App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

UltraVNC Logo

Remote support and access management software

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

UltraVNC Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

42

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.17/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

ninjarmm
action1-rmm
splashtop-business-access

Pros and cons

It is free, has a bunch of very good resources, the connection is pretty good, works very well even on poor connections, the bandwidth control is one of the best which I have seen.
I was glad with it , friendly Interface great to administration of points of sales and servers.
Features include file transfer and remote control. The possibility to change the compression to improve the quality of the connection is very useful.
Sometime it's services stuck and unable to establish connection.
Very frustrating from a configuration point of view.
Complete load of c***, and time wasting to set up for such a simple application.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


42 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

André L.

Chemicals, 501-1,000 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A very robust and free option to remote connections

Reviewed 3 years ago

Pretty interesting solution, I have used it on my former company to connect through 30 operations companies, with different sizes of bandwidth, and it manages it very well, and the price, for be free, is one of the most attractive things about this one.

Pros

It is free, has a bunch of very good resources, the connection is pretty good, works very well even on poor connections, the bandwidth control is one of the best which I have seen. Therefore, it has some features such as file sharing, chat, and the deployment and configuration are pretty easy on both sides: administration and clients.

Cons

Do not have so much cons about it, just on the support side, because the software is free. However, it has a good documentation to follow, but you need to have some network and server side skills.

AM
AvatarImg

Angus M.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Does What Is Says On The Tin - Solid VNC Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

My experience has been great, I've used UltraVNC in my personal life for many many years, but only for around 6 months within my business. It stands up well compared to other VNC software, has a low latency and seems to be very stable, with little to no crashes. I'd recommend it if you need software for VNC.

Pros

I've never had any issues with UltraVNC, it works as it should. The automatic clipboard synchronization is a simple, but well received feature that lots of similar software doesn't seem to include.

Cons

The only thing that I would list as a con about the software, is the need for port forwarding on the machine acting as the VNC server.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Robert R.

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

UltraVNC - More secure options availbable.

Reviewed 2 years ago

UltraVNC sets a static password when deployed. In addition the system must have firewall rules for accessibility this leaves the administrator with a difficult to change password. The requirements for firewall rules mean that for remote access I would either need to have a VPN tunnel to secure remote access or lower security at the corporate firewall. Alternatively there are many web hosted secure services that are low cost.

Pros

The most advantageous feature of this software is that it is free of cost and can be installed as a service allowing systems to be accessible at every reboot.

Cons

Fixed password and limited accessibility makes it an undesirable option for corporate use.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

UltraVNC review by Support Agent

Reviewed 3 years ago

I would recommend UltraVNC for use to anyone who has a network of a couple PC's, as it is easy and fast to connect to the Remote PC and check what is happening with it. In case some files need to be change, UltraVNC has that ability as well, which can speed up troubleshooting process as well.

Pros

I like using this tool as I can easily connect between PS's on the same network ( in my case ) and I can check what is happening with each PC in timely manner. Also, I am able to share files between these PC's which can be really useful when I need to edit and upload some configuration file for instance. Of course, this connection is always password protected.

Cons

UltraVNC sometimes tends to bug, which is why I need to path through Services to the affected PC and check if there was any issues with it's Services. It would be nice to have a feedback, whenever appropriate Service is not running properly or it has some issues.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Ultra VNC - fast VNC with high compression

Reviewed 2 years ago

Ultra VNC enabled us to remotely administer a number of customer servers that only had dial-up access, without the constant drop-outs that we experienced using some other commercial software available at the time. This has saved them time and money repeatedly.

Pros

Installation and configuration for UltraVNC was super simple. Our remote clients often had very un-reliable and slow connections, but UltraVNC was able to cope with it with it's high compression algorithms to enable to efficiently manage remote systems and provide support.

Cons

There were odd occasions where the server would not run correctly as the driver did not load, but was not often an issue and more likely to be a PC issue.

PJ
AvatarImg

Peter J.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great open source solution for remote computer management and diagnostics

Reviewed 4 years ago

The UltraVNC Single Click version has been great to provide to my clients without having to worry about licensing issues. Many of them are computer novices so not having to talk them through installing more complex software and changing network settings has been a real time saver.

Pros

UltraVNC is a great open source solution for remote desktop connections and being free for commercial use means big savings if you've got a lot of users that need occasional support. The software is small and easy to install and includes a variety of options to suit different Internet connection speeds. There's also a Single Click version that allows you to create a custom executable that can be distributed to customers preconfigured to connect to your IP address which saves them needing to configure the firewall at their end to support incoming connections.

Cons

Compared to some proprietary software like Microsoft Remote Desktop and TeamViewer the screen updates appear to be a little slower and there can be occasional glitches that need a screen repaint. While not a big deal for remote support incidents it may be worth looking at other options if you're intending working over a remote connection for extended periods of time.

RP
AvatarImg

Ryan P.

Automotive, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

UltraVNC for support.

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

UltraVNC is so easy to use. It is a great software. It allows remote support quickly and effeciently.

Cons

Remote support over a slower connection can be problematic.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Gabriele A.

Professional Training & Coaching, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

One of the first, but not the best.

Reviewed 2 years ago

I'd recommend other VNC softwares instead of UltraVNC.

Pros

First of all, UltraVNC is totally free: it is developed under a GPL license which allow the users to implement and develop its code to realize a better software over time. The interface is quite "old style", it has everything you need to start and work out your remote session.

Cons

The interface: absolutely "old style" and totally out of time. It's a PRO on one hand (read previous pros), but on another hand it's a total CON if we think about the modern app and software interfaces. The usability is not as good as it should be for newbies.

MM
AvatarImg

Manav M.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Free and robust remote connection software!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This software is Free of cost and provides a wide range of resources. Also, the features such as file sharing and chat is really easy and quick.

