Vend Reviews

Vend Reviews

Vend

Run the world's best retail with Vend point-of-sale system.

4.36/5 (77 reviews)
45,031     23,160

AJ Shields

No other POS system compares to Vend

22/03/2017

I spend almost a month testing other point of sale systems not one of them was as powerful and easy to use as Vend. I love the support they offer and the free 30 Day trial was even better, it actually allowed me to test different scenarios and get my products ready to go before our Go-Live date. Their support team picks up the phone and actually talks to you when you need them, their email and live chat is always super fast and responsive even on Sundays they respond. I am looking at opening another store and their multi-channel system looks to be exactly what I need to manage multiple locations.

Pros

Easy to use, Excellent Support, Bulk Import Variants, Built in Loyalty Program

Cons

Really nothing negative to say about Vend, I love this software

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Álvaro Zarzuela

Awesome

21/03/2017

We are super happy with Vend. It really improve our workflow, our customers on-desk experience and our budget decisions incredibly.

Pros

Easy to use for everyone. Connects perfectly our POS and online store. Support service is awesome.

Cons

There are still some little functions they can improve.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Robert Gigliotti

Vend is Fantastic

21/03/2017

I love using vend for my business on a daily basis. It is very easy and time saving.

Pros

Ease of Use

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kat Bailey

Really excellent system, intuitive and easy-to-use, functionality and features always improving

28/02/2017

Two years ago I found myself with the unpleasant and overwhelming task of choosing a new POS system for the five gift shops I manage. I had just started the job and had a hard time researching the many options you can find online, most of which seemed geared toward a cafe and restaurant setting but were being pitched as retail solutions. VEND has proven to be (almost) everything I want. I work for a nonprofit that operates five gift shops in local State Parks. Overall, we have found that Vend is an affordable and flexible solution that is easy to operate.

Pros

It's easy to set up, easy to use and intuitive (even for some of my more tech-challenged staff), and perfect for a small-to-medium retail operation. It handles multiple outlets easily, as well as our wholesale business, and we're about to begin using the Vend eCommerce platform for our online store. And the price is very reasonable, which is one of the reasons it's such a good solution for a smaller business.

Cons

It can be difficult to find hardware that works with Vend. For example, we purchased the label maker that Vend recommends, and it was cheap and awful and broke twice before we decided to use something better. Unfortunately, Vend doesn't talk to that label printer, so our IT genius created a workaround that gets the job done. There are also some functions that Vend doesn't have yet (a single report that shows sales AND current inventory on one screen, for example, and better reporting for sales tax purposes) but we've always been able to work around these gaps, and Vend seems to be constantly updating and adding functionality.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kalie Anderson

Vend Rocks

27/02/2017

I just love this product! I researched a few POS options for our store and settled on Vend, pricing was right and customer service helped me make the decision.

Pros

Great customer service, lot's of upgrades and tweaking that Vend is working on all the time, very functional for recording customers, taking payments and linking with other platforms.

Cons

Priced in US dollars ( sad for canadians)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
John Butler

Excellent software

25/02/2017

Incredibly versatile and delivers everything that it promises and can be adapted in many more ways. I run a bike rental/shuttle business and vend has been incredibly easy to use which means happier customers at the end of the day

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Angus Allan

Amazing, easy to use and full featured

24/02/2017

I've been using Vend for almost 2 years now with a range of clients. I am always blown away by the work Vend does, not only in updating the platform with new features suggested by retailers but also how easy it is for anyone to pick up and use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Peter Day

Staff that enter in new stock items, are also be granted access to All your sales history

21/02/2017

We have been using Vend for 2 years in a retail shop. Cons; Beware Employers if you want your staff to enter in "new stock" no matter how junior they maybe they will be able to see all you sales history totals daily monthly, your financial health. Are you ok with that ? If you don't have many new stock items then that may be fine, but in my case we have new products monthly so all my staff get to see how the business is doing and they see the big amounts of money coming in leading to discussions and justifications about the expenses with union delegates. Would you as an employer really want that, all your sensitive business data out there for all who enter in new stock to see ?? Would you be ok with a competitor finding out you business health ? I,m not. !! Moving forward what I would like to see in Vend is a stock entry window, or a class just above general cashiers but, below managers for stock entry and stock management, creating new items etc. Well that is my only Con . (Pros) If that mentioned above is not a problem for you then the rest of Vend is great !!! Download it and try it out for free, see if it is for you . For me sadly, it's a deal breaker and after two years I'm looking for another POS solution.

Pros

Great easy to use systems on the front end, stable data base that despite having over 6,000 items with in it doesn't miss a beat. It professional looking. Elegantly handles discounts by either % or by dollar value. Great reports. Integrates well with Xero and my website.

