This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Claris FileMaker Reviews - Page 4

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


173 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Workplace Solutions for Any Business

Reviewed 2 years ago

Solving business data issues without huge implementations and long running projects.

Pros

Easy to prototype and visualise the solution. Easy integrations to most APIs. Restful API build in, just needs customisation. Works across multiple platforms and on the web.

Cons

The licensing models can take some time to understand, especially if you have a legacy licensing model. No native Android support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Makes the development rapid

Reviewed 4 years ago

We use the dashboard screen of Filemaker for tracking of projects, orders and management of inventory. Filemaker combines our cloud services into one unit. It helps us analsying the project needs through scientific data. It has enhanced visions for our techniques.

Pros

It has a complex structure which makes it robust yet it is very easy to use and learn. It makes the planning very easy for our projects. Commands and scripts can be easily combined. It has many custom solutions for different needs and you can get it working in no time. It is very flexible and customisable.

Cons

It lacks some of the visualisation techniques for the representation just same as excel sheets. It should also have more licensing options for the small scale to medium scale companies.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

It is so flexible and easy to customise.

Reviewed 4 years ago

We use it to track over 10,000 clients. We have previously tried customised software but this has been the most reliable.

Pros

It is so easy to add new fields and reports. It's reliable, fast to load and works on both PC and Mac.

Cons

As with all software these days, it's hard to get a direct answer from customer support. New versions don't support all the features we are using. New versions don't support our current setup.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Developer using FM for the past 2 years. Started from no knowledge to building entire ERP systems.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Development process from inception to implementation is quick Straight forward interface building Simple user management Performance is great Yearly updates are always something to look forward to

Cons

Cost is a bit much now with version 17 changes to licensing costs. However the software does a really great job and does what it was designed to do perfectly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Reliable database software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Worked in a place on all the business information has been stored using file maker. That was the main business information system. It was about 8 years actively using FileMaker (from the developer perspective and user perspective) and I can say: it is a reliable software. With thousands of concurrent users working on it, the performance is fenomenal. File make also provides an out of the box database graph, which is used in fact to develop the database.

Pros

File maker is a different database solution. You can make structural changes on the database with zero downtime in production. It is incredible fast, even with a heavy load. It also allows to create user interfaces on the fly, which results in a full end-to-end information software.

Cons

The learning curve can be tough, specially for the mindset of the database construction.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Wonderful experience in a data integration project

Reviewed 5 years ago

Quick results

Pros

Flexibility and speed to produce a desired change are the main benefits of FileMaker. It's easy to accomplish what you need, with simple scripting guidelines.

Cons

It's easy to fall in to less than ideal database design. You have to be careful about structuring tables and relationships, or inefficient calls will create huge slowdowns in a multi-user system.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Product - our customization was no longer supported well by customer service causing us to drop it

Reviewed 4 years ago

overall good product for mid - to small size companies customization support was inconsistent

Pros

integration with email is a nice feature to manage both sales and crm good options to customize Good overall CRM

Cons

had server issues had customization work for years until we outgrew their servers and their apparent desire to continue working with us we may have simply outgrown them

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent multiplatform to manage your databases for your application.

Reviewed 4 years ago

It offers great performance for the management and creation of simple elements that need to be tested with a database.

Pros

A truly complete multi-platform, easy to use and quick to adapt at any time, providing a very good management of data and contacts for clients.

Cons

It is somewhat expensive, it is complicated when migrating a database but it is something that has a solution.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Relational DB On Another Level

Reviewed 3 years ago

Started from zero knowledge to having built an entire ERP system for the business. Loving the FileMaker platform.

Pros

Easy to learn and program Easy to implement into an existing organization Tons of information out there in regards to tips and tricks!

Cons

Currently the 17.0.2 release under Mojave has some issues that aren't set to be resolved until mid December 2018.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

FileMaker Pro is a very powerful database. Fairly easy to use for simple databases.

Reviewed 5 years ago

FileMaker Pro helps me manage multiple databases for a business. The databases are pretty basic, and not complex.

Pros

Very powerful and versatile. Will do anything you program it to do. It's fairly easy to use, especially with simpler, flat file databases. If you need more complex or relational databases, it can handle those too with some learning of the application. FileMaker Pro can easily import and export data in various formats.

Cons

The application can be difficult to learn how to create relational databases. It takes some time playing around and experimenting with the various, provided database templates. Over the years, FileMaker Pro has changed the user interface, and IMHO, sometimes not for the better.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

FileMaker is a Great, Flexible Tool

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, me and my colleagues are happy with what Filemaker has provided us; a useful tool that we can low-code into whatever we need.

Pros

FileMaker is full of impactful features, including the ability to low code just about anything you need for your business. Integration into the current business process was as seamless as could be.

Cons

Honestly, there are very few cons with FileMaker. The interface is easy to navigate, it was easy to integrate, and it has a quick learning curve.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

As good as you want to make it

Reviewed 6 months ago

Good, just know it is only and good as how much time you can dedicate to making it.

