App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

ChangeGear Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


50 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great Potential

Reviewed 3 years ago

Our experience has not been positive, so far, but that is largely due to the combination of challenges presented by our non-typical environment and a lack of time/effort to make ChangeGear work. We haven't completely given up yet, because we see the potential.

Pros

ChangeGear provides Flexibility and Configurability in a package with a clear ITIL orientation. It seems to be a good value, considering the balance of sophistication and cost.

Cons

It is very challenging to implement in a non-Active Directory environment; although it can, in theory, work in a non-AD infrastructure, it is far from easy to make it work. The agent-less computer scanning is a nice feature in theory, but it can also be hard to use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Decent ITSM offering - LOTS of hidden *bugs* and kinks that need worked through

Reviewed 3 years ago

We needed a new ITSM solution (Incident, change, release, etc).

Pros

It's very customizable which is nice. It's also easy to use once it's configured.

Cons

There are a lot of bugs and odd nuances with the product that is not mentioned up front. While we have had much of this acknowledged it still feels like a half baked product, or a software company that doesn't have enough people on staff to address things like they should be addressed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Customizable, Competitive and Customer Friendly

Reviewed 5 years ago

Increased customer communication.

Pros

The Customization and flexibility of options available at a competitive price point. Ability for users to submit their own tickets, monitor the progress and interact with technicians. Support teams that are engaging, quick to respond and knowledgeable enough to identify, solve, or guide you to a resolution.

Cons

User and Admin. manuals can lack information but since the system is so configurable I am not sure they would be able to account of every possibility. More than 1 technician can be in the same ticket at the same time. Modules do not always contain the same basic field options. Each module does have various module specific fields but it would be nice to have a standard set across all modules.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good service but requires careful adjustment

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This software has a nice and clear interface. Quickly you can run into the product if there is time. Developers eliminate the problems that arise during implementation.

Cons

The program has no localization. Designed for English-speaking countries. Self-localization is complicated. Old version of the program is available for the user on the site. Updates are sent through support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sunview Software is a great company to work with. ChangeGear is Great.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The ChangeGear product has all the tools needed to run a successful incident, change and help desk system. I have been a user for many years and the team at Sunview has always been top notch. Any questions, concerns or issues the support folks were right on it.

Cons

There isn't anything that I have personally come across that couldn't be handled in a timely manner. Not one piece that I would do away with.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy To Use Ticketing System

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, I have had good experience with ChangeGear as a technical support specialist.

Pros

ChangeGear software is very robust and intuitive.

Cons

Sometimes the machine learning feature causes the software to be a little slow.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Solid software solution for ticketing and project management

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Ease of use by end users through an easy UI and email notification system.

Cons

Difficulty in applying updates and upgrade to the system without running into issues that require Sunview support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Solid Product and Solid company. Great customer support sales and tech

Reviewed 5 years ago

Automation of a lot of routine task right out off the box. a better data tracking and reporting.

Pros

Everything: It's complete solution that can expand and grow with your organization. It starts with the basic solution and can evolve to enterprise level all in one system ( which way to much for our organization) We got the base held desk solution and I found the feature list is way beyond what we need.

Cons

Certain customizations you need to know what you're doing or you can do some damage. To hide some of the default forms I wasn't able to do it myself and needed assistance. as well as few other little mods required direct manipulation in XML files so you need someone who know where it is.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very good

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Change Management System works very well and complies with all our needs. Reporting and filtering design is unique and very customizable.

Cons

CMDB functionality is lacking somewhat. You can manage who sees certain assets, but you cannot manage who sees specific fields in an asset.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Mostly a positive experience

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The product allows a lot of flexibility to be adapted to the needs of our company. Able to automate a lot of functions and services that were manual to us before.

Cons

With flexibility comes risk and some of my pain areas are the support services (pay for support) has degraded since I first signed on and are difficult to arrange. When I do get someone I don't feel I get the value as many times it has to have several follow up calls to get it right and I get charged for the extra hours. Also, my account support has degraded since signing on with my initial account rep taking a new role.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Change Gear DCCCD

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The software offers a lot of features.The CMDB is a nice feature. Asset tracking is also great along with Problem and incident ticketing.

Cons

Took a while to program. Some programming took longer than expected.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Empty Promises

Reviewed 3 years ago

Software itself was ok, we need tweeks and the company promise to make and never delivered, but they kept taking our money and consume hours, but never delivered.

