This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Claris FileMaker Reviews - Page 5

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


173 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I have been using this everyday since I started 2 years ago.

Reviewed 5 years ago

I benefit by having all of our products history and sales organized in our database.

Pros

I enjoy all of the options and how much you can customize it to your needs. Me and my team have built a system to control and input all of our work and it helps us track the the history of our products.

Cons

I experience some bugs here and there but nothing specific enough to call out. Small things such as the window changing sizes after macros are done.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

is great product

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

is quickly to develop, and you can use in windows and mac systems also in web direct is great to have, FileMaker is very versatile

Cons

Filemaker doesn't have vertical portals those are very important we have many reports and this type of portals are very helpful

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very good

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It's very easy to use. It's very easy to work with layouts and to make changes in Filemaker if needed.

Cons

Occasionally the system will go down and will need to be rebooted, but I think that's something you'll find with other systems also.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great, Easy and Stable, whats not to like ?

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Ease and speed of programming on cross platforms, windows is very well supported, we are just missing Android...

Cons

Maybe we are missing some eyecandy, some new functions for windowing, and perhaps the speed when having many records visible.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Provides a Stable platform for core business functionality

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Powerful scripting options and very configureable. The business finds there is very little down time due to system stability

Cons

Some of the management of the database is unintuitive for users used to using SQL management studio or similar.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Filemaker best Solution for small and medium business

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy to use Instant Features deployment without downtime Available on multi platform Easy to maintain and to share

Cons

Limited communication with other platforms Not suited for Big business Limited reporting capabilities especially Graphics

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent custom app platform

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Ease of use, rapid development tool, and incredible ROI. Also excellent and various integration options.

Cons

Single file containing data, UI and business logic altogether. But the benefits of the overall platform surpass this limitation by far.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good for saving lots of files

Reviewed 3 years ago

It’s easy to use but if something is deleted that it’s gone

Pros

I like how it saves automatically anything you write.

Cons

Rarely, but sometimes glitches and reverts to old files. When doing this it deletes what you were currently working on.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Best for small business database

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Ease of database creation and modification, very flexible with a lot of cross platform support.

Cons

No android or linux application. You trade some processing power for the easier development.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Expensive but worth it

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This review is for a server / client product. Not a SaaS version of FM. I have been supporting FileMaker server / client environment for many years now. While the databases that are hosted in FM are rather simple, I like how FM server handles the load and availability. From the administration stand point, this system is so simple to manage. Build in back up schedules will never leave you with lost data.

Cons

Cost! While it's a very nice and robust database management platform, I do find it very expensive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

What was so elegant got so messy

Reviewed a year ago

We used FileMaker for dozens of business processes over many years. But year by year it got more difficult to keep up with it's upgrades and changes. Finally, we abandoned it for a mix of integrated special-purpose tools that do what we want.

Pros

I used to like FileMaker, it was easy to use but powerful. As it evolved it got complex and confusing. It requires a computer scientist to figure out how to use it now.

Cons

It requires a computer scientist to figure out how to use it now. What was simple and intuitive became complicated and confusing.

Vendor response

Hi Aaron, thank you for your feedback. Our customers are very important to us so we have shared your notes with our product team. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please do not hesitate to reach out to our customer care specialists at customer_support@claris.com.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

NICE PROGRAM

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I LIKE THAT THIS PROGRAM HELPS ACHIEVE OUR IN HOUSE GOALS TO DESIGN SIMPLE YET EFFECTIVE IN HOUSE APPLICATIONS.

Cons

ANNUAL LICENSE OR YOUR DATABASE IS OBSOLETE

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great Pipeline Database

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Clean interface with user capability to extend advanced options. Being able to customize it the way you want is very user friendly.

Cons

This is an expensive product to maintain with ongoing changes needed weekly. If you are looking to utilize the standard build you will be fine but any changes you will need support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

We use it daily!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to manipulate and change our interface as needed.

Cons

The updates can be inconvenient to our formatting. Unexpected changes can occur in our database.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The original low-code dev environment with database and user interface all in one

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It has al of the beauty of an Apple product, rapid application environment, agile, fun. Secure and stable server environment. Web and mobile ready.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Obsolete Database Software - Stay Away!

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

We were sold on how customizable it would be...

Cons

Everything. First, this system is obsolete and no one uses it. Second, it is extremely difficult to make any changes or adjustments to our custom database. It’s not intuitive, it’s not “pretty” and it’s clunky and gives errors often.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Very Flexible Software with a few hiccups

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Has multiple applications for managing large amounts of information such as personnel records, equipment inventory, and form histories. Can be programmed to be useful in a lot of different tasks.

Cons

It can be a bit buggy and bloated, especially as the information load goes up.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Just Awesome!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

My experience in designing relational databases is from MS Access 2003 - before they changed the interface. Filemaker is very reminiscent of that style of simplicity and functionality.

Cons

Honestly, it's hard to complain about FM because it just works. Whereas the question is not, "What do I dislike?" but rather "What do I like least?" I will say that I am left longing for more visually appealing templates and themes. That would be nice.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

It Does the Job, but Not Well

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It works, it does what it's supposed to do.

Cons

It can be difficult to use and the inferace isn't very user friendly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Large amounts of Data Entry in a short amount of time

Reviewed 3 years ago

This software didn't make sense to me at first because I thought it was too simple. But that's exactly what you want with large amounts of data that is filed away. You don't want it to be convoluted. I was able to have the Workstudy students rock out on this and get a huge backlog of data into a usable format in a matter of weeks.

Pros

Once you have your forms set up, it's really easy to get a momentum going.

Cons

There is a learning curve with file creation and customization. Once you get through your first round though. you realize how intuitive it can actually be.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very rewarding

Reviewed 4 years ago

Organization

Pros

Medium easy to use, but with great results, the data base behind it its amazing to access to create your own Exccell customized date based

Cons

its difficult ate the start to set up and fill up to get the best results, but its completely worth it

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Manage your files in a more useful way.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Automates and easily manages your mobile application services, ten a great advantage speed and flexibility in any development.

Cons

You need a server to run your applications, it all depends on the size and complexity of your project.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User friendly

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

One of the best softwares I have used. Intuitive and user friendly.

Cons

Never encountered any problems or issues.

Vendor response

Hi Melissa, thank you for your review. We are happy to hear about your positive experience. Thanks for sharing!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good Base Software

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We still use FileMaker, though we have moved on to use other softwares in addition to it. It is good for organization and access to files all in one palce.

Cons

There are many times that it glitches and/or will not load.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Splendid data base software for doing a lot of work.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

FileMaker Platform software is widely used for designing data base production and fast grade applications rapidly. One can create IT assets database with the help of this software. This software saves time and money. Fantastic software for small and medium sized businesses. One can easily gather data base with the help of this software. One can immediately design sophisticated custom application by using this software.

Cons

When I write about cons, I would say this software seems to be little bit difficult for the new beginners because of its unique layout. For unlocked items, it is easy to override data but in case of locked data, they are unable to function in scripts. Another con is that it lacks a few of word processing capabilities.