This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Vend vs Rain POS Comparison

Add to Compare

Compare similar apps

monday.com logo

monday.com

4.6

NetSuite logo

NetSuite

4.1

Caspio logo

Caspio

4.5

Odoo  logo

Odoo

4.1

Acumatica Cloud ERP logo

Acumatica Cloud ERP

4.4

Xero logo

Xero

4.3

Good recommendations?

Overview

Vend is powerful POS software, inventory management, ecommerce & customer loyalty for retail. Sell in-store, online or on-the-go...

Category Leaders

Rain is a cloud-based point-of-sale system designed to help retailers save time and sell more by seamlessly integrating in-store...

  • Platforms supported
  • Web-based
  • iPhone app
  • Android app
  • Windows Phone app
  • Typical customers
  • Freelancers
  • Small businesses
  • Mid size businesses
  • Large enterprises
  • Customer support
  • Phone
  • Online
  • Knowledge base
  • Video tutorials
  • Platforms supported
  • Web-based
  • iPhone app
  • Android app
  • Windows Phone app
  • Typical customers
  • Freelancers
  • Small businesses
  • Mid size businesses
  • Large enterprises
  • Customer support
  • Phone
  • Online
  • Knowledge base
  • Video tutorials

Video & Screenshots

Pricing

Starting from

69

/user

Per month

  • Free trial available
  • Credit cardless trial
  • Free account
  • Subscription based

Starting from

ic-pricetag

No pricing info

  • Free trial available
  • Credit cardless trial
  • Free account
  • Subscription based

User reviews

4.2

219

5

4

3

2

1

124

61

17

3

14

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
91%
would recommend this app

4.3

120

5

4

3

2

1

74

26

10

2

8

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
89%
would recommend this app

Pros

We love the ease of configuration and customization that is available. Looking forward to our growth expansion, we have concluded that we have made a right selection for a POS platform.
AvatarImg

Daniel P.

I have been using the Vend for more than six months. I am really happy with; the POS is very good and easy to use, even for those who dont have any POS experience.

AS

AM S.

Vend is a great app for businesses willing to dish out. Vend makes the price tag worth it but having a great designed app which packs a lot of features for a great experience.

DF

Daniel F.

Pros

Their support has continued long after the initial onboarding and I feel very confident in their ability to help us whenever we hit a roadblock and need help.

ML

Max L.

In the beginning support was good and they really seem to care about helping your business grow. Now they want to add stuff that I don't need and keep raising the price.

PM

Patricia M.

First line support staff is very helpful and relatively easy to reach. Sales staff makes lots of lofty promises that are slow to be fulfilled.

DE

Daniel E.

Cons

Can’t change a payment method if you hit the wrong one causing issues at end of day. Has messed up inventory/costs 2-3 x and we lost our work.
AvatarImg

Michelle C.

Customer support is garbage. These guys happily take your money but when a problem occurs your left to basically sort problems out yourself with cookie cutter answers from a woeful support team.

EG

Eric G.

In other words, it can't all be from 3 people making mistakes in one system when we all discuss and get frustrated by it on a daily basis.

SB

Shanna B.

Cons

Website build out is horribly confusing and NOTHING follows traditional HTML processes. This was the same problem with Lightspeed's eCom platform - hard to work with and no sense of workflow.

RN

Roger N.

Unable to add shipping charges to individual items that are bulky.

RM

Rebecca M.

At times the system has quirks that are an annoyance to the user and is a low priority fix for developers.

NC

NATE C.

  • Vendor responds to reviews
  • Last review4 months ago
  • Vendor responds to reviews
  • Last review3 months ago