Cons

Beware Employers, anyone who can enter in new stock will see everything, sales history, reports, you sensitive business data, your business health. Download load it try it for yourself. I have raised this with Vend, and my response back was "Is this really a problem?". For me it is.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

2/10

Recommendations to others considering Vend

This is great software for POS takes a little bit of learning but works well, even when its off line then it will re-sync when it comes back on. But stock management of new items must be done by trusted individuals as the access level for normal staff, is far too high for this role.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jack  Simons

Vend review

10/02/2017

Been using this system for over a year. Some of the features can be a tad bit buggy, but over all easy to use for a basic retail store they doesn't require work orders, or Special orders.

Pros

The UI and layout is clear and simple.

Cons

buggy when adding products. Cannot add products on the fly or do special orders. Cannot do work orders.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kasey Baker

Great product for point of sale

08/02/2017

Used this for a while with one of my friends businesses while helping him out at a trade show. I was really surprised how easy to straight forward it was to use and he said he absolutely loved this product as well.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Daniel Feodoroff

Great iPad POS for large businesses

07/01/2017

Vend is a great app for businesses willing to dish out. Vend makes the price tag worth it but having a great designed app which packs a lot of features for a great experience. One thing that makes Vend great is the loyalty program and the integration with PayPal Here and Tyro (in Australia) for quick and easy payments. After getting a client to switch to Vend their staff has really appreciated it as everything just works properly and the interface is a lot cleaner.

Pros

Loyalty Program, Payment Intergrations, Easy to use

Cons

If a monthly cost bothers you then it could be a con

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stacy Wells

Customer Support is Amazing!

05/01/2017

I love the functionality of VEND. I like how you can categorize products as well as search for them. They continue to improve their software offerings to accommodate the needs of the retailer. Whenever an issue came up, they were immediate to respond and resolve the problem. Their training team is amazing! No surprise hidden expenses!

Pros

Great product for running a retail store! The product works very well and set up is quite easy.

Cons

Depending on merchant account, the software doesn't always allow refunds to be performed at the till (iPad).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Vend

Use your training resources and tap into the wisdom of the team for a smooth set up!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ingrid Medova

Cloud based software has issues.

03/01/2017

Vend has some great features, but there are some downfalls with the software and the servers being based in another country. The main problem appears to be the Servers. At times the whole system grinds away and your customer has to wait till the cash drawer will open. Not real good when you have a lineup of customers. Customer service with vend is 50/50. Upgrades or changes made you are informed of after they are made by VEND.

Pros

Ability to connect to another register in another outlet, so you can see how each outlet is performing. Inventory counts are good, it gives a great snapshot of the performance of your business. We carry over 28,000 items in our store so it is a wise idea to keep track of everything.

Cons

Slow! Slow! Slow! Vend Servers are in another country so with cloud it takes time and at times of the day, the program just grinds away. It takes a while sometimes for the transactions to go through. We have upgraded all our computer hardware, believing that to be the problem. But no it is the servers that Vend use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10

Recommendations to others considering Vend

Monthly fees are high for a hit and miss system, but it does have advantages for multiple outlets. One of the purchases of POS system software should be weighed up when considering purchases.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anne-Marie Lee

VEND

30/11/2016

I'm so glad I decided to invest in VEND as my POS operation from the get-go. As a start up business, it was very tempting to operate my little clothing boutique the old fashioned way - manually. But using VEND from start-up phase of my business has enabled me to steadily grow the business with absolute ease. I now sell online and I have been able to creatively incorporate new product lines into the store. The functionality of VEND is perfect for me now as a smaller operation and seeing that VEND will also be perfect for as I continue to grow, has actually encouraged me to expand the business far quicker than I might have done, if I'd been a manually run shop.

Pros

Everything from entering stock, selling stock and tracking stock is just so easy.

Cons

I would love to see more stylish webstore templates. I would be using VEND now as my webstore too, if the choice of templates on offer when I was setting up my website had been more stylish.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Vend

Do yourself a favour and use VEND regardless of the size of your business. It will not disappoint.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Josh Berry

Great service!

30/11/2016

Vend has become the premier point-of-sale for us. We really weighed our options when we first opened; and Vend really stood out. Great customer service, great pricing options, amazing add-ons for couponing and other web services.

Pros

Quick, easy setup and great customer service.

Cons

Hard pressed to find one honestly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Vend

Try their 30-day trial! Absolutely no card info required and has tutorials and live interaction.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Bilsland

Simplifying retail

29/11/2016

We use Vend in our ski hire business in Scotland, the software is fantastic and we throughly enjoy the simplicity and ease of use. Vend covers everything we could ask for and also the customer service is the best we have ever encountered. 10 stars from us.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gordon Holtslander

Awesome product

28/11/2016

We've used Vend for more than a year without issues or difficulties. We have 2 paid staff and a small army of volunteers who use the software without issues week after week.

