, and the office's back end needs and proved not just helpful, but became an intricate part of our team. Thank you Flybook for helping keep me out of the office and on the water more.

Cons
We need to be able to swipe cards with our phones at locations without the ability to use a computer.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Justin Hartman

Great service that's solved many issues we face in the fly fishing industry.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-07-05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Flybook has streamlined our booking, deposit, and customer feedback process. The ability for our guests to receive automated emails that remind them about their upcoming trip, auto generates their invoice, and keeps them in the loop prior to arriving and after departing is a blessing.

Cons
I'd love to be able to book multiple dates at one time. We have customers who like to fish multiple dates, but I am only able to book one at a time. If we could book a date range, without having to go through the same process of booking (select number of customers, date, which activity, guide, etc) for each trip that would be a huge benefit.

Response from The Flybook


Hi Justin - really appreciate your review and feedback! It's helped us improve and continued input will keep us innovating!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Kathy Corr

Flybook is awesome! I highly recommend their product and service

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-03-28
Review Source: Capterra

When we started to look for a reservation system that could meet our diverse needs Flybook, who had previously contacted us, was on our list of possibilities. We reached out to support staff who LISTENED to our needs, went away and contacted us the next day with truthful answers about what they would be able to do immediately and what they could build out over the course of a few months. We were immediately impressed with the response time, attention provided and understanding of what we expected from our system. This has never stopped. We signed up and were up and running within a month. The transition, like any transition was a bit challenging with staff being apprehensive because busy season was 3 weeks away and we had to get the kinks worked out. We flew through busy season without a hitch. Flybook continues to listen to our needs (we have a lot of them) and work with us one on one to accommodate the intricacies of how our business functions. From sales to operations they have created processes that before Flybook we only wished for. Their development team continues to work with us on a daily to weekly basis to make sure everything is working as efficiently as possible. We are about to open a second location and look forward to Flybook helping us grow!

Pros
The development team is always working to improve the system to meet our needs.

Cons
The hardware devices that we use are limited. We would love to switch our kiosks to apple products but are unable currently.

Response from The Flybook


Thanks for the review, Kathy! We so appreciate your partnership and look forward to it continuing to evolve. And regarding those Kiosks...it's in the works! We'll hopefully have an update for you next week on that.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Galen Licht

The Flybook is an excellent all inclusive reservation management system.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-06-29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
We like the robustness of the system. It can handle many different aspects of our business and allows for custom integration with our website. We really like the staffing functions. We can assign staff members to an activity and then request confirmation from them. They then get access to a personal calendar which allows them to set blackout dates. This saves us and our employees a a lot of time and frustration. The customer service team is very responsive to our requests. The auto email functions are efficient and allow for customization for each customer when we need it. It has a user friendly interface and makes booking customers simple and easy.

Cons
I find some of the financial reports to be not as helpful as I would like.

Response from The Flybook


Thank you, Galen for the review. We love working with Sea Trek!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

dave blodgett

Covers all our needs and backs us up with 1st class support

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-07-11
Review Source: Capterra

Complete control and awareness of our rental fleet in an easy to use cloud based service platform

Pros
Easy to use, easy to configure, easy to manage our rentals. Back end calendar display of all our rentals coming & going makes operating our business so easy... From the 'quick pick' rental backend for our walk-in customers, to website integration supporting online reservations by our customers, The Flybook does it all for us. And the few times we've had a question, The support team at The Flybook immediately jumps in and shows us exactly how to get the job done - they are hands down the best support team of any vendor we work with!

Response from The Flybook


Really appreciate the great review, Dave! So glad the system is working well for you. We appreciate your partnership!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Earl Walker

It's OK, this is our second year with the system and we are constantly fielding complaints

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-06-30
Review Source: Capterra

some rental management, and some ability for clients to make reservations online. Overall the number of phone calls on the system front end is not helping us like we had hoped it would.

Pros
Looks are OK, Pictures are to big. Kind of allows us to keep track of rentals.customer service is always prompt with responses.

