Vend Reviews

Vend

Run the world's best retail with Vend point-of-sale system.

Vend

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


212 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very streamlined for online and retail needs

Reviewed 3 years ago

Online and offline and retail POS all integrated in one program.

Pros

It integrates the online and retail inventory at the same time. Like the basic website template and all that you can do to make it look like a real website with other information besides a shopping cart!

Cons

Does not support coupon codes! Thought about leaving Vend POS several times because of this problem.

Vendor response

Hey there, thanks for taking the time to review Vend POS! Apologies that we don't currently have a feature to generate coupon or promo codes. This is a highly requested feature we're aware retailers would love to see on Vend. If this feature is added to Vend, we'll be sure to send out an update. Thank you for your feedback. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A Small to Medium Retailer Friend

Reviewed 2 years ago

Vend is fast, effective and efficient.

Pros

1. If you have a company that is very busy and its hard to keep track of your stock levels then this pos is a system you need. 2. Searching in Vend is fast, it organizes everything and gives you thee option to create different variants of items which produces results in timely manner; reducing customers wait time. 3. To every business safety is very important and Vend uses the Cloud which is safe,...

Cons

1. When inputting the float and an error was made i found it challenging to change that information. 2. The company I work for also uses Quickbooks and being that these two companies are integrated we were delighted only to find out it can only be combined for US residents only. 3. Its a quite pricey especially for start up companies.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Vend Is a Great POS Software, Just Wish It Was More Customizable

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Vend is an excellent and fail-safe POS for small businesses. While data entry and inventory search functionality is generally a breeze, depending on the nature of your business or inventory, you may run into difficulties keeping categories of products isolated from one another. Stock orders are a breeze and staff is very helpful.

Cons

I only wish the interface was a little more malleable and user customizable as it seems that it's slowly being tailored to best suit its most standard applications, rather than oriented towards creative retail pursuits with singular demands.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

LOVE this program. So glad I chose them. Amazing features & capabilities, plus so user-friendly.

Reviewed 3 years ago

It makes running my shop fantastic! Love all the reporting capabilities as well. I have everything I need!

Pros

I love the ease of use and user-friendliness. Overall a great program that I definitely recommend to other retailers!

Cons

Honestly I just wish that sales could communicate between the Vend program and my Shopify online store that is integrated? Though it's not a big deal as it's very easy to run sales in the online store through Shopify, so it's not the end of the world.

Vendor response

Hey Michele, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Delighted to hear that you love Vend point of sale software - the feeling is mutual! If you are having any issues with your Shopify + Vend integration please open a ticket as soon as possible with our friendly 24/7 support team. Hope you have a wonderful day and thanks again! Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Awesome software, made it all easier

Reviewed 3 years ago

Made oversight faster, could work from anywhere, uptime is great.

Pros

It is easy to use, it is updated timely, and it offers PC web browser access. PC web access is very important because it gives flexibility.

Cons

A little on the pricey side, but it offers great value for the money. Updates could come faster. They do come but tend to lag.

Vendor response

Hey Fabian, thank you for your review of Vend POS. Fantastic to hear that using Vend has made running your retail business easier - that's exactly what we want to do for retailers. Totally agree that Vend is great value for money, especially compared to highly expensive legacy POS systems! All the best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

We have been using Vend for our retail business for over 5 years

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have been running a multi-channel retail clothing business using Vend POS as our platform for inventory creation, management, and in-store sales. It is a reliable, feature-rich, and versatile web-based software solution that is simple to set up and use daily.

Pros

For our retail clothing business, we have been using Vend POS in our shop to manage inventory and run in-store sales. The integrations we rely on are Shopify for e-commerce as well as Xero for accounting. Vend POS has been a generally pleasant experience and they have improved the web-based POS platform tremendously over the course of the past five years and continue to do so. The Vend Register...

Cons

There have been various bugs, issues, and UI inconveniences over the years. Generally customer support is very responsive to tickets we create however it is usually a long turnaround to actually address any software improvements we have asked to be made.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

This is POS for dummies! So easy to use and straight forward in functionality.

Reviewed 3 years ago

It is my POS system in our store. I love that it is internet based so that I can access it from home as well.

Pros

There really was no learning curve. Super easy to put in new products and very easy for my salesmen to use.

Cons

Few things that I would like to see: better functions to help organize clients and give my salesmen tasks to contact people. Also, I would like for there to be a way to force entry of the clients name on each sale. (probably just need people who do what they are supposed to do....). Customer service is not accesible by phone and this is sometimes difficult.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Most flexible POS turn-key on the market.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We originally went looking for a full-featured POS software and found them we originally went looking for a full-featured POS software and found VEND. Imagine or surprise to find a cloud-based solution where everything from inventory to reporting is seamless and integrated.

