This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

IntelliJ IDEA

Integrated development environment for Java developers

see alternatives

IntelliJ IDEA Reviews - Page 31

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


880 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent IDE

Reviewed 4 years ago

represents a different alternative for programming in java

Pros

very easy to use, ideal for programming in java and makes the corrections of the code optimally, it is easy to use.

Cons

It is usually a bit complicated in many cases when the application is installed, it requires a high resources in hardware

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Incredible IDE

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Like every JetBrain product open Source projet get a free licences! Code coverage builtin the tool. Flexible support for Java and Groovy. Testing code has never been easier

Cons

The price for a paying licence is way too much. It is pretty much the cons associated to this software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Cool design. does more than what it looks!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Can program many different type of language without installing anything. There's some functions that are already built in that are required to download if you are using other code editor

Cons

cluttered. there's many buttons everywhere but easily understandble. software slightly slow and consume quite an amount of cpu

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I love IntelliJ IDEA!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I love the syntax highlighting and the refactoring options. Their linter is also very hard to beat for writing Java.

Cons

Sometimes the program can be a little laggy. This can be expected on a computer that is really old, but my computer is very fast and it can take up a lot of processing power.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The Best Android IDE Available

Reviewed 2 years ago

It makes Android development significantly easier over the competing IDEs.

Pros

It integrates perfectly with Android and supports Kotlin out of the box. But of course it does. This is JetBrains.

Cons

The UI somehow felt heavy. Slightly cluttered might be a better description. And it felt slow in comparison to other IDEs I have used.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It has Very good interface and many plugins are available to support different features. Free community version is also available.

Cons

Loading time is very high due to heavy software. Also memory requirements is very much for low ram systems to lag and t affects the performance.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Intellij sets the standard for fully featured IDEs

Reviewed 5 years ago

I've been using Intellij for years. I admit I started out skeptical that I'd want to purchase a product like Intellij when I can get something that I thought was similar for free. One persistent developer that was passionate about Intellij convinced me to try it. If you're a software professional you owe it to yourself to give it a try! I can talk about many great features but instead, I will tell you that what Intellij IDEA will do is make you more productive. If you work for yourself or by the hour it will pay for itself in a week. If you work for someone else it will make you better than those around you.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

If you're familiar with other JetBrains products, this is go-to Java IDE.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Used it for Android app development before the Android Studio was introduced.

Pros

Since I'm familiar with PhpStorm, it took no time to know how to use the IDE properly. It's basically the same, only for Java.

Cons

Nothing. It works really well, has many tools built in, like Maven package manager, debugging, and so on.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Really useful

Reviewed 3 years ago

Its really good for HUGE code bases with its immense search and navigating capabilities.

Pros

Its vast amount of plug ins and simple shortcuts to get around huge file bases.

Cons

Not being able to have two projects open in the same window. Its loading time is a little long.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Powerful tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

it's a great tool to have all your code together. It's meant to be for Java Developers, however anybody can actually use it. Being a Front End Developer, I just stick to the html, css and js files and it works fine.

Pros

It is a very bulky and robust product, it can do many things at once. There are a bunch of extensions that can be added for free to facilitate the interaction and productivity.

Cons

At the same time, since it's such a big software, it can be tricky to understand it at first, I could be more user friendly or help with tutorials when you first lunch. Also the live preview and Update Resources through Tomcat doesn't really work very well on my machine.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

IntelliJ Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

IntelliJ is overall, a great platform when working with large codebases, otherwise, it would be overkill for small scale projects when working solo on a small project.

Pros

- Suggestive code correction is great - File navigation is seamless - Classes, Functions referencing, navigation is convenient - Git integration

Cons

- Memory and processing intensive - Can be difficult to get a hang of the interface given its rich feature set

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Best Java IDE Ever!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love how many plugins there are and how much this IDE can do. I use it every day and enjoy starting it up every day.

Cons

I dislike how sometimes it can be a bit slow. Both starting up and also while running some external plugins.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The best IDE

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This has been the best code editor that I have used, it is very easy to use and configure, it also offers many features that help the user to be faster.

Cons

I have not had any problems using this editor, I liked everything

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Ide

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I really love ides from IntelliJ Idea. They know how to help developers providing the best tools.

Cons

I can say the price, but generally they offer good discounts to students or open source project, so this is great also

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Write Java code

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Many useful features exist such as the auto-fill, moreover debugging is very convenient, IMHO best option around.

Cons

There are barely disadvantages, however, there are many configurations options during the installation process.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

IntelliJ IDEA

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

One of the best IDE's when beginning to learn languages like Kotlin. Lot of developer tools inside the program and offers deep insight into code as well.

Cons

Quite bulky for an IDE with feature selection as minimum

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good and nice IDE for Java developers

Reviewed 2 years ago

I use this IDE to develop applications using java frame works

Pros

Provide file structure for java applications when we create a new project. Flexible for spring framework as well.

Cons

This software take some time to launch and open.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Amazing IDE for web and mobile development

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This is a very complete, efficient and feature-rich IDE. It’s aimed at experienced developers who really want to be productive and need to work on large codebases. I especially love the set of tools it provides to refactor code and to be helpful to developers without getting in their way.

Cons

I’m not a fan of its UI, sometimes it feels too bloated and not well integrated with the OS look and feel.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The software enables better functionality

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The software has a very good user interface for compiling and run files. Project files are easily accessible.

Cons

The themes of the software aren't that good as to be expected. The software takes more time to boot.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great IDE for Automated tests

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Great value for price. Easy to configure and use for automated tests. Lean learning curve for new users.

Cons

The plugin library does not offer a large amount of tools to integrate with the IDE. No other cons to add.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best JAVA IDE

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Having a lot of feature, and easy to get in

Cons

Sometimes it felt like too big and slow. Even though it had many features, I was feeling to go with more focused products of JetBrains.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Incredible IDE

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This IDE enabled me to very quickly and easily create small Java applications for personal use and development. It has a range of great features which are now standard within similar software such as intellisense which can greatly help increase your efficiency. IntelliJ allows you to create not only simple console applications but also GUI-based applications using a number of different Java frameworks.

Cons

One of the only downsides to this software is that there is not a free version. However there is a trial and student license.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

College work with IntelliJ

Reviewed 3 years ago

I used IntelliJ for a programming class at college. We solved some simple problems, and IntelliJ performed wonderfully.

Pros

I liked how they listed the files on the left hand side of the page. I loved the personalization options as well. My absolute favorite parts are the debugger and the mini terminal at the bottom of the screen. The terminal is very nice because that way you can run it with the command line args right in there without going through a gui for command line args.

Cons

Honestly, I spent five minutes trying to think what I didn't like and I couldn't find anything that was a real issue.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Sleekest out there

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

IntelliJ is really sharp looking, and it's appearance is matched by suave functionality that beats anything else out there.

Cons

At first, there can be some finicky touches to get used to.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

The Defacto IDE for Java

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This is the best IDE for Java development right now. It's full of all the features you could ask for.

Cons

The biggest issue with all the features is that it feels slow and bloated at times. Part of the tradeoff, though.