Cons
Pictures are to big and require scrolling to sign up on the front end. System does not auto save when a client continues to payment. They have to hit save first, None of them do so we have to call them all the time. Big waste of time.sometimes bikes are available. They are on the back end! not of the front. Customers struggle all the time. Call us to make reservations, More waste of time.NOT SECURE SERVER!!! Can't swipe cards with walk ins. Information is all over the place for rentals and activities. To many clicks to find stuff. Staff hates it. Cant change the bike on front end when making reservation, Add Rental goes to the same bike. Log in does not stay logged in. Always have to re log in. Waste of time. Lots of useless information on the dashboard that you can't click to make it useful. To many clicks to make a backend reservation. Stuff we don't use still is there. It should be pick a bike to click the dates and boom reservation.

Response from The Flybook


Hi Earl,
We really appreciate the candid feedback and take it very seriously. i think there are a few things we can help you with right away that are mentioned here, and a few ideas here we'd like to consider how to solve for you. We definitely do have a secure server. We have appreciated your business and hope to make things better for you and your staff! You'll hear from us shortly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 2/10

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Blake Compton

The Flybook has greatly helped expand our operation and increase our reach to the online community.

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-07-14
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
1. Ease of use: very small learning curve, user-friendly UI 2. Customization: The Flybook can be molded to the way you see fit, as there are many options for lodging, activities, rentals, and any other reservation type you need to implement. 3. Customer Support: The Flybook support team is very catering to your needs, and are very helpful with questions in the first few days of learning the ins and outs of the software. Fast responses, even on busy weekends. 4. Online Presence: The Flybook's user interface and corresponding widget that is implemented on your website is very user-friendly. In just a few clicks, the customer can have what they want, when they want.

Cons
There isn't much I dislike about the software. Our operation is a little larger than most recreation-based companies, as we have a lodging component, and animal encounters. Even though there were a few options The Flybook did not have, which we needed, they have accommodated us with software updates and implemented new options to create the right setup for our business.

Response from The Flybook


Blake - you have been SO great to work with. We love that we get to call Wilstem Ranch a partner of ours. Thanks for your review and for your business!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Grant Richie

Lots of functionality, but not intuitive.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-03-26
Review Source: Capterra

Flybook will allow you to automate the booking process. It will save you time on paperwork and billing. It will get you more customers if they can simply click a button on your website to book trips.

Pros
Flybook has a ton of functionality, but the software is interlaced with out of date stuff they don't want you to use. You can't simply learn it by using it. Once you figure it out, the booking software is extremely functional.

Cons
It is difficult to learn since it is full outdated non-functional stuff. Customer service has been extremely slow. I sometimes wait a week or more to get a response. Customer service should be a lot better for a small company.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Matt McFee

Been using Flybook for a few years and it's essential to the operation of my company.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-06-28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
By far the guide management features are what I like most about this platform. We are able to manage a dozen guides in multiple states over 20 different different activities. We've shopped around and couldn't find any other company even close.

Cons
It can be a little challenging to get the hang of some features, but it's not a significant hurdle. Once you get the flow nailed down it's really a breeze.

Response from The Flybook


Thanks so much for the review, Matt. Been really great working with you.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Lauren Curtis

Does everything for our rafting company!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-03-29
Review Source: Capterra

The Flybook has made dozens of valuable improvements since we started with them years ago. They continue to provide good customer service and important updates - more than I can say for other companies, who we have considered contracting with. Thank you! The system works well for our rafting company,

Pros
The activity and resource calendar is great - we are able to assign boats and staff on a custom, trip-by-trip basis. Everything on the calendar is customizable.

Response from The Flybook


Hi Lauren! Thanks so much for the review. It's been great working with you!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Tonimarie Scott

I've been working with Flybook for five or so years

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-07-12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The software has come a long way in the time that I have been a user. I like where the company is going and the customer support that I receive from Flybook.

Cons
I would love to have a way to access (view, not necessarily change) my calendar quickly without the need for internet. The feature to download to a google calendar is nearly useless when changes on Flybook do not quickly and automatically sync in a google calendar without refreshing the links.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Matthew Kanaga

We use The Flybook for our online and back end reservation system.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-06-28
Review Source: Capterra

We require reservation, no walk-ins, so the reservation filters allow us to control the flow of customers.