Key features

  • Total features41
  • API
  • Access Controls/Permissions
  • Accounting Integration
  • Activity Tracking
  • Alerts/Notifications
  • Barcode / Ticket Scanning
  • Barcoding/RFID
  • CRM
  • Cataloging/Categorization
  • Channel Management
  • Cost Tracking
  • Credit Card Processing
  • Customer Accounts
  • Customer Database
  • Customizable Reports
  • Data Security
  • Discount Management
  • Electronic Signature
  • Email Marketing
  • Employee Management
  • For Retail
  • For Small Businesses
  • Forecasting
  • Gift Card Management
  • Inventory Auditing
  • Inventory Control
  • Inventory Management
  • Inventory Optimization
  • Inventory Tracking
  • Item Management
  • Kitting
  • Layaway Management
  • Loyalty Program
  • Manufacturing Inventory Management
  • Merchandise Management
  • Mobile Access
  • Mobile Commerce
  • Multi-Channel Management
  • Multi-Channel Marketing
  • Multi-Currency
  • Multi-Location
  • Multi-Store
  • Order Management
  • Ordering Automation
  • Payment Processing
  • Point of Sale (POS)
  • Pricing Management
  • Product Configurator
  • Product Identification
  • Promotions Management
  • Purchase Order Management
  • Purchasing & Receiving
  • Reorder Management
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • Reporting/Analytics
  • Retail Inventory Management
  • Retail Management
  • Retail POS
  • Returns Management
  • Returns Tracking
  • Rewards Management
  • SEO Management
  • SKU/UPC Codes
  • Sales Reports
  • Search/Filter
  • Shipping Management
  • Shopping Cart
  • Supplier Management
  • Templates
  • Touch Screen
  • Warehouse Management
  • Website Management
  • eCommerce Management
  • Total features65
  • API
  • Access Controls/Permissions
  • Accounting Integration
  • Activity Tracking
  • Alerts/Notifications
  • Barcode / Ticket Scanning
  • Barcoding/RFID
  • CRM
  • Cataloging/Categorization
  • Channel Management
  • Cost Tracking
  • Credit Card Processing
  • Customer Accounts
  • Customer Database
  • Customizable Reports
  • Data Security
  • Discount Management
  • Electronic Signature
  • Email Marketing
  • Employee Management
  • For Retail
  • For Small Businesses
  • Forecasting
  • Gift Card Management
  • Inventory Auditing
  • Inventory Control
  • Inventory Management
  • Inventory Optimization
  • Inventory Tracking
  • Item Management
  • Kitting
  • Layaway Management
  • Loyalty Program
  • Manufacturing Inventory Management
  • Merchandise Management
  • Mobile Access
  • Mobile Commerce
  • Multi-Channel Management
  • Multi-Channel Marketing
  • Multi-Currency
  • Multi-Location
  • Multi-Store
  • Order Management
  • Ordering Automation
  • Payment Processing
  • Point of Sale (POS)
  • Pricing Management
  • Product Configurator
  • Product Identification
  • Promotions Management
  • Purchase Order Management
  • Purchasing & Receiving
  • Reorder Management
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • Reporting/Analytics
  • Retail Inventory Management
  • Retail Management
  • Retail POS
  • Returns Management
  • Returns Tracking
  • Rewards Management
  • SEO Management
  • SKU/UPC Codes
  • Sales Reports
  • Search/Filter
  • Shipping Management
  • Shopping Cart
  • Supplier Management
  • Templates
  • Touch Screen
  • Warehouse Management
  • Website Management
  • eCommerce Management

Integrations

  • Total integrations53
  • Constant Contact
  • Gmail
  • Google Analytics 360
  • Google Calendar
  • HubSpot CRM
  • Mailchimp
  • Meta for Business
  • Microsoft 365
  • Microsoft Outlook
  • PayPal
  • QuickBooks Online Advanced
  • Salesforce Sales Cloud
  • Shopify
  • Slack
  • Stripe
  • Twitter
  • WordPress
  • Xero
  • Zapier
  • Zendesk
  • Total integrations3
  • Constant Contact
  • Gmail
  • Google Analytics 360
  • Google Calendar
  • HubSpot CRM
  • Mailchimp
  • Meta for Business
  • Microsoft 365
  • Microsoft Outlook
  • PayPal
  • QuickBooks Online Advanced
  • Salesforce Sales Cloud
  • Shopify
  • Slack
  • Stripe
  • Twitter
  • WordPress
  • Xero
  • Zapier
  • Zendesk

User reviews that mention these apps

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

Simple Interface

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

- Easy to train people on this POS - Integrates with Square POS

Cons

- Free plan is limited to 10 products - No offline version/downloadable version

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

Customer service is superb and interface is intuitive, easy to learn.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Cloud-based POS.

Pros

Easy to use features, very sleek and clean navigation. Out-of-the-box website design options are plentiful and easy to use. We have the premier technical support package and they are always accessible and helpful.

Cons

We wish we could customize our receipt. The customization possibilities are limited in both design elements and reporting. Also wish updating the price of a single item and all its price books could happen in one step.

Vendor response

Hey Gina, thank you for your review of Vend POS. Delighted to hear that you are enjoying Vend so much and have had such a wonderful experience with our support team! That's exactly the type of service we aim to deliver at Vend. Good news - receipts are customizable! Go here https://support.vendhq.com/hc/en-us/articles/201378310-How-do-I-set-up-my-receipt-template to find out how to customize your receipts. Hope that helps! Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

Great POS option that is easy to use

Reviewed 4 years ago

POS inventory cost tracking

Pros

Everything is cloud based, so access from anywhere Very easy to use to enter products and ring up sales Connects with most major products like Shopify

Cons

Product purchase order features are very minimal and not easy to utilize Product receiving has minor kinks like having not column with Item numbers etc. Hardware options are limited.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

Great POS For Small Business

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great POS system for a small business, especially if need to get up and running fast.