Pros

It was simple and basic, handle basic functions well

Cons

Reporting was horrible, any customization was impossible, the support from the company was horrific, slow to respond, promised everything, never delivered even when we offered to pay for things.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

We have just gone live with the product and things are going well. Report functionality is great.

Reviewed 5 years ago

All of IT work is in the same area from Project Management to daily incidents and service requests.

Pros

The Self Service Portal for the customers is great. Our customers are enjoying the ease of use. The creation of a ticket by email helps our customers that are out in the field daily.

Cons

Since we are still learning how to use the software in a production environment, we seem to be having issues with learning which screen is the best to use for seeing all work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

The account mgr, tech lead, and general support have all been good to work with and very responive

Reviewed 5 years ago

Stream lined access to various features. Good metrics that are easily obtained.

Pros

The flexibility of having the system do what we need while still adhering to ITIL. The Service Catalog, while some end users do not like it, the general opinion is positive and well received.

Cons

We have implemented some newer technology (specifically, VMWare SAML) and they have had some technical limitations in implementing. We are making progress and support/dev is working to solve the problem.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good change management seoltuon

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It's easy to install and easy to upgrade. The software is also easy to maintain. It's pretty much set it and forget it other than licensing changes each year.

Cons

Sometimes, not often, tickets will disappear. This has only happened twice in two years.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Poor communication and not very good for customer facing applications.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Change Gear is great if you are only using it internally. Despite what their sales team would tell you, it requires extensive modification to even handle anything more than a few email addresses. Attachment handling and things as simple as email CC'ing are not available available out of the gate. The included modules are not very adaptable, inevitably requiring the customer to bend to suit its forms...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Not very happy

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Your support staff is wonderful, always going the extra mile

Cons

Your software needs help. The canned reports, SLA's, Dashboards - all have issues. I have had to open 25 support tickets since the first of the year just to get things working

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Find a different product than ChangeGear

Reviewed 3 years ago

I would rather slam my hand in a door than use this software.

Pros

Nothing. It is the worst I've ever used in my 20+ years in IT. I'm also familiar w/ Remedy and ServiceNow.

Cons

It is overly confusing and a huge time waster. You can't look at it and figure out what you need to do like any other software platform. Every single time I try to do anything my tickets end up getting incorrectly assigned or routed. No one seems to understand the logic of their workflow. Everyone I've ever talked to at my company hates this product.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Network Administrator

Reviewed 4 years ago

We ran into so many operational flaws and deficiencies that we finally had to drop ChangeGear after only one year of use.

Pros

Very customizable user interface. Work flows are easy to setup. Reports are easily generated and can be output in multiple forms.

Cons

The email handling module is highly flawed. There are many operational bug in the coding. The system is not very adaptable to be used for non-ITSM rolls.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Countless problems

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It has a comprehendible gui and its easy to navigate. The automatic ticket creator through email is great when it works.

Cons

Email connector service has broke at least 3 times and its currently been down for a week. Now we cannot close or edit tickets so its nearly impossible to track our work. I understand things go wrong but a down service should be resolved asap. It is frustrating and I do not recommend this software. The following error occurs when we open any ticket or click any ticket: ChangeGear has detected the following error. ChangeGear could not process your request. Please re-login and try again.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

does the job

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I like the functionality. We used it for helpdesk and change management, worked great in both scenarios.

Cons

Not so sure about the ability to customize, if you have a need for it should look into it, nothing else that was a con in my opinion.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ChangeGear is Customizable

Reviewed 6 years ago

SunView's Professional Services team helped us configure ChangeGear Service Desk to meet our needs. We have implemented several modules including Incident, Knowledge Base, Service Request, and Self-Service Portal. ChangeGear has been well received by our end users and IT Techs.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Change Gear - SunView Review

Reviewed 7 years ago

We are currently implementing this product. So far, as seen by various demonstrations and test drives of this product, it appears to be fully functional, scalable and user friendly. Changing workflows, form layout or what you are seeing on the screen is very easy. Customizing the workflows is not difficult, which, in conjunction with form modifications allows the users to make customizations specific to their needs.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Our go to ITSM tool

Reviewed 6 years ago

We have been using it as our main ticketing system for Incidents and Service Requests and also using it for our Change Management tool.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good for using internally

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We can easily raise tickets and keep a track on the status

Cons

For beginners it will be difficult to understand