Pros

It's simple, flexible and pretty near bullet proof.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Heather Young

Vend a Lifesaver!

21/11/2016

My previous point of sale software was very functional and easy for a brand new business to get up and running. Suddenly however, they decided to discontinue their product, which forced us to make a quick transition. I spent a good deal of time comparing the variety of online software and landed on Vend. When comparing to other products, Vend was easy to set up, very reasonably priced, and offered all the features I was looking for.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Vend

You've got nothing to lose. Take advantage of their free trial period before signing up. It will give you a great vantage point to make your final decision.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Carol Komondy

Very satisfied

30/09/2016

Vend does exactly what we need and is very easy to use

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

Inventory and stock receiving could be easier

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Vend

Try it you won't be sorry

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Elizabeth  Arthur

Once you get over the basic hurdels VEND will become an invaluable TOOL for any business If you spend the time getting to know the program

30/09/2016

We have six store plus a warehouse , sure we had some HUGE issues in the beginning manly the Bar code printing, this was fixed up by N/Z Head office I have recommended VEND to fellow business owners to date 3 have taken up VEND Simple to use program. Fantastic reporting

Pros

Easy for any staff member to use detail in reporting

Cons

Inconsistent information from support desk Help phone not being answered and a call back 48hours later (this is NOT Helpful) updating information and not thinking how this will effect the End consumer E.G the changes to the credit note

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Vend

No matter if you are not a computer person but want to understand your business better E,G for the buying, product shrinkage, product performance. VEND will deliver all of this. You need to commit yourself to using the information and not buy another Computer program that you will only use as a expensive TILL

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Belinda Marsh

10 out of 10

29/09/2016

Pros

An intuitive piece of software, backed by superb customer service. I have never hung up the phone without my issue being resolved. 10 out of 10, SMB.

Cons

I'd love to have a functionality that orders stock based on your ideal SOH position.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Vend

The functionality is here. Take your time to compare service levels. That is the "make-or-break" when you are in the thick of running your business.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bryon Taylor

Still not able to accept EMV transaction after a year

15/09/2016

Pros

Decent POS, second year of the service had fewer outages than the first year. Reporting has improved.

Cons

Still can not provide integrated credit card processing. They partnered with Vantiv to provide a EMV solution. We signed up over year ago and still hasn't been activated. Vantiv has terrible online reviews and judging from 45 minute hold I was on, they are true. Even now Vend is advertising EMV ready credit card terminals with their partner Vantiv. Do not believe them, expect to be swiping and getting the occasional chargeback. People are stating to realize that if they dispute any swiped charge on their credit card, they will win. It is the newest form of shoplifting. Other issues have to do with the day to day workflow of maintaining prices and products. Just poorly designed. Customer Service is just apologies and denial of responsibility

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

2/10

Recommendations to others considering Vend

Make sure you are happy with the integrated credit card processing partners.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Suzanne Laurie

Love our Vend Experience!

01/09/2016

Pros

The software does all the basics we are looking for but the best part is that Vend is constantly improving features and their support is really great. There are certainly a few items that don't work the way we need them to and integration to Quickbooks Online is one of those but I really think this is a company that listens and if we keep providing feedback they'll respond accordingly. We've already had several enhancements in the last few months that make this package much better in a Canadian business context.

Cons

Missing a few basics (Quickbooks Integration in Canada) that are really useful for us small business owners!!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Vend

Use the trial versions first to make sure the software works the way you need it to for your business. And...test their customer support right away - we've used great products with terrible support and in the end we end up needing to trouble shoot our own problems. You won't experience that with Vend.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tom Hinman

Vend is extremely buggy customer service is awful

12/08/2016

Pros

Once upon a time vend was simple to use and had great reports

Cons

The changes When customer service cannot help with your issue they simply pass you over to another customer service person

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

1/10

Recommendations to others considering Vend

DO NOT USE VEND! Apparently I was using their "old app" they just turned it off in the middle of the day without telling me anything. This shut us down for the day. I struggled to figure out how to build and use the new app over night. The customer service person I was dealing with just left me hanging. I still can't get my cash drawer or my receipt printer to work with the new app. Also the most valuable report vend had no longer exists.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andrey Pronin

Excellent POS software for small retailers!

02/08/2016

Pros

It has a lot of functionality. Which is a must in a high paced retail environment? It also works in a cloud meaning you can access it anywhere from any device - perfect for keeping a close eye on your sales going up!

Cons

As it is a SaaS software, sometimes you have to wait a long time for a new functionality that you wish it had.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Vend

Go for it. You won't be disappointed. And it is not expensive to give it a go - even if you decide it is not for you!

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more