Pros

Very easy POS to get up and running fast.

Cons

E-commerce portion could use some work, but not bad.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

TERRIBLE Customer Service

Reviewed 4 years ago

I would never use this system if I were to open a business. I would look into other systems. Rain seems like it would be good, but need to do more research. Vend s HORRIBLE.

Pros

It's easy for employees to search something. I Like how you can export the items to an excel sheet to count and then re-import.

Cons

1. It is like pulling teeth to get support. they make you write a novel rather than just simply calling- and then don't answer for days. I have been waiting exactly 7 days for my issue to be resolved. 2. Inventory counts are mysteriously inaccurate on a ridiculous amount of items, even after I update it the day prior.. It has been like this the whole 2 years on and off. There is no way it is employee/customer...

Vendor response

Hey Kristyn, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of Vend POS. I’m very sorry to hear that you feel this way - we want Vend to be as easy as possible for retailers to use so I’m sorry that you’ve found some aspects a little difficult to master. Apologies for any frustration caused by this! I’m sorry that there was some delay with resolving your issue, sending through all the relevant information...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

Overall a very good, user friendly product.

Reviewed 4 years ago

A POS that integrates well with our accounting system.

Pros

It integrates well with Xero our accounting software. It is very user friendly and easy to learn how to use.

Cons

The stock order process is very time consuming and cumbersome. I would like to be able to adjust the date on stock orders, so that it can be matched to the invoice/payment date in the event that the stock order is not received in VEND until after the invoice/payment date. Also it allows you to receive items that have been marked as inactive, it should pop up to make them as active again. When scanning product through, unless you are watching the screen, you can't tell when a product scans up with an error/bar code not in the system etc, the beep tone needs to be different. I wish it was integrated with Moneris merchant services. It would also be nice to be able to have more control over what users have access to more individually.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

Powerful and easy to use POS

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Powerful, easy to use cloud based POS. Fantastic support and regular updates.

Cons

Reporting could be stronger, but is getting better all the time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

All features one needs in a POS system, including integration with shopify made it an easy choice.

Reviewed 4 years ago

There are a lot of POS systems out there. I researched most of them before deciding on Vend. Anything you think that a POS should do, Vend does. There's no 100 percent perfect POS, but Vend has the most features and is easy to use. Plus no extra software or hardware is needed.

Pros

Shopify integration, bar code scanner integration, Quick Keys, reports, ability to list detailed product info. A big thing is remote login. I can check to see how my employees are doing at any time from any computer. I can also edit any part of my Vend information from any computer.

Cons

While Vend recently updated the way one enters product information by reducing the number of screens needed to enter or edit a product, there are still some areas of Vend that could use the same type of update. For example, after I'm finished entering a new product, there should be a button to click on that says "Enter New Product." Instead, I have to go back to the main Product Menu and go through a couple of screens to start entering another product. Not a major difficulty but this is one example where you have to go back to the main menu to access other parts of the software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

Very streamlined for online and retail needs

Reviewed 4 years ago

Online and offline and retail POS all integrated in one program.

Pros

It integrates the online and retail inventory at the same time. Like the basic website template and all that you can do to make it look like a real website with other information besides a shopping cart!

Cons

Does not support coupon codes! Thought about leaving Vend POS several times because of this problem.

Vendor response

Hey there, thanks for taking the time to review Vend POS! Apologies that we don't currently have a feature to generate coupon or promo codes. This is a highly requested feature we're aware retailers would love to see on Vend. If this feature is added to Vend, we'll be sure to send out an update. Thank you for your feedback. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

Awesome

Reviewed 5 years ago

We are super happy with Vend. It really improve our workflow, our customers on-desk experience and our budget decisions incredibly.

Pros

Easy to use for everyone. Connects perfectly our POS and online store. Support service is awesome.

Cons

There are still some little functions they can improve.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

Vend--POS and Inventory

Reviewed 4 years ago

Customer service availability and informative, however, not much on they can do solving the restrictions within the platform.

Pros

The idea that inventory system is also housed with point of sale system.

Cons

Very cumbersome to work in--doesn't have the capability as other POS platforms out in the market currently.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

We used Vend for several years and found it very easy to adapt to and configure to our business.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great sales and gross profit reporting. Excellent POS features like search and barcode integration.

Pros

We very much appreciated how easy it was to configure the software to our business and product lines. It is very easy to use and train new employees. We very much enjoyed being able to see live activity and reports on our mobile phones while traveling abroad. The barcode functionality was simple and easy to adapt.

Cons

The system wasn't scalable. Inventory management tools such as analysis for trends, seasonality, and forecasting was a very week or nonexistent. Also, Vend cannot process special orders or post customer deposits and that becomes an important feature to us as our business grew.