Cons

About the only feature it is missing and we wished it had is serial number capability for tracking by item.

Vendor response

Hey James, so pleased to hear that you're so delighted with Vend POS! Not 100% sure what you mean by serial number capability, if you'd like to go into more detail please submit a feature request with our team using the following link https://support.vendhq.com/hc/en-us/requests/new?ticket_form_id=1375. Thank you for taking the time to review Vend. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Vend POS

Reviewed 2 years ago

From customer service stand point, they are an amazing company, they will try to accommodate and go above and beyond to help you.

Pros

The system is very easy to learn, the report capability is what we like the most, having the ability to run report to analyze the sales and patterns, is very helpful in planning , buying inventory, since it is capable to also hold inventory, to send emails to alert when inventory is low, is amazing, we love the system for our small store.

Cons

Not much, we had some issues in the beginning with credit card connectivity, but not for any of the system fault, it was the way our store is set up with our internet, once all that got squared away, the system worked perfect.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

After a year of use...

Reviewed 2 years ago

After one year of using Vend my impression of the product has dropped drastically. The reporting functions are pretty much a joke and the accounting features are a disaster. The only thing worse than these two things is the customer service department which for a year has responded to virtually every inquiry with "The program can't do that", or "It is a feature we are looking to add." There is no...

Pros

Front end is clean and simple for employees to use. Fine for a very small or beginning business.

Cons

Reporting functions are terrible. System was not designed by anyone with any understanding of accounting or running a B&M retail business. Only capable of working for a very small retail business.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Customer Support is Amazing!

Reviewed 4 years ago

I love the functionality of VEND. I like how you can categorize products as well as search for them. They continue to improve their software offerings to accommodate the needs of the retailer. Whenever an issue came up, they were immediate to respond and resolve the problem. Their training team is amazing! No surprise hidden expenses!

Pros

Great product for running a retail store! The product works very well and set up is quite easy.

Cons

Depending on merchant account, the software doesn't always allow refunds to be performed at the till (iPad).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent value for the money

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It is all in your hand and you can do what you want with the program and it is afforable I like the fact that you can add products and delete products easily and it is very simple to use

Cons

Graphics need some work and certain icons could be used in bigger format Tracking previous invoice and customer history needs improvements

Vendor response

Hey Edwin, thanks for your review of Vend POS! Happy to hear that you're pleased with Vend's usability, value and ease of use. If you have any specific feedback around what changes you would like to see we'd love to hear your thoughts. You can let us know by submitting a ticket using the following link https://support.vendhq.com/hc/en-us/requests/new?ticket_form_id=1375. Thanks again! Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed 2 years ago

So far great product. Like how is it was to setup and the service of having someone walk you through the whole process.

Pros

I like the use of it adding products and all the intergrations it has. Very easy to setup and use to keep track of things.

Cons

Price went up. Big price increase was not pleased.

Vendor response

Hey Michael, thanks for your positive review of Vend POS. It's wonderful to hear you're finding Vend great to use and you were pleased with your set up. We've recently made some changes to our pricing structure so that we can continue investing in and developing Vend even further. We've already made some significant updates, such as an extensive promotions suite, big changes to our inventory platform, more powerful reporting and real time analytics. We hope these features can be used in your business and help you grow and run exceptional retail. If you have any questions around Vend please reach out to us directly. Best wishes, Vend's Community Manager.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great, easy to use system!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The easy to use functions and layout. It is easy to find what you are looking for, and the service is great whenever there are questions.

Cons

When printing pricing labels, it seems cumbersome. Also, it would be great if there was a function that you could edit the details while it is in list view (ie. in product list)

Vendor response

Hey Shannon, excellent to hear that you're so happy with Vend POS and thank you for your feedback! If you would like to go into more detail about your printing issue or edit product feature request, please submit a ticket to our team using this link https://support.vendhq.com/hc/en-us/requests/new?ticket_form_id=1375. Thanks you for taking the time to review Vend. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Vend just works

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The team is awesome, they are friendly and responsive. When there is a problem, they dig into it quickly and solve it. While it's rare to have a problem, it's great to know they are around. There are new features and functions introduced on a periodic basis and the product seems to get better over time.

Cons

I'm not partial to their color scheme and would like to be able to change the skin of the application to something else. Also, since we're in the US and they are a New Zealand company, our terms are sometimes a little different for the same thing and that can be confusing until learned.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy way to sell your products

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Vend is a great way to sell products of any kind. The ipad app is easy to navigate and you can set up quick keys for some of the products.

Cons

It used to kick me off of my account sometimes and make me sign back in. I havent noticed it doing that in a while though.