Pros
Flexibilty to make changes to suit our needs, and ease of creating promo codes with various options. Statistics are very helpful.

Cons
We have had some issues with the link to SmartWaiver. maneuvering through the back end has improved.

Response from The Flybook


Thanks for the review Matthew! It's been so great working with you and your team, and look forward to advancing the system continually with your great feedback.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Kema Geroux

The Flybook: An incredible resource for enhancing customer service!

Reviewed 2017-04-10
Review Source: Capterra

Before we implemented The Flybook as a reservation system in 2016, wait times at The Adventure Park at Virginia Aquarium sometimes exceeded two hours. Guests would arrive during the same period every day and would cluster into a mass. It was frustrating for them and stressful for our staff. Now, with The Flybook, guests smoothly flow past check-in and waiver completion and get to the fun stuff of climbing and zip lining more quickly. In addition to easing these tensions, The Flybook team has helped us turn this reservation tool into a system for evaluating our business performance and for making marketing decisions. The Flybook team listens to our needs and responds with continuous software improvements.

Pros
The Flybook team has worked with us to create a platform for effectively managing reservations, tracking financial growth, and evaluating marketing decisions. As we have grown in our recognition of what we need in such a system, The Flybook team has delivered.

Cons
Every improvement that we've suggested has been respected and continuous improvements have been made by The Flybook team. I can't think of a downside to purchasing this software.

Response from The Flybook


Thank you so much for the review and feedback, Kema! We so enjoy working with you and the team at Virginia Beach!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Matt Berry

The Flybook is invaluable to our business.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-06-30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The backend of the software makes it easy to put in a reservation. I can also keep track of guides who are working and place them with certain guests.

Cons
The front end doesn't quite work the way I would like. The beta is better but could still use some work. I sent some ideas to Casey.

Response from The Flybook


Matt - thank you so much for the review and as always, the feedback. We continue to incorporate the front end feedback and as usual - super valuable to what will be the end product!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Scott Sundberg

Good product with good support, and online tutorials

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-07-12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I like that is easy to navigate and on the user end is not that complicated. It has good reports and seems to give you hints when something needs to be done or changed. The tutorials on line inside the software are very helpful and accessible .

Cons
For my business I do not need all the options so I tend to want to overdue it or complicate it. If you just stick to what you need I feel it simplifies the platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Sara Baggett

Change is hard, but Flybook is user friendly, great customer support. Very personalized experience.

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-06-30
Review Source: Capterra

Great support. They are very receptive to changes, and implement those as quickly as possible. The system is easy for new users to learn.

Pros
Once everything is set up, it's a very user-friendly system. There are many options for customization, and if something is missing or can be improved upon, the support team will find a solution and implement it quickly. Aside from their personal approach, we liked the Flybook because of their calendar viewing option. We went through demos with many software companies and Flybook seemed like the most well rounded company in terms of pricing, features and support.

Cons
Set up can be a bit daunting, but that's the same with any system. Once that's complete it's smooth sailing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

Kelly Piliere

Absolutely wonderful!

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-06-28
Review Source: Capterra

Flybook allows me to set up an control the flow of customers coming through my facility in way a didn't even know was possible.

Pros
My favorite thing about Flybook is the customer support team! Flybook has implemented many wonderful new features and upgrades since we started using it and their team has been there every step of the way to help us learn the new features. They've also listened to our suggestions for new features that would help us and that's been wonderful!

Response from The Flybook


Thanks so much for the great review, Kelly!! You guys are the best!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses

David Ellerstein

Great software for an outfitting business

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-06-28
Review Source: Capterra

More online bookings. Mobile info for my guides

Pros
Fast, affordable, good client interface. Customer support is quick, friendly, and helpful. handles most of my emails.

Cons
Too much clicking through pages to enter single reservation. Calendar needs improvement. Wish it could handle payroll.

Response from The Flybook


Thanks for the review, David!! It's been great working with you and appreciate the feedback as well.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


The Flybook

Web-based booking software for activity and tour businesses