App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GameSalad Pro Logo

GameSalad Pro

Game development software for developers

see alternatives

(2)

GameSalad Pro Reviews

Overall rating

4.1

/5

23

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.42/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

Pros and cons

I'm very grateful for the software's low cost, ease of use, and helpful and friendly custom,er support. Thank you so very much Team Gamesalad.
Also the community to share images and different templates is great, it is easy to export or import any project.
Gamesalad has its strengths in the ease of use in developing applications and games without code, and allows you to preview the application before publishing.
The lack of updates and attention is worrying, and I've encountered many bugs and glitches that are extremely frustrating.
GameSalad is missing some very basic features, that have been requested many times on the forums.
Is some kind of limited the features you can configure in characters, regardless of if it an enemy or you main character.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


23 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alan H.

Animation, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Gamesalad gets the job done

Reviewed 3 years ago

Gamesalad's ease of use of developing apps and preview functions has allowed me to make many applications throughout the years, and I have published my first Android App "Pixels Of Position" through the software in February. I'm very grateful for the software's low cost, ease of use, and helpful and friendly custom,er support. Thank you so very much Team Gamesalad.

Pros

Gamesalad has its strengths in the ease of use in developing applications and games without code, and allows you to preview the application before publishing.

Cons

The software occasionally crashes on larger projects, and I have had some of my projects become corrupted if the computer goes into sleep mode while saving, mainly my fault for putting the computer to sleep.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Connor P.

Design, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Frustrating

Reviewed 3 years ago

I've used GameSalad for years, and I just wish that there were more updates and basic features that have been requested numerous times...

Pros

GameSalad is a code-less platform that can be challenging at times but is capable of developing many styles of games.

Cons

GameSalad is missing some very basic features, that have been requested many times on the forums. The lack of updates and attention is worrying, and I've encountered many bugs and glitches that are extremely frustrating.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Create games have never been so easy

Reviewed 3 years ago

It is a great tool for beginners and persons with now experience in programming. It is fun and easy.

Pros

It is a very easy software to install, even being a software that create code behind you are developing. I have used it in MAC and you do not require help or any technical experience. The way to create games or videos is very intuitive and easy with the drag and drop method, also before the drag and drop you require to configure the characters and think as a programmer but without coding. Also the community to share images and different templates is great, it is easy to export or import any project.

Cons

Is some kind of limited the features you can configure in characters, regardless of if it an enemy or you main character. Also background focus in your main character, but It was not easy to me find how enemies should focus with the background and not with the main character or heroes, because when the heroes is moving, all other objects move left or right depending on it.

AB
AvatarImg

Ankit B.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

One of the best learning app

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

They have made it very intuitive. Kids can spend hours learning computer science without getting bored. A lot of options to go through and different ways to understand the concept. Teachers are mostly available for any query of kids. My kid enjoy learning from gamesalad to the fullest. He loves spending time with it.

Cons

You may find some features hard to understand. Teacher sometime takes time to respond to online queries. Overall its a nice package to let your kid engage into some learning activity.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Nabeel M.

Higher Education, 1-10 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Game Salad

Reviewed 4 years ago

I was trying to built a game like flappy bird and did it quite easily on Game Salad. It a great choice for beginners or non-programmers to develop their apps

Pros

As far as I know Game Salad was first of its kind to bring drag and drop type game development. It was a really cool feature when i started using it.

Cons

I wish there had been more tutorials online. However , I used it 2-3 years ago for a hobby project so things may have changed a lot by now.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Publishing, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy To Learn On

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This engine can make learning how to program games professionally a little bit easier.

Cons

The engine has limited functionality if you plan on creating anything complex.

CT
AvatarImg

Caleb T.

Wireless, 1,001-5,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

I dabbled with Gamesalad after I decided I wanted to get into game development.

Reviewed 5 years ago

As stated in my review, I played around with it awhile, but decided on using other software. However, if you have a decent graphic designer or are good at graphic design yourself, this may be for you.