Vendor response

Hey Stan, thank you for taking the time to review Vend POS. Very pleased to hear that you have found Vend so easy to use and have enjoyed so many of our features, including being able to check on your business on-the-go, reporting, and more. Thank you for your feedback regarding advanced analysis and sell screen functionality that you'd like for your business. Vend has a few add-ons that you may want to look into for extra features, you can see these at www.vendhq.com/product-add-ons. If you have any more feedback you can submit a feature request to our team at any time using this link https://support.vendhq.com/hc/en-us/requests/new?ticket_form_id=1375. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

Decent POS software, it works but don't expect nothing amazing

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Very easy to use the app, plus it has decent pricing and I'm a big fan of the app design and backend.

Cons

Pretty basic software, it doesn't offer many features and offers quite a bit fewer than alternative POS software systems.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

Most flexible POS turn-key on the market.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We originally went looking for a full-featured POS software and found them we originally went looking for a full-featured POS software and found VEND. Imagine or surprise to find a cloud-based solution where everything from inventory to reporting is seamless and integrated.

Cons

About the only feature it is missing and we wished it had is serial number capability for tracking by item.

Vendor response

Hey James, so pleased to hear that you're so delighted with Vend POS! Not 100% sure what you mean by serial number capability, if you'd like to go into more detail please submit a feature request with our team using the following link https://support.vendhq.com/hc/en-us/requests/new?ticket_form_id=1375. Thank you for taking the time to review Vend. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

Still not able to accept EMV transaction after a year

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Decent POS, second year of the service had fewer outages than the first year. Reporting has improved.

Cons

Still can not provide integrated credit card processing. They partnered with Vantiv to provide a EMV solution. We signed up over year ago and still hasn't been activated. Vantiv has terrible online reviews and judging from 45 minute hold I was on, they are true. Even now Vend is advertising EMV ready credit card terminals with their partner Vantiv. Do not believe them, expect to be swiping and getting the occasional chargeback. People are stating to realize that if they dispute any swiped charge on their credit card, they will win. It is the newest form of shoplifting. Other issues have to do with the day to day workflow of maintaining prices and products. Just poorly designed. Customer Service is just apologies and denial of responsibility

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

Easy to use POS for my plant nursery. Been using Vend for 2 years.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy to update and track inventory using spreadsheet import/export. Quick keys for the iPad app are a nice feature.

Cons

No complaints. It does everything I need in a POS solution. Can't think of any features I'd need that it doesn't have.

Vendor response

Hey John, appreciate your terrific review of Vend POS! It's great to hear that you're so pleased with our point of sale software. If you do ever have an issue or want to submit a feature request, please reach out to our 24/7 support team. Hope you have a wonderful day! Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

Great Product. Powerful and Easy to Use.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Vend is a simple but powerful POS and Inventory Management platform. I've been using it for 2 years. Easy to setup and use.

Cons

While the product is very robust in features. The company does seem to be a slower than others to release new features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

SImple basic retail POS

Reviewed 5 years ago

If you looking for basic POS retail this product works but limited if you have specific / more detailed feature needs

Pros

Ease of Use. Easy install and data entry. Handles all the basic POS functions. Easy to manuvere through software and customer service was very good.

Cons

Does not handle our needs. We are a furniture business and need customizable invoices, customer databases, and the ability to special order products with depsoits. System is not as robust as more expensive solutions but you get what you pay for.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

POS

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Eady to use if you're only operating a retail store and need a POS system and have an accounting system that can be integrated

Cons

Cant handle complex inventory costing so all the costing per SKU must be outside vend. It would be be great to have a better costing system

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

Disappointing

Reviewed 5 years ago

The worst thing about vend is their customer support, it painfully slow and incompetent.

Pros

Easy interface, great integration with the right hardware. Unfortunately I cannot think of any other pros...

Cons

Don't be fooled unless you have experience in POS set up or accounting the software is hard to set up and integrate with Xero.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

Vend

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Vend is a great pos application, it looks and feels very modern, and it's really easy to use for anybody, no matter how technical you are.

Cons

Sometimes it seems to react a bit slower than usually, but this might also be a problem related to our own network

Vendor response

Hey Jasper, thanks for your review of Vend POS! Appreciate your feedback regarding Vend being modern and easy to use, great to hear. If you're still experiencing any delays in speed please submit a ticket with our support team for assistance. Hope you have a great day! Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Vend logo

Vend

I prefer Square POS

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Able to enter a lot of items for the inventory. Very easy to use on the go for small businesses, contractors, etc.

Cons

I’ve used this for my personal business but still prefer to use the Square POS. This one just doesn’t have as many features available and can run clunky

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review: