This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

IntelliJ IDEA

Integrated development environment for Java developers

see alternatives

IntelliJ IDEA Reviews - Page 33

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


880 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Simple and feature packed

Reviewed a year ago

I like the features and available options for customizing your IDE.

Pros

This software takes the complicated configuration out of programming and helps you get to work faster.

Cons

Sometimes is hard to find the setting you are looking for. The help menu could be a little more helpful.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

broadly applicable and easily accessible. Now use instead of eclipse.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

This software has integrated features and very easy to use. Broadly applicable to various software languages.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Review for IntelliJ IDEA

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall i would say it is a good buy and a great tool for coding.

Pros

Being a java developer intelliJ is one of most handy and useful tool for us. Provides good integration with other functionalities like maven, hibernate etc Provides features like debugging , code refractoring . I have actually preferred it over eclipse.

Cons

The User Interface is complicated though. There are lot of features that i actually dont know how to use. Sometimes it gets slower.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very Good Development IDE

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love the interface and the power of IntelliJ.

Cons

It's very heavy and consume lot of resources.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

My favorite IDE

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have tried many IDEs over the years but once I got a license for Jetbrains I fell in love. Feature packed and powerful, I have used a few flavors of their software for different programming languages. There are lots of configuration options and it may take some time to fine tune for your developing needs, but once I got it all working I spend more time using this software than anything else.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

IntelliJ IDEA: awesome tool to Java coding

Reviewed a year ago

A friend of mine used this IDE in a Java project for the university and I reviewed this project using his machine.

Pros

The IDE has the same incredible things that any IntellIJ IDE has: incredible code completion, easy file and project management, beautiful themes and lots of plug-ins and extra features.

Cons

Like almost any IntellIJ IDE, it offers many incredible features, but with heavy performance, which makes it difficult for users without powerful hardware.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very good code editor

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to navigate code base and find files that I am looking for

Cons

Very heavy and lots of plugins make it slow

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Beats using Eclipse by a mile

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It works like other JetBrains products Intuitive and lightweight Helps the user understand but not have to deal with Java platform concepts and mechanics Supports Kotlin like no other

Cons

I wish this were the IDE for Android - it's so much better than AndroidStudio

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

IntelliJ IDEA is one of the best IDE for Java

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

-Its auto-code completion feature is good - I find that it loads quicker that Eclipse - It has other features that makes coding easier and efficient

Cons

- It uses a lot of memory -The paid version is very expensive . However, the Community version is free to use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent IDE for JAVA Development

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I love all jetbrain products and IntelliJ IDEA is one of the best! Excellent software for Java development. Love the auto-complete feature, debugger and ease-of-deployment

Cons

Heavy software and takes times to boot up and index

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good for java programmer

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Its very good in java coding environment also easily compatible with all jdk file and well organize of projects.

Cons

Need some time to handy on it also some time to complex to find what we require on quickly basis.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

A decent development platform

Reviewed 3 years ago

My preferred place to code in Java, although still only mediocre, just the best option available out of a range of bad options

Pros

IDEA is one of the few development platforms that has a proper night mode in the free version of the software, much appreciated

Cons

Has a really difficult time importing Java code from other platforms, almost have to rewrite from scratch to resolve errors

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

With IntelliJ IDEA I am more productive

Reviewed 4 years ago

the design is incredible and has some options that I will only find in it.

Pros

The autocomplete predicts perfectly and makes repetitive tasks are not tedious, it has many debugging tools necessary for a good development.

Cons

the free version does not have as many options as the payment and I think it consumes a lot of resources from my computer, but setting aside that is a great option for the development of JAVA.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Nice IDE but, a bit hard to use

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Good IDE for development with support for other languages not just Java

Cons

I find this a bit hard to use compared to Eclipse, not everything is intuitive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Java IDE for students

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The best thing about this IntelliJ IDE is that Jetbrains give a year long free subscription to students with an edu domain. Also IntelliJ IDEA gives us an excellent experience with relevant suggestions while writing the Java code

Cons

The UI looks to be old and installing external jars consume sometime before we can start using them.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best Compiler

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It is very good compiler Especially if you write codes on Java and very good color choice selected for codes that does not hurt your eyes and prices packages is very good they make lots of discounts for Students and new started Start up Companies.

Cons

I think its little bit complicated to use and does not have lots of features inside of it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Ok IDE with all the tools you need

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

IntelliJ IDEA is yet another IDE that fully does its job: it has all the features you need for developing​ applications and it works reliably.

Cons

I think the pricing is a bit overblown. IntelliJ, like all JetBrains products, doesn't offer a really mindblowing experience​ or stand out in any other way from other IDEs. When first visiting JetBrains' website, I got really excited because of the sleek design, but their applications suffer from a lack thereof. Too bad!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Same as php storm, great

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Similar to php storm, it's one of the best compilers for Java and other languages. I used it for java

Cons

It's very heavy and slow when loading. Same as phpstorm

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

IntelliJ IDEA is the true successor to Eclipse. The best way to do java development

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

JetBrains as a company really strives to make developers lives better. IntelliJ is fast, easy to use, has amazing keyboard shortcuts and refactoring and looks brilliant. An amazing IDE for java developers

Cons

Can be a little confusing as keyboard shortcuts are different to other IDEs. Number of windows/widgets/tabs can get a little overwhelming.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best to manage code in Java

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I had been away for a while from the coding perspective but had to return to automate a few test. It was quite complex coming back but the ease with which Intellij got set-up and the amount of suggestions it offers with the ease of managing makes it stand out.

Cons

Over a period of time the app slows down like any other applications

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

IntelliJ IDE Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

I use IntelliJ for my everyday software development needs and it has been working pretty well. I can install all the plugins I need for my job easily and the setup is very simple. Documentation and customer support is available to guide me through the use of this software.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Amazing Java IDE

Reviewed 5 years ago

I've been using Eclipse to develop my Java applications for as long as I could remember. Although it was a great tool to use, I always found that it was slow and outdated. IntelliJ fixed all of these problems by offering a clean, fast java IDE jam packed with features.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good IDE in the market

Reviewed a year ago

I highly recommend this for the fresher.

Pros

Its one of the best IDE in the market which supports different kind of Programming languages and its very useful with different plugins available.

Cons

With different IDE's coming, Intellij has differentiated its coding platform, Initial it used to be segregated in one place.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Robust IDE

Reviewed 2 years ago

I mostly use another IDE because I don't work in Java very often, but I recognize the power of IntelliJ and if I used Java more consistently I would switch over fully.

Pros

There are a TON of features and functionalities in IntelliJ, which can make the development experience much easier

Cons

You have to know that a functionality exists before you can use it, and getting new features to work can be confusing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Quite useful

Reviewed 8 months ago

It is a quite useful software can be used in different purposes coding.

Pros

It is the best Ide for java. I liked it's intellisense. Apart its compiler is also good. Over all good for java.

Cons

It is resource hungry sometimes and takes too much time to compile. Specially when i was learning servlet.