Pros

One thing is that it is mainly a drag and drop interface. You have the ability to create levels by simply putting the "stage" into your order, much like Mario Level Creator for the Nintendo game systems.

Cons

For one, unless you want to release a game that looks identical to thousands of others, you must create your own assets. Secondly, as other developers have noted, a lot of features that are must have to create a successful game are just plain out missing. Also a big learning curve, so tough for the amateur, although drag and drop interface.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Arts and Crafts, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Fun but not real easy

Reviewed 3 years ago

This was a bit more complicated than what I am looking for. But I am sure it is perfect for kids now days

Pros

It has tutorials that are pretty informative and a lot of options of things to do

Cons

This software is just a little harder to use than some.

UJ
AvatarImg

Ulan J.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

a Easy to use game-designing program designed for beginner to expert coder

Reviewed 4 years ago

As a beginner game designer, coming from an Application design background in Java, this was easy and fun to use and learn. It is for a more beginner game designer but still very easy to start with basic designs. Great for learning and training on Game designing basics.

Pros

It is so Easy to drag and drop objects and then assign behaviours to those objects and customize it with textures. It is very easy to do level design or add levels or as they call it "Scenes" and one of my favourite features is the easy way to test the above in their in-game tool. But the best of all it is a codeless designing tool, you do not need any coding background to use this program.

Cons

You can only publish a project directly to the android platform if you have an active pro version but you can to IOS and web.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Santhosh R.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Design a game the way you like it.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

An easy way to create own game that you like it, for new gaming developers GameSalad is a good learner.

Cons

There is a lot of time taking process for publishing Project

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Shota H.

Computer Games, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

プログラミングの楽しさを簡単に教えてくれたソフトウェアです。

Reviewed 7 months ago

私をゲームアプリ業界を紹介してくれた素晴らしいソフトウェアです。今まで挫折しないで楽しくゲームを作れているのもGamesalad proのおかげだと思っています。まさに楽しみながら、ゲームアプリを作りたいと思っている人にはおすすめのソフトです。iOSやAndroid両方に簡単にリリースできる仕様になっている点も魅力の一つだと感じました。

Pros

全くプログラミングの知識がないときに、このソフトはどのようにプログラムが動くのか、プログラムをどのように書くのかなど、プログラムの楽しさを教えてくれる点が最も良い点です。私がゲームアプリを作りたいと思いリサーチしていた中で、このソフトウェアが群を抜いて簡単に、楽しくゲームアプリの作り方を教えてくれました。本物のコーディングで使う文でなく、簡単でより口語に近い文章で、簡単にイメージしながらコードをドラッグ&ドロップして作る点が私にとってとても画期的でした。年齢に関係なくそのおかげで、コーディング駆け出しの私でも5つのゲームアプリを作ることができました。しかも楽しみながらできたので、挫折なく進めることができました。

Cons

ゲーム開発を行う上で、グラフィックやサウンドエフェクトなどが必ず必要にあります。その際に、このソフトウェアが合わせてこれらのアセットを沢山提供してくれたらより簡単に、そして幅広くゲームアプリが作れると思いました。ゲーム作りの楽しさを教えてくるので、さらに向上心のある開発者は多くいると思います。そのため、アセットをより簡単に使用できる環境を作ってくれたら良いと思いました。

Showing original review in Japanese. See translation

SP
AvatarImg

Steven P.

Financial Services, 10,001+ employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A good choice for both beginners and advanced developers

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The UI is well developed and easy to navigate . You can do everything yourself or use the predetermined structure GameSalad provides .The color-scheme is extremely advanced.

Cons

Importing sound effects was very buggy for me and I had a hard time implementing them the way I wanted .

JM
AvatarImg

Jairo M.

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best to start Developing Games (For non developers)

Reviewed 4 years ago

It was my first approach many years ago, i still love it.