Pros

The software if fully customizable and it truly as good as you want to make it.

Cons

For someone that doesn’t work in the development on a regular basis, I found myself having to relearn everything anytime I wanted to make a change.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to learn and use

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It was so easy to learn and get started with Filemaker. I had never written any type of script before and was so proud of being able to create a useful app that people in my organization could use. It was so nice to hear that I had made someone's day/job easier.

Cons

There are so many different ways to do something that it is sometimes confusing to figure out the best way to handle a situation with an eye to how it may behave in the future in the event that requirements change.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to get started and develop.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Very affordable. If you have the time and some programming skills and the time, you can build your own solutions or if you have the money, you can get a custom made solution. Maybe most important, your uses will love it.

Pros

Can do just about anything you want. Great online community and support. Good security and server encrypted. Love the iOS native application and your users will too.

Cons

Needs a company sponsored tutorial on advanced scripting. The knowledge base is out there but needs to be brought under the FileMaker roof.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Making It Easier to Manage My Data!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to create databases with detailed tutorials for each function. It has made managing all of my paperwork a lot easier and it is simple to share files with coworkers.

Cons

Calculations were difficult for me to figure out at first but after some trial-and-error, I was able to get it just how I wanted it to be.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great software and platform

Reviewed a year ago

we use filemaker/claris for more than 8 years and is really useful

Pros

this Data base manager is OK for MAC users . simple too use and with great migration to/ from Access

Cons

the mobile app is not included you may pay more for this app. Other software use to include it and is OK for company uses

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Development of mobile applications, desktop and web easily and with excellent learning curve.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I used FileMake for its ease to create applications with charts that can be displayed on different devices. Also for the simplicity to make your application can be scalable. I started using FileMaker without any knowledge of the platform and in a short time I had a first version of a CRM that was used by 100 users, from different devices and with integration with other web applications.

Cons

If you often use object-oriented languages, finding a way to organize, encapsulate and reuse the source code can be a challenge. Another aspect that I think could be improved is the autocompletion in the script editor

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I love developing in FileMaker

Reviewed 5 years ago

FileMaker runs every aspect of our company.

Pros

It's really easy to build fully functional tools in a really short amount of time. The WYSIWYG style of building UI is awesome!

Cons

Import records could be faster and more robust. I'd like more developer focused stuff like how big is each table ( in megabytes), and better server analytics.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

More Functionality = Greater Complexity

Reviewed 2 years ago

I’ve used it for 30 years to keep track of guest lists, auction items, etc and it has never let me down

Pros

1. Easily customizable 2. Keeps data in very manageable format 3. Quickly move from FM to excel

Cons

As the product has evolved and added layers of functionality, it’s sometimes hard to find the tools to modify the data

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Functional and stable tool to use

Reviewed 4 years ago

Was able to make a custom built inventory management tool.

Pros

Solid program, and it does what you need it to do. Can do a lot of custom work with it, and very quick to implement.

Cons

Not a lot of cons, can be slow at times, but otherwise it works. Would suggest keeping changes to a minimum, once it works, don't mess with it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This product is revolutionizing the way I operate my day to day business.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I honestly have only scratched the surface of what FileMaker is capable of doing. As I go further down the rabbit hole, I am finding that there are so many tools to aid in my ability to create unique business solutions.

Cons

While FileMaker has what seems to be an endless amount of possibilities, it can make it difficult to feel like you know what you are doing. I would recommend getting some initial training or watching tutorial videos.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Upload a large amount of files for your hosting.

Reviewed 4 years ago

It makes it much easier for me to upload files and images in order to use it on my website, database or apps.

Pros

Very useful system with communication to the database to use the files that you enter from filemaker and management of contacts with the clients available for your projects, ideal to make a trade development.

Cons

It becomes somewhat slow in terms of the response that appears in the emails, sometimes requests checks for the communication of files.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Used FileMaker for over 6 years at my old agency. Fantastic system

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It was easy to use. Creating jobs based off your client data base and being able to keep track of each round of creative changes was simple.

Cons

Keeping track of hours for the team was nearly impossible. As an account person, I need access to hours per project for budgeting purposes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

FileMaker work for you

Reviewed 5 years ago

It's easier to learn / use / design than SQL.

Pros

FileMaker is a very versatile database application. Scripts are written in English and anyone can write them after some practice. Now you can even use JASON and Tableau APIs. You can easily set up a FileMaker server in AWS Most of the built in themes look good and professional; so even if you aren't a graphic designer your layouts can look good.

Cons

It does take a little time to get up and running. Having someone on staff who knows a thing or two (even the basics) about FileMaker will help. Once you grasp the concepts, though, there's almost no limit to what you can do.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Top Notch DB Management Software

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Flexible, the users love the experience and as an admin it is easy to create new solutions. In less than 1 year of using, we've saved thousands in old manual processes, now that we have moved them into FileMaker!!!

Cons

When it comes to notifications, the FileMaker folks have a ways to go, there are nice workarounds to accomplish notifications but it's not a clean interface for doing mass notifications to end-users.