This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

IntelliJ IDEA

Integrated development environment for Java developers

see alternatives

IntelliJ IDEA Reviews - Page 35

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


872 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

intelligent software

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

As a first time software employee - i found the software quite intelligent. It usually tells me where my code is wrong and points to any issues

Cons

It can be confusing, editing configurations can be difficult for a beginner

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Average

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Great for using as a notebook and to run the code quickly. tremendous number of functionalities and features.

Cons

It doesnt work that great in a laptop that dont have great RAM.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Nice powerful tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I have used Intellij for java development. It has a lot of useful features which makes it easy to concentrate on actual programming

Cons

You have to invest some time in learning it first and how to use it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good tool

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This tool have lots of featuire from jenkins integratio, struts, mvc and you name it intellij have it.

Cons

It is not free and it is very heavy weight software . Old Intells system hangs while working with this IDE.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The best IDE I've used for writing Java Code and it's free

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The interface looks good, and its easy to use and navigate. It compiles quickly, integrates well with git

Cons

It is a bit heavy and takes up a considerable amount of RAM

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Best IDE for JAVA development

Reviewed 7 years ago

No nonsense IDE, fast and with lots of plugins. The best choice for serious development.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great application

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Great application for java development. I started using for my academic projects. Good for development.

Cons

Should be made free for free lance developers. Once more people would try it would be nice to gain market.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

IntelliJ IDEA

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

A robust Integrated Development Environment application, focused on JAVA originally. Free-to-use license.

Cons

Size of installation for upgrades is a little hefty.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Makes coding in Java a breeze!

Reviewed 3 years ago

It's very good, the integrated code completion and version control features make my life easier.

Pros

I'll admit that Java is not my favorite programming language, I find it verbose and clunky to use, but with IntelliJ IDEA, it becomes a lot easier to write code in Java. This is mainly because of its code completion features, which are very good at guessing the rest of your syntax, even after you've only typed in a few characters.

Cons

It's a bit of a heavy IDE and can consume a lot of system resources at times.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Amazing Product

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, this is very positive. Could not say anything too negative about it.

Pros

Our company uses this java integrated development environment for developing computer software. We do a lot of R&D work that help with us working in a Java environment.

Cons

Not very helpful for a .NET environment but that is expected. Other than that, we are very pleased with it!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great coding aid

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

IntelliJ made it very easy for me to create my first large scale coding project.

Cons

It does take some time to get the hang of how IntelliJ works.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I can justify the cost of IntelliJ in three alphanumeric characters:

Reviewed 7 years ago

m2e But there's a 15 character minimum for reviews.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WOW Best IDE for JAVA development

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Auto-complete, semantic coloring, easy customization.

Cons

Monokai theme is not included. Would be great if more themes included.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Java program_nice

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Strong and almost full function IDE for Java.

Cons

The price is not friendly for personal using and study.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent IDE

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It is one of the best tools of software development made exclusively for developers. It makes life of developers very easy and reduced the amount of to do work. The best thing it offers it integration of other tools so that we can run our code differently on them for example integration with jenkins, android studio etc.

Cons

It is commercial and you have to pay to use it and will make your system extremely slow if your RAM is less.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Better than Eclipse

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Pleasant design and UI, and a good level of customisation of features and how code is presented. I particularly liked the IdeaVim plugin as I have used the Vim editor before - this makes writing code a doddle. Good functionality for viewing and running unit tests.

Cons

Could be faster, and the ease of use is nothing to write home about.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Free and easy to use programming ide

Reviewed 3 years ago

It was good but i didn't plan on using it long term because it's priced high and there are free software which has better features and a bigger community

Pros

There is a Free version and a Free trial so it's great to get started with coding JAVA. Has a community around it which is very helpful. It does a discount annually if you pay for it consecutively

Cons

It is priced a bit high It isn't the best option but it isn't a bad option

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best IDE software you get can

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The best thing about Intellij is its functionality and using so many plugins, your life would become so easy when you program.

Cons

The worst thing is sometime its gets stalled when you compile the program

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Quite powerfull IDE for development purposes

Reviewed 3 years ago

I recommend this IDE for JAVA development it can be an asset.

Pros

A variety for integration with many tools

Cons

It proves to consume man yresources of the system.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Essential JAVA IDE

Reviewed 8 months ago

Working on IntelliJ is a breeze, because it has all the features that a JAVA development IDE can have.

Pros

Great integration with other tools, like Maven. Also great level os customization. Plus it runs smoothly on a Macbook.

Cons

Takes some time to get used to it. Can be very memory heavy on a Windows computer. Price is a bit salty.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Best Salesforce IDE

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This is the best Salesforce IDE. I have tried a lot of IDEs for Salesforce including eclipse official plugin, Sublime Text with Mavensmate. But this is better than eclipse.

Cons

A minor usability hit of using IntelliJ is that the compile file shortcut will skip your music to the next song on macOS (Cmd + Shift + F9)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Very good IDE, Quite full, made my experience with SCALA, something fascinating

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It has quite useful debugging tools. It is free, it provides assistance at all times to the programmer.

Cons

It is slow to open, especially in computers with low ram memory. Annoyed that suggest other software and that does not have a documentation that allows me to learn to use well.