This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories

Learn why GetApp is free

Claris FileMaker Reviews

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


158 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great for a large organization.

Reviewed 2 years ago

I found it easy to use and catch on to. Anytime there was a problem, IT was able to contact and resolve it with customer support within an hour or less.

Pros

Once you were properly trained, the basic file maker go was easy to use. The background of it was extensive and allowed for a smooth operation.

Cons

I was told it was easy to mess up everything if I clicked on the wrong thing, so I was constantly worried I would ruin something. But I don't know if that's actually true.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Product for Departmental Use

Reviewed 4 years ago

Solve problems that would be very difficult to do otherwise. Makes me look good to users

Pros

Flexibility and speed of development, Able to easily customize reports and move database access to Web and iPad

Cons

No replication, so access from remote sites can be slower. This can be overcome by adding the Webdirect component to the system

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Poor functionality, and support

Reviewed 4 years ago

We were able to keep everything in houser

Pros

Ease of deployment, lots of documentation on the web. The web interface was intuitive and found it easy to use

Cons

Price and support, They want to charge you just to answer the phone. When there was an issue getting support was rather difficult.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I've used FileMaker for almost ten years. It's reliable, easy to use, and efficient.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like that each new version offers more options which suit my needs. I also like that I've never had any technical issues.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Why we replaced FileMaker with Big Biller software

Reviewed 6 months ago

It was fine in the 80's but as the world went online and databases required more functionality specifically for the search industry, we simply outgrew this softward.

Pros

It was fairly straightforward for what it's functionality generated.

Cons

It was a flat database program NOT designed for search firm use. No outbound marketing capabilities, limited searchability. Totally unsuited for the work we do.

Vendor response

Hello Gary. Thank you for your thoughtful review. We're sorry you didn't find value in the solution. However, it sounds like you were on an older version of FileMaker. We are happy to chat to get to the bottom of it. If you're open to discussing further, please reach out to our customer success team at customer_support@claris.com.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Hard to upgrade

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Allowed us to create a very sophisticated database that could track donors and all direct mail responses

Cons

Every time filemaker upgraded to a new version we couldn't count on functionality continuing so we would have to rebuild

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Has AMAZING capabilities

Reviewed 2 years ago

Unlike most software solutions where you have to compromise certain things, because you can build it from the ground up you do not have to make sacrifices.

Pros

Truly a completely customization database design software.

Cons

The learning curve is VERY steep, BUT it is so powerful it is worth it. Be prepared to invest time into training and learning.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Useful Application

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Filemaker has been a great program to use and I've used it for a long time. I've loved keeping all my business things organized and neat. Easy to use and set up.

Cons

No cons that I can clearly see. If you need help, the company has great tutorials and help.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great for small business and DIYers

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The software is extremely easy to use with its drag and drop interface and design functionality. Its good for small inventory management or contact management. The software is fast and self container, its hard to mess up.

Cons

It does not scale as well as other database services. If you are using it with more than 100 users or more than 100k records of data, you're not going to get the same performance you expect. For small uses, its perfect though.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Very good!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Powerful software when you know how to use it properly.

Cons

The database we made with this software has some glitches that we can’t seem to resolve. Wish it was a bit more user friendly.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good and Bad

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I like that everything related to a request is in one spot and it had all the fields I needed for requests.

Cons

Clients didn't have access to the program.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

FileMaker - The Best Database Program Out There?

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

FileMaker, once set up, is quite reliable. It runs on our server with no issue for months and months at a time without a crash or issue. It also has some neat features if you can get them to work.

Cons

The setup process for FileMaker can be much more complicated and confusing (not very straightforward), unlike other database solutions. You can definitely tell that it is developed by Apple and not intended for use on Windows Servers/workstations.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Filemaker Pro Purchasing Dept

Reviewed 2 years ago

Please read "Cons" section above.

Pros

Nothing, absolutely nothing. Good for Accounting.

Cons

System crashes, information is not transferable within application. We've used cloud-based, switched to server based. One Technician in the area to service - no one else can help. Not worth the money or effort of trying to keep in running.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A Little Frustrating but Effective

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, I would recommend this, as it creates a sleek file database.

Pros

I liked the ability to draw client data from the database into group sessions. It was fairly easy to add clients.

Cons

Occasionally, there were glitches in which the entire software would crash and I would lose all my data.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good for some projects

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It makes it very simple to have some sort of database software up and running

Cons

It's very easy to make a mess. If you're not familiar with database structure you may see yourself in a very complicated environment really soon

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

FileMaker for NonProfit DataBase

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Customizable. We know we aren't using it up to its full capabilities but have not been thrilled by what we are using so haven't invested time/money.

Cons

Look and Feel are unfriendly for non-tech users and reporting. We have been unable to easily design and pull queries on our own.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy way to integrate software

Reviewed a year ago

We are using to learn how to integrate software for business needs.

Pros

User friendly and easy drag and drop functionality. Great way to integrate software and have them speak to one another, such as linking different platforms to create marketing campaigns, event planning.

Cons

Still in trial version and have not seen anything that needs improvement yet. Customer service is great and helpful for troubleshooting.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

FileMaker Pro Makes Data Entry Easy

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I really like the UI that enables me to easily create and change data.

Cons

Like most software getting to know how to use it can be daunting when you are faced with a large page of many many fields, but once you get the hand of it you are good to go.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for Collections

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This is a great platform for tracking museum collections and graphics.

Cons

You create your own layouts, so sometimes editing can be a pain.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Not at all a good fit for me. Difficult to use and learn.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

There are pleasant people on forums that will help you, but it feels like such a disservice to have to use people outside of their customer service just to figure out bugs. If the database is already built by someone else well, it's easy to use, but building them is really tough.

Cons

Filemaker is a clunky, difficult to use, out of date database system. It's tough to get any real help outside of finding super nice people on forums.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

The Pit of Despair

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I guess it's a nice touch that it works on both Mac's and PCs.

Cons

The COST is absolutely absurd for a product with so many flaws!

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features

Share this review:

I use this to create and store multiple similar files.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This software is great for creating lots of files that are similar. You can easily duplicate and then edit the portions that need to be unique.

Cons

Occasionally the system crashes and for some reason files can be lost. If you Back-up you should be fine.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features

Share this review:

good experience

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to create solutions, easy to create objects needed and intuitive for most of the settings.it is suited for small business.

Cons

I wish it has the capability of exporting to other bi tools for transformation and data analysis easily.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great useful product!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Super flexible, lightweight product. Great interface options with a developer learning curve.

Pros

It was very adaptable and flexible with great options for iPad and mobile functionality. Plus it allowed for some cloud functionality hosting.

Cons

Building up the interface and spreadsheet functionality took some time and studying. I ultimately couldn't complete the task on my own. I found a developer to pay.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Mindful but Gutless

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It meets a very certain criteria that I need for my job.

Cons

The ui/ux experience is dated, with some easy fixes it could really shine.

page 6 of 7

Select your country

10+ YEARS RECOMMENDING SOFTWARE

© 2010-2021 GetApp. All Rights Reserved.
GetApp® is a registered trademark of Nubera eBusiness S.L. Nubera eBusiness uses its own and third-party cookies. By using the website you are accepting the use of these cookies. To get more information about our cookies click here.