Pros

So far its the easiest Software to start developing games, very self explanatory and many tutorials online. its a great way to start seeing the tip of the iceberg, the features are as easy as a few clicks, for gravity changes or any other key roll of your game.

Cons

The over all interaction to insert in the Store is a bit more tricky, but worth it.

MG
AvatarImg

Monica G.

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy introduction to simple design

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Quite simple to get a game started and developed the way you'd like using the drag and drop function.

Cons

I found that I was really searching for more customization, and there was not a lot of support between older Mac devices

ER
AvatarImg

Eve R.

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great for Beginning game design

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Nice interface HD quality. EASY with drag and drop capabilities. Working in education, makes it an easy teaching and learning program for starters.

Cons

Doesn't seem for the adult educational group....but ok for the younger grades. Would be nice to have a Free version.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Beginner Software

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

GameSalad is a great beginner application to help you create your game and teach you the basics. It's very easy to use too!

Cons

The biggest con might not be that much of a con for everyone, mainly if you're looking for more freedom in what you build then you might be better off with the bigger ones, but for what it is, it works as intended.

ZP
AvatarImg

Zalbert P.

Graphic Design, self-employed

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Slightly confusing, but was easy to figure after a few tutorials.

Reviewed 5 years ago

I was able to create a short game with it. I had fun developing it and having my friends play/demo it.

Pros

First off, its free to use and download. It uses a simple drag-and-drop interface, making it more open to the public.

Cons

It could more powerful. They could provide more tutorial or a "first run" guide to familiarize newcomers faster.

RW
AvatarImg

Richard W.

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

An easy introduction to simple design

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Very easy to get a game started and developed the way you'd like using the drag and drop interface, also available on OSX and Windows.

Cons

Needs more customization. Not a lot of support between older Mac devices and new devices with differentiating version numbers.

SO
AvatarImg

Sean O.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Not great can do some things but can be overly complicated and not offer enough good features also

Reviewed 6 years ago

None really was nice to look at but not many benefits at all find it lacking in a lot of departments.

Pros

I guess the ui was ok and made it nice to look at and simple in that case but that is all I can say about it really

Cons

Not enough features, so many more applications offer better features e.g. shaders simple coding level design this has none of that and it is a problem.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Samuel Antonio F.

1,001-5,000 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Adequate for game developers with programming experience

Reviewed 5 years ago

A clear idea of how game development works as well as game mechanics.

Pros

Dragg and drop interface, an excellent tool for non-programmers. Allows you to export your game to a variety of platforms such as iPhone, Android, Kindle, and HTML5. Counts with a big community of users willing to assist you on forums.

Cons

Since you don't really code and instead you rely on its drag and drop system, you don't get to see the code itself, which is problematic since your understanding of your own game would never be as much if you coded it.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ashia A.

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

It was O.k. for a first timer.

Reviewed 5 years ago

It was O.K for someone wanting to understand how a game is made.

Pros

I love the Drag and Drop features (because I cannot code), I love the assets you can add to it, and to be honest, adding your own assets to a project is always a good thing. Small Download, doesn't waste a bunch of Hardware space.

Cons

Not pleased with the UI. They really need to update the tutorial videos and walkthrough on exactly how to create a UI and have it functional all throughout your project.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, self-employed

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

GameSalad: create your own game without being a programmer

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The most interesting thing that GameSalad offers is the possibility of developing a videogame without the need to be an expert in programming. The drag-and-drop system allows you to create characters and / or levels quickly and intuitively.

Cons

What I liked least about GameSalad was the internet site that offers to upload the games online. It presents many delays when it comes to upload your game.

MC
AvatarImg

Marisa C.

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Creating own game without coding

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It is good to create a game on your phone and easily use it after. Pretty much creating the game of your dreams.

Cons

It does not have the best development tools. It is not as easy to use and you can get stuck on certain parts of it.