Cons

Outdated UI which would not attract new users. UltraVNC should upgrade their software and make it more user friendly and modern.

MM
AvatarImg

Marko M.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

The old standard

Reviewed 3 years ago

It was good for the times it was used in. But the other solutions overshadowed it with their feature set.

Pros

It is free. It was one of the first remote connection software developed. It is still in active development and new features are contantly beeing added

Cons

The features are lacking and the free aspect is shown in the pacing of the development.

GS
AvatarImg

Gabriel S.

Renewables & Environment, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Calidad del software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Cobro muchísima importancia en estos últimos años ,debido a la pandemia y ayudo con n demasía

Pros

Que fue muy fácil de impletarla al personal al que fue derivado el software

Cons

Quizás la estabilidad en la conexión remota debería de ser más optimizada

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

AA
AvatarImg

Alessandro A.

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

UltraVNC connect you every computer

Reviewed 2 years ago

The multiplatform system and the possibility to use it in mobility using VPN both for the admin than for the user is essential to connect everywhere and give support in time

Pros

UltraVNC is light, works on old and new machines, multiplatform, plenty of customizations

Cons

Sometimes customisation bring you away from the core business

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Ultra VNC v 1.1.9.3

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It is a very light application, very smooth installation, easy operation, stable connection

Cons

sometime remote connectivity freeze during high latency network utilization

CM
AvatarImg

Caio M.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ferramenta perfeita

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Ferramenta perfeita para conexões remotas rápidas e sem enrolação!

Cons

Não tenho nada contra a ferramenta durante a utilização.

Showing original review in Portuguese. See translation

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Environmental Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Como conectarte sin complicaciones a otros equipos de tu instalación sin necesidad de desplazarte fí

Reviewed a year ago

Muy contento y con un gran uso. Sin duda, un acierto.

Pros

Lo sencillo que es de configurar y de manejar. Ha sido un acierto total, nos estamos ahorrando muchos desplazamientos innecesarios para resolver incidencias en fábrica sin necesidad de desplazarnos.

Cons

El interface del programa. Parece ser un programa moderno, debería tener unas pantallas de configuración más alegres a la vista.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

FM
AvatarImg

Frederic M.

Music, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The helpdesk tools

Reviewed a year ago

Ultra pratique en termes de surveillance, connection a distance sur les serveurs ou les clients du réseau locale.

Pros

simplicité et efficacité lors des dépannages a distant dans un LAN.

Cons

aucun. tout est simple, et permet le remote des clients et serveurs au sein d'un LAN.

Showing original review in French. See translation

EC
AvatarImg

Elisa C.

Program Development, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

UltraVNC

Reviewed a year ago

Minha experiência com ele foi muito boa, pois atingi meus objetivos durante o uso, mas é um excelente aplicativo.

Pros

O processo de uso é bem prático, sua implantação é bem fácil também. Oferece segurança ao usuário e nos permite um controle de acesso com mais qualidade na prestação de serviços. É um software que recomendo

Cons

nada a declarar, pois o software atende a demanda

Showing original review in Portuguese. See translation

OH
AvatarImg

Omar H.

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Instaba connectivity VCN

Reviewed 3 years ago

I was glad with it , friendly Interface great to administration of points of sales and servers .

Pros

The remote control of Servers , connections with Databases . Very friendly environment.

Cons

The viewer interface is a aware of the remote control while is on .

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Small but functional VNC tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

Easy to use solution, no worries regarding licensing or user session management, easy to install.

Pros

For someone that uses remote servers for their work having trustworthy vnc connection is crucial. I used Ultra VNC for half year and I can say that this is great solution if you want simplicity. It’s open source, works even when connection is slow, very easy to navigate, you need only server name and password to connect.

Cons

I’d prefer to have some optimizations for really slow networks for example do not refreshing the screen or refreshing partially.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Ultravnc

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

rapidité d'installation de gerer la gestion du bureau distant en reseau local

Cons

la gestion du bureau distant se limite au reseau local , pour le reseau distant il faudra un VPn ou Adresse Ip Fixe.

Showing original review in French. See translation

RR
AvatarImg

Regina R.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A Good VNC Solution

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It works fine on Windows, easy to install and use (even for those with no VNC experience). On VDI, it works just fine too.

Cons

I had no problems with the program, I recommend it.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Automotive, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

UltraVNC is one of the best remote tool for internal use.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I like custom key send option and can insert administrator credential trough the ultravnc.

Cons

Sometime it's services stuck and unable to establish connection.

TP
AvatarImg

Tonino P.

Computer Networking, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Esordio della remotizzazione desktop

Reviewed 9 months ago

importante esperienza uno dei primi programmi per i collegamenti da remoto, con tutte le funzioni per ftp e desktop remoto

Pros

semplicità nell'uso e nella flessibilità dei collegamenti tra pc

Cons

un po macchinoso nello start del collegamento

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

AP
AvatarImg

Ashlee P.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Simple and Effective

Reviewed 4 years ago

We love that its simple to implement and use with our existing system

Pros

After everything is configured Ultra VNC is a breeze to use, all we need is the PC name and password.

Cons

I with Ultra VNC had a function to black out the users screen. We find that they often don't understand that we need them to stop what they're doing in order for us to help so a fight over the curser ensues. For the same reason a chat feature would be nice.

BB
AvatarImg

Ben B.

Telecommunications, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Over complicated

Reviewed 3 years ago

As an ad-hoc user and the test equipment I hire comes with this pre-installed.. Both times I have wasted hours of valuable time setting up - Previously used RealVNC with no problems.

Pros

None, easier and simpler solutions available

Cons

Complete load of c***, and time wasting to set up for such a simple application. Back to basics please!