Vendor response

Hey Jenni, thanks for your review of Vend POS − happy to hear you're finding it so easy! Sorry to hear you were having a login issue, if that pops up again please don't hesitate to let us know. We're here to help! Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great POS for operating small businesses

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have been using Vend since day one because of it’s ease of use and adapability. Our staff are always impressed with how easy Vend is to use. We recommend Vend for store sales but if you start selling beer there are better softwares. Vend is great for small bussiness that sell merchandise!

Pros

• Ease of use • Customer Database • Pictures of products • Easily discount

Cons

Not really a con but we started selling beer during park hours and with such a high volume in sales and parked sales the system would crash but not often.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Our experience over the past few years using Vend has been wonderful!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Its ease of use and how robust the system truly is. It makes staff training and use very smooth. As an administrator on our Vend store, the layout and format are very user friendly.

Cons

We had some issues with the App being updated and changing some of our taxing formatting which was an issue. Vend representatives worked hard to rectify this issue.

Vendor response

Hey Rebecca, thank you for your wonderful review of Vend POS! We're delighted to hear that you have had such a great experience with Vend and our team, especially on sorting that tax issue out for you. We'll keep working hard to delight you with this level of service and ease of use. All the best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This system has been very easy to setup, use and maintain.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Being able to sell product from anywhere and not just in our store, the ease of running reports when needed, maintaining product in inventory, and able to set up sale items without having to manually start and stop when sale ends

Cons

I find there are very few cons about this product. Only concerns we have are at times the scanner stops working (which will have to turn off register/or restart iPad), or the Cash Register drops Bluetooth connection.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Keep looking - this is debilitating to our business

Reviewed 7 months ago

Terrible, really wish we could turn back the clock and pick a different system. A full year of frustrations. We can put up with a lot of issues, and recognize no one platform is perfect. But going 3 weeks without a response from Vend support in a busy retail environment has destroyed any chance of ever recommending this group.

Pros

Simplicity (or so it seemed), multi-outlet.

Cons

It's simple because it doesn't work. We literally have buggy issues every week, and it's been a year of using it. And we're not attempting difficult or creative issues. Very basic retail tils, on hardware recommended by Vend, setup according to their specs. It just constantly has problems. Dropped sales, problems with software, reporting issues... you would think these are our issues (Vend blames...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy-to-use and easy-to-scale, intuitive POS that works beautifully

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Very intuitive system that means training needs are limited. Easy to use ordering. Sales tracking for each shop from your mobile, ipad or desktop. Using an ipad as the POS terminal reduces clutter in the store and customers always impressed with it. Great capabilities to track sales, customers. Excellent support. Great gift card functionality.

Cons

Some additional advanced features would be welcome - e.g. multi-currency for procurement to further simplify ordering process.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great value

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to use. Good value for the money. Reports are nice and easy to read and filter.Works great on a Ipad.

Cons

Slow at times. Seems to lag at times. manual inventory needs to be easier to use with hardware we have.

Vendor response

Hey Bob, good to hear that you're pleased with Vend's value, usability, and reporting! Sorry to hear that Vend's been running slow for you at times - this could be to do with your hardware or internet connection. If you would like some assistance with this please contact our team using this link https://support.vendhq.com/hc/en-us/requests/new?ticket_form_id=1375. We're here to help! Thank you for leaving a review of Vend POS. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Reliable and robust software for my inventory management needs

Reviewed 3 years ago

The software is so robust for my needs. Inventory is *almost* effortless when compared to my old way with the software I upgraded from.

Pros

I adore the Reports tab for glancing at revenue and other numbers! Checking out customers is a breeze.

Cons

lack of places to note changes in products (but in saying that I'm confident most features I desire will come, as they're open to feedback and always updating!

Vendor response

Hey Andrea, very pleased to hear that you're so happy with Vend POS! You're right - we're always open to feedback from retailers and take it onboard. So thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback with us. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great POS option that is easy to use

Reviewed 3 years ago

POS inventory cost tracking

Pros

Everything is cloud based, so access from anywhere Very easy to use to enter products and ring up sales Connects with most major products like Shopify

Cons

Product purchase order features are very minimal and not easy to utilize Product receiving has minor kinks like having not column with Item numbers etc. Hardware options are limited.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great, low cost option for a quality POS

Reviewed 4 years ago

Point of sale needed for retail business

Pros

Simple to use. Flexible, and can cover multiple locations. Very easy inventory management, and can do inventory counts right online, and you can break up products into categories.

Cons

There isn't much. The only thing that I wish it could do is easily sync inventory with Enterprise desktop editions of Quickbooks. It does support Xero and Online Quickbooks.

